DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) is submitted.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/10/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the system claim does not constitute any physical device and or machine and merely recite software per se.
Claim 1 is directed to “A system for data compliance comprising: a knowledge object (KO) map server, the KO map server configured … … and wherein the data repositories comprise at least one of structured, semi-structure, and unstructured data; and a user interface; … … …; and generate, based on the one or more identified canonical KOs corresponding to each of the KOs and the locations of the KOs in the plurality of data repositories, a knowledge object (KO) map mapping each of the one or more identified canonical KOs to one or more locations in the plurality of data repositories.; and the user interface configured to display the KO map…..”, emphasis added,
“a knowledge object (KO) map server”, “the data repositories” and “user interface elements are interpreted to be coding/or software, and lacks of hardware elements, hence non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 2-9 inherit the deficiencies of the base claim 1 and therefore are non-statutory by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claims 1-2, 7, 9-11, and 18-20, the term "substantially" in the limitation renders the claim indefinite because the specification lacked some standard for measuring the degree intended and, therefore, properly rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the above independent claims 1, 10 and 20 and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustafa et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0149881, hereinafter “Mustafa”) in view of Monroe et al. (US Pub No. 2013/0183649, hereinafter “Monroe”).
Regarding claim 1, Mustafa does disclose, a system for data compliance comprising: a knowledge object (KO) map server, the KO map server configured to receive knowledge objects (KOs) and corresponding locations of the KOs in a plurality of data repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0033, 0074]), determine a set of configuration information, including a storage location to be scanned, a list of knowledge objects (κ-objects), and optional one or more enforcement policies to form one or more OD tasks), wherein the KOs comprise data compliance objects within the plurality of data repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0037]), OD controller 115 determines or identifies a list of κ-objects from rule configuration database 202 that are required for the object discovery operations requested by the user. Each κ-object represents a set of rules or a category of data governing the discovery of a specific field or term; (para. [0038]), an enforcement policy may be enabled for any one or more of the κ-objects identified for the specific object discovery at the point in time. If such an enforcement policy has been specified or enabled, OD controller 115 further identifies at least one enforcement policy for one or more κ-objects. The information is then compiled into a task configuration package 205. The task configuration package 205 may include the repository configuration information associated with a repository or storage to be scanned, a list of κ-objects for object discovery, and optional one or more enforcement policies) and wherein the data repositories comprise at least one of structured, semi-structure, and unstructured data (Mustafa, (para. [0050]), where a database of unstructured documents, structured data from the database tables, or any other modality of data such as images, digital signal or analogue signals, real-time data streams); and a user interface; the KO map server further configured to: identify, for each of the KOs, one or more canonical knowledge objects (KOs) corresponding to the Kos (Mustafa, (para. [0025]), a first list of knowledge objects (referred to as κ-objects) is determined. Each of the κ-objects corresponds to one of the data type categories. Each κ-object includes, amongst others, a value attribute to specify matching data to match a field associated with an information object, a verify attribute to specify a method to verify the field of the information object, and a tag attribute to specify one of the formats associated with the matching data stored in the value attribute), wherein the canonical KOs comprise a substantially smallest resolvable unit of data compliance; and generate, based on the one or more identified canonical KOs corresponding to each of the KOs and the locations of the KOs in the plurality of data repositories, a knowledge object (KO) map mapping each of the one or more identified canonical KOs to one or more locations in the plurality of data repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0042, 0047]), based on the list of κ-objects 312, memory space configuration module 302 allocates, configures, and populates the κ-objects in one or more memory regions, referred to herein as memory spaces. Note that the list of κ-objects may include multiple types or classes of κ-objects. For each type of κ-objects, a specific memory space is created to store the corresponding κ-objects. In addition, for each type of κ-objects, a hash table is created for that particular type of κ-objects. The hash table is utilized to quickly identify and retrieve a memory pointer (e.g., a memory address) of a κ-object based on an input).
Mustafa does not explicitly disclose but the analogous art Monroe discloses, the user interface configured to display the KO map (Monroe, (para. [0018, 0046]), display on a generated visual map of knowledge information; (para. [0005]), the knowledge mapping is intended to bring visual order to ideas and information by displaying all related topical objects on a requested subject into a single interactive view).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mustafa by including display the KO map taught by Monroe for the advantage of a convenient way to quickly or automatically add information content to an already defined topic and/or its links to other information content in that or other topics in the knowledge tree or network (Monroe, (para. [0006])).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 1, the user interface further configured to: receive a definition of a composite knowledge object (KO); and display the KO map comprising the composite KO (Mustafa, (para. [0065]), receives a request including configuration information of object discovery); and the KO map server further configured to: identify, for the composite KO, a set of canonical KOs, the composite KO comprising the set of canonical Kos (Mustafa, (para. [0065]), receives a request including configuration information of object discovery); identify, based on the KO map, locations in the plurality of the data repositories corresponding to the composite KO, wherein the composite KO is found to be present in a given of the plurality of data repositories if substantially all of the set of canonical KOs is found in substantially sufficient proximity (Mustafa, (para. [0042, 0047]), based on the list of κ-objects 312, memory space configuration module 302 allocates, configures, and populates the κ-objects in one or more memory regions, referred to herein as memory spaces. Note that the list of κ-objects may include multiple types or classes of κ-objects. For each type of κ-objects, a specific memory space is created to store the corresponding κ-objects. In addition, for each type of κ-objects, a hash table is created for that particular type of κ-objects. The hash table is utilized to quickly identify and retrieve a memory pointer (e.g., a memory address) of a κ-object based on an input).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the KO map comprises one or more multi-dimensional vectors for each of the identified canonical KOs, the multi-dimensional vector configured to identify the canonical KO, a repository of the plurality of repositories in which the canonical KO is located, and a frequency or number of occurrence of the canonical KO in the repository and wherein displaying the KO map comprises displaying a given identified canonical KO, a corresponding set of one or more repositories in which the given canonical KO is location, and the frequency of number of occurrences in each of the one or more repositories of the set (Mustafa, (para. [0026]), if the verification process has been executed successfully, an object identifier (ID) of the κ-object is inserted into a result list and a counter associated with the κ-object may be incremented in the result list. The counter represents a frequency of occurrence of the κ-object matched).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 1, the KO map server further configured to: receive, from a repository definition structure, a map of ownerships of the plurality of data repositories, and wherein displaying the KO map further comprises displaying, based on the map of ownerships of the plurality of data repositories, the KO map mapping each of the one or more identified KOs to an owner of the locations of the corresponding KO (Mustafa, (para. [0057]), an enforcement action may modify an ownership of a file or an account of the file. An enforcement action may be restricting access to a file, a storage location, or an account; (para. [0051]), repository location 404 may specify a network address such as a universal resource locator (URL) pointing to the storage location. Name 405 specify a name of the storage location, which may be displayed to a user via a user interface).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 1, the KO map server further configured to normalize at least one of the KOs and the canonical Kos (Mustafa, (para. [0049]), repository configuration table 400 includes, but is not limited to, identifier 401, repository class 402, repository type 403, storage location 404, name 405, branch 406, transport 407, authentication information 408, date created 409, date updated 410, and progress status 411 attributes).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 1, the user interface further configured to: receive a compliance category; display a portion of the KO map corresponding to the compliance category; and the KO map server further configured to: identify, based on the compliance category, a set of canonical KOs corresponding to the compliance category; identify, based on the KO map, locations in the plurality of the data repositories corresponding to the set of canonical KOs corresponding to the compliance category repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0038]), an enforcement policy may be enabled for any one or more of the κ-objects identified for the specific object discovery at the point in time. If such an enforcement policy has been specified or enabled, OD controller 115 further identifies at least one enforcement policy for one or more κ-objects. The information is then compiled into a task configuration package 205. The task configuration package 205 may include the repository configuration information associated with a repository or storage to be scanned, a list of κ-objects for object discovery, and optional one or more enforcement policies).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 6, wherein the KO map server is further configured to: identify, based on the KO map, locations in the plurality of the data repositories, wherein the set of canonical KO corresponding to the compliance category is found to be present in the plurality of data repositories if substantially all of the set of canonical KOs is found in substantially sufficient proximity repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0038]), an enforcement policy may be enabled for any one or more of the κ-objects identified for the specific object discovery at the point in time. If such an enforcement policy has been specified or enabled, OD controller 115 further identifies at least one enforcement policy for one or more κ-objects. The information is then compiled into a task configuration package 205. The task configuration package 205 may include the repository configuration information associated with a repository or storage to be scanned, a list of κ-objects for object discovery, and optional one or more enforcement policies).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 6, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a custom compliance category, the custom compliance category comprising a set of canonical KOs and relationships between the set of canonical KOs for compliance (Mustafa, (para. [0061]), the value attribute includes a first κ-object “SSN” and a second κ-object “IBSN (NEAR) (20).” The relationship between the first κ-object and the second κ-object is a logical AND. Thus, in order to match a particular field with a complex κ-object as shown in FIG. 7C, the first κ-object “SSN” (e.g., κ-object 601) and the second κ-object “IBSN (NEAR) (20)” (e.g., κ-object 602) have to be satisfied. The logical relationship can also be a logical OR or logical XOR relationship).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the system of claim 6, the user interface further configured to: receive a definition of an abstract knowledge object (KO); and display the KO map comprising the abstract KO; and the KO map server further configured to: identify, for the abstract KO, a set of canonical KOs, the abstract KO comprising at least some of the set of canonical KOs; identify, based on the KO map, locations in the plurality of the data repositories corresponding to the abstract KO, wherein the abstract KO is found to be present in a given of the plurality of data repositories if more than a threshold of the set of canonical KOs are found in substantially sufficient proximity (Mustafa, (para. [0042, 0047]), based on the list of κ-objects 312, memory space configuration module 302 allocates, configures, and populates the κ-objects in one or more memory regions, referred to herein as memory spaces. Note that the list of κ-objects may include multiple types or classes of κ-objects. For each type of κ-objects, a specific memory space is created to store the corresponding κ-objects. In addition, for each type of κ-objects, a hash table is created for that particular type of κ-objects. The hash table is utilized to quickly identify and retrieve a memory pointer (e.g., a memory address) of a κ-object based on an input).
Regarding claim 10, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the method of claim 11, further comprising displaying, through a user interface, the composite KOs and its corresponding locations in the plurality of data repositories and wherein the composite KO is received from a user interface (Mustafa, (para. [0033]), a user (e.g., an administrator of an enterprise or corporation) can access user interface 111 (e.g., Web pages) to select certain criteria for object discovery. Based on the information provided by the user, configuration module 112 is to interpret and compile the user data or user selection. OD controller is then configured to determine a set of configuration information, including a storage location to be scanned, a list of knowledge objects (κ-objects), and optional one or more enforcement policies to form one or more OD tasks).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the method of claim 11, wherein the composite KO is defined before generation of the KO map and wherein generating the KO map further comprises generating, based on the composite KO, the KO map (Mustafa, (para. [0042, 0047]), based on the list of κ-objects 312, memory space configuration module 302 allocates, configures, and populates the κ-objects in one or more memory regions, referred to herein as memory spaces. Note that the list of κ-objects may include multiple types or classes of κ-objects. For each type of κ-objects, a specific memory space is created to store the corresponding κ-objects. In addition, for each type of κ-objects, a hash table is created for that particular type of κ-objects. The hash table is utilized to quickly identify and retrieve a memory pointer (e.g., a memory address) of a κ-object based on an input).
Regarding claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the method of claim 10, further comprising displaying, through a user interface, the one or more identified canonical KOs and their corresponding locations in the plurality of data repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0033, 0074]), determine a set of configuration information, including a storage location to be scanned, a list of knowledge objects (κ-objects), and optional one or more enforcement policies to form one or more OD tasks).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mustafa-Monroe does disclose, the method of claim 10, further comprising displaying, through a user interface, the KOs and their corresponding locations in the plurality of data repositories (Mustafa, (para. [0033, 0074]), determine a set of configuration information, including a storage location to be scanned, a list of knowledge objects (κ-objects), and optional one or more enforcement policies to form one or more OD tasks).
Regarding claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Publication No. 2021/0286819, “a system for operation objects discovery from operation data includes a pattern matching module configured to perform pattern matching on operation data with patterns in a database, and to identify fields in the operation data having matching patterns with the database as first potential objects. A data profiling module is configured to perform data profiling on unmatched fields of the operation data to generate data profiles. A field classifier module is configured to classify the generated data profiles and to generate second potential objects. A de-duplication module is configured to remove duplicate objects among the first potential objects and the second potential objects, and to generate operation objects”.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MORSHED MEHEDI whose telephone number is (571) 270-7640. The examiner can normally be reached on M - F, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reach on (571) 270-5440. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MORSHED MEHEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408