DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed on October 13, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Interpretation- 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “…[…]…a quantifying module configured to …[…]…” in claim 14 and 15
“…[…]… an accumulation module configured to …[…]…” in claim 14
“…[…]… a generation module configured to…[…]…” in claim 14
“…[…]…a dosing module configured to…[…]…” in claim 14
(see [0109] for the construed corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification for the recited modules).
Because these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C 101 as not being directed to eligible subject matter the grounds set out in detail below:
Independent Claims 1 and 11:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
Independent claim 1 falls within the statutory category of a method.
Independent claim 14 falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Independent claims 1 and 14 claimed invention recite an abstract idea as set forth below:
The claim elements in the independent claims (claim 1 as representative) which set forth the abstract idea are:
A method for optimized control of -implemented medicament therapy, the method comprising:
quantifying a physical activity of a patient;
calculating an accumulated physical activity based on the quantified physical activity, wherein the accumulated physical activity represents an aggregate of the physical activity over a predetermined period;
generating an activity informed medicament bolus by adjusting a functional medicament therapy bolus with a previous activity component, wherein the previous activity component is determined based, at least in part, on the accumulated physical activity;
and generating instructions for use by a medicament delivery device to administer the activity informed bolus.
which falls within “certain methods of organizing human activity” as it is generating and following instructions to be used to determine when to administer a bolus. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): Independent Claims 1 and 14 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
In Claim 1 the additional elements are:
a computer
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, (a), is recited executing the abstract idea and is a computer tool or the equivalent which applies the abstract idea as “apply-it” as it is merely as it is merely applying the abstraction with a generic computer (see instant application spec. [0102]-[0103]). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
In Claim 14 the additional elements not already recited in independent claim 1 are:
a quantifying module
an accumulation module
a generation module
a dosing module
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, (a)-(d), are recited as computer tools or the equivalent which applies the abstract idea as “apply-it” as it is merely applying the abstraction with a generic computer module (see instant application spec. [0109]). Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Accordingly, claims 1 and 14 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): The independent claims 1 and 14 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as analyzed above in step 2A prong 2 above, these additional elements, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, amount to no more than applying the abstract idea thus insufficient to provide “significantly more”. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more and the claims are ineligible.
Dependent Claims 2-13 and 15-20:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
The dependent claims 2-13 falls within the statutory category of method.
The dependent claims 15-20 falls within the statutory category of machine.
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-20 claimed invention continue to recite the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-20 continue to limit the abstract idea in the independent claims by further limiting quantifying the physical activity in claim 2 and 15, further limiting the previous activity in claims 4, 5, 16, and 17, further limiting the activity profile in claims 6 and 7, further limiting the activity factor in claim 8, further limiting the activity on board in claims 9, 10, and 18, further limiting the functional medicament therapy bolus in claims 11, 13, 19, and 20, and further limiting the meal component in claim 12. Thus, inheriting the same abstract idea which falls within “certain methods of organizing human activity” as it is generating and following instructions to be used to determine when to administer a bolus. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): Claims 2-13 and 15-20 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
In Claims 2-13 and 15-20 the additional elements are:
A heart rate monitor measurement device
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, (a), is recited a tool or the equivalent which applies the abstract idea as “apply-it” as it is merely applying to the abstraction to gather data measure and gather data. Accordingly, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons given in Prong 2A-2. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more and the claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davis et. al (hereinafter Davis) (US20170220751A1).
As per claim 1, Davis teaches:
A method for optimized control of a computer-implemented medicament therapy, the method comprising: quantifying a physical activity of a patient; (e.g. intensity) calculating an accumulated physical activity based on the quantified physical activity, (i.e. duration) wherein the accumulated physical activity represents an aggregate of the physical activity over a predetermined period; (i.e. total duration in time with intensity) ([0195] discloses, “Where user-entered data includes exercise, systems and methods according to present principles may allow users to save specific workouts or events to allow patterns in post workout glycemic fluctuations to be analyzed and potentially found, resulting in appropriate automatic or manual therapy modifications to be made by the decision-support application/functionality. For example, users may save workouts such as "Cardio 1", "Cardio 2", "Get Swoll 1", "Get Swoll 2", and so on. Other gradations of exercise may include those pertaining to intensity, e.g., light, medium, hard, duration, e.g., 5 min., 10 min., 15 min., 20 min., 25 min., 30 min., one hour, and so on.” And see table 2 and table 3 / examiner notes the exercise is quantified by a domain such as level e.g. low and an accumulated physical activity is interpreted by examiner as level for some duration e.g. medium intensity for 10 min. see instant specification [0131] and [0119])
generating an activity informed medicament bolus by adjusting a functional medicament therapy bolus (i.e. The system accordingly indicates to her that she should dose a small amount of insulin) with a previous activity component, (i.e. tends to go high during soccer games or low in other workouts i.e. recognized pattern) wherein the previous activity component is determined based, at least in part, on the accumulated physical activity; (i.e. see fig. 11 total time of physical activity utilized in bolus calculator for trend activity) ([0337] discloses, “For example, using the systems and methods informed by the inputs noted above, the users CGM app, employing decision-support application/functionality, determines, in this example, that she is in a "weekend soccer game" state and adjust parameters for therapeutic decision support accordingly. The system accordingly indicates to her that she should dose a small amount of insulin because she is about to play in a soccer game and that she tends to go high during soccer games. The system is also aware that she sometimes goes low in practices and other workouts. In some implementations, systems and methods according to present principles may guess that she is about to play in a soccer game due to a calendar input, a recognized pattern, user input, and so on, and may also be configured to differentiate games from practice. The user may then dose with the recommended amount.” And see [0179] discloses, “For example, case-based reasoning may be employed to determine what happened to the user in other like situations, or what happened to other like users in other like situations. As smart devices become even more computationally capable, much of the machine learning may happen on such devices. However, much of the current processing can happen in the cloud, and such processing may result I significant amounts of machine learning. In other words, the system learns how one element or "affector" X affects the patient, e.g., how anabolic exercise may impact insulin sensitivity. In this example, if a pump action was initiated with the bolus but did not consider the impact of exercise, and then the user were to go for a run, systems and methods according to present principles may detect this sequence of events and notify the user to "expect a drop" or may provide a recommendation such as "you should eat something now".” And see fig. 11)
and generating instructions for use by a medicament delivery device to administer the activity informed bolus. (i.e. provided alert with time to dose) ([0119] discloses, “The system 300 may set the required dose, i.e., the dose calculated to be correct at the time of calculation. An audible, visual, or vibratory alert may then be provided on the pen and/or on the CGM device to alert the user when it is time to dose. In a particular implementation, if the user does not dose at the given time, or within a range of time surrounding the given time, e.g., one or two minutes, the system 300 may recalculate the required dose on a periodic basis, e.g., every five minutes, and provide an updated required dose to the mechanical device 136, until insulin is no longer required, or until the patient performs the injection of the insulin.” And see also [0118])
As per claim 2, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein quantifying the physical activity is based on physical activity data from a measurement device, a time period when the patient is active, and/or a step count over a time period. ([0195] discloses, “Where user-entered data includes exercise, systems and methods according to present principles may allow users to save specific workouts or events to allow patterns in post workout glycemic fluctuations to be analyzed and potentially found, resulting in appropriate automatic or manual therapy modifications to be made by the decision-support application/functionality. For example, users may save workouts such as "Cardio 1", "Cardio 2", "Get Swoll 1", "Get Swoll 2", and so on. Other gradations of exercise may include those pertaining to intensity, e.g., light, medium, hard, duration, e.g., 5 min., 10 min., 15 min., 20 min., 25 min., 30 min., one hour, and so on.” And see table 2 and table 3 / examiner notes the exercise is quantified by a domain such as level e.g. low and an accumulated physical activity is interpreted by examiner as level for some duration e.g. medium intensity for 10 min. see instant specification [0131] and [0119] and examiner notes the claim recites “or” between the series of elements. Per MPEP § 2143.03, Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).)
As per claim 3, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the measurement device is a heart rate monitor. ([0242] discloses, “Signals may be collected from sensors within smart watches such as the Apple Watch and the Microsoft Band to augment certain entered data, e.g., for hypoglycemia detection. The signals can include heart rate, sympathetic/parasympathetic balance (inferred from heart rate), perspiration, motion, and the like. The signals can be used in addition to the CGM signal.”)
As per claim 4, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the previous activity component includes a band defining a range of accumulated physical activity levels in which no physical activity related adjustment occurred. ([0333] discloses, “In a more specific example, a user may be about to play an intramural soccer game with her friends. In current practice, she may check her blood glucose and trend, e.g., on her CGM app. She may see that she is in her target range and is steady. The user may desire to know if she should give herself some carbs or some insulin before her soccer game. In the past, she may take a small snack (with an arbitrary or unknown number of carbs) so as to avoid going low during the game. She also desires to not go high, but would rather go higher than low.” / examiner notes the band defining a range in which no physical activity related adjustment occurred is interpreted as trending physical activity as disclosed in which in the e.g. soccer did not apply any special correction or change with the band being the target range)
As per claim 5, Davis teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the previous activity component is further determined based on an activity profile of the patient and/or an activity factor of the patient. ([0168] discloses, “While insulin sensitivity is a useful quantity to profile (and define states for) in a user for diabetes decision support, other useful profiles/states include those corresponding to carbs on board, insulin on board, blood sugar, CGM glucose value, past CGM values on the same kind of day (weekend, weekday) at the same approximate time of day, exercise, exercise on board, and so on. A given parameterized model can be optimized based on values over time and variations determined and quantified of these above states.” / examiner notes activity factor under BRI is interpreted as insulin sensitivity or e.g. carbs on board, exercise on board)
As per claim 8, Davis further teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the activity factor is determined based on an amount of the accumulated physical activity that has the same impact on a glucose level of the patient as a single unit of the medicament. ([0436] discloses, “In some examples, a system may, when confidence in the model is high ( e.g., model parameters have been verified or evaluated for accuracy), use a model to test scenarios and predicted outcomes to assess whether a patient or clinician should consider adjusting treatment parameters, such as insulin-to-carb ratio or insulin sensitivity factor. For example, the system may run a variety of "tests" on the model, which would be burdensome or time consuming for the patient too actually carry out (because of the need to strictly control food, activity, or insulin deliver), and use the results of the tests to determine guidance or a timing of guidance, or to select one or more tests for the patient to actually carry out (e.g., deliver guidance "Your insulin-to carbohydrate ratio may be incorrect: Please conduct a test at your next meal" or "Your basal rate may be incorrect: Please conduct a fasting basal test at your earliest convenience…[…]…In another example, the system may determine, assuming the basal rate is correct, what would happen if a specified amount ( e.g., 1 unit) of insulin were given, and the system may use this information to suggest an update to an insulin sensitivity factor.”)
As per claim 11, Davis further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the functional medicament therapy bolus is based on a meal component, a correction component, and/or a previous medicament component. ([0455] discloses, “For example, the first real-time datum may indicate a deviation in meal-time, a missed, early, or late insulin dose, a variation in physical activity (e.g. missed workout or atypical workout), or an early or late awakening. In some examples, the behavior model may indicate a tendency to over-correct at a meal associated with a meal time, the first real-time datum indicates that a mealtime is imminent, and the guidance message may correspond to a lessened overcorrection ( e.g. smaller insulin dose or different combination of basal and bolus doses) at the mealtime.”)
As per claim 12, Davis further teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein the meal component is based on a ratio of an estimated carbohydrate intake and an amount of carbohydrate compensated by one unit of the medicament. ([0436] discloses, “In some examples, a system may, when confidence in the model is high ( e.g., model parameters have been verified or evaluated for accuracy), use a model to test scenarios and predicted outcomes to assess whether a patient or clinician should consider adjusting treatment parameters, such as insulin-to-carb ratio or insulin sensitivity factor. For example, the system may run a variety of "tests" on the model, which would be burdensome or time consuming for the patient too actually carry out (because of the need to strictly control food, activity, or insulin deliver), and use the results of the tests to determine guidance or a timing of guidance, or to select one or more tests for the patient to actually carry out (e.g., deliver guidance "Your insulin-to carbohydrate ratio may be incorrect: Please conduct a test at your next meal" or "Your basal rate may be incorrect: Please conduct a fasting basal test at your earliest convenience…[…]…In another example, the system may determine, assuming the basal rate is correct, what would happen if a specified amount ( e.g., 1 unit) of insulin were given, and the system may use this information to suggest an update to an insulin sensitivity factor.”)
As per claim 13, Davis further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the functional medicament therapy bolus is determined based on glucose data, target glucose data, estimated carbohydrate intake, carbohydrate ratio, and/or medicament on board. ([0168] discloses, “While insulin sensitivity is a useful quantity to profile (and define states for) in a user for diabetes decision support, other useful profiles/states include those corresponding to carbs on board, insulin on board, blood sugar, CGM glucose value, past CGM values on the same kind of day (weekend, weekday) at the same approximate time of day, exercise, exercise on board, and so on. A given parameterized model can be optimized based on values over time and variations determined and quantified of these above states.” And see [0299] discloses, “In yet another implementation, the decision-support application/functionality could provide open loop advice on bolus values, as well as recommendations for short term or long-term adjustments to basal insulin. As noted above, dose adjustments may be provided in predefined increments, e.g., 0%, +/-10%, +/-20%, and so on, for ease in administration. While specific examples are given below, here it is noted that an adjustment of a bolus value may be based on, e.g., insulin-on-board, insulin sensitivity, target glucose, current glucose, type of insulin, e.g., long acting versus fast acting, activity after bolus, and so on.)
19. As per claims 14-17 and 19-20, they are system claims which repeat the same limitations of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, and 13 the corresponding method claims, as a collection of elements as opposed to a series of process steps. Since the teachings of Davis disclose the underlying process steps that constitute the methods of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, and 13 it is respectfully submitted that they provide the underlying structural elements that perform the steps as well. As such, the limitations of claims 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons given above for claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, and 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et. al (hereinafter Davis) (US20170220751A1) in view of Steeves et. al (hereinafter Steeves) (Steeves JA, Murphy RA, Crainiceanu CM, Zipunnikov V, Van Domelen DR, Harris TB. Daily Patterns of Physical Activity by Type 2 Diabetes Definition: Comparing Diabetes, Prediabetes, and Participants with Normal Glucose Levels in NHANES 2003-2006. Prev Med Rep. 2015;2:152-157. doi: 10.1016/j.pmedr.2015.02.007. PMID: 25909051; PMCID: PMC4402932.)
As per claim 6, Davis does not teach:
The method of claim 5, wherein the activity profile is determined based on a median of the accumulated physical activity at a defined time of day over multiple days.
However, Steeves does teach:
The method of claim 5, wherein the activity profile is determined based on a median of the accumulated physical activity at a defined time of day over multiple days. (see table 3 and see page 154 discloses, “Evaluation of 24 h patterns revealed that PA began between 6:00a.m. and 8:00 a.m.in all groups ,and activity counts per hour increased rapidly in the morning. Median activity counts per hour increased 366% from7:00 to 8:00a.m.,63% from 8:00 to 9:00a.m.,34% from 9:00 to10:00a.m.,and 9% from 10:00to11:00a.m.(Fig.1A).Diabetes participants were significantly less active than those with normal glucose levels from10:00a.m. to 8:00p.m.and significantly less active than the prediabetes participants from10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Wilcoxon–Mann Whitney=pb0.00069),with the greatest differences between the groups occurring at4:00p.m. There were no differences between those with normal glucose levels and prediabetes participants (Figs.1A, Band2).” And see methods para. 1 on page 1 disclosing multiple days of data taken)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Davis’ teachings as previously cited with Steeves’ teachings as previously cited, the motivation being Davis discloses that detecting and quantifying glucose levels such as low blood sugar in patients executing physical activity in diabetes patients effectively and continuously is still a growing need without too much burden on the patient themselves (see e.g. [0003]-[0007]), thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that Steeves’ teachings of hour by hour activity counts across multiple days with median activity accounted for would improve objective measuring of physical activity and increase accuracy of glucose level quantification reducing overall burden of responsible on a patient to log and determine care needed.
Claim 9, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et. al (hereinafter Davis) (US20170220751A1) in view of Catt et. al (hereinafter Catt) (US10182748B2)
As per claim 9, Davis does not teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein an activity on board defines the accumulated physical activity.
However, Catt does teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein an activity on board defines the accumulated physical activity. (see fig. 4 and fig. 6 and see Col. 10 lines 25-36 discloses, step counting in relation to integrated continuous blood glucose and see Col. 12 lines 51-62 which discloses an accumulated activity of step count impulses over a period of time and see Col. 16 lines 13-33 which discloses the relationship between integrated blood glucose and step count in relation to physical clearance rates and these combined results in fig. 4 and 6 give the clearance curve for activity onboard by convolving step count impulses. / examiner notes activity onboard is interpreted as previous cumulative activity such as steps as disclosed used in combination results with glucose monitoring)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Davis’ teachings as previously cited with Catt’s teachings as previously cited, the motivation being Davis discloses that detecting and quantifying glucose levels such as low blood sugar in patients executing physical activity in diabetes patients effectively and continuously is still a growing need without too much burden on the patient themselves (see e.g. [0003]-[0007]), thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that Catt’s teachings of continuous glucose monitoring modulated by cumulative physical activity to detect glucose clearance would improve objective measuring of glucose levels and physical activity which can modulate those levels in a patient and increase accuracy of glucose level quantification reducing overall burden of responsibility on a patient to log and determine care needed.
As per claim 10, Davis does not teach:
The method of claim 9, wherein the activity on board is determined as a weighted sum of physical activity over a time period where the time period and weighting for the physical activity at each time period are obtained from an activity clearance curve.
However, Catt does teach:
The method of claim 9, wherein the activity on board is determined as a weighted sum of physical activity over a time period where the time period and weighting for the physical activity at each time period are obtained from an activity clearance curve. (see fig. 1 and see Col. 12 lines 51-62 discloses, weighted summation of physical activity over a period of time in relation to glucose clearance and see Col. 10 lines 25-36 discloses, step counting in relation to integrated continuous blood glucose and see Col. 12 lines 51-62 which discloses an accumulated activity of step count impulses over a period of time and see Col. 16 lines 13-33 which discloses the relationship between integrated blood glucose and step count in relation to physical clearance rates and these combined results in fig. 4 and 6 give the clearance curve for activity onboard by convolving step count impulses.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Davis’ teachings as previously cited with Catt’s teachings as previously cited, the motivation being the same reasoning given for claim 9.
As per claim 18, it is a system claim which repeat the same limitations of claim 10 the corresponding method claim, as a collection of elements as opposed to a series of process steps. Since the teachings of Davis and Catt as well as motivations to combine disclose the underlying process steps that constitute the methods of claim 10 it is respectfully submitted that they provide the underlying structural elements that perform the steps as well. As such, the limitations of claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above for claim 10.
Prior Art Cited But Not Relied Upon
Simpson et. al (hereinafter Simpson) (US20220068452A1)
Provided are systems and methods using which users may learn and become familiar with the effects of various aspects of their lifestyle on their health , e.g. , users may learn about how food and / or exercise affects their glucose level and other physiological parameters , as well as overall health . In some cases the user selects a program to try ; in other cases , a computing environment embodying the system suggests programs to try , including on the basis of pattern recognition , i.e. , by the computing environment determining how a user could improve a detected pattern in some way . In this way , users such as type II diabetics or even users who are only prediabetic or non - diabetic may learn healthy habits to benefit their health .
Atlas et. al (hereinafter Atlas) (US20120246106A1)
a. Monitoring system and method for use with diabetic treatment management. The system includes: a communication interface configured to permit access to stored raw log data, obtained over a certain time, being indicative of glucose measurements, meals consumed and insulin delivery; and a control unit including an unsupervised learning controller con figured to receive and process said raw log data and determine at least one global insulin pump setting of basal rate, correction factor, carbohydrate ratio and insulin activity curve parameters. The system may include a processing unit including a first processor for processing measured data indicative of blood glucose level and generating first processed data, a second processor including at least one fuzzy logic module which receives input parameters corresponding to the measured data, the first processed data and a reference data, and processes the data to produce a qualitative output parameter to determine whether any treatment parameter should be modified.
Francescato et. al (hereinafter Francescato) (US20080214905A1)
a. A method for estimating the amount of carbohydrates needed by a DP-1 during a specific session of physical activity, com prises the following steps: defining of working constants and standard parameters; introducing of patient and therapy spe cific parameters, calculating of patient specific reference curves for a percentage carbohydrates consumption (% CHO); Scheduling a training session; estimating the amount of carbohydrates (CHO) to be eaten before said physical activity; updating in real time the residual carbohydrates still available during said physical activity; and estimating the amount of carbohydrates to be restored after said physical activity.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY ELIZABETH EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687