DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
A claim directed to a computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program, where the computer readable medium as defined in the specification can be a signal or carrier wave or paper, covers a signal or carrier wave or paper which are non-statutory as noted, infra.
A claim directed to a computer program itself or signal or carrier wave is non-statutory because it is not:
A process occurring as a result of executing the program, or
A machine programmed to operate in accordance with the program, or
A manufacture structurally and functionally interconnected with the program in a manner which enable the program to act as a computer component and realize its functionality, or
A composition of matter.
A claim directed to a paper having thereon a computer program is non-statutory, because it covers printed matter which is non-statutory. It is not until the program is converted into an electronic form to be read and executed by the processor that it becomes functional descriptive material. There is no functional relationship between the paper and the computer program (see In re Gulack, 217 USPQ 401, In re Lowry ,32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed.Cir.1994)). The program as disclosed is merely printed on the paper, hence the program is merely non-functional descriptive material, therefor, the claimed paper with a computer program printed on it is non-statutory. See Ex parte S, 25 JPOS 904, Ex parte Glenn, 155 USPQ 42 , In re Lockert, 65 F.2d 159, 17 USPQ 515.
See MPEP § 2106.01. Data structures not claimed as embodied in computer readable media are descriptive material per se and are not statutory because they are not capable of causing functional change in the computer. See, e.g., Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31 USPQ2d at 1760 (claim to a data structure per se held nonstatutory). Such claimed data structures do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the data structure and other claimed aspects of the invention, which permit the data structure's functionality to be realized. In contrast, a claimed computer readable medium encoded with a data structure defines structural and functional interrelationships between the data structure and the computer software and hardware components which permit the data structure's functionality to be realized, and is thus statutory. Similarly, computer programs claimed as computer listings per se, i.e., the descriptions or expressions of the programs are not physical “things.” They are neither computer components nor statutory processes, as they are not “acts” being performed. Such claimed computer programs do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and other claimed elements of a computer, which permit the computer program's functionality to be realized.
Specifically [0288] of the Specification states: “The computer-readable storage medium may be any usable medium that can be accessed by a computer, or a data storage device, for example, a server or a data center, integrating one or more usable media. The available medium may be a magnetic medium (for example, a floppy disk, a hard disk, or a magnetic tape), an optical medium, a semiconductor medium (for example, a solid state disk (solid state disk (SSD))), or the like” which does not exclude “computer readable storage medium” from being interpreted as a “signal type computer readable storage medium” such as an optical signal which is a transitory type medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US PGPub 2022/0057866) in view of Bao (US PGPub 2022/0164101).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a two-dimensional code display method applied to an electronic device (figs. 2A, 9A, and 9B) comprising a main screen (fig. 2a, display A) and a back screen (fig. 2a, display B), wherein the main screen and the back screen are two display areas of a display screen ([0154], “the display 194 may be folded from the middle, and the folded display may be divided into a display A and a display B. When the electronic device 100 is provided with the foldable display, and the foldable display is in the folded state, it may be considered that the electronic device 100 provides two displays”), wherein when the electronic device is in a folded state the main screen and the back screen are oriented in opposite directions ([0156], “When the foldable display is in the folded state, the electronic device may display, on only one display of the foldable display, the user interface provided by the operating system, or may display, on both displays of the foldable display, the user interface provided by the operating system of the electronic device”), wherein when the electronic device is in an unfolded state the main screen and the back screen are oriented in a same direction ([0155], “When the foldable display is in the unfolded state, a user interface provided by an operating system of the electronic device may be displayed in full screen. The full-screen display of the user interface may mean that the user interface occupies all display areas of the foldable display”), and wherein the method comprises:
displaying a first interface of a first application on the main screen at a first time point ([0296], “the user may view content by using the first display, and the content may be provided by any application. For example, the content on the first display may be a reading interface, a video interface, an album interface, or a game interface”);
receiving a first ([0299], “the user may flip over the electronic device 100, to exchange locations of the second display and the first display of the electronic device 100 relative to the user”);
displaying a second interface of a second application on the back screen at a second time
point, wherein the second interface comprises a two-dimensional code ([0299] and fig. 9B, “When the user is in a subway station, the electronic device 100 may display a subway ride code on the second display in response to the operation that the user flips over the electronic device”), wherein the first interface is displayed on the main screen when the second interface is displayed on the back screen ([0304], “when the electronic device 100 displays the subway ride code or the NFC bus card swiping interface on the second display in response to the operation that the user flips over the electronic device, the first display may … still display the original user interface”), wherein the electronic device is in the folded state between the first time point and the second time point ([0297], “the foldable display is in a folded state in the example shown in FIG. 9a”), wherein the second application is an application that displays the two-dimensional code on the back screen, and wherein the second application has enabled a two-dimensional code function ([0301], “The electronic device 100 invokes a ride function provided by some applications, for example, a WeChat mini program, to obtain the subway ride code”);
displaying the first interface on the main screen at a third time point ([0304], “in response to the operation that the user flips over the electronic device, the first display may … still display the original user interface”);
receiving a second ([0305], “when detecting the operation that the user flips over the electronic device 100 again, the electronic device 100 may display the user interface shown in FIG. 9a on the first display. When the electronic device displays the user interface shown in FIG. 9a on the first display, the second display may display no content, for example, may enter a black screen state, or may still display the subway ride code or the NFC bus card swiping interface”; and
displaying a third interface of a third application on the main screen at a fourth time point ([0304], “in response to the operation that the user flips over the electronic device, the first display…may still display the original user interface”), wherein the third interface does not comprise a two-dimensional code (fig. 9A, original user interface is displayed), wherein the electronic device is in the folded state between the third time point and the fourth time point ([0297], “the foldable display is in a folded state in the example shown in FIG. 9a”), wherein the third application is an application that displays a two-dimensional code on the back screen, and wherein the third application does not enable a two-dimensional code function ([0304], “when the first display still displays the user interface shown in FIG. 9a, the electronic device 100 may receive an entered user operation on the user interface and make a response. In some other embodiments, when the first display still displays the user interface shown in FIG. 9a, the user interface is locked. That is, the electronic device 100 can neither receive an entered user operation on the user interface nor make a response. In this way, the user can be prevented from mistakenly triggering some functions of the electronic device 100 on the first display”).
While Xu teaches an operation occurs based on flipping over a device, it has been known to have an operation occur based on user touch input on the back of a device. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Bao discloses receiving a first tap operation on the back screen; and receiving a second tap operation on the back screen ([0065], “the detecting a first interaction operation in the back display region includes: simultaneously detecting a touch operation in different subregions of the back display region, the first interaction operation including the touch operation”).
In view of the teachings of Xu and Bao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the tap operation of Bao within the system of Xu, for the purpose of substituting known methods of user input which are intuitive to user’s where a known benefit of a back touch input is back touch input allows a user to interact with the device without covering the screen with their fingers.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein after receiving the second tap operation on the back screen and before the fourth time point, the method further comprises displaying a fourth interface of the third application on the back screen, wherein the fourth interface does not comprise a two-dimensional code, wherein a first area of the fourth interface is a black background, and wherein display content of a second area of the fourth interface is the same as display content of a corresponding area of the third interface (Xu: [0305], “For example, referring to FIG. 9a, when detecting the operation that the user flips over the electronic device 100 again, the electronic device 100 may display the user interface shown in FIG. 9a on the first display. When the electronic device displays the user interface shown in FIG. 9a on the first display, the second display may display no content, for example, may enter a black screen state, or may still display the subway ride code or the NFC bus card swiping interface”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein after receiving the first tap operation on the back screen and before the second time point, the method further comprises:
displaying a first floating capsule on the main screen, wherein the first floating capsule indicates that the two-dimensional code of the second application is being loaded on the back screen; and after displaying the second interface of a second application on the back screen and before the third time point, displaying a second floating capsule on the main screen, wherein the second floating capsule indicates that the two-dimensional code of the second application has been displayed on the back screen (Xu: [0202], “For example, the notification manager is configured to notify download completion, give a message notification, and the like. The notification manager may alternatively be a notification that appears in a top status bar of the system in a form of a graph or a scroll bar text, for example, a notification of an application running on the background or a notification that appears on the display in a form of a dialog window. For example, text information is prompted in the status bar, a prompt tone is produced, the electronic device vibrates, or an indicator light blinks”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein the second floating capsule comprises an expand control, and wherein after displaying the second floating capsule on the main screen, the method further comprises: receiving an operation on the expand control, and displaying a plurality of two-dimensional code options on the main screen, wherein each two-dimensional code option corresponds to one two-dimensional code (Xu: [0312], “As shown in 10b, the payment code may be a barcode and a two-dimensional code”); in response to receiving an operation on a first option in the plurality of two-dimensional code options, displaying a fifth interface of a fourth application on the back screen, wherein the fifth interface comprises a two-dimensional code, and wherein the fourth application has enabled a two-dimensional code function; and in response to receiving an operation on a second option in the plurality of two-dimensional code options, displaying a sixth interface of a fifth application on the main screen, wherein the sixth interface comprises a two-dimensional code, and wherein the fifth application has enabled a two-dimensional code function (Xu: [0335], “the foregoing embodiments may be implemented in combination. For example, one or more of the application scenarios 4 to 8 may appear at the same time. For example, it is assumed that the application scenario 5 and the application scenario 6 appear at the same time. That is, the user receives a new message when being in a subway station, and the electronic device or the user presets displaying the time and weather widget on the second display. For example, FIG. 14a shows a user interface displayed on the first display. In the example shown in FIG. 14a, the first display faces the user, and the back of the second display faces the user. For example, referring to FIG. 14b, the user may flip over the electronic device, to trigger the electronic device to simultaneously display specific content of the new message, a subway ride code, and the preset time and weather widget on the second display”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein after receiving the second tap operation on the back screen and before the fourth time point, the method further comprises displaying a third floating capsule on the main screen, wherein the third floating capsule indicates that a two-dimensional code of the third application is being loaded on the back screen, and wherein the third floating capsule is not displayed at the fourth time point (Xu: [0202], “For example, the notification manager is configured to notify download completion, give a message notification, and the like. The notification manager may alternatively be a notification that appears in a top status bar of the system in a form of a graph or a scroll bar text, for example, a notification of an application running on the background or a notification that appears on the display in a form of a dialog window. For example, text information is prompted in the status bar, a prompt tone is produced, the electronic device vibrates, or an indicator light blinks”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein the third interface comprises a control for enabling a two-dimensional code function, wherein after displaying a third interface of a third application on the main screen, the method further comprises:
receiving an operation on the control for enabling the two-dimensional code function; and
displaying a seventh interface of the third application on the main screen, and wherein the seventh interface comprises a two-dimensional code (Xu: [0335], “It may be understood that in the embodiments of this application, the foregoing embodiments may be implemented in combination. For example, one or more of the application scenarios 4 to 8 may appear at the same time. For example, it is assumed that the application scenario 5 and the application scenario 6 appear at the same time. That is, the user receives a new message when being in a subway station, and the electronic device or the user presets displaying the time and weather widget on the second display. For example, FIG. 14a shows a user interface displayed on the first display. In the example shown in FIG. 14a, the first display faces the user, and the back of the second display faces the user. For example, referring to FIG. 14b, the user may flip over the electronic device, to trigger the electronic device to simultaneously display specific content of the new message, a subway ride code, and the preset time and weather widget on the second display”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein before the third time point, the method further comprises:
receiving a selection operation for the third application and in response to the selection operation, setting the third application to an application that displays a two-dimensional code on the back screen (Xu: [0335], “That is, the user receives a new message when being in a subway station, and the electronic device or the user presets displaying the time and weather widget on the second display. For example, FIG. 14a shows a user interface displayed on the first display. In the example shown in FIG. 14a, the first display faces the user, and the back of the second display faces the user. For example, referring to FIG. 14b, the user may flip over the electronic device, to trigger the electronic device to simultaneously display specific content of the new message, a subway ride code, and the preset time and weather widget on the second display”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses wherein the first tap operation and the second tap operation are double-tap operations on the back screen (Bao: [0071], “the detected operation may be used as the touch operation by the electronic device when any one or more of a touch and hold operation, a double-tap operation, and a single-tap operation are detected in the first subregion and the second subregion of the back display region. That is, the touch operation includes one or more of the touch and hold operation, the double-tap operation, and the single-tap operation”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses an electronic device (figs. 2A, 9A and 9B), comprising:
a main screen (fig. 2a, display A) and a back screen (fig. 2a, display B), wherein the main screen and the back screen are two display areas of a display screen ([0154], “the display 194 may be folded from the middle, and the folded display may be divided into a display A and a display B. When the electronic device 100 is provided with the foldable display, and the foldable display is in the folded state, it may be considered that the electronic device 100 provides two displays”), wherein when the electronic device is in a folded state the main screen and the back screen are oriented in opposite directions ([0156], “When the foldable display is in the folded state, the electronic device may display, on only one display of the foldable display, the user interface provided by the operating system, or may display, on both displays of the foldable display, the user interface provided by the operating system of the electronic device”), and wherein when the electronic device is in an unfolded state the main screen and the back screen are oriented in a same direction ([0155], “When the foldable display is in the unfolded state, a user interface provided by an operating system of the electronic device may be displayed in full screen. The full-screen display of the user interface may mean that the user interface occupies all display areas of the foldable display”);
a memory storing a computer program comprising instructions (Xu: [0086], “the memory is configured to store computer program code”); and
a processor (Xu: [0086], processor) coupled to the main screen, the back screen, and the memory (Xu: [0086], “The memory and the foldable display are coupled to the one or more processors”), wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to configure the electronic device to implement operations comprising the method steps of claim 1 and therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claims 15-18 are device claims drawn to the method of claims 2-5 respectively and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Xu and Bao further discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that when executed by an electronic device (Xu: [0086], “The memory and the foldable display are coupled to the one or more processors, the memory is configured to store computer program code, the computer program code includes computer instructions”), causes the electronic device to implement operations comprising the method steps of claim 1 and therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claims 6-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Bao further in view of Shimizu (US PGPub 2017/0212658).
Regarding claim 6, while the combination of Xu and Bao teaches a device displaying a two-dimensional code, it has been known to screenshot a display screen. In a similar field of endeavor of smartphones, Shimizu discloses wherein after receiving the first tap operation on the back screen, the method further comprises: registering with a first listener; obtaining an interface screenshot of the second application when the first listener detects that a life cycle of the second application changes or a window state of the second application is refreshed; and identifying that the interface screenshot of the second application comprises a two-dimensional code, and wherein based on the identification that the interface screenshot of the second application comprises a two-dimensional code, the second interface comprises the two-dimensional code of the second application (Shimizu: [0043], “(1) Upon detection of a touch on an end portion of the display section 21, the smartphone 1 acquires a screenshot of content (i.e., a screen of the display section 21) that was displayed on the display section 21 at a time point when the touch was commenced. Then, the smartphone 1 displays, as a preview image of the screenshot, a reduced image of the content, which was displayed on the display section 21 at a time point when the touch was commenced.”).
In view of the teachings of Xu, Bao and Shimizu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the screenshot acquiring operation of Shimizu within the system of Xu and Bao, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience by making the operation more intuitive (Shimizu: [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Xu, Bao and Shimizu further discloses wherein the first listener is a first activity listener, wherein the first activity listener is configured to monitor a life cycle change of the second application, wherein the interface screenshot of the second application is a screenshot of the second interface that is sent to the back screen for displaying, wherein the first listener is a first window listener, wherein the first window listener is configured to monitor a window state change of the second application, wherein the interface screenshot of the second application is a screenshot of a view of the second application, and wherein the view of the second application is a view that has not been displayed on the back screen (Shimizu: [0043], “That is, the smartphone 1 (i) continues to play back the content, which was played back on the display section 21 at a time point when the user commenced touching the end portion of the display section 21 and (ii) displays the preview image so that the preview image overlaps with the content being played back. (4) Upon detection of a user's operation of taking off a finger from the upper side of the display section 21 after the finger traced the upper side of the display section 21 by a given distance or longer, the smartphone 1 (i) displays the preview image so that the preview image is flown off from the screen and then (ii) stores the screenshot. That is, the smartphone 1 (i) displays the preview image so that the preview image is flown off from the screen in response to the user's operation and then (ii) stores the screenshot, which was acquired at a time point when detection of the touch on the end portion of the display section 21 was commenced”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Xu, Bao and Shimizu further discloses wherein before the second time point, the method further comprises combining a view of the second application and a mask view to obtain the second interface, wherein a third area of the mask view is a black background, wherein a fourth area of the mask view is transparent, wherein an area corresponding to the third area in the second interface is a black background, and wherein an area corresponding to the fourth area in the second interface is the two-dimensional code of the second application (Shimizu: [0043], “(5) Upon detection of the finger having been taken off from the upper side of the display section 21 before the finger traces, by the given distance, the upper side of the display section 21, the smartphone 1 (i) controls the preview image to fade out and then (ii) cancels storing of the screenshot. The smartphone 1 also cancels storing of the screenshot, in a case where it detects (a) the finger having traced, by the given distance, the upper side of the display section 21, (b) the finger having turned back, by a distance shorter than the given distance, from the end portion of the display section 21, and then (c) the finger having been taken off from the upper side of the display section 21”).
Regarding claim 9, while Xu and Bao teaches a device displaying a two-dimensional code, it has been known to screenshot a display screen. In a similar field of endeavor of smartphones, Shimizu discloses wherein after receiving the second tap operation on the back screen, the method further comprises:
registering with a second listener; obtaining an interface screenshot of the third application when the second listener detects that a life cycle of the third application changes or a window state of the third application is refreshed; and identifying that the interface screenshot of the third application does not comprise a two- dimensional code, and wherein based on the identification that the interface screenshot of the third application does not comprise a two-dimensional code, the third interface does not comprise the two-dimensional code of the third application (Shimizu: [0043], “(1) Upon detection of a touch on an end portion of the display section 21, the smartphone 1 acquires a screenshot of content (i.e., a screen of the display section 21) that was displayed on the display section 21 at a time point when the touch was commenced. Then, the smartphone 1 displays, as a preview image of the screenshot, a reduced image of the content, which was displayed on the display section 21 at a time point when the touch was commenced.”).
In view of the teachings of Xu, Bao and Shimizu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the screenshot acquiring operation of Shimizu within the system of Xu and Bao, for the purpose of improving a user’s experience by making the operation more intuitive (Shimizu: [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Xu, Bao and Shimizu further discloses wherein:
the second listener is a second activity listener, wherein the second activity listener is configured to monitor a life cycle change of the third application, wherein the interface screenshot of the third application is a screenshot of the fourth interface of the third application that is sent to the back screen for displaying, wherein the fourth interface does not comprise a two-dimensional code, wherein a first area of the fourth interface is a black background, and wherein display content of a second area of the fourth interface is the same as display content of the corresponding area of the third interface; or
the second listener is a second window listener, wherein the second window listener is configured to monitor a window state change of the third application, wherein the interface screenshot of the third application is a screenshot of a view of the third application, and wherein the view of the third application is a view that has not been displayed on the back screen (Shimizu: [0043], “(4) Upon detection of a user's operation of taking off a finger from the upper side of the display section 21 after the finger traced the upper side of the display section 21 by a given distance or longer, the smartphone 1 (i) displays the preview image so that the preview image is flown off from the screen and then (ii) stores the screenshot. That is, the smartphone 1 (i) displays the preview image so that the preview image is flown off from the screen in response to the user's operation and then (ii) stores the screenshot, which was acquired at a time point when detection of the touch on the end portion of the display section 21 was commenced”).
Claim 19 is a device claim drawn to the method of claim 6 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2024/0012451) discloses product forms of a vertically folded electronic device (figs. 1A to 1F).
Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2025/0190085) discloses “The interface display method provided in embodiments of this application includes: When an interface displayed by the electronic device is a split-screen interface, a user may trigger, by performing an operation, the electronic device to switch an application displayed on the split-screen interface, and the user does not need to reopen a desktop or a multi-task interface to switch one or more applications displayed on the split-screen interface. This simplifies a user operation, and improves user experience” ([0005]).
Klein et al. (US PGPub 2021/0097901) discloses “Referring now to FIGS. 10A and 10B, a UI optimization will be described that enables an application window to be moved to an active display area on a foldable computing device. In the example shown in FIG. 10A, for instance, an application is currently executing in the foreground on the foldable computing device 902 and displaying the application window 402 in the display region 106E. In this embodiment, a user can cause the application window 402 to move to the active display region 106D (i.e. the display region 106 containing the taskbar 302) by selecting the icon 904 associated with the application in the taskbar 302” ([0079]).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629