DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a CON of 19/187,903 04/23/2025
19/187,903 is a CON of 18/907,441 10/04/2024 PAT 12341961
18/907,441 is a CON of 17/818,650 08/09/2022 PAT 12177431
17/818,650 is a CON of 17/328,273 05/24/2021 PAT 11659178
17/328,273 is a CON of 16/341,792 04/12/2019 PAT 11057624
16/341,792 is a 371 of PCT/KR2017/011213 10/12/2017
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2016-0133754 10/14/2016
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2016-0133757 10/14/2016
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2017-0127942 09/29/2017
KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2017-0127939 09/29/2017
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh (US 2013/0022115 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh discloses a video decoding method (e.g. Paragraph [0002]) comprising: deriving prediction information of a current block based on a prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0021, 0022]); generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information (e.g. Paragraph [0021, 0022]); and transforming a difference between the current block and the prediction block by a transform method (e.g. Paragraph [0040], to transform residual signal), wherein the transform method is determined based on the prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0040, 00041],”the size of a transform block may be equal to or less than that of the predictive coding block, but may be set differently in an inter mode. In other words, the size of the transform block may be greater than that of the predictive coding block in the inter mode.” Determining size of the transform block is based on comparison with size of the predictive coding block; and the prediction mode of the current block is defined by different sizes of the predictive coding block, see Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0024] for different sizes/modes of predictive coding block), wherein the current block is included in a current image (e.g. Paragraph [0053]), wherein the current image includes a padded area, and wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area (e.g. Paragraph [0100]).
Regarding Claim 3, Oh discloses a video encoding method (e.g. Paragraph [0002]) comprising: performing a first partitioning on a current image into a plurality of upper blocks (e.g. Paragraph [0065]); performing a second partitioning on the upper block into a plurality of sub-blocks (e.g. Paragraph [0073], divide into subsets), wherein one of the sub-blocks is a current block (e.g. Paragraph [0070]); deriving prediction information of a current block based on a prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0021, 0022]); generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information (e.g. Paragraph [0021, 0022]); and transforming a difference between the current block and the prediction block by a transform method (e.g. Paragraph [0040]), wherein the transform method is determined based on the prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0040, 00041],”the size of a transform block may be equal to or less than that of the predictive coding block, but may be set differently in an inter mode. In other words, the size of the transform block may be greater than that of the predictive coding block in the inter mode.” Determining size of the transform block is based on comparison with size of the predictive coding block; and the prediction mode of the current block is defined by different sizes of the predictive coding block, see Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0024] for different sizes/modes of predictive coding block), wherein the current block is included in a current image (e.g. Paragraph [0053]), wherein the current image includes a padded area, and wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area (e.g. Paragraph [0100]).
Regarding Claim 5, Oh discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream, comprising: generating a bitstream by a video encoding method (e.g. Paragraph [0002]); and transmitting the bitstream Paragraph [0021, 0022]), wherein the video encoding method comprises: performing a first partitioning on a current image into a plurality of upper blocks (e.g. Paragraph [0065]); performing a second partitioning on the upper block into a plurality of sub-blocks (e.g. Paragraph [0073], divide into subsets), wherein one of the sub-blocks is a current block (e.g. Paragraph [0070]); deriving prediction information of a current block based on a prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0021, 0022]); generating a prediction block of the current block based on the prediction information (e.g. Paragraph [0021, 0022]); and transforming a difference between the current block and the prediction block by a transform method (e.g. Paragraph [0040]), wherein the transform method is determined based on the prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0040, 00041],”the size of a transform block may be equal to or less than that of the predictive coding block, but may be set differently in an inter mode. In other words, the size of the transform block may be greater than that of the predictive coding block in the inter mode.” Determining size of the transform block is based on comparison with size of the predictive coding block; and the prediction mode of the current block is defined by different sizes of the predictive coding block, see Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0024] for different sizes/modes of predictive coding block), wherein the current block is included in a current image (e.g. Paragraph [0053]), wherein the current image includes a padded area, and wherein the padded area is constructed by horizontal copying of adjacent pixels in the padded area (e.g. Paragraph [0100]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Oh fails to disclose the transform method is determined based on the prediction mode of the current block; however, Oh teaches the transform method is determined based on the prediction mode of the current block (e.g. Paragraph [0040, 00041], ”the size of a transform block may be equal to or less than that of the predictive coding block, but may be set differently in an inter mode. In other words, the size of the transform block may be greater than that of the predictive coding block in the inter mode.” Determining size of the transform block is based on comparison with size of the predictive coding block; and the prediction mode of the current block is defined by different sizes of the predictive coding block, see Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0024] for different sizes/modes of predictive coding block.
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Helle (US 2013/0287116 A1), discloses block partitioning;
Siekmann (US 2013/0034159 A1), discloses method for block partitioning;
Tsukuba (US 2017/0142442 A1), discloses recursive partitioning;
Hendry (US 2015/0358640 A1), discloses conformance parameters;
Lundin (US 8,687,654 B1), discloses a video streaming method.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YULIN SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485