DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-12 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 is being considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In determining whether a claim falls within an excluded category, the Examiner is guided by the Court’s two-part framework, described in Mayo and Alice. Id. at 217-18 (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 75-77 (2012)); Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611 (2010); 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50 (Jan. 7, 2019); the October 2019 Update of the 2019 Revised Guidance (Oct. 17, 2019); 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence (July 17, 2024), and the USPTO’s Paten Subject Matter Eligibility Memorandums of August 4, 2025 and December 5, 2025.
Step 1
Claims are eligible for patent protection under § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability (i.e., laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas). Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U. S. ____ (2014).
The broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 encompasses a computer system (e.g., hardware such as a processor and memory) that implements the recited functions. If assuming that the system comprises a device or set of devices, then the system is directed to a machine, which is a statutory category of invention.
Claim 11 is directed to a statutory category, because a series of recited steps satisfies the requirements of a process (a series of acts).
Claim 12 is directed to a statutory category, because a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions satisfies the requirements of a product. (Step 1: Yes).
Next, the claim is analyzed to determine whether it is directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more of generating time-series data regarding medical condition of a virtual patient. The claim recites:
11. A data generation method comprising:
acquiring an electronic medical record that includes data regarding treatment of a patient;
generating data of an electronic medical record of a virtual patient as data regarding treatment of the patient, based the electronic medical record that includes the data regarding treatment of the patient,
wherein the electronic medical record of the virtual patient includes data regarding treatment in each stage of a medical condition of the virtual patient, and
the data of an electronic medical record of a virtual patient is generated by using a generative model that generates data regarding treatment of the virtual patient from data regarding treatment of the patient;
generating time-series data regarding a medical condition of the virtual patient from the generated data regarding treatment of the virtual patient; and
outputting the generated time-series data regarding the medical condition of the virtual patient.
The recited limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and mathematical concepts, which may be practically performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III), but for the recitation of generic computer components. E.g., applying mathematical algorithms to produce synthetic data is mathematical concepts; manipulating of information, analyzing patient records and predicting disease progression could be performed mentally. That is, other than reciting “by a processor,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind, and/or performed as organized human activity. Aside from the general technological environment (addressed below), it covers purely mental and/or mathematical concepts, and the mere nominal recitation of a generic network appliance (e.g. an interface for inputting or outputting data, or generic network-based storage devices and displays) does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity grouping.
Specifically, the utilizing statistical tools to process data and to output the estimated values - said functions could be performed by a human using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas (e.g., mental comparison regarding a sample or test subject to a control or target data in Ambry, Myriad CAFC, or the diagnosing an abnormal condition by performing clinical tests and thinking about the results in In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (Grams)). In Grams, the recited functions require obtaining data or patient information (from sensors), and analyze that data to ascertain the existence and identity of an abnormality or estimated responses, and possible causes thereof. While said functions are performed by a computer, they are in essence a mathematical algorithm, in that they represent "[a] procedure for solving a given type of mathematical problem." Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 93 S.Ct. 253, 254, 34 L.Ed.2d 273 (1972). Moreover, the Federal Circuit has held, “without additional limitations, a process that employs mathematical algorithms to manipulate existing information to generate additional information is not patent eligible.” Digitech Image Techs., LLC v. Elecs. for Imaging, Inc., 758 F.3d 1344, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2014. Further, “analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.” Elec. Power, 830 F.3d at 1354; see also Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2016). “[T]he fact that the required calculations could be performed more efficiently via a computer does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter.” Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can. (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
As per the use of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning techniques (AI/ML), said recitation does not make the claim patent eligible, because said tools are utilized merely for data gathering and comparing, and are not utilized in express manipulation and control of functional aspects and/or hardware components/equipment of real-world processes and systems using output of AI models (e.g., manufacturing processes and equipment, medical treatments, communications processes and systems, logistics systems and hardware, interactive smart phone apps, etc.). And applying machine learning to predicting disease progression, an activity predating computers, did not transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
As per receiving, storing and outputting data limitations, it has been held that “As many cases make clear, even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is ‘limited to particular content’ or a particular ‘source,’ that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract.” SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (citation omitted); see also In re Jobin, 811 F. App’x 633, 637 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (claims to collecting, organizing, grouping, and storing data using techniques such as conducting a survey or crowdsourcing recited a method of organizing human activity, which is a hallmark of abstract ideas).
All these cases describe the significant aspects of the claimed invention, albeit at another level of abstraction. See Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1240-41 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("An abstract idea can generally be described at different levels of abstraction. As the Board has done, the claimed abstract idea could be described as generating menus on a computer, or generating a second menu from a first menu and sending the second menu to another location. It could be described in other ways, including, as indicated in the specification, taking orders from restaurant customers on a computer.").
Therefore, if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” and/or “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A – Prong 1: Yes).
Step 2A – Prong 2
In Prong Two, the Examiner determines whether claim 11, as a whole, recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception, i.e., whether the additional elements apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is no more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. See Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 54-55. If the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, then the claim is directed to the judicial exception. See id., 84 Fed. Reg. at 54. “An additional element [that] reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field” is indicative of integrating a judicial exception into a practical application. See Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55.
The Examiner determined that this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, because there are no meaningful limitations that transform the exception into a patent eligible application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements – using a processor, databases, and a network to perform the recited steps. However, the processor in each step is recited (or implied) at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer functions of processing data, including receiving, storing, comparing, and outputting data. This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The processor that performs the recited steps merely automates these steps which can be done mentally or manually. The claim does not improve, e.g., medical imaging; medical devices; computer architecture; database technology; network operation; or generative model architecture. Instead, the claim merely uses a generic generative model to create synthetic medical records and outputs the resulting time-series data. Also, the claim does not recite, e.g., a new ML architecture; improved neural-network training; improved EMR storage; improved inference engine, or improved computer functionality. The claim as a whole simply produces additional medical information.
Thus, while the additional elements have and execute instructions to perform the abstract idea itself, this also does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it merely amounts to instructions to "apply it." The claim only manipulates abstract data elements into another form, and does not set forth improvements to another technological field or the functioning of the computer itself and, instead, uses computer elements as tools in a conventional way to improve the functioning of the abstract idea identified above.
Regarding the use of AI/ML techniques, said steps are nothing more than an attempt to recycle preexisting AI/ML technologies to apply for a particular computing application. There are no improvements in said AI/ML techniques, such as advances in the field of computer science itself, or designing a new neural network, and there is no controlling of a technological process using the outcome of said AI/ML operations.
Thus, the use of a trained machine learning model does not integrate the abstract idea of limitation into a practical application, because, under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the predicting disease progression encompasses mental processes practically performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. Similar to Recentive Analytics, claim 11 recites conventional machine learning models without specific improvements to the technology itself. The court noted that "iterative training," a claimed feature, was inherent to all machine learning models and thus did not confer eligibility. Claim 11 does not articulate "how" a technological improvement is achieved.
As per receiving, storing and/or outputting data limitations, these recitations amount to mere data gathering and/or outputting, is insignificant post-solution or extra-solution component and represents nominal recitation of technology. Insignificant "post-solution” or “extra-solution" activity means activity that is not central to the purpose of the method invented by the applicant. However, “(c) Whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or a field-of-use, i.e., the extent to which (or how) the machine or apparatus imposes meaningful limits on the execution of the claimed method steps. Use of a machine or apparatus that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would weigh against eligibility”. See Bilski, 138 S. Ct. at 3230 (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 590, 198 USPQ 193, ___ (1978)). Thus, claim drafting strategies that attempt to circumvent the basic exceptions to § 101 using, for example, highly stylized language, hollow field-of-use limitations, or the recitation of token post-solution activity should not be credited. See Bilski, 130 S. Ct. at 3230.
Therefore, claim 11 as a whole, outputs only data structure, - everything remains in the form of a code stored in the computer memory. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A – Prong 2: No).
Step 2B
If a claim has been determined to be directed to a judicial exception under revised Step 2A, examiners should then evaluate the additional elements individually and in combination under Step 2B to determine whether the provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
The Examiner determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor, a memory and a network to perform the recited amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The claim is now re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
The method would require a processor and memory in order to perform basic computer functions of receiving information, storing the information in a database, retrieving information from the database, comparing data, and outputting said information. These components are not explicitly recited and therefore must be construed at the highest level of generality. Based on the Specification, the invention utilizes conventional communication networks, generic processors and memory, which can be found in mobile devices or desktop computers, and the functions performed by said generic computer elements are basic functions of a computer - performing a mathematical operation, receiving, storing, comparing and outputting data - have recognized by the courts as routine and conventional activity. Specifically, regarding the recited functions, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) defines said functions as routine and conventional, or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink.” (emphasis added));
ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (“The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.”); collecting and comparing known information in Classen 659 F.3d 1057, 100 U.S.P.Q.2d 1492 (Fed. Cir. 2011)
iii. Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (creating and maintaining “shadow accounts”); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log);
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
v. Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition); and
vi. A web browser’s back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Regarding the use of a trained model, said steps are nothing more than an attempt to recycle preexisting AI/ML technologies to apply for a patient treatment application. There are no improvements in said AI/ML techniques, such as advances in the field of computer science itself, or designing a new neural network, and there is no controlling of a technological process using the outcome of said AI/ML operations. Claim 11 neither specifies a specific technical purpose for which the method is used, nor the claim defines a specific technical implementation of the method, nor the claimed method is particularly adapted for that implementation in that its design is motivated by technical considerations of the internal functioning of the computer. Said AI/ML algorithms and computations are done inside of a computer, and do not have a real-world impact and are not tied to the functionality of the computer. Further, there is no evidence that the invention lies in the training phase or execution phase or both; said AI/ML recitation represents merely conventionally applying an existing model to an existing data from publicly accessible databases, with the result being not technological, but purely entrepreneurial. Similar to Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp. (Fed. Cir. 2025), the machine learning technology as recited in claim 11 and described in the Specification is conventional, and “the processes and logic flows described in this specification can be performed by one or more programmable processors executing one or more computer programs to perform actions by operating on input data and generating output”.
Thus, the background of the current application does not provide any indication that the processor is anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Also, the claim does not involve a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces, as asserted, by receiving information from an external source of data. The receiving of data from an external source over a network can fairly be characterized as insignificant extra-solution activity that does not receive patentable weight. See Bilski, 545 F.3d 943, 963 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (en banc), aff’d sub nom Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010) (characterizing data gathering steps as insignificant extra-solution activity). Similar to Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347; Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014): “And we have recognized that merely presenting the results of abstract processes of collecting and analyzing information, without more (such as identifying a particular tool for presentation), is abstract as an ancillary part of such collection and analysis.” Here, the claims are clearly focused on the combination of those abstract-idea processes. The advance they purport to make is a process of gathering and analyzing information of a specified content, then displaying the results, and not any particular asserted inventive technology for performing those functions. They are therefore directed to an abstract idea. As such, the additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements, do not make the claim as a whole significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, a conclusion that the recited steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Further, similar to Electric Power Group v Alstom S.A. (Fed Cir, 2015-1778, 8/1/2016) (Power Group), claim’ invocation of computers, networks, and displays does not transform the claimed subject matter into patent-eligible applications. Claim 11 does not require any nonconventional computer, network, or display components, or even a “non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces,” but merely call for performance of the claimed information collection, analysis, and display functions on a set of generic computer components and display devices. Nothing in the claim, understood in light of the specification, requires anything other than off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, sending, and presenting the desired information. Analogous to Power Group, claim 11 does not even require a new source or type of information, or new techniques for analyzing it. As a result, the claim does not require an arguably inventive set of components or methods, such as measurement devices or techniques that would generate new data. The claim does not invoke any assertedly inventive programming. Merely requiring the selection and manipulation of information - to provide a “humanly comprehensible” amount of information useful for users - by itself does not transform the otherwise-abstract processes of information collection and analysis into patent eligible subject matter. Merely obtaining and selecting information, by content or source, for collection, analysis, and display does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from § 101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas. Therefore, the recited steps represent implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer, or “reciting a commonplace business method aimed at processing business information despite being applied on a general purpose computer” Versata, p. 53; Ultramerical, pp. 11-12.
Furthermore, the recited functions do not improve the functioning of computers itself, including of the processor(s) or the network elements. There are no physical improvements in the claim, like a faster processor or more efficient memory, and there is no operational improvement, like mathematical computation that improve the functioning of the computer. The claim does not improve, e.g., database technology, medical signal processing, sensor or measurement techniques, and does not recite specific rules improving computer operation. The Supreme Court in Alice indicated that an abstract claim might be statutory if it improved another technology or the computer processing itself. Using a (programmed) computer to implement a common business practice does neither. The Federal Circuit has recognized that "an invocation of already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance, for use in carrying out improved mathematical calculations, amounts to a recitation of what is 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional.'" SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (alteration in original) (citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S. 66, 73 (2012)). Apart from the instructions to implement the abstract idea, they only serve to perform well-understood functions (e.g., receiving, storing, comparing and transmitting data—see the Specification as well as Alice Corp.; Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2015) covering the well-known nature of these computer functions).
Again, Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually; there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. “However, it is not apparent how appellant’s programmed digital computer can produce any synergistic result. Instead, the computer will simply do the job it is instructed to do. Where is there any surprising or unexpected result? The unlikelihood of any such result is merely one more reason why patents should not be granted in situations where the only novelty is in the programming of general purpose digital computers”. See Sakraida v. Ag. Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 [ 96 S.Ct. 1532, 47 L.Ed.2d 784], 189 USPQ 449 (1976) and A P Tea Co. V. Supermarket Corp., 340 U.S. 147 [ 71 S.Ct. 127, 95 L.Ed. 162], 87 USPQ 303 (1950).
Furthermore, there is no transformation recited in the claim as understood in view of 35 USC 101. The recited steps merely represent abstract ideas which cannot meet the transformation test because they are not physical objects or substances. Bilski, 545 F.3d at 963. Said steps are nothing more than mere manipulation or reorganization of data, which does not satisfy the transformation prong. It is further noted that the underlying idea of the recited steps could be performed via pen and paper or in a person's mind. Moreover, “We agree with the district court that the claimed process manipulates data to organize it in a logical way such that additional fraud tests may be performed. The mere manipulation or reorganization of data, however, does not satisfy the transformation prong.” and “Abele made clear that the basic character of a process claim drawn to an abstract idea is not changed by claiming only its performance by computers, or by claiming the process embodied in program instructions on a computer readable medium. Thus, merely claiming a software implementation of a purely mental process that could otherwise be performed without the use of a computer does not satisfy the machine prong of the machine-or-transformation test”. CyberSource, 659 F.3d 1057, 100 U.S.P.Q.2d 1492 (Fed. Cir. 2011)
Therefore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because, when considered separately and in combination, the claim elements do not add significantly more to the exception. Considered separately and as an ordered combination, the claim elements do not provide an improvement to another technology or technical field; do not provide an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself; do not apply the judicial exception by use of a particular machine; do not effect a transformation or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing; and do not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the operation of a generic computer. None of the hardware recited "offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking 'the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,' that is, implementation via computers." Id., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)). As per “acquiring an electronic medical record…” recitations, these limitations do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers." Id., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)). Limiting the claims to the particular technological environment is, without more, insufficient to transform the claim into patent-eligible applications of the abstract idea at their core.
Accordingly, claim 11 is not directed to significantly more than the exception itself, and is not eligible subject matter under § 101. (Step 2B: No).
Because Applicant’s apparatus claim 1 and computer-readable storage medium claims 12 add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea, they too are patent ineligi-ble under §101.
Further, although the Examiner takes the steps recited in the independent claim as exemplary, the Examiner points out that limitations recited in dependent claims 2-10 further narrow the abstract idea but do not make the claims any less abstract. Dependent claims 2-10 each merely add further details of the abstract steps recited in claim 1 without including an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. These claims "add nothing of practical significance to the underlying idea," and thus do not transform the claimed abstract idea into patentable subject matter. Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10 are also directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walonoski et al. “Synthea: An approach, method, and software mechanism for generating synthetic patients and the synthetic electronic health care record” Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association, 2018, Vol. 25, No. 3; pp. 229-238 (Walonoski).
Claim 1, 11 and 12. Walonoski discloses a data generation device comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to access the at least one memory and execute the instructions to:
acquire an electronic medical record that includes data regarding treatment of a patient; P. 231, 1st and 2nd ¶¶ (The use of real patient records, even those that have been anonymized, comes with issues of privacy, confidentiality, and consent)
generate data of an electronic medical record of a virtual patient as data regarding treatment of the patient, based on the electronic medical record that includes the data regarding treatment of the patient, P. 231-232, wherein
the electronic medical record of the virtual patient includes data regarding treatment in each stage of a medical condition of the virtual patient, P. 232, “Objectives”; “Results”; P. 236, Table 1; and
the data of an electronic medical record of a virtual patient is generated by using a generative model that generates data regarding treatment of the virtual patient from data regarding treatment of the patient; P. 232; P. 236, Tables 1 and 2; P. 237, Table 3; P. 237, “Conclusion”
generate time-series data regarding a medical condition of the virtual patient from the generated data regarding treatment of the virtual patient; P. 231, “Synthetic data generation”, 6th ¶; P. 232, 2nd ¶; P. 235, “Validation of Synthea”, 5th ¶ (Once mild eye damage occurs, non-proliferative retinopathy can develop based on a second probability distribution per timestep, which can develop into proliferative retinopathy based on a third probability distribution, eventually leading to macular edema and blindness – each with its own probability distribution per time step), and
output the generated time-series data regarding the medical condition of the virtual patient. P. 236, Tables 1 and 2;
Claim 2 The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: generate data regarding complications of the virtual patient as data regarding treatment of the virtual patient. P. 235, “Validation of Synthea”, 1st ¶
Claim 3. The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: select data suitable as target disease data among the generated data regarding treatment of the virtual patient. P. 232, “OBJECTIVES” (cardiovascular disease); “MATERIALS AND METHOD”; “RESULTS”; P. 235, “Validation of Synthea”; P. 236, Tables 1 and 2;
Claim 4. The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire data regarding a health condition of a patient before visiting a hospital as data regarding treatment of the patient; P. 231, 1st and 2nd ¶¶, and
generate data regarding treatment of the virtual patient in each stage of the medical condition including a patient’s condition before visiting a hospital. P. 232; P. 236, Tables 1 and 2; P. 237, Table 3; P. 237, “Conclusion”
Claim 5. The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire data regarding a health condition of the patient after discharge as data regarding treatment of the patient; and generate data regarding treatment in each stage of the medical condition of the virtual patient, the medical condition including a patient’s condition after discharge. P. 232, “MATERIALS AND METHODS”, “RESULTS”; P. 234, 1st ¶ (For example, this can be used to count the number of chemotherapy treatments administered to a patient.)
Claim 6. The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: predict, by using a machine learning model that predicts, based on data regarding treatment in an initial stage of a subject patient, data regarding treatment in a stage after the initial stage on a time series from data in the initial stage of the patient, data regarding treatment of the subject patient in a stage after the initial stage. P. 235, “Validation of Synthea”, 1st ¶
Claim 7. The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein the data regarding the treatment includes recognition of a medical condition by a patient. P. 232, “MATERIALS AND METHODS”, “RESULTS”; P. 233, Listing 1, 1st ¶; P. 234, 1st ¶, “Clinical states”
Claim 8. The data generation device according to claim 1, wherein time-series data regarding a medical condition of the virtual patient is a patient journey. P. 231, 1st and 2nd ¶¶; P. 232; P. 235, “Validation of Synthea”; P. 236, Tables 1 and 2; P. 237, Table 3; P. 237, “Conclusion”
Claim 10. The data generation device according to claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire data regarding treatment of a patient in a case where the patient visits another hospital as data regarding a health condition of the patient before visiting a hospital. P. 231, 1st and 2nd ¶¶; P. 232, “MATERIALS AND METHODS”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theodorou et al. (US 2024/0105292 A1)
Claim 9. Walonoski does not explicitly teach wherein the generative model is a large-scale language model, which is disclosed in Theodorou et al. (Theodorou) [[0014]; [0015]; [0024] Theodorou also discloses receiving real EHRs; encoding longitudinal patient records; applying a deep-learning language model; generating synthetic longitudinal EHRs; repeating generation of sequential patients visits; and preserving chronological clinical histories.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Walonoski to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in Theodorou, because it would advantageously allow, during modeling steps, to predict a next word based on the preceding words, thereby learning a probability distribution of languages, and, as well, in EHR models, to predict the next visit based on past visits, as specifically stated in Theodorou. [0014] Also, it
would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Walonoski to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in Theodorou, for the benefit of saving significant time and resources across diverse domains due to its ability to execute completely novel tasks with minimal additional training, simply by understanding the instructions provided within the user prompt and creative generation.
Citations of pertinent art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's:
RATNER et al. - US 2024/0296922 A1 – discloses acquiring EHRs of real patients; using a generative adversarial network (GAN) trained on patient EHRs; generating artificial patient trajectories; generating and outputting hypothetical disease progression for new or virtual patients
Yoon et al. - US 2024/0185043 A1 – discloses generating heterogeneous time-series; generating GAN-based synthetic data; preserving privacy of synthetic HER records; generating realistic temporal sequences
Jin Li et al. “Generating synthetic mixed-type longitudinal electronic health records for artificial intelligent applications” NPJ Digit Med. 2023 May 27; 6:98. doi: 10.1038/s41746-023-00834-7; pp. 1-60, - discloses generative adversarial network; generation of synthetic EMRs; generation from real patient records; longitudinal/time series trajectories; preservation or temporal disease progression.
Chao Pang et al. “CEHR-GPT: Generating Electronic Health Records with Chronological Patient Timelines” arXiv.org 6 February 2024 Computer Science, Medicine; pp. 1-19, - discloses a transformer-based generative model, generation of synthetic EHRs; chronological patent timelines; virtual patient histories; sequential disease progression; conversion into standard EMR format.
Conclusion
For more information about the Patent Center, https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Patent Center system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/IGOR N BORISSOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685 7/15/2026