DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “communicator” in claim 7 and “in-vehicle communicator” in claim 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Corresponding structure for the claimed “communicator” and “in-vehicle communicator” is found in paragraph [0054] of the specification as-filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogura et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0348690 A1) [hereinafter “Ogura”].
Regarding claim 1, Ogura discloses a remote device comprising:
a remote manipulator to remotely manipulate a working vehicle (remote controller 112; see [0051])
a display to display an image of an area in a direction of travel of the working vehicle captured during remote manipulation (display 113; see [0050]-[0059]); and
a controller configured or programmed to cause the display to display actual travel information at least during remote manipulation of the working vehicle (see [0050]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Ogura further discloses the captured image is an image of the area in the direction of travel of the working vehicle captured by an imager provided inside or outside a protection structure surrounding an operator’s seat on or in the working vehicle (see [0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Ogura discloses a remote manipulation system comprising:
a working vehicle (work vehicle 1 and/or 100); and
the remote device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein
the working vehicle includes:
a position detector (moving receiver 33) to detect a position of the working vehicle (see [0037]);
an imager (camera 42) to capture an image of an area in a direction of travel of the working vehicle (see [0050]); and
an in-vehicle communicator (transceiver 110) to transmit position information indicating the position detected by the position detector and the captured image captured by the imager such that the position information and the captured image are associated with each other (see [0050]-[0059]);
the remote device includes a communicator (transceiver 111) to receive the position information and the captured image (see [0050]-[0059]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to cause the display to display actual travel information at least during remote manipulation of the working vehicle (see [0050]-[0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogura in view of Wilson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0026362 A1) [hereinafter “Wilson”].
Regarding claim 2, Ogura does not expressly teach the actual travel information includes information indicating a route actually traveled by the working vehicle manually operated or automatically operated.
Wilson also generally teaches a system for parallel or serial travel for work vehicles (see Abstract and Figures 7A-8B). Wilson teaches an actual route traveled by the vehicle previously during manual or automated travel is recorded and can then be brought up and displayed so that the vehicle can follow the same route (see [0054]-[0060], [0065], [0082], [01112], and [0133]). Wilson teaches this allows for more precise control of work vehicles in an agricultural environment (see [0003] and [0051]).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Ogura so as to store previous routes for selection and display in the manner taught by Wilson, in view of Wilson, as Wilson teaches this allows for more precise control of the work vehicles in a coordinated effort.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ogura and Wilson further teaches the actual travel information is not information relating to a route and manipulation of the working vehicle remotely manipulated currently by a human remote manipulator, but is information relating to a route and manipulation relating to another vehicle other than the working vehicle remotely manipulated currently (see at least [0051]-[0065] and [0070] of Wilson).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ogura and Wilson further teaches information relating to a route and manipulation relating to a manual operation included in the actual travel information is information relating to a route and manipulation obtained when the other vehicle was manually operated by a driver in the other vehicle or when the other vehicle was remotely operated manually by the human remote manipulator not in the other vehicle (see at least [0051]-[0065], [0070], and [0082] of Wilson).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ogura and Wilson further teaches the display is configured to display the captured image on a remote operation screen (see [0050]-[0059] of Ogura); and the controller is configured or programmed to display a path in a superimposed manner on the captured image on the remote operation screen, the path being an actual travel route which was passed by the manual operation and which is included in the actual travel information (see [0051]-[0065] and Figure 9B of Wilson; see also [0050]-[0066] of Ogura).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ogura and Wilson further teaches a memory and/or a storage to store one or more pieces of the actual travel information; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to, based on a selection instruction from the human remote manipulator, select one of the one or more pieces of actual travel information stored in the memory and/or the storage and cause the display to display, as the path, a route indicated by the selected one of the one or more pieces of actual travel information on the remote operation screen (see [0051]-[0065], [0095], [0112], and [0133] of Wilson).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ogura and Wilson further teaches the remote device further comprising:
a memory and/or a storage to store one or more pieces of the actual travel information (see [0112] of Wilson and [0055] of Ogura); and
a communicator to receive position information relating to the working vehicle and the captured image (transceiver 110 of Ogura, see [0050]-[0059] of Ogura); wherein
each of the one or more pieces of actual travel information includes information in which manipulation information obtained when the working vehicle or the other vehicle was actually operated and position information relating to the working vehicle or the other vehicle are associated with each other (see [0051]-[0065], [0095], [0112], and [0133] of Wilson); and
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the remote manipulator remotely manipulates the working vehicle:
select, from the memory and/or the storage, one of the one or more pieces of actual travel information that is associated with a target range including a position indicated by current position information relating to the working vehicle received by the communicator (see [0051]-[0065], [0095], [0112], [0133], and [0138]-[0139] of Wilson); and
cause the display to display, as the path, the actual travel route indicated by the selected one of the one or more pieces of actual travel information on the remote operation screen (see [0051]-[0065], [0095], [0112], [0133], and [0138]-[0139] of Wilson).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 recites the following (emphasis added):
The remote device according to claim 5, further comprising:
a memory and/or a storage to store one or more pieces of the actual travel information including respective one or more actual travel routes; wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to:
select one of the one or more actual travel routes stored in the memory and/or the storage based on priority information; and
cause the display to display the selected one of the one or more actual travel routes as the path on the remote operation screen.
The prior art does not disclose or teach the controller of the remote device selects one of the stored actual travel routes “based on priority information”. Wilson teaches the route can be selected based on picking a route of another vehicle that is closest to the current vehicle (see [0133]-[0140]). However, Wilson does not teach the stored actual travel route is selected based on any sort of priority information.
This difference between Wilson and the invention as claimed in claim 9 is not otherwise rendered obvious by any remaining evidence in the cited prior art.
Accordingly, claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims based upon its dependency from claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim (US 2022/0410929 A1) generally teaches:
An autonomous vehicle may include an autonomous driving control apparatus including a processor that is configured to request remote control of the autonomous vehicle to a control system when the remote control of the autonomous vehicle is required, and when receiving a driving path stored during a previous remote control of the autonomous vehicle from the control system, follows and controls the received driving path.
/ANSHUL SOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667