DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figs. 4-6 in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 and 9-11 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/16/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations
“further comprising a friction reduction coating at least locally provided between the two layers” (recited in claim 8);
“wherein the portion of the contact surface comprises two layers arranged on top of one another, wherein an outer layer of the two layers is movable with respect to an inner layer of the two layers, and wherein a movement in the lateral direction is restricted” (recited in claim 2)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vehicle occupant" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing said limitation to --a vehicle occupant--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the slipping properties" in lines 6 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 2 lines 1-4, the limitation “wherein the portion of the contact surface comprises two layers arranged on top of one another, wherein an outer layer of the two layers is movable with respect to an inner layer of the two layers, and wherein a movement in the lateral direction is restricted” is unclear because three layers are present in at least Figs. 6. Therefore, claim 2 is rendered indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the vehicle occupant" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing said limitation to --a vehicle occupant--.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the slipping properties" in lines 10 and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the vehicle occupant" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing said limitation to --a vehicle occupant--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the slipping properties" in lines 11 and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 12-14 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schock (WO 2017/182602 A1), cited by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1-4, 8, and 12 (as best understood), Schock (at least Figs. 1-20) discloses
(claim 1) an airbag 10 for a vehicle, the airbag 10 comprising:
an envelope 12 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 10,
wherein the envelope 12 comprises a contact surface 14 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 10,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 14 has directional slipping properties (at least via 20, 22, friction reduction coating on pages 6-7), and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance (at least due to 26a, 26b) than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 1-20);
(claim 2) wherein the portion of the contact surface 14 comprises two layers 20, 22 arranged on top of one another, wherein an outer layer 20, 22 of the two layers 20, 22 is movable with respect to an inner layer 20, 22 of the two layers 20, 22, and wherein a movement in the lateral direction is restricted (at least due to 26a, 26b; at least Figs. 1-20);
(claim 3) wherein the outer layer 20, 22 is formed by a pleat of the inner layer 20, 22;
(claim 4) wherein the pleat is T-shaped in cross section (at least Figs. 9, 11,
14-6, 19, 20);
(claim 8) further comprising a friction reduction coating (at least pages 6-7) at least locally provided between the two layers;
(claim 12) wherein the envelope 12 is made of fabric material.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Schock (at least Figs. 1-20) discloses an airbag module comprising:
an inflator; and
an airbag 10 comprising:
an envelope 12 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 10,
wherein the envelope 12 comprises a contact surface 14 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 10,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 14 has directional slipping properties (at least via 20, 22, friction reduction coating on pages 6-7), and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance (at least due to 26a, 26b) than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 1-20).
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Schock (at least Figs. 1-20) discloses a vehicle comprising:
an airbag module comprising:
an inflator; and
an airbag 10 comprising:
an envelope 12 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 10,
wherein the envelope 12 comprises a contact surface 14 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 10,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 14 has directional slipping properties (at least via 20, 22, friction reduction coating on pages 6-7), and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance (at least due to 26a, 26b) than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 1-20).
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 9,421,940 B2), cited by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 12 (as best understood), Lee et al. (at least Figs. 1-6) discloses
(claim 1) an airbag 20 for a vehicle, the airbag 20 comprising:
an envelope 20 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 20,
wherein the envelope 20 comprises a contact surface 30 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 20,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 30 has directional slipping properties 36a, 36b, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (as much as in current application);
(claim 2) wherein the portion of the contact surface 30 comprises two layers arranged on top of one another (at 36a, 36b), wherein an outer layer 30 of the two layers is movable with respect to an inner layer 30 of the two layers, and wherein a movement in the lateral direction is restricted;
(claim 3) wherein the outer layer 30 is formed by a pleat of the inner layer 30;
(claim 12) wherein the envelope 20 is made of fabric material.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Lee et al. (at least Figs. 1-6) discloses an airbag module comprising:
an inflator 10; and
an airbag 20 comprising:
an envelope 20 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 20,
wherein the envelope 20 comprises a contact surface 30 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 20,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 30 has directional slipping properties 36a, 36b, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (as much as in current application).
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Lee et al. (at least Figs. 1-6) discloses a vehicle comprising:
an airbag module comprising:
an inflator 10; and
an airbag 20 comprising:
an envelope 20 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 20,
wherein the envelope 20 comprises a contact surface 30 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 20,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 30 has directional slipping properties 36a, 36b, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (as much as in current application).
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Igawa et al. (US 7,207,594 B2).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 12 (as best understood), Igawa et al. (at least Figs. 1-4(b)) discloses
(claim 1) an airbag 4 for a vehicle, the airbag 4 comprising:
an envelope 4 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 4,
wherein the envelope 4 comprises a contact surface 24 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 4,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 24 has directional slipping properties 34, 34, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 2(a), 3-4(b), as much as in current application);
(claim 2) wherein the portion of the contact surface 24 comprises two layers (at 34, 34) arranged on top of one another, wherein an outer layer of the two layers is movable with respect to an inner layer of the two layers, and wherein a movement in the lateral direction is restricted (at least Figs. 2(a), 3-4(b));
(claim 3) wherein the outer layer is formed by a pleat of the inner layer (at 34, 34, at least Figs. 2(a), 3-4(b));
(claim 12) wherein the envelope 4 is made of fabric material.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Igawa et al. (at least Figs. 1-4(b)) discloses an airbag module comprising:
an inflator 6; and
an airbag 4 comprising:
an envelope 4 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 4,
wherein the envelope 4 comprises a contact surface 24 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 4,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 24 has directional slipping properties 34, 34, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 2(a), 3-4(b), as much as in current application).
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Igawa et al. (at least Figs. 1-4(b)) discloses a vehicle comprising:
an airbag module comprising:
an inflator 6; and
an airbag 4 comprising:
an envelope 4 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 4,
wherein the envelope 4 comprises a contact surface 24 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 4,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 24 has directional slipping properties 34, 34, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 2(a), 3-4(b), as much as in current application).
Claims 1 and 12-14 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaradi et al. (US 9,713,998 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 12 (as best understood), Jaradi et al. (at least Figs. 1-5) discloses
(claim 1) an airbag 16 for a vehicle, the airbag 16 comprising:
an envelope 16 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 16,
wherein the envelope 16 comprises a contact surface 17, 20 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 16,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 17, 20 has directional slipping properties 22, 26, 30, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance (at least due to 22, 26, 30) than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 1-5);
(claim 12) wherein the envelope 16 is made of fabric material.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Jaradi et al. (at least Figs. 1-5) discloses an airbag module 15 comprising:
an inflator 13; and
an airbag 16 comprising:
an envelope 16 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 16,
wherein the envelope 16 comprises a contact surface 17, 20 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 16,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 17, 20 has directional slipping properties 22, 26, 30, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance (at least due to 22, 26, 30) than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Jaradi et al. (at least Figs. 1-5) discloses a vehicle 12 comprising:
an airbag module 15 comprising:
an inflator 13; and
an airbag 16 comprising:
an envelope 16 at least partially delimiting a gas volume in a deployed state of the airbag 16,
wherein the envelope 16 comprises a contact surface 17, 20 configured to contact the vehicle occupant to be protected by the airbag 16,
wherein at least a portion of the contact surface 17, 20 has directional slipping properties 22, 26, 30, and
wherein the slipping properties in a lateral direction are associated with a higher slipping resistance (at least due to 22, 26, 30) than the slipping properties in a non-lateral direction (at least Figs. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 (as best understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 9,421,940 B2) in view of Jo (US 10,640,074 B2).
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Lee et al. (at least Figs. 1-6) discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the pleat is T-shaped in cross section.
Jo (at least Figs. 1-11) discloses that it is known in the art to provide a pleat that is T-shaped in cross section (at least Figs. 1-9) as well in a zigzag manner in cross section (Figs. 10-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pleat of Lee et al. according to the teachings of Jo, such that the pleat is T-shaped in cross section, in order to achieve the desirable result of a pleat having an alternative shape in cross section.
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the pleat T-shaped in cross section, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 4 (as best understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igawa et al. (US 7,207,594 B2) in view of Jo (US 10,640,074 B2).
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Igawa et al. (at least Figs. 1-4(b)) discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the pleat is T-shaped in cross section.
Jo (at least Figs. 1-11) discloses that it is known in the art to provide a pleat that is T-shaped in cross section (at least Figs. 1-9) as well in a zigzag manner in cross section (Figs. 10-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pleat of Igawa et al. according to the teachings of Jo, such that the pleat is T-shaped in cross section, in order to achieve the desirable result of a pleat having an alternative shape in cross section.
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the pleat T-shaped in cross section, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 (as best understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 9,421,940 B2) in view of Schock (WO 2017/182602 A1), both cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. (at least Figs. 1-6) discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a friction reduction coating at least locally provided between the two layers.
Schock (at least Figs. 1-20) discloses that it is known in the art to provide further comprising a friction reduction coating (at least pages 6-7) at least locally provided between two layers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the two layers of
Lee et al. with the friction reduction coating at least locally provided between the two layers according to the teachings of Schock, in order to achieve the desirable result of further facilitating the slipping properties.
Claim 8 (as best understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igawa et al. (US 7,207,594 B2) in view of Schock (WO 2017/182602 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Igawa et al. (at least Figs. 1-4(b)) discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a friction reduction coating at least locally provided between the two layers.
Schock (at least Figs. 1-20) discloses that it is known in the art to provide further comprising a friction reduction coating (at least pages 6-7) at least locally provided between two layers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the two layers of
Igawa et al. with the friction reduction coating at least locally provided between the two layers according to the teachings of Schock, in order to achieve the desirable result of further facilitating the slipping properties.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOSELYNN Y SLITERIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614