DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “rewriting circuit,” “power source connection circuit,” and “control processor” in claim 1, of which claim 2-8 are dependent, and “selection circuit” in claim 2.
Paragraph 0021 discloses the circuitry as system on a chip (SoC), Central processing unit (CPU), or a plurality of circuits.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2013/0135215 to Bozarth et al. (Bozarth).
As to claim 1, Bozarth discloses a rewriting device for an electronic paper (Fig. 1; Para. 0023-0025, electronic paper display, 102), comprising:
a rewriting circuit that performs rewriting of the electronic paper (Fig. 1; Para. 0023, display controllers, 104);
a power source connection circuit that connects the rewriting circuit and at least one power source to each other (Fig. 1; Para. 0031, one or more power sources, 116); and
a control processor that acquires power supply capability of the power source connected to the rewriting circuit (Fig. 1; Para. 0031, 0033, processor, 110) and determines a size of a unit region in a case where the rewriting is performed according to the acquired power supply capability (Fig. 1; Para. 0036-0037, sequential update module, 118, determines size of the pixel blocks), wherein,
in a case where the determined unit region is smaller than an entire region of the electronic paper, the control processor rewrites the unit region, and then rewrites the entire region by sequentially shifting the unit region to an unrewritten position (Fig. 2; Para. 0041-0045, incremental page transition).
As to claim 7, Bozarth discloses the rewriting device according to claim 1, wherein
the control processor designates a position of the unit region to be rewritten to the rewriting circuit (Fig. 2, 4; Para. 0041-0045, incremental page transition), and
the rewriting circuit rewrites a pixel in the unit region at the designated position (Fig. 2, 4; Para. 0041-0045, incremental page transition).
As to claim 9, Bozarth discloses a rewriting method for an electronic paper (Fig. 1; Para. 0023-0025, electronic paper display, 102) by a processor (Fig. 1; Para. 0031, 0033, processor, 110), comprising:
(a) recognizing connection between a rewriting circuit that performs rewriting of the electronic paper (Fig. 1; Para. 0023, display controllers, 104) and at least one power source (Fig. 1; Para. 0031, one or more power sources, 116);
(b) acquiring power supply capability of the power source connected to the rewriting circuit (Fig. 1; Para. 0031, one or more power sources 116 that provide power to the device 100);
(c) determining a size of a unit region in a case where the rewriting is performed according to the acquired power supply capability (Fig. 1; Para. 0036-0037, sequential update module, 118, determines size of the pixel blocks); and
(d) rewriting the electronic paper per the unit region by using the rewriting circuit, wherein,
step (d), in a case where the determined unit region is smaller than an entire region of the electronic paper, rewrites the unit region, and then rewrites the entire region by sequentially shifting the unit region to an unrewritten position (Fig. 2; Para. 0041-0045, incremental page transition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozarth in view of U.S. Publication No. 2012/0062611 to Wang et al. (Wang).
As to claim 5, Bozarth discloses the rewriting device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic paper includes pixels aligned longitudinally and laterally in a matrix (Fig. 4, pixel array), but does not expressly disclose the rewriting circuit includes a column driver that drives a pixel line in a longitudinal direction in which the pixels are aligned in the longitudinal direction, and a row driver that drives a pixel line in a lateral direction in which the pixels are aligned in the lateral direction, and the control processor controls the column driver to drive the pixel line corresponding to a longitudinal region of the unit region, and controls the row driver to drive the pixel line corresponding to a lateral region of the unit region, to rewrite the unit region.
Wang teaches the rewriting circuit includes a column driver that drives a pixel line in a longitudinal direction in which the pixels are aligned in the longitudinal direction (Fig. 3; Para. 0038, column driver, 305), and a row driver that drives a pixel line in a lateral direction in which the pixels are aligned in the lateral direction (Fig. 3; Para. 0038, row driver, 306), and
the control processor controls the column driver to drive the pixel line corresponding to a longitudinal region of the unit region, and controls the row driver to drive the pixel line corresponding to a lateral region of the unit region, to rewrite the unit region (Fig. 3; Para. 0040-0042, initialing unit 303 controls the drive unit 304 to display a refresh image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rewriting device of Bozarth to include the display driving circuitry of Wang because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the rewriting device of Bozarth as modified by the display driving circuitry of Wang can yield a predictable result of providing a display with improved display quality. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the rewriting device of Bozarth the ability to use the display driving circuitry of Wang since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 6, Bozarth and Wang disclose the rewriting device according to claim 5. Bozarth discloses the size of the unit region corresponds to the pixel line for the one section (Para. 0012, 0028, display controller that allows for per-pixel or multiple-pixel-block updating enables the incremental page transitions). Bozarth does not expressly disclose wherein each of the column driver and the row driver includes a plurality of driver elements, and each of the plurality of driver elements drives the pixel line for one section of a plurality of sections into which the pixel line in one direction is divided.
Wang discloses each of the column driver and the row driver includes a plurality of driver elements, and each of the plurality of driver elements drives the pixel line for one section of a plurality of sections into which the pixel line in one direction is divided Fig. 3; Para. 0038, column driver, 305 and row driver, 306, with multiple signal lines).
This combination is obvious for at least the reasons set forth in claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LISA S LANDIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2626