DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “311-1” and “919”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “551”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At paragraph 0060, in line 2, “us” should be changed to “up”, and in line 6, “hold” should be changed to “hole”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,970,063 (Steinman) in view of US 10,309,160 B1 (Goren).
As concerns claim 1, Steinman discloses a belling auger apparatus for belling a hole of a given width in earth, the apparatus comprising: a rotatable shaft 1 with a lower end and an upper end; a belling assembly connected to the lower end of the rotatable shaft (figure 1); a rotational drive connector 14 connected to the upper end of the rotatable shaft, and a shovel 6, 8 with a distal end and a proximal end, the shovel including a J-shaped cutting edge; wherein in response to applying the downward force to the rotational drive connector the shovel pivots outward (from the position of figure 3 to the position of figure 1).
Steinman lacks to disclose the rotational drive connector being configured to removably connect to a hydraulic motor (although there would be no reason not to attach a motor to automate the apparatus); nevertheless Goren discloses an auger apparatus for belling a hole of a given width in the earth having a rotational drive connector configured to removably connect to a hydraulic motor (see figure 1, showing shovel at 110 and shaft driven by motor 130). One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered incorporating a motor such as disclosed by Goren with a reasonable expectation of success, as this provides the desirable result of operating the auger apparatus automatically or mechanically and thus would not require manual input to operate the auger apparatus.
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinman, as modified above, and further in view of US 3,112,802 (Amann et al.).
As concerns claim 3, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the belling assembly further comprising: a base pan 19; a base shaft affixed to a center point of the base pan (the lower portion of the driving rod, see figure 3); wherein in response to applying downward force to the hydraulic motor (see figure 1 of Goren), the belling assembly bells the bottom of the hole to at least 50% greater than the given width (this certainly appears to be the case in figure 1); and wherein the rotational drive connector is configured with withstand a vertical force of 250 pounds or greater (where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05), but lacks to disclose an extension strap rotatably connected at a first pivot point to the base shaft.
Amann et al. discloses a belling auger apparatus including an extension strap 33 rotatably connected at a first pivot point to the base shaft. One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered incorporating the strap of Amann et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as this provides additional support for the shovel in the expanded configuration.
As concerns claim 4, Amann et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the shovel is rotatably connected at a second pivot point to the rotatable shaft (figure 1), the shovel being rotatably connected to the extension strap at a third pivot point located between the second pivot point and the distal end (note the additional pivot approximate 35 in figure 1).
As concerns claim 6, Steinman discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the base shaft is rigidly affixed to a top side of the base pan, the apparatus further comprising: a stabilization spike 2 rigidly affixed to a bottom side of the base pan.
As concerns claim 7,the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the shovel rotates around the base shaft in response to a rotational force (Steinman) being applied to the rotatable shaft by the hydraulic motor (Goren).
As concerns claim 9, Amann et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the shovel digs into a side of the hole in response to the shovel rotating about the second pivot point away from the base shaft (figure 1).
As concerns claim 10, Amann et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the shovel throws dirt from the side of the hole into the base pan in response to rotating about the second pivot point away from the base shaft and in response to rotating around the base shaft (Id.).
As concerns claims 2, 5, 8 and 11, the combination lacks to specifically disclose the ranges for the weights for the downward and vertical forces, or the specific claimed values for the claimed torque, nevertheless it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the claimed forces and torques, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,442,151 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent, drawn more narrowly to the same subject matter, obviously encompass the limitations of the pending claims.
Conclusion
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/JAMES G SAYRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672