DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected. This action is a non-final office action on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11042933. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claims 1, 8, 10 contain similar language and technical merit as the parent patent. With the exception of 35 USC 101, they would be essentially similar.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: a corresponding “withholding financial instrument” is claimed and may potentially be unique. However, on parsing the claims language of claims 1, 8 and 15 in view of applicant specification, it’s not clear if the corresponding withholding financial instrument and the “derivative financial instrument” are different instruments, ie is there really a separate derivative financial instrument only to withhold dividends? For the purpose of rejection initially, the accounts are presumed to be the same because it’s not clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are directed to a system, method and tangible computer readable medium respectively. These are all statutory classes of invention. Step 1 yes
The examiner has identified claim 8 as the representative claim for analysis.
The claims limitations under their broadest limitation cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity which thus recites a fundamental economic practice, ie trading concepts.
Claim 8 recites the following abstract elements;
by a … coupled via a … with a market data component, a market data feed transmitted thereby comprising data indicative of changes in value of one or more derivative financial instruments; creating, by the …, substantially simultaneously, a derivative financial instrument having an underlying instrument for which one or more payments are periodically received and a corresponding withholding financial instrument having a short party thereto which is also a long party to the derivative financial instrument and wherein the long party to the withholding financial instrument is an account for holding a variation margin amount, the derivative financial instrument varying in value at least based on receipt of the one or more payments; determining, by the …, periodically, receipt of one or more of the one or more payments, and an amount thereof, via analysis of the market data feed received from the market data component based on changes in the value of the derivative financial instrument, and based thereon: computing, by the …, a value of the withholding financial instrument as an accumulation of the amounts of all of the payments thus far received; determining, by the processor, the variation margin amount for the short party to the withholding financial instrument based on the computed value; and crediting, by the processor, the determined variation margin amount to the long party to the withholding financial instrument, thereby eliminating direct payment by the short party to the long party and reducing a consumption of bandwidth of data collected and transmitted by the market data component.
Here the computing elements include network and processor.
The recitation of generic computing elements to perform trading activities does not necessarily preclude the claims from reciting an abstract idea. Step 2a Prong 1, yest the claims recite an abstract idea. Claims 1, 8 and 15 being similar. The dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 do not further add additional elements.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements of processor and network for example are recited at a high level of generality. These are mere instructions to apply using a generic computing component. There claims 1, 8 and 15 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application . Step 2A prong 2 NO.
The claims do not include additional elements. Here applicant’s claims allude to a reduction in bandwidth requirements see also 0041 of the specification. Reduction in bandwidth might be a technical improvement but, the applicant merely recites the results and not the process used to reduce bandwidth. If applicant could enumerate a process to reduce bandwidth this might be sufficient.
The dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 do not further add additional elements as mentioned earlier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent to Richard Co (hear after Richard) 8626638.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claims 1, 8 and 15 Richard discloses;
receiving, by a processor coupled via a network with a market data component, a market data feed transmitted thereby comprising data indicative of changes in value of one or more derivative financial instruments;
Richard(col. 8 lines 25-40, publish the data)
creating, by the processor, substantially simultaneously, a derivative financial instrument having an underlying instrument for which one or more payments are periodically received and a corresponding withholding financial instrument having a short party thereto which is also a long party to the derivative financial instrument and wherein the long party to the withholding financial instrument is an account for holding a variation margin amount,
Richard(fig. 4, here “is the withholding financial instrument” a separate financial instrument or the instrument that’s receiving the withhold, the examiner assumes that the withholding financial instrument is the one that receives the withholding)
the derivative financial instrument varying in value at least based on receipt of the one or more payments;
Richard(col. 10 side payments)
determining, by the processor, periodically, receipt of one or more of the one or more payments, and an amount thereof, via analysis of the market data feed received from the market data component based on changes in the value of the derivative financial instrument, and based thereon: computing, by the processor, a value of the withholding financial instrument as an accumulation of the amounts of all of the payments thus far received;
Richard(col. 10)
determining, by the processor, the variation margin amount for the short party to the withholding financial instrument based on the computed value;
and crediting, by the processor, the determined variation margin amount to the long party to the withholding financial instrument,
thereby eliminating direct payment by the short party to the long party and reducing a consumption of bandwidth of data collected and transmitted by the market data component.
Richard(This is more of an intended consequence of the eliminating direct payments, col. 7 indicates that efficiency is one intended desire or objective of the clearing system so efficiency would reduce the consumption of bandwith )
Claims, 8 and 15 are similar to claim 1
As per claims 2, 9 and 16 Richard discloses;
The system of claim 1, wherein the withholding financial instrument expires at a same time that the derivative financial instrument expires. Co (col. 8 lines 30-40)
As per claims 4, 11 and 18 Richard discloses;
the system of claim 1, wherein the computed value comprises a constructive dividend.
Richard(col. 8 lines 10—25 discloses dividend pass through, constructive dividend is a way to settle out dividend holdings for an options or futures that need to be compensated for)
As per claims 5, 12 and 19 Richard discloses; The system of claim 1, wherein the payments are received periodically and at different times.
Col. 10(lines 10-15, different times could be any time, each day for example)
As per claims 6, 13 and 20 Richard discloses;
The system of claim 1, wherein the variation margin amount is a percentage of the accumulated payments for one trading period.
Richard(col. 8 lines 35-45, a period of time, flexible in view of it could be each day col. 7, col. 10 each day)
As per claims 14, and 7 Richard discloses;
the computer implemented method of claim 8, further comprising: determining, daily by the processor, based on a daily settlement price for the withholding financial instrument, the variation margin.
Richard(col. 7 lines 30-35, each day)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US Patent to Richard Co (hear after Richard) 8626638 in view of US Patent Publication 200901182658 to Lutnick
As per claims 3, 10 and 17 Richard does not explicitly disclose what
Lutnick teaches;
the system of claim 1, wherein the long and short parties are not being identified to each other by the processor.
Lutnick(0061-63 concept of anonymous trading between long and short trading)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the variation teachings of Richard with the anonymous trading of Lutnick for the motivation of creating generic “computer trading systems”. (0002)
Allowable subject matter but for 35 USC 101 and claim objections above
Here the most relevant of Record is applicant’s own patent 11042933 and US Patent Publication 200901182658 to Lutnick in regards to anonymous (not known to each other) trading found in claims 3, 10 and 17.
The allowable feature as found in claim 1, 8 and 15, is a separate “corresponding withholding financial instrument”. Here in view of objection, it’s not clear if this is a separate derivative withholding account as in just for the dividends or if the derivative account is the derivative itself.
In the words of claim 1,
“creating, by the processor, substantially simultaneously, a derivative financial instrument having an underlying instrument for which one or more payments are periodically received and a corresponding withholding financial instrument having a short party thereto which is also a long party to the derivative financial instrument and wherein the long party to the withholding financial instrument is an account for holding a variation margin amount, “
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure from an IP.com search;
Electronic Financial Markets, IEEE 1999
MVA Transfer Pricing, ARXiV 2015
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693