DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 12, 14 – 19, 21 & 22. (Cancel claims 13 & 20)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the subject matter of the instant claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
As per claim 1, Applicant asserts prior-art(s) does not teach the claimed storing detection-context data defining a plurality of detection contexts, respective sets of usage expectations associated with respective detection contexts, selection of a selected detection context, and comparison against the set of usage expectations associated with that selected detection context (Remarks: Page 9 / 3rd Para) because Stedman merely discloses storing, among other things, a detection context and usage expectation data associated with the detection context, and comparison of current GPS location to valid GPS location data. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following rationale.
(a) Examiner notes according to MPEP 2111 of the broadest and reasonable claim interpretations, applicant’s argument has no merit since the alleged limitation such as “exactly what are a plurality of detection contexts, sets of usage expectations and a selected detection context” have not been specifically recited into the claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In light of that,
(b) Stedman teaches in response to a security metric value detected by a security module (i.e. detection-context data), a security processing module can initiate enabling or disabling an access request to protect secured resources (Stedman: Para [0025] Line 8 – 10 & Para [0023] Line 4 – 11), wherein the security metric value can be a combination of (not only) GPS location, (but also) user credentials, specific date / time of user access, encryption keys, and etc. to be used for comparisons between the combination of detection contexts and usage expectations (e.g. date/time usage expectations) based on the stored security metric data (detection-context data) as well as expected usage data such as specific date / time access, historical (i.e. reference / valid) GPS location coordinates, countries / regions, and etc., so as to initiate enabling / disabling the resource access for security protection (Stedman: Para [0028] Line 13 – 24, Para [0037] & Para [0047] / [0048]). As such Applicant's arguments are respectfully traversed.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim(s) 1 – 12, 14 – 19, 21 & 22 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 36 of U.S. Patent No. 9,786,145. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the listed claims of U.S. Patent virtually contain(s) every element of the listed claims of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claim(s) of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim(s) and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 12, 14 – 19 & 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Stedman et al. (U.S. Patent 2010/0107238), in view of Tilley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,099,124).
As per claim 1 & 21, Stedman teaches a portable electronic device (Stedman: Para [0013]: a personal computer / a PDA, and etc.) comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to detect real-time sensor data associated with the portable electronic device (Stedman: FIG. 1 / E-106 & 108, Para [0047] / Para [0062]: a plurality of sensors associated with wireless modules, GPS modules, temperature sensors, and etc.);
a memory (i) storing at least historical sensor data, detection-context data defining a plurality of detection contexts, each comprising one or more context parameters including at least one of time, a date, range, or an expected location, processed sensor data, and usage expectation data comprising respective sets of usage expectations associated with respective detection contexts of the plurality of detection contexts (Stedman: see above & Para [0023] / [0025] / [0028] / [0047] / [0037]:
(a) Examiner notes according to MPEP 2111 of the broadest and reasonable claim interpretations, applicant’s argument has no merit since the alleged limitation such as “exactly what are a plurality of detection contexts, sets of usage expectations and a selected detection context” have not been specifically recited into the claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In light of that,
(b) Stedman teaches in response to a security metric value detected by a security module (i.e. detection-context data), a security processing module can initiate enabling or disabling an access request to protect secured resources (Stedman: Para [0025] Line 8 – 10 & Para [0023] Line 4 – 11), wherein the security metric value can be a combination of (not only) GPS location, (but also) user credentials, specific date / time of user access, encryption keys, and etc. to be used for comparisons between the combination of detection contexts and usage expectations (e.g. date/time usage expectations) based on the stored security metric data (detection-context data) as well as expected usage data such as specific date / time access, historical (i.e. reference / valid) GPS location coordinates, countries / regions, and etc., so as to initiate enabling / disabling the resource access for security protection (Stedman: Para [0028] Line 13 – 24, Para [0037] & Para [0047] / [0048]); and
(ii) including a protected region configured to securely store authentication data for comparison or response operations (Stedman: see above & Para [0047]: a protected / security memory to store the security metrics for authentication / validation purpose such as to compare the current GPS location to one or more valid GPS location data);
at least one processor configured for: (Stedman: FIG. 1):
continuously receiving the current sensor data from the plurality of sensors (Stedman: see above & Para [0047]: continuously monitoring the current GPS location and operating state of a portable device by using, at least, a combination of wireless sensors (WAN signal) and GPS location coordinates for validation purpose);
selecting, from the plurality of detection contexts, a detection context based at least in part on one of a current time, and location (Stedman: see above/ below);
comparing at least one of the current sensor data, historical sensor data, and processed sensor data, against he set of usage expectations associated with the selected detection context (Stedman: see above & Para [0047]: to compare the current GPS location to one or more valid GPS location data);
determining, based on the comparison, whether a deviation from the set of usage expectations has occurred, the deviation indicating the portable electronic device is displaced (Stedman: see above & Para [0048]: determining the portable device is not authorized to be used and can be disabled upon detecting a deviation of the current location from an expected usage location falling outside a region (i.e. displaced from a valid location)); and
responsive to the deviation, autonomously initiating a context-based response comprising at least one of (Stedman: see above & Para [0048]):
preparing an alert for transmission to a user; initiating a connection to an emergency service; and modifying an authentication requirement (see Tilley below) of the portable electronic device (Stedman: see above, FIG. 5 & Para [0025] / [0042] / [0028] / [0048] / [0096]: a host interface of a portable device, including a display (FIG. 5), receives a signal (i.e. displaying to a user) when the portable device was displaced from a valid location and disabled in response to the detected security metric data such that the portable device can display and output a received (disabling / enabling) operating signal (message) when the portable device was displaced from a valid location and disabled responsive to the detected security metric data).
However, Stedman does not disclose expressly modifying an authentication requirement.
Tilley (& Stedman) teaches modifying an authentication requirement (Stedman: see above) || (Tilley: Col. 13 Line 55 – Col. 14 Line 7, Col. 13 Line 55 – 67, Col. 3 Line 26 – 27 &Col. 4 Line 12 – 14 / Line 6 – 10: employing a learning component to identify a misplaced (or stolen) mobile phone to trigger an alarm and modifying an authentication requirement by first locking the terminal applications until the user is further authenticated by the security system (Tilley: Col. 13 Line 55 – Col. 14 Line 7)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification in response to the deviation and modifying an authentication requirement because Tilly teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a comprehensive security mechanism to employ a learning component to identify a misplaced (or stolen) mobile phone to trigger an alarm and modifying an authentication requirement by first locking the terminal applications until the user is further authenticated by the security system (see above) within the Stedman’s system of preventing a misplaced mobile unit by monitoring a current position of the GPS location and operating state of a portable device by using, at least, a combination of wireless sensors (WAN signal) and GPS location coordinates for validation purpose (see above).
(Cancelled),
As per claim 22, the claim limitations are met as the same reasons as that set forth in the paragraph above regarding to claim 1 with the exception of the feature(s) of:
a remote computing device configured to receive an alert communication from the portable electronic device in response to the context-based response (Stedman: see above & Para [0028] Last sentence: an alert communication such as disabling / altering an operating condition of resource within a remote computing device of a data center).
As per claim 2 & 14, Stedman as modified teaches executing one or more of an expected environmental conditions module, a conditions analysis module, a response module, a reporting module, a learning module, and a security/biometrics module (Stedman: FIG. 1 / E-106 & 108, Para [0047] / Para [0048] / Para [0062] / Para [0028]).
As per claim 3, 5, 12, 15 & 17, the instant claim is directed to a claimed content having functionality corresponding to the Claims 1 – 2, and are rejected by a similar rationale.
As per claim 4 & 16, Stedman as modified teaches configuring to correlate or combine data received from two or more of the plurality of sensors to determine an aggregate motion or orientation condition of the portable electronic device (Stedman: see above) || (Tilley: Col. 13 Line 55 – Col. 14 Line 7, Col. 13 Line 55 – 67, Col. 3 Line 26 – 27 &Col. 4 Line 12 – 14 / Line 6 – 10: (a) using a plurality of sensors for monitoring and detecting a mobile unit’s spatial (3-axis) orientation and overall motion including a combination of a vertical direction, horizontal direction, lateral direction and angular slices and etc. such as to (b) identify a misplaced (or stolen) mobile phone would trigger an alarm and lock the terminal applications until the user is further authenticated by the security system).
As per claim 6 & 18, Stedman as modified teaches identifying the displaced condition when the deviation level falls outside of the expected usage associated with the usage expectation data (Stedman: see above & Para [0048]: a deviation from an expected usage location falling outside a region that is not authorized to use the portable device (i.e. displaced from a valid location) and the portable device can be disabled).
As per claim 7, Stedman as modified teaches sending an encrypted message through a wireless communication channel selected from a group including a cellular transceiver, a Wi-Fi transceiver, a Bluetooth transceiver, and a satellite transceiver (Stedman: see above, FIG. 5 & Para [0025] / [0042] / [0052] and Para [0028] / [0048] / [0096]: the host interface of a portable device, including a display (FIG. 5), receives a signal (i.e. displaying to a user) when said portable device was displaced from a valid location and disabled in response to the detected security metric data such that the process / control module of the portable device can display and output a received (disabling / enabling) operating signal – i.e. as one type of alerts, wherein the security metric data (message) can be encrypted / decrypted via the data communication channel).
As per claim 8 & 19, Stedman as modified teaches displaying a visual or audible notification on a user interface of the portable electronic device or on a second device associated with the portable electronic device, in the detection of the displaced condition (Stedman: see above, FIG. 5 & Para [0025] / [0042] / [0052] and Para [0028] / [0048] / [0096]: the host interface of a portable device, including a display (FIG. 5), receives a signal (i.e. displaying to a user) when said portable device was displaced from a valid location and disabled in response to the detected security metric data such that the process / control module of the portable device can display and output a received (disabling / enabling) operating signal – i.e. as one type of alerts).
As per claim 12, Stedman as modified teaches configured to execute a learning component configured to generate the usage expectation data based on historical sensor information associated with normal operation of the portable electronic device (Stedman: see above) || (Tilley: see above, Col. 6 Line 54 – 57, Col. 8 Line 29 – 38 & Col. 13 Line 55 – Col. 14 Line 7: employing a learning component to identify a misplaced (or stolen) mobile phone that would trigger an alarm and lock the terminal applications until the user is further authenticated by the security system).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Stedman et al. (U.S. Patent 2010/0107238), in view of Hildebrand et al. (U.S. Patent 6,754,502).
As per claim 9, Hildebrand (& Stedman as modified) teaches transmitting location data and contextual sensor information to the emergency service through an emergency communication channel (Stedman: see above & Para [0048]: determining a portable device is located with a deviation of the current location from an expected usage location falling outside a region (i.e. displaced from a valid location)) || (Hildebrand: Col. 1 Line 38 – 45: under an emergency services situation, automatically providing geo-location (GeO) information for locating a stolen or misplaced phone).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of transmitting location data and contextual sensor information to the emergency service through an emergency communication channel because Hildebrand teaches, under an emergency services situation, automatically providing geo-location (GeO) information for locating a stolen or misplaced phone (see above) within the Stedman’s system of determining a portable device is located with a deviation of the current location from an expected usage location falling outside a region (i.e. displaced from a valid location (see above).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Stedman et al. (U.S. Patent 2010/0107238), in view of Hoffman et al. (U.S. Patent 6,012,039).
As per claim 10, Hoffman (& Stedman as modified) teaches modifying the authentication requirement comprises requiring biometric verification when the real-time sensor data indicates that the portable electronic device is located outside an expected location or is being operated by an unauthorized user (Stedman: see above & Para [0048]: determining a portable device is not authorized to be used and can be disabled upon detecting a deviation of the current location from an expected usage location falling outside a region (i.e. displaced from a valid location)) || (Tilley: Col. 13 Line 55 – Col. 14 Line 7: employing a learning component to identify a misplaced (or stolen) mobile phone to trigger an alarm and modifying an authentication requirement by first locking the terminal applications until the user is further authenticated by the security system || (Hoffman: Col. 5 Line 23 – 28: providing a highly fraud resistant (enhanced security mechanism) to eliminate the risk of granting access to unauthorized users by determining identity from an analysis of a user's unique biometric characteristics).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of modifying the authentication requirement comprises requiring biometric verification when the real-time sensor data indicates that the portable electronic device is located outside an expected location or is being operated by an unauthorized user because Hoffman teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a highly fraud resistant (enhanced security mechanism) to eliminate the risk of granting access to unauthorized users by determining identity from an analysis of a user's unique biometric characteristics (see above) within the Stedman’s system of determining a portable device is not authorized to be used and can be disabled upon detecting a deviation of the current location from an expected usage location falling outside a region (i.e. displaced from a valid location) (see above).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Stedman et al. (U.S. Patent 2010/0107238), in view of Van-Luchene et al. (U.S. Patent 2008/0207327).
As per claim 11, Van-Luchene (& Stedman) teaches configuring to delay initiating the context-based response for a predetermined time interval prior to transmitting the alert (Stedman: see above) || (Tilley: Para [1427] / [1430] / [1426] / [1425]: providing an alert rule with high flexibility associated with a level of severity such that an alert may be delayed for delivery according to alert factors including time of alert creation so as to, at least, reduce the possibility of false alarms).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of configuring to delay initiating the context-based response for a predetermined time interval prior to transmitting the alert because Van-Luchene teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a comprehensive security mechanism to an alert rule with high flexibility associated with a level of severity such that an alert may be delayed for delivery according to alert factors including time of alert creation so as to, at least, reduce the possibility of false alarms (see above) within the Stedman’s system of using a host interface of a portable device to display an alert message when the portable device was displaced from a valid location and disabled in response to the detected security metric data such that the portable device can display and output a received
(disabling / enabling) operating signal (see above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Longbit Chai E.E. Ph.D.
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2623 – 2026 ---------------------------------------------------