DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two electrical connection wires must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Examiner notes that only one appears to be shown in Fig. 8. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 – “and a power module electrically connected to said water pump, wherein an electric switch assembly which is operatively coupled to said water pump and is disposed on said water guiding element for allowing a single hand of the user to carry out a rinse operation by said washing cup and a control operation by said electric switch assembly” does not grammatically make sense. Examiner recommends amending as follows: “[[and]] a power module electrically connected to said water pump, and an electric switch assembly which is operatively coupled to said water pump and is disposed on said water guiding element for allowing a single hand of the user to carry out a rinse operation by said washing cup and a control operation by said electric switch assembly”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-19 of copending Application No. 19/358,385 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same structure is claimed in both applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11, 13, 14, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by La Penna et al. (US 20230320322 A1), hereinafter La Penna.
Regarding Claim 1
La Penna teaches a pet paw washing arrangement (paw cleaner (F), Fig. 13), comprising: a washing cup having a washing chamber (main housing (F1) with interior cavity (F2’)), a water outlet communicated to said washing chamber for spraying water into said washing chamber (spray nozzles (F3)), an access opening communicated to said washing chamber for allowing the pet paw to enter said washing chamber (star-shaped aperture (F4’)); and a water storage container (device (10), Fig. 21) which comprises a container body (main unit (A)) having a water chamber communicated to said water outlet (liquid delivery system (D)) to supply water to said washing chamber for cleaning the pet paw (Para. [0074], Para. [0087]) and a wastewater chamber communicated to said washing chamber (direction of “AF” at bottom of washing chamber, Para. [0112] “when the shampooing task occurs, the waste water with entrained shampoo, particulates, and loose hairs will flow from the hose “G” into the reservoir “B””, Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 2
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 1, further comprising a water feeding pipeline which has a water feeding channel communicated between said water chamber and said water outlet (attachment connector (G7)) and a wastewater channel communicated between said washing chamber and said wastewater chamber (direction of “AF”, Fig. 23, Para. [0074], Para. [0087], and Para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 3
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 3, wherein said washing cup comprises a bottom wall (bottom wall of cup (F7)) and a surrounding wall connected to said bottom wall to define said washing chamber (wall of main housing (F1) and spray head (F2)), wherein said water outlet is formed in said surrounding wall of said washing cup (spray nozzles (F2’), Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 4
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 3, wherein said washing cup has a wastewater inlet formed in said bottom wall thereof for communicating with said wastewater channel (area of bottom wall that interfaces with flow “AF” of hose (G7), Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 11
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 3, further comprising a water guiding element connected between said washing cup and said water feeding pipeline for supplying water from said water feeding pipeline to said washing cup (assembly including shampoo hose (F14), hose collar (F16), and fluid channel (F15), Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 13
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 11, wherein said water guiding element comprises a water guiding component having a water guiding channel communicated to said water outlet (fluid channel (F15)), wherein said water guiding component is vertically extended from said surrounding wall of said washing cup (Examiner notes that fluid channel (F15) extends vertically relative to the side wall, Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 14
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 13, wherein said water guiding element further comprises a connection component connected between said water guiding component and said water feeding pipeline (area near connector pin (F12)), wherein said connection component has a water communication channel communicated said the water guiding channel (connector pin (F12) allows the hose (G7) and the fluid channels (F14, F15) to be in communication with one another, Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 17
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 11, said water storage container comprises a water pump for pumping water from said container body to said washing cup (pump (A12)), and a power module electrically connected to said water pump (power cord (PC) with power connector (A7)), wherein an electric switch assembly which is operatively coupled to said water pump and is disposed on said water guiding element for allowing a single hand of the user to carry out a rinse operation by said washing cup and a control operation by said electric switch assembly (squirt button (F13), Para. [0110], Fig. 23).
Regarding Claim 21
La Penna teaches a pet paw washing arrangement (paw cleaner (F), Fig. 13), comprising: a washing cup having a washing chamber (main housing (F1) with interior cavity (F2’)), a water outlet communicated to said washing chamber for spraying water into said washing chamber (spray nozzles (F3)), an access opening communicated to said washing chamber for allowing the pet paw to enter said washing chamber (star-shaped aperture (F4’)); and a water storage container (device (10), Fig. 21) which comprises a container body (main unit (A)) having a water chamber communicated to said water outlet (liquid delivery system (D)) to supply water to said washing chamber for cleaning the pet paw (Para. [0074], Para. [0087]); and a wastewater channel communicated to said wastewater chamber communicated to said washing chamber (direction of “AF” at bottom of washing chamber, Para. [0112] “when the shampooing task occurs, the waste water with entrained shampoo, particulates, and loose hairs will flow from the hose “G” into the reservoir “B””, Fig. 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Penna et al. (US 20230320322 A1), hereinafter La Penna, in view of Reeh et al. (US 20180339757 A1), hereinafter Reeh.
Regarding Claim 5
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein said container body comprises a flexible partition layer which is disposed between said water chamber and said wastewater chamber.
Reeh teaches:
wherein said container body comprises a flexible partition layer which is disposed between said water chamber and said wastewater chamber (Para. [0067] “Collapsible bladders for reactant and waste storage allow generated waste to fill the void left by consumed reactants”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet paw washing arrangement of La Penna with the teaching of Reeh with a reasonable expectation of success and with the motivation of maximizing space within the water storage tank, thereby making the device smaller and more portable.
Regarding Claim 6
La Penna, in view of Reeh, teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 5, wherein said wastewater chamber is formed within said flexible partition layer (Reeh: Examiner notes that Reeh teaches both the reactant and waste water storage having flexible bladders, and the waste water storage flexible bladder can be defined as the flexible partition layer as claimed).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Penna et al. (US 20230320322 A1), hereinafter La Penna, in view of Fukuda et al. (Machine Translation of JP 4725983 B1), hereinafter Fukuda.
Regarding Claim 7
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 3, wherein a water discharge outlet is formed in said bottom wall (direction of “AF”, Para. [0112] “when the shampooing task occurs, the waste water with entrained shampoo, particulates, and loose hairs will flow from the hose “G” into the reservoir “B””, Fig. 23), but is silent on:
wherein said surrounding wall is made of a flexible material.
Fukuda teaches:
wherein said surrounding wall is made of a flexible material (silicon sheet (6), Page 2 Para. 6 “The sheet 6 for flocking the brush 5, the scattering prevention packing, and the water leakage prevention packing 12 may be any elastic material such as rubber”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet paw washing arrangement of La Penna to have the surrounding wall made of a flexible material as taught by Fukuda with a reasonable expectation of success and with the motivation of providing, for example, extra flexibility, durability, and impact resistance of the surrounding wall. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding Claim 8
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 3, but does not teach:
wherein said washing cup comprises a plurality of brush elements protruded from said surrounding wall and extended into said washing chamber.
Fukuda teaches:
wherein said washing cup comprises a plurality of brush elements protruded from said surrounding wall and extended into said washing chamber (brushes (5), Fig. 1 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet paw washing arrangement of La Penna to include a plurality of brush elements as taught by Fukuda with a reasonable expectation of success and with the motivation of providing an additional means to agitate the water and soap within the chamber, thereby assisting in washing a pet’s paw.
Regarding Claim 9
La Penna, in view of Fukuda, teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 8, wherein said plurality of brush element are arranged around said water outlet (Examiner notes that when the brushes of Fukuda are applied to the pet paw washing device of La Penna, the plurality of brush element would be arranged around said water outlet as claimed).
Regarding Claim 10
La Penna, in view of Fukuda, teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 3, wherein said washing cup comprises a plurality of brush elements protruded from the surrounding wall and extended into said washing chamber (Fukuda: brushes (5), Fig. 1 & 4), wherein said plurality of brush element are arranged around said water outlet (Examiner notes that when the brushes of Fukuda are applied to the pet paw washing device of La Penna, the plurality of brush element would be arranged around said water outlet as claimed), but is silent on:
wherein each of said plurality of brush elements is made of silicon material.
Fukudo teaches that the brushes can be a soft resin and animal hair, but does not give examples of soft resins therein. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the brush elements of silicon material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obviousness. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. Examiner notes that silicon brushes have the known benefit of being gentle on, while still effectively cleaning, a pet’s paw.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Penna et al. (US 20230320322 A1), hereinafter La Penna.
Regarding Claim 12
La Penna teaches the pet paw washing arrangement according to claim 11, but is silent on:
wherein said water guiding element is made of a material more rigid than said water feeding pipeline.
However, Examiner notes that the water feeding pipeline of La Penna (G7) is an attachment hose, which is known to be flexible to allow a user to move the cleaning head relative to the liquid delivery system, while the water guiding element is not known or shown to be flexible in this way. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the disclosure of La Penna, that the water guiding element is made of a material more rigid than said water feeding pipeline as claimed. Examiner further notes that Applicant has not provided any particular criticality to this feature.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 16, and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner notes that claim 15 contains allowable subject matter as written. However, as a matter of clarity, it is recommended to amend the claim to recite that the water guiding element establishes a handle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240324554 A1 – “Dog Paw Washing And Rinsing Device”
US 20240315200 A1 – “Paw Cleaner”
US 20230404032 A1 – “Pet Foot Washer”
US 20230240263 A1 – “Paw Cleaning Apparatus”
US 20210051921 A1 – “Portable Pet Grooming System”
US 20180255747 A1 – “Cleaning Apparatus For An Article”
US 20140326193 A1 – “System For Cleaning Pet Animal Such As Rabbit Limb, Feet, Hooves, Has Bottom Brush Element That Is Provided In Receiving Region And Bottom Brush Element Is Provided With Bristles That Are Directed Towards Access Opening”
US 20090308951 A1 – “Washing Device For Humans And Animals”
/K.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647