Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-6 and 10-17) to container in the reply filed on 1 October 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-22 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 October 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 4351451) in view of Reid (US 11008153).
Chung discloses a thermally insulated container as shown in Fig. 1 comprising:
an outer thermal container (outer shell 2, cup 13 and protector 11) having an outer container body (outer shell 2) and an outer lid (cup 13) secured to the outer container body; and
an inner thermal container (inner shell 1 and stopper cap body 15) positioned inside, and spaced apart from, the outer thermal container, the inner thermal container having an inner container body (inner shell 1) and an inner lid (stopper cap body 15) secured to the inner container body. Chung fails to disclose the double wall construction of the outer and inner container bodies. Reid teaches multiple insulated assemblies provided by first, second and third containers with each container having a double wall construction and a vacuum between the double walls of each container. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the structure of the outer container body as well as the inner container body to be double walled with a vacuum between the double walls to provide further insulative barriers to inhibit heat transfer and increase the thermal efficiency of the container.
Re claim 2, further comprising one thermally insulated spacer (rubber seal 7 and member 3) positioned between the inner container body and the outer container body to maintain the inner thermal container in a spaced-apart relation from the outer thermal container.
Re claim 3, the one thermally insulated spacer include a bottom spacer (member 3) positioned between a bottom of the inner container body and a bottom of the outer container body.
Re claim 9, the one or more thermally insulated spacers (rubber seal 7) are made from a low-thermal-conductivity material selected from rubber (rubber seal 7), plastic, foam, aerogel, and combinations thereof.
Re claim 12, the one or more thermally insulated spacers (7 and 3) include a first plurality of side spacers (both spacers 7 and 3 are side spacers as the bottom side or side wall side are both considered sides) positioned on one of a) an inner side wall of the outer container body, and b) an outer side wall of the inner container body (spacers are positioned on both the inner side wall of the outer container body and the outer side wall of the inner container body).
Re claim 14, the side spacers extend less than a full width of the space between the inner container body and the outer container body (the space between the inner container body and the outer container body includes the space at the bottom side and the full width of this space extends the full inner diameter of the outer container body (outer shell 2) and neither spacer 7 or 3 extends this full width).
Claim(s) 10, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Reid as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Willmot et al. (US 2019/0338807) (Willmot).
Re claim 10, the combination fails to disclose the magnets. Willmot teaches magnets 130 and 132 provided in pairs (matching pairs that repel each other, see column 4, lines 13-14 and 19-25) and affixed to the top end, bottom end and the one or more side walls (see column 4, lines 16-19), such that the bottom side matching pair provides a bottom spacer comprises a first magnet 130 attached to the bottom of the inner thermal container and a second magnet 132 attached to the bottom of the outer thermal container, the first and second magnets being configured to repel one another and thereby cause the inner thermal container to rise above the bottom of the outer thermal container to maintain the bottom of the inner thermal container spaced apart from the bottom of the outer thermal container. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the bottom side spacer (member 3) of Chung with the repelling magnets 130, 132 of Willmot to prevent thermal conduction at the bottom side of the containers.
Re claims 12, 13 and 16, the combination fails to disclose the magnets. Willmot teaches magnets 130 and 132 provided in pairs (matching pairs that repel each other, see column 4, lines 13-14 and 19-25) and affixed to the top end, bottom end and the one or more side walls (see column 4, lines 16-19), such that the plurality of magnets positioned between the inner container body and the outer container body, the magnets being arranged in opposing pairs configured to exert diametrically opposing forces on the inner thermal container to maintain the inner thermal container centered within, and in a spaced-apart relation from, the outer thermal container, the diametrically opposing forces being generated by
b) magnetic repulsion between magnets carried by the inner thermal container and
magnets carried by the outer thermal container. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the spacers (member 3 and rubber seal 7) of Chung with the repelling magnets 130, 132 of Willmot to prevent thermal conduction at the bottom side and the lateral sides of the containers. Re claims 12 and 13, the magnets act as spacers, each magnet of the pair is a spacer. Therefore, a first plurality of spacers 130 on an outer side wall of the inner container and a second plurality of spacers 132 on an inner side wall of the outer container to meet the claim 12 and 13 limitations.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Reid as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sager et al. (US 5647228) (Sager).
The combination fails to disclose a conduit configured to evacuate air. Sager teaches an evacuation pump 38 and conduit extending between the pump 38 and a cryostat structure 25 as show in either Fig. 1 or Fig. 2, the conduit evacuates air from the space (test chamber 15) between the inner thermal container and the outer thermal container with a vacuum pump, the conduit having an external end and an internal end. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add the conduit and vacuum pump to achieve the functional limitation of claim 5 and evacuate air to provide a stronger vacuum and maintain the vacuum.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Reid as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lan (US 2023/0072355).
The combination fails to disclose lid magnets. Lan teaches an outer lid 1, an inner lid 2, one or more magnets secured to inner lid 2 by positioning hole 42, protrusion 21 received within the positioning hole and the magnetic attraction of the two lids, to keep the two lids detachably connected for organization of clutter, organized storage and efficient utilization of space. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add the magnet to the inner lid to allow detachable connection of lids to organize clutter, organize storage and efficiently utilize space.
Official notice is taken that it is well known that detachable connection can be achieved with either one magnet or two magnets with each of the two magnets on the facing surfaces of opposing parts to be connected. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add a second magnet to the opposing facing surface of an opposing part (outer container) when the opposing part is non-metallic and not magnetizable , e.g., plastic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 4 introduces electromagnets. None of the reviewed prior art suggested electromagnets as a substitution for magnets or for use with insulated containers.
Claim 15 discusses a first radial orientation misaligning side spacers to allow insertion of the inner container within the outer container and a second radial orientation aligning side spacers to prevent detachment once inner container is inserted and rotated within an outer container. None of the reviewed prior art suggested such a structure or performance.
Claim 17 discusses a valve on a conduit. The conduit of Sager is provided for continuous operation such that providing a valve that closes flow or inhibits flow would be destructive of the reasoning for providing the air evacuation conduit. Therefore, a 103 combination would be destructive of the invention.
Conclusion
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733