DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. NL2031552, filed on 04/12/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because it recites “The robot milking system according to claim 3,” in line 1. Examiner recommends correction to “The robot milking system according to claim 1,” for proper dependence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11, lines 1 & 2, recites “a milking means,” and is being interpreted under 112(f). The structure encompassed by “milking means” is not understood, as the specification fails to provide a definite standard for the meaning of the term.
3-prong analysis:
The claim limitation uses the term “means” for performing the claimed function; “a milking means”
The term “means” is modified by functional language, “milking”
The term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function; “milking means” is not modified by sufficient structure in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “milking means,” recited in claim 1, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure does not specifically disclose or explain what the “milking means” is as it relates to the claims. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forsen (WO 0130134 A1, previously cited by Applicant 10/15/2026) in view of Birk (WO 0115517 A1, previously cited by Applicant 10/15/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Forsen discloses robot milking system comprising:
at least one milking box (milking station 1; Fig. 1);
milking means Figs. 4 and 5 show milking means);
a robot arm configured to connect the milking means to a milking animal (robot arm 28; Figs. 4 and 5);
an animal recognition device configured to automatically determine an identity of the milking animal (page 6, line 27 – page 7, line 4, “Hence, the sensing device 4 may be used for lengthways sensing of the position of an animal during a milking sequence and for preventing contamination of the milking equipment with urine and manure during milking. Fig. 2 shows schematically the embodiment in fig. 1, when an animal, in this case a long cow, has entered the milking station 1. Her presence has been detected by the photocell, the entry gate [not shown] has been closed and she has been identified by means of a rod reader and transponder [not shown]”);
a control system configured to control the robot milking system (page 3, lines 8-13, “For this purpose the robot arm is controlled by means of a sensing device, which is arranged to generate signals corresponding to the movements of the animal relative to said milking station. The signals will be fed to the control unit of the milking robot, which in turn will maneuver the robot arm correspondingly to the signals in order to cause the tube guide means to follow the movements of the animal”);
and a positioning aid configured to determine a position of the milking animal in the at least one milking box (manure plate 16; Figs. 2-5),
Forsen, however, fails to specifically disclose the positioning aid is movable by the control system between an inactive state away from the milking animal and an active state up against the milking animal, the positioning aid is in the active state at least when the milking means is connected to the milking animal, and the control system is configured to bring the positioning aid into the active state as a function of the identity determined by the animal recognition device.
Birk is in the field of milking and teaches the positioning aid is movable by the control system between an inactive state away from the milking animal and an active state up against the milking animal, the positioning aid is in the active state at least when the milking means is connected to the milking animal, and the control system is configured to bring the positioning aid into the active state as a function of the identity determined by the animal recognition device (Claim 1; page 8, lines 1-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of milking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Forsen such that the positioning aid is movable by the control system between an inactive state away from the milking animal and an active state up against the milking animal, the positioning aid is in the active state at least when the milking means is connected to the milking animal, and the control system is configured to bring the positioning aid into the active state as a function of the identity determined by the animal recognition device, as taught by positioning control and identification systems of Birk. This would allow the system to automatically adjust the positioning aid in dependence on the identity and respective features of a specific animal. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 1, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches further comprising: an animal management system connected operatively to the control system, the animal management system including a data file with the identity of the milking animal and an indication relating to bringing the positioning aid into the active state (Birk, page 8, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 4, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 3, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the animal management system is configured to automatically generate, on inclusion of a new milking animal, an indication for bringing the positioning aid into the active state for the new milking animal in the data file (Birk; page 3, lines 10-17, “Preferably, the control unit is adapted to control the at least one pneumatic cylinder in response to signalling from said animal identification means arranged to a particular animal, for making the adjusting means to position the particular animal in an individual position. Hereby is it possible to position the animal, according to the individual animal having an identification means, adapted for the specific animal, possibly in a collar around its neck. In this way said control unit is fed with information or ID signals from said animal identification means, that is information regarding a specific animal”).
Regarding claim 5, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 3, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the animal management system is configured to receive, from an operating person, instructions relating to the indication for the milking animal (Birk; page 3, lines 10-17).
Regarding claim 6, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 1, including wherein in the active state, the positioning aid presses with a pressing force against the milking animal (Forsen; page 6, lines 5-7, “A rounded top edge 23 of the manure plate 16 and the plate support arm 18 is intended to rest, with said light pressure, against the hindquarter of an animal during a milking sequence”), however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the pressing force is from 10 to 300 N. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the invention to have provided the device with a pressing force of from 10 to 300 N, in order to provide enough force to gently bias the animal during milking. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 1.
Forsen discloses wherein the positioning aid comprises a swivellable or slidable component fastened to the at least one milking box (Figs. 4 and 5 show manure plate 16 swivels at a bottom end 20 pivotally linked to frame 21).
Regarding claim 8, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 7.
Forsen discloses wherein the positioning aid comprises a bracket (Figs. 4 and 5 show manure plate 16 has a bracket at bottom end 20).
Regarding claim 10, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 1.
Forsen discloses wherein the at least one milking box comprises an exit gate controllable by the control system, wherein the control system is configured to keep the positioning aid in the active state after milking the milking animal and after opening the exit gate (page 10, line 29 – page 11, line 2, “As soon as the milking sequence including aftertreatment is completed, the feed dispensing will cease and the manger 8 will return to its start position. The exit gate will be opened, the cow will leave the milking station and the manure plate will be set free to return to its start position. Now the milking station is ready for the next cow to be milked,” Figs. 1 and 2 show position of manure plate 16 is the same, both representing the position of the active state).
Regarding claim 11, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 1.
Forsen discloses wherein the positioning aid further comprises a sensor configured to determine the position of the milking animal in the at least one milking box (sensor 22; Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 6, including wherein in the active state, the positioning aid presses with a pressing force against the milking animal (Forsen; page 6, lines 5-7, “A rounded top edge 23 of the manure plate 16 and the plate support arm 18 is intended to rest, with said light pressure, against the hindquarter of an animal during a milking sequence”), however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the pressing force is from 50 N to 150 N. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the invention to have provided the device with a pressing force of from 50 N to 150 N, in order to provide enough force to gently bias the animal during milking. Additionally, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 13, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 11.
Forsen discloses wherein the sensor comprises a rotation sensor configured to determine a rotation angle of the positioning aid (page 6, lines 15 and 16, “Further, the sensing device 4 may include a conventional geometric-type sensor 22 or an angle indicator”).
Regarding claim 14, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 4, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the animal management system is configured to receive, from an operating person, instructions relating to the indication for the milking animal (Birk; page 3, lines 10-17).
Regarding claim 16, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 3, including wherein in the active state, the positioning aid presses with a pressing force against the milking animal (Forsen; page 6, lines 5-7, “A rounded top edge 23 of the manure plate 16 and the plate support arm 18 is intended to rest, with said light pressure, against the hindquarter of an animal during a milking sequence”), however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the pressing force is from 10 to 300 N. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the earliest effective filing date of the invention to have provided the device with a pressing force of from 10 to 300 N, in order to provide enough force to gently bias the animal during milking. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Forsen in view of Birk discloses the device of claim 3.
Forsen discloses wherein the positioning aid comprises a swivellable or slidable component fastened to the at least one milking box (Figs. 4 and 5 show manure plate 16 swivels at a bottom end 20 pivotally linked to frame 21).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
For example, claim 1 is unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,538,892 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘892 patent includes the same structure of a “robot milking system, comprising: at least one milking box; milking means; a robot arm configured to connect the milking means to a milking animal; an animal recognition device configured to automatically determine an identity of the milking animal; a control system configured to control the robot milking system; and a positioning aid configured to determine a position of the milking animal in the at least one milking box, wherein: the positioning aid is movable by the control system between an inactive state away from the milking animal and an active state up against the milking animal, the positioning aid is in the active state at least when the milking means is connected to the milking animal, and the control system is configured to bring the positioning aid into the active state as a function of the identity determined by the animal recognition device” as recited in claim 1 of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9, 15, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding the control system recited in claim 2, the most relevant art is Forsen (WO 0130134 A1), as the art contains what could be considered a control system that brings the positioning aid into an active state. Forsen, however, fails to specifically disclose that the control system is configured to bring the positioning aid into the active state for a predetermined number of visits or for a predetermined number of days. Birk (WO 0115517 A1), similarly contains what could be considered a control system that brings the positioning aid into an active state, however, Birk also fails to specifically disclose or make obvious that the control system is configured to bring the positioning aid into the active state for a predetermined number of visits or for a predetermined number of days. The devices of Forsen and Birk are configured for systematic operation for an undefined number of animals, and there is no mention or motivation to limit the devices to only operate during a preset number of visits or days. Therefore, the prior art of record while teaching some aspects of the claimed invention fail to cure the deficiencies of each other in a manner that would render the claim obvious.
Regarding the positioning aid recited in claim 9, the most relevant art is Forsen (WO 0130134 A1), as the art contains what could be considered a bracket swivellable about a substantially horizontal axis. Forsen, however, fails to specifically disclose that in the inactive state the bracket is located above the milking animal, and in the active state the bracket presses against a caudal side of the milking animal. Birk (WO 0115517 A1), similarly contains what could be considered a bracket swivellable about a substantially horizontal axis, however, what could be considered the bracket of Birk corresponds to a feeding means, and not the positioning aid as claimed in claim 9. Birk also fails to specifically disclose that in the inactive state the bracket is located above the milking animal, and in the active state the bracket presses against a caudal side of the milking animal. Therefore, the prior art of record while teaching some aspects of the claimed invention fail to cure the deficiencies of each other in a manner that would render the claim obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Vrieze et al., US 7007632 B1, discusses a milking parlor stall shoulder bumper.
Foresman et al., US 9807972 B1, discusses a vision system with leg detection.
/S.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642