DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response, filed 9/3/26, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Todorov [US 9871173].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todorov [US 9871173].
As to claim 1, Todorov discloses a fluorescent gel for packaging a light-emitting diode [210, figure 8b, see column 2, lines 44-61], the fluorescent gel comprising a phosphor and a silica gel composition mixed with the phosphor [see column 2, lines 30-61], wherein: the light-emitting diode is a blue light chip, and an emission wavelength of the blue light chip is 420 nm to 480 nm [see column 2, line 68, see also table 1]; the phosphor comprises a first red phosphor with a full width at half maximum of less than 60 nm [see abstract, column 4, lines 38-48, referring to narrow spectrum red phosphor]; and the phosphor further comprises at least one yellow or yellow-green phosphor [245, 221, figure 8b] having an emission peak wavelength of 520 to 545 nm [note that this is a universally accepted range for a yellow green wavelength].
Todorov fails to explicitly disclose the use of a narrow spectrum red, wherein the FWHM is more than 60 nm. Coe-Sullivan teaches that these narrow spectrum red phosphors are well known [see paragraph 406].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement a narrow spectrum red as taught by Coe-Sullivan with the lighting unit as taught by Todorov, depending on the lighting characteristics as desired [see Todorov, column 41, lines 5-9].
Todorov also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light preference index of the lighting sources is at least 110. Examiner notes that Todorov can configure the gel and light sources to produce such light as taught in figure 1. It would have been obvious to configure the invention as disclosed by Todorov to have a lighting unit having such a lighting preference index, and to configure the light sources as such, depending on the desired light output for a user [see Todorov, column 41, lines 5-9].
As to claim 2, Todorov discloses the fluorescent gel according to claim 1, wherein the color rendering index thereof is at least 80 [see figures 6b, 6d, see also column 4, lines 4-10].
As to claim 3, Todorov discloses the fluorescent gel according to claim 1, wherein the first red phosphor comprises manganese-doped potassium fluorosilicate [column 4, lines 6-29], and the second red phosphor comprises nitride red powder [see column 5, lines 11-43].
As to claim 5, Todorov discloses the fluorescent gel according to claim 1, wherein the emission peak wavelength of the yellow or yellow-green phosphor is 520 nm to 545 nm [see table 1].
As to claim 6, Todorov discloses the fluorescent gel according to claim 1, wherein the lighting source has a correlated color temperature in a range of 2500K to 3200K [see figures 6, column 9, lines 43-63].
As to claim 7, Todorov discloses a lighting source [see figure 8b], comprising a light-emitting diode [210] and a fluorescent gel for packaging the light-emitting diode [see column 2, lines 44-61], the fluorescent gel comprising a phosphor and a silica gel composition mixed with the phosphor [see column 2, lines 30-61], wherein: the light-emitting diode is a blue light chip, and an emission wavelength of the blue light chip is 420 nm to 480 nm [see column 2, lines 68, see also table 1]; the phosphor comprises at least one red phosphor with full width at half maximum of less than 60 nm [see abstract, column 4, lines 38-48, referring to narrow spectrum red phosphor]; and the phosphor comprises at least one yellow or yellow-green phosphor having an emission peak wavelength of 520 nm to 545 nm [245, 221, figure 8b, table 1].
Todorov also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light preference index of the lighting sources is at least 110. Examiner notes that Todorov can configure the gel and light sources to produce such light as taught in figure 1. It would have been obvious to configure the invention as disclosed by Todorov to have a lighting unit having such a lighting preference index, and to configure the light sources as such, depending on the desired light output for a user [see Todorov, column 41, lines 5-9].
As to claim 8, Todorov discloses the lighting source according to claim 7, wherein the color rendering index thereof is at least 80 [see figures 6b, 6d, see also column 4, lines 4-10].
As to claim 9, Todorov discloses the lighting source according to claim 7, wherein the red phosphor comprises manganese-doped potassium fluorosilicate [column 4, lines 6-29].
As to claim 10, Todorov discloses the lighting source according to claim 7, wherein the yellow or yellow-green phosphor comprises aluminate-series yellow or yellow-green phosphor [see column 2, lines 6-29, column 11, lines 36-46] and silicate-series yellow or yellow-green phosphor [see column 11, lines 36-46].
As to claim 11, Todorov discloses the lighting source according to claim 7, wherein the lighting source has a correlated color temperature in a range of 2500K to 3200K [ see column 9, lines 43-63, figures 6].
As to claim 12, Todorov discloses a lighting device, comprising the lighting source according to claim 1 [see figure 4].
As to claim 13, Todorov discloses the lighting device according to claim 12, wherein the lighting device is of a lamp bead type or a filament type [see figures 9, 10, showing LED lamps acting a lamp bead].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todorov [US 9871173] in view of Coe-Sullivan [US 2011/0103064] and Jung [7906789].
As to claim 4, Todorov discloses the lighting source according to claim 1, wherein the yellow or yellow-green phosphor comprises aluminate-series yellow phosphor [see column 2, lines 6-29] and yellow-green phosphor [see column 11, lines 36-46] and yellow-green phosphor [see column 11, lines 36-46] but fails to explicitly disclose the use of silicate-series yellow phosphor. Jung teaches such phosphors were well known in the art [see column 5, lines 48-55]. It would have been obvious to use the phosphors as taught by Jung with the lighting unit as taught by Todorov, depending on the type of illumination desired for a user [see Todorov, column 41, lines 5-9].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Todorov fails to teach wherein the light sources have an LPI of at least 110. Examiner contends that the light rendered by the invention disclosed by Todorov may be configured via the gels and phosphors to form virtually any hue of visible light – that it is precisely within the inventive bounds of Todorov to make a light source with such characteristics. Applicant relies on a failure to explicitly disclose such a configuration, when they should be arguing why the light sources cannot possibly create such light as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYON T GYLLSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875