DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-8 are are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 Line 3: The recitation “a lubricant” is a double inclusion and should be amended to --the lubricant--.
Claim 6 Lines 1-2: The recitation “wherein wherein” should be amended to --wherein--.
Claim 7 Line 1: The recitation “Gear” should be amended to --The gear--.
Claim 8 Line 3: The recitation “fork” should be amended to --shift fork--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 Line 2: The recitation “are aligned with each other and/or coincide with each other” is indefinite. In particular, Applicant’s originally filed drawings only show the two axes and being coaxial with on another, so it is unclear how aligned (defined by Merriam Webster as “having a heigh, size, or location that is the same at all points) is different than coincide (defined by Merriam Webster as “to occupy the same place in spare or time”), but both are listed in the claims as if they carry different meanings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “D1” (JPH01106668U).
Regarding Claim 1, D1 discloses a gear box actuator (see Fig. 1) for an automated manual transmission system of a vehicle (see Fig. 6), comprising:
A body part (MC).
A shift fork (22) to actuate a gear box of the automated manual transmission system (see Fig. 6).
Wherein the gear box is actuated by pivoting the shift fork (see Fig. 6).
Wherein the body part includes a pivot section (27, 28) that provides a fixed pivot point (see Fig. 1).
Wherein the shift fork is pivotally mounted to the fixed pivot point (see Fig. 1).
Wherein the shift fork includes a bearing surface (see Fig. 1, showing the shaft external surface).
Wherein the bearing surface of the shift fork, and the pivot section of the body part, provide a sliding contact between each other for pivoting the shift fork relative to the body part (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the bearing surface of the shift fork is an at least partially cylindrical outer surface of the shift fork (see Fig. 1).
Wherein the pivot section includes an at least partially cylindrical inner surface (see Fig. 1).
Wherein the outer surface and the inner surface are in contact with each other (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pivot section comprises a radial opening (see Fig. 1, showing a bearing seat for bearing 30).
Regarding Claim 6, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1,
Wherein the body part comprises two pivot sections (27, 28).
Wherein the shift fork comprises two bearing surfaces (see Fig. 1).
Wherein each pair of pivot section and bearing surface defines a rotational axis around which the shift fork is pivoted (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 6, wherein the rotational axes are aligned with each other and/or coincide with each other (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the body part comprises a fork actuator (CY2).
Wherein the shift fork comprises an actuation member (see Fig. 1, showing the parts of the shift fork in contact with the shaft 11) configured to contact the gear box of the automated manual transmission system (see Figs. 1 and 6).
Wherein each of the bearing surface of the shift fork and the pivot section of the body part are arranged between the fork actuator and the actuation member (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, D1 further disclose an automated manual transmission system for a vehicle (see Fig. 6) comprising: a gear box (see Fig. 6), and the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, D1 further discloses the automated manual transmission system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the automated manual transmission system comprises a split group (see Fig. 6).
Wherein the shift fork actuates the split group (see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 14, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein there is direct sliding contact between the bearing surface of the shift fork and the pivot section of the body part (see Fig. 1, showing direct contact on the right side as the figure is oriented).
Regarding Claim 15, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 14, wherein there is no ball bearing between the shift fork and the pivot section (see Fig. 1, showing the right side as the figure is oriented).
Regarding Claim 16, D1 further discloses the gear box actuator of claim 3, wherein the radial opening exposes a portion of the bearing surface of the shift fork disposed within the pivot section (see Fig. 1, showing that the bearing seat exposes shaft of the shift fork).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S,.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “D1” (JPH01106668U) in view of Knoblauch et al. (US 8,636,113).
Regarding Claim 4, D1 does not disclose lubrication for the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 3.
However, Knoblauch teaches a system for providing lubrication to a shaft carrying a shift fork (see Col. 4 Lines 15-22). A body part (16) having a pivot section (see Fig. 1, showing a through hole for mounting shaft 14) and having a radial opening (see Fig. 1, showing a radially opening for lubricant 35 to pass through), in a mounted state of the gear box actuator, enables a lubricant (35) to flow from a volume (32’), encapsulated by the body part and a housing of the automated manual transmission system (see Fig. 1), to the bearing surface (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gear box actuator disclosed in D1 with the lubrication system taught in Knoblauch to increase the useful life of the gear box actuator through reduced friction thereby preventing premature wear of the pivot connection of the gear box.
Regarding Claim 5, the Combination further suggests the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 4, wherein the body part comprises a lubrication channel (see Knoblauch Fig. 1).
Wherein the lubrication channel guides the lubricant to the bearing surface (see Knoblauch Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, D1 does not disclose lubrication system for the automated manual transmission system as claimed in claim 10.
However, Knoblauch teaches a splash lubrication system (see Fig. 1) for providing lubrication to a shaft carrying a shift fork (see Col. 4 Lines 15-22). A body part (16) having a pivot section (see Fig. 1, showing a through hole for mounting shaft 14) and having a radial opening (see Fig. 1, showing a radially opening for lubricant 35 to pass through).
Wherein the body part comprises a lubrication channel (see Fig. 1) for guiding a lubricant (35) to the bearing surface (see Fig. 1).
Wherein the lubrication channel receives the lubricant from the splash lubrication system (32’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gear box actuator disclosed in D1 with the lubrication system taught in Knoblauch to increase the useful life of the gear box actuator through reduced friction thereby preventing premature wear of the pivot connection of the gear box.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “D1” (JPH01106668U) and Fujiwara et al. (US 2026/0226975).
Regarding Claim 9, D1 does not disclose what material the gear box actuator as claimed in claim 1 is made of.
However, Fujiwara teaches making a body part (i.e. gearbox casing) for a gearbox out of aluminum (see [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gear box actuator disclosed in D1 with the body part made out of aluminum as taught in Fujiwara to use a lightweight cheap material with good corrosion resistance to make the body part out of.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “D1” (JPH01106668U).
Regarding Claim 13, the translation provided by the applicant for D1 does not state what the transmission is to be used in, however, the drawings depict a typical gearbox that would be found in a vehicle.
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily appreciated that the depicted transmission is similar to a vehicle transmission and as such could be used in a vehicle, and that using such an existing design would reduce the design and manufacturing costs to create a transmission for a vehicle.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the transmission system disclosed in D1 within a vehicle to provide increased usefulness and economy to the transmission by using it in a vehicle.
Conclusion
/GREGORY ROBERT WEBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618