DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2025 and 07/24/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz (Schmitz; 2008/0258884) in view of Sakaguchi et al. (Sakaguchi; US 2023/0211824).
As per claim 1, Schmitz teaches a vehicle display control device comprising a processor configured to:
detect a lane marking in an object lane in which a vehicle is traveling (recognition of lane markings [in which the vehicle is travelling]; see e.g. para. [0012]);
acquire a speed of the vehicle (one or more sensors to measure the vehicle’s speed; see e.g. para. [0011]); and
when the vehicle is approaching the lane marking, display a warning image in different display styles (outputting or displaying an image for warning when a predetermined condition is satisfied [se e.g. para. [0011]], i.e. distance to lane markings see e.g. para. [0014], wherein the displayed image would be a different style by which the driver is warned or informed).
Schmitz does not explicitly teach that the different display styles is depending on whether the speed of the vehicle is lower than a predetermined speed or not.
Sakaguchi, however, teaches to change display style depending on an approach of a vehicle towards a boundary edge (see e.g. para. [0081-82]), wherein the vehicle route or approach is determined based on the vehicle speed, yaw rate, steering angle and so forth (see e.g. para. [0166]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to display the unsafety indication 430 (FIG. 4B) with a first indication when a speed of approach is less than a threshold speed and display the unsafety indication 430 with a different style when the approach speed is more than a threshold speed because generating alarm or alert based on a predetermined distance from road edge which depends on speed is already taught by Sakaguchi ([0166-168]).
Schmitz and Sakaguchi are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of reducing road accidents or collisions with road boundaries, for example, which in turn may save valuable lives and/or property.
As per claim 2, the vehicle display control device according to claim 1 as taught by Schmitz and Sakaguchi, wherein the processor is configured to display the warning image in a more enhanced manner when the speed of the vehicle is not lower than the predetermined speed, as compared to when the speed of the vehicle is lower than the predetermined speed (as discussed in analysis of merits of claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to display the unsafety indication 430 (FIG. 4B) with a first indication when a speed of approach is less than a threshold speed and display the unsafety indication 430 with a different or enhanced style [see e.g. FIGS. 4B and 5] when the approach speed is more than a threshold speed because generating alarm or alert based on a predetermined distance which depends on speed is already taught by Sakaguchi; see e.g. [0166-168]).
As per claim 7, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 1.
As per claim 8, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 2.
As per claim 13, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 1.
As per claim 14, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 2.
Claim 3-6, 9-12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz in view of Sakaguchi and further in view of Ide (Ide; US 2018/0178839).
As per claim 3, the vehicle display control device according to claim 1 as taught by Schmitz and Sakaguchi, except the claimed wherein the warning image represents the lane marking.
Ide, however, teaches that a warning image represents lane markings (see e.g. FIGS. 6A-6B). Schmitz, Sakaguchi and Ide are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of reducing road accidents or collisions with road boundaries, for example, which in turn may save valuable lives and/or property.
As per claim 4, the vehicle display control device according to claim 1 as taught by Schmitz and Sakaguchi, wherein the processor is configured to display an additional image for calling of the attention when the speed of the vehicle is not lower than the predetermined speed and the vehicle is approaching the lane marking.
Ide, however, teaches a processor is configured to display an additional image for calling of attention when speed of vehicle is not lower than a predetermined speed and the vehicle is approaching lane marking (a driving assistance device determines an approach speed that is a speed of the host vehicle moving toward the deviation-side traveling lane edge is equal to or higher than a threshold speed and outputting a second image which calls for attention, see e.g. para. [0130] and FIG. 6B).
Schmitz, Sakaguchi and Ide are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of reducing road accidents or collisions with road boundaries, for example, which in turn may save valuable lives and/or property.
As per claim 5, the vehicle display control device according to claim 4 as taught by Schmitz, Sakaguchi and Ide, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire a distance between the vehicle and the lane marking; and display the additional image in different display styles in accordance with the distance between the vehicle and the lane marking (the driving assistance device determines that a distance between the deviation-side traveling lane edge and the host vehicle at the current position of the host vehicle is within a predetermined distance and the approach speed and outputting the second warning image if they are above a threshold, see e.g. para. [0130-132] and FIG. 6B of Ide).
As per claim 6, the vehicle display control device according to claim 1 as taught by Schmitz and Sakaguchi, except the claimed wherein the processor is configured to display an additional image together with the warning image when the speed of the vehicle is not lower than the predetermined speed and the vehicle is approaching the lane marking, the additional image being displayed in a more enhanced manner as a distance between the vehicle and the lane marking that the vehicle is approaching decreases.
Ide, however, teaches a processor is configured to display an additional image together with a warning image when the speed of the vehicle is not lower than a predetermined speed and a vehicle is approaching a lane marking (the additional image BW is displayed with the warning image WL, see e.g. FIG. 6B), the additional image being displayed in a more enhanced manner as a distance between the vehicle and the lane marking that the vehicle is approaching decreases (the additional image is displayed in more enhanced manner, i.e. blinking, when distance from edge and speed thresholds are exceeded as discussed earlier; see e.g. para. [0116] and [0130-132]).
Schmitz, Sakaguchi and Ide are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of reducing road accidents or collisions with road boundaries, for example, which in turn may save valuable lives and/or property.
As per claim 9, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 3.
As per claim 10, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 4.
As per claim 11, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 5.
As per claim 12, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 6.
As per claim 15, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 3.
As per claim 16, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 4.
As per claim 17, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 5.
As per claim 18, it is interpreted and rejected as claim 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/507,154 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the claims of instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD ADNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688