DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Application filed 10/15/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/16/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 10/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beom et al. (KR 20230063384A; Beom) in view of Jarrell et al. (US 20240010375; Jarrell)
Regarding Claim 1 Beom discloses a carton sealing apparatus utilizing water activated tape (WAT) to seal a carton (100; par 0001), the apparatus comprising:
a top carton sealing assembly (110, 130) comprising:
a top WAT tape head assembly (110a, 110b); and
a top applicator assembly (rollers annotated Fig. 2); and
a bottom carton sealing assembly (120) comprising:
a bottom WAT tape head assembly (par 0025); and
a bottom applicator assembly (par 0025-0026);
However Beom does not expressly disclose a top carton feeder assembly; a bottom carton feeder assembly; wherein the carton is configured to be at least partially fed through the apparatus by the top carton sealing assembly contacting an upper surface of the carton and the bottom carton feeder assembly contacting a lower surface of the carton.
Jarrell teaches a carton sealing apparatus (10) including a top carton sealing assembly (1000 b) and a bottom carton sealing assembly (1000 a) and further teaches a top carton feeder assembly (420); a bottom carton feeder assembly (115); and the carton is configured to be at least partially fed through the apparatus by the top carton sealing assembly contacting an upper surface of the carton and the bottom carton feeder assembly contacting a lower surface of the carton providing precise control on the carton for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus (par 32-33, 45)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the carton sealing apparatus of Beom to include a top carton feeder assembly and the bottom carton feeder assembly as taught by Jarrell since par 32-33 and 45 of Jarrell suggests that such a modification provides precise control on the movement of the carton for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 3 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom further discloses the top applicator assembly comprises:
a top roller assembly (roller assembly extending from 110a, 110b, Fig. 2) comprising:
a top first dual roller assembly (dual roller assembly extending from 110a, Fig. 2)comprising:
a top first leading tape leg roller (annotated Fig. 2 right roller); and
a top first trailing tape leg roller (annotated Fig. Fig. 2 left roller);
a top second dual roller assembly (rollers extending from 110b, par 0024) comprising:
a top second leading tape leg roller (right roller extending from 110b, par 0024); and
a top second trailing tape leg roller (left roller extending from 110b, par 0024).
Regarding Claim 4 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom further discloses the bottom applicator assembly (120) comprises: a bottom roller assembly comprising: a bottom first dual roller assembly comprising: a bottom first leading tape leg roller; and a bottom first trailing tape leg roller; a bottom second dual roller assembly comprising: a bottom second leading tape leg roller; and a bottom second trailing tape leg roller, where Beom discloses the bottom applicator is identical to the top applicator (par 0025)
Regarding Claim 5 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Jarrell teaches one or more roller comprises
a wobbly roller assembly, wherein the wobbly roller assembly comprises:
an axle (1220a); a pivot connector (par 52) operatively coupled to the axle (1220a); and
a roller (1220) with an axle aperture therethrough extending over the axle (1220a) and the pivot connector (par 525); wherein the roller (1220) is configured to rotate around the axle (1220a) and pivot (par 52) with respect to an axle axis of the axle (1220a) around the pivot connector (par 52) (Figs. 9C-9D) providing guided control or the tape onto the container for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 52)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the apparatus to modify one of the top second leading tape leg roller, the top second trailing tape leg roller, the bottom second leading tape leg roller, or the bottom second trailing tape leg roller with a wobbly roller assembly as taught by Jarrell since par 52 of Jarrell suggests that such a modification provides guided control or the tape onto the container for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 8 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom further discloses a bottom tape supply assembly comprising: a tape roll mandrel (annotated Fig. 2) for supporting a tape roll (111a); one or more guide rollers (annotated Fig. 2); and one or more turn members (annotated Fig. 2). (par 0025)
Regarding Claim 16 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom further discloses one or more sensors (par 0027); and a controller (130),
Jarrell teaches a sensor and a controller comprises: one or more memory components with computer-readable program code stored thereon; and one or more processing devices operatively coupled to the one or more memory devices, wherein when executed the computer-readable program code is configured to cause the one or more processing components to: identify the carton for sealing; and operate the carton sealing apparatus for sealing top flaps and bottom flaps of the carton providing control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 25; 76-85)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the carton sealing apparatus of Beom to include one or more memory components with computer-readable program code stored thereon; and one or more processing devices operatively coupled to the one or more memory devices, wherein when executed the computer-readable program code is configured to cause the one or more processing components to execute the computer-readable program code as taught by Jarrell since par 25 and 76-85 of Jarrell suggests that such a modification provides control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 17 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Jarrell teaches when executed the computer-readable program code is further configured to cause the one or more processing components to: identify when the carton is ready for sealing (par 29); determine a previous carton is still being sealed (par 34); and move the top carton sealing assembly upward to restrict the top carton feeder assembly from engaging the carton to restrict damage to the carton before sealing (par 5) providing control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 25; 76-85)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the carton sealing apparatus of Beom to include one or more memory components with computer-readable program code stored thereon; and one or more processing devices operatively coupled to the one or more memory devices as taught by Jarrell since par 25 and 76-85 of Jarrell suggests that such a modification provides control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 18 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Jarrell teaches when executed the computer-readable program code is further configured to cause the one or more processing components to: receive a request to pass a sealed carton through the carton sealing apparatus (86); and move the top carton sealing assembly upwards to allow one or more cartons to pass through the carton sealing apparatus without sealing the one or more cartons with the tape (par 10) providing control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 25; 76-85)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the carton sealing apparatus of Beom to include one or more memory components with computer-readable program code stored thereon; and one or more processing devices operatively coupled to the one or more memory devices as taught by Jarrell since par 25 and 76-85 of Jarrell suggests that such a modification provides control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beom et al. (KR 20230063384A; Beom) in view of Jarrell et al. (US 20240010375; Jarrell) and futher in view of Benyu (CN 117141850A)
Regarding Claim 6 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom in view of Jarrell does not expressly teach at least one of the top second dual roller assembly or the bottom second dual roller assembly comprises: a deflector; wherein the deflector is configured to guide a top leading tape leg or a bottom leading tape leg over the top second leading tape leg roller or the bottom second leading tape leg roller when the top leading tape leg or the bottom leading tape leg pop off of a leading side of the carton after application by the top first leading tape leg roller or the bottom first leading tape leg roller.
Benyu teaches a tape applying assembly that includes a roller assembly comprises: a deflector (pressure plates 47) ; wherein the deflector is configured to guide a tape leg over the roller when the tape leg pop off of a leading side of the carton after application by the roller providing precise guidance of the tape over the roller for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 0062; Figs 20-22)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the roller assembly as taught by Beom in view of Jarrell to include a deflector as taught by Benyu since par 0062 of Benyu suggests that such a modification provides providing precise guidance of the tape over the roller for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beom et al. (KR 20230063384A; Beom) in view of Jarrell et al. (US 20240010375; Jarrell) and futher in view of Siman et al. (CN 110974978A; Siman)
Regarding Claim 7 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom in view of Jarrell does not expressly teach the top WAT tape head assembly or the bottom WAT tape head assembly comprise: a tape feeder assembly comprising: a tape motor; a driven tape roller operatively coupled to the tape motor; and a pinch roller; wherein the driven tape roller and the pinch roller are configured to feed the tape at a speed that corresponds to a belt speed.
Siman teaches a carton sealing assembly that includes a tape head that includes a drive roller (31), motor (32) and pinch roller (3) to deliver tape (par 0059, 0072) providing tape at an appropriate speed for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the tape head assembly of as taught by Beom in view of Jarrell to include a drive roller, motor and a pinch roller as taught by Siman since par 0059 and 0072 of Siman suggests that such a modification provides providing tape at an appropriate speed for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beom et al. (KR 20230063384A; Beom) in view of Jarrell et al. (US 20240010375; Jarrell) and futher in view of Fox et al. (US 20240166392; Fox)
Regarding Claim 15 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom in view of Jarrell does not expressly teach a gate assembly comprising: a gate member; a gate drive operatively coupled to the gate member; wherein the gate drive is configured to rotate the gate member into a retracted position when the carton sealing apparatus is ready for sealing the carton; and wherein the gate drive is configured to rotate the gate member into an extended position when the carton sealing apparatus is not ready for sealing the carton.
Fox teaches a carton sealing assembly that includes a gate member (200); a gate drive (240) operatively coupled to the gate member (200); wherein the gate drive (240) is configured to rotate the gate member (200) into a retracted position when the carton sealing apparatus is ready for sealing the carton; and wherein the gate drive (240) is configured to rotate the gate member into an extended position when the carton sealing apparatus is not ready for sealing the carton providing position control of the carton for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 31-34)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the carton sealing apparatus of Beom in view of Jarrell to include a gate assembly as taught by Fox since par 31-34 of Fox suggests that such a modification provides position control of the carton for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beom et al. (KR 20230063384A; Beom) in view of Jarrell et al. (US 20240010375; Jarrell) and futher in view of Baker et al. (US 20020057300; Baker)
Regarding Claim 19 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom in view of Jarrell does not teach the carton sealing apparatus seals cartons at speeds of over 100 ft/min.
However Baker teaches a carton sealing apparatus that includes a tape applying assembly (9) and further teaches the carton sealing apparatus seals cartons at speeds of over 100 ft/min providing control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 49, 69)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the speed of the carton sealing apparatus to include speeds of over 100 ft/min as taught by Baker since par 49, 69 of Baker suggests that such a modification provides control over the carton sealing apparatus for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2 the modified invention of Beom in view of Jarrell teaches the invention as described above. Beom teaches
the top carton feeder assembly comprises:
a drive assembly (400) comprising:
a drive roller (115a); a motor (par 32); and two or more guide rollers (roller supporting right end of belt on 115a; Fig. 3); and a belt (Fig. 3)operatively coupled to the drive roller and the two or more guide rollers;
However the Prior Art does not teach a drive roller and at least one of the two or more guide rollers are offset vertically to provide a serpentine path for the belt.
Regarding Claim 9 The Prior Art does not teach the tape roll is operatively coupled to the tape roll mandrel is offset from a centerline of the carton sealing apparatus, and wherein the one or more turn members comprise: a first turn member to turn tape from the tape roll towards the centerline of the carton sealing apparatus; and a second turn member to turn the tape at the centerline of the carton sealing apparatus to the bottom WAT tape head assembly.
Regarding Claim 10 the Prior Art does not teach a tape roll storage assembly located under the carton sealing apparatus; wherein the one or more turn members comprise a first member configured to turn the tape at a centerline of the carton sealing apparatus to the bottom WAT tape head assembly; and wherein the tape roll storage assembly is configured to be retracted for storage under the carton sealing apparatus during operation and extended adjacent the carton sealing apparatus for supplying a new tape roll.
Regarding Claim 12 the Prior Art does not teach WAT inputs, outputs and pumps as claimed
Conclusion
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731