DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/05/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,455,036, US Patent No. 11,262,015, and US Patent No. 10,851,933 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Each of claims 1, 10, and 16 recites “a drive unit … wherein the drive unit is configured to rotate the main roller”. The specification defines “a hydraulic motor”, “a variable speed breaking electric motor 51”, or “a combination of electrical and hydraulic components”, or “a belt or series of gears is used in place of sprocket 32 and chain 34”, as corresponding structure for the claimed generic place-holder of “a drive unit”. (See paragraph [0076] of the instant published application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 12-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 3, 12, and 17 recites “it is pulled” which renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is not clear if “it” refers back to which of the previously cited structure in the claim. Does “it” refer to “guide rollers” or “the CIPP liner”? Clarification is requested.
Each of claims 4, 13, and 18 recites “it has been pushed away” which renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is not clear if “it” refers back to which of the previously cited structure in the claim. Does “it” refer to “guide rollers” or “the CIPP liner”? Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warning et al. (US 6,960,313) in view of Wood (US 4,385,885).
Warning et al. (US ‘313) disclose an apparatus for use in installing a liner in a conduit as part of a repair procedure, the apparatus including an everter apparatus 16 comprising a moveable subframe 64 is attached removably to the upright support members 26 a convenient distance above the mounting sleeves 58 and supports a first generally cylindrical roller 68 for rotation about a generally horizontal axis that extends parallel with the axis defined by the mounting pins 60. The roller 68 has a pair of flanges 70 each extending radially from the surface of the roller 68 at a respective one of its opposite ends. The roller 68 is mounted in a fixed location with respect to the subframe 64. (See column 5, lines 66-67 and column 6, lines 1-7)
[AltContent: textbox (A bridge connector positioned centrally between the beams 64)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A support beam (78))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A 1st and 2nd actuators (76))][AltContent: textbox (A liner (72))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bridge beams (64))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A clamping roller (74))][AltContent: textbox (A main roller (68))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A frame (26))][AltContent: textbox (A CIPP liner feed roller apparatus (16))]
Further, Warning et al. (US ‘313) discloses a second roller 74 is also carried on the moveable subframe 64, to which it is attached by a pair of similar parallel swing arms 76 between which a roller shaft 78 extends. The second roller 74 is similar in its diameter to the size of the roller 68, but is slightly shorter in length, so that the second roller 74 fits between the flanges 70, allowing the peripheral surface of the second roller 74 to move into contact with the peripheral surface of the roller 68. Ordinarily, during use of the everter apparatus 16, a prepared liner tube 72 to be installed in a conduit being repaired extends over the first roller 68 and thence down through a liner passage space established between the first roller 68 and the second roller 74 merely by moving the second roller 74. The weight of the second roller 74, acting through the swing arms 76, urges the second roller 74 against such a liner tube 72, holding it neatly and appropriately in place along the peripheral surface of the first roller 68. (See column 6, lines 8-24)
Therefore, as to claim 1, 10, and 16, Warning et al. (US ‘313) discloses a CIPP liner feed roller apparatus (an everter apparatus 16), comprising: a frame (a pair of upright support members 26); a main roller (a first generally cylindrical roller 68) attached to the frame (26); a clamping roller (74) attached to the frame (26) and configured to be in parallel with the main roller (68); bridge beams (moveable subframes: 64) attached to the frame (26); and a bridge connector (the horizontal beam that connects the upper portions of the moveable subframe 64 to each other) centrally (as the connector is positioned centrally between the bridge beams 64) attached to the bridge beams (64); wherein the CIPP liner feed roller apparatus (16) can be lifted using the bridge connector; and wherein the CIPP liner feed roller apparatus (16) is configured to pull a CIPP liner (72) between the main roller (68) and the clamping roller (74) from a liner source.
Further, as to claims 7, 8, 10 and 16, Warning et al. (US ‘313) discloses a first and a second actuator (a pair of similar parallel swing arms 76) wherein the first actuator (76) is attached to a first end of the clamping roller (74) and the second actuator (76) is attached to a second end of the clamping roller (74), wherein a distance between the clamping roller (72) and the main roller (74) can be adjusted using the first and the second actuator (76). As to claims 2, 11, and 16, Warning et al. (US ‘313) teach a support beam (a frame 18 (see column 5, lines 15-22 and fig. 1)) attached to the frame (26) and configured to be in parallel with the main roller (68).
Further, Warning et al. (US ‘313) disclose, ordinarily, during use of the everter apparatus 16, a prepared liner tube 72 to be installed in a conduit being repaired extends over the first roller 68 and thence down through a liner passage space established between the first roller 68 and the second roller 74 merely by moving the second roller 74. (See col. 6, lines 15-21) therefore, Warning et al. (US ‘313) disclose the liner tube 72 moves between the first and the second rollers (68 and 74) by movement of the roller 74. However, Warning et al. (US ‘313) is silent on explicitly disclosing if a drive unit is connected to the main roller (68), wherein the drive unit is configured to rotate the main roller (68), as claimed in claims 1, 10, and 16.
In the analogous art, Wood (US ‘885) disclose an apparatus for everting a flexible tubular liner into a passageway comprising the rollers (30) which are driven by an electric motor (not shown) which drives a vertical shaft 36 located outside the enclosure 18 and the said shaft 36 (FIG. 2) has a spiral gear 38 at the lower end which engages corresponding spiral gears 40 at the ends of the shafts carrying rollers 30. In an alternative construction, the rollers are adapted to be rotated manually by means of a crank engageable with one of the rollers outside the enclosure, the rollers being geared together so that they will rotate in synchronism. (See column 2, lines 55 – 64)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rollers (30) comprising a main roller and a clamping roller (30))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A drive unit (36))]
Therefore, as to claim 1, 10, and 16, Wood (US ‘885) discloses a drive unit (a vertical shaft: 36) connected to the main roller (rollers: 30), wherein the drive unit (36) is configured to rotate the main roller (30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill, before the time of applicant’s invention, to modify a movement of the liner tube (72) between the first and the second rollers (68 and 74), as taught by Warning et al. (US ‘313), through connecting a driving unit to the main roller so that the drive unit can rotate the main roller in order to ensure that the liner is maintained under a slight tension between where it is everting and where it leaves the roller nip, as suggested by Wood (US ‘885): (see column 1, lines 52-55).
As to claims 3, 12, and 17, Warning et al. (US ‘313) teach guide rollers (30) attached to the support beam (roller shaft: 78, see column 4, lines 34-37) configured to guide the CIPP liner (72) before it is pulled between the main roller (68) and the clamping roller (74).
As to claims 4, 13, and 18, Warning et al. (US ‘313) disclose one or more guide rollers (30) attached to the support beam (roller shaft: 78, see column 4, lines 34-37) configured to guide the CIPP liner (72) after it has been pushed away from the main roller (68) and the clamping roller (74).
As to claims 5, 14 and 19, Warning et al. (US ‘313) disclose a balance roller attached to the support beam (78) and wherein the balance roller is configured in parallel to the main roller (68) and is positioned to contact the CIPP liner (72) after it has been pushed away from the main roller (68) and the clamping roller (74). (See column 4, lines 34-37)
As to claims 6, 15 and 20, Warning et al. (US ‘313) teach a plurality of folding rollers configured to curl the CIPP liner (72) before it is pulled between the main roller (68) and the clamping roller (74), wherein the plurality of folding rollers are attached to the support beam (78), wherein the CIPP liner feed roller apparatus is configured to push the CIPP liner away from the main roller (68) and the clamping roller (72) such that the CIPP liner (72) will contain at least one fold. (See column 4, lines 34-37 and fig. 1)
As to claim 9, Warning et al. (US ‘313) disclose one or more springs are connected to the clamping roller (74). (See column 13, lines 24-30)
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Long, Jr. (US 4,685,983) disclose an apparatus for installing a flexible tubular liner having a leading end and a trailing end within a pipe comprising: means including a source of pressurized fluid for defining a pressurized region and for generating fluid pressure to insert the liner into the pipe; an insertion conduit having an entry end and an exit end, the exit end of the insertion conduit communicating with the pipe; a pair of idler nip roller assemblies including at least one nip roller juxtaposed in aligned spaced relationship to the conveyor means, each idler nip roller assembly cooperating with the conveyor means to adjust the direction of movement of the liner to provide positive control of the liner feed rate; and a second feed control means for substantially continuously controlling the feed rate of the liner as the other portion of the liner is inserted into the pipe. (See column 57, lines 40-42, and column 58, lines 1-28 and figures 10-11)
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 09/30/2026