Claim Objections
Claim 20, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A turbomachine” should be - - The turbomachine- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, line 2 recites “the predetermined height of extension” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is the same or different than “a predetermined height” recited in claim 1, line 14-15.
Claim 6, line 3; claim 10, line 5 recites “a radially outer surface of the outer annular wall” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is the same or different than “a radially outer wall” recited in claim 1, line 4.
Claim 6, line 4; claim 10, line 6-7 recites “a radially inner surface of the inner annular wall” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is the same or different than “a radially inner wall” recited in claim 1, line 6.
Claims dependent thereon are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-11, 13-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giffin et al (US 6672072 as referenced in OA dated 5/21/2026)
Annotated Figure 2 of Giffin
Regarding claim 1, Giffin discloses a diffuser (Figure 2; 20, 50, 88, and the components described below) in flow communication with a combustor (Figure 1; 16) of a turbomachine engine (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising a dome (Annotated Figure 2; labeled dome), an outer liner (Figure 1; 17), and an inner liner (Figure 1; 19), the diffuser comprising:
an outer annular wall (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer wall) having a radially outer surface (The outer surface of the inner solid line defining Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer wall with respect to 36) and a radially inner surface (The inner surface of the inner solid line defining Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer wall with respect to 36), the outer annular wall defining an outer passlet (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer passlet);
an inner annular wall (Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner wall) having a radially outer surface (The outer surface of the inner solid line defining Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner wall with respect to 36) and a radially inner surface (The inner surface of the inner solid line defining Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner wall with respect to 36), the inner annular wall defining an inner passlet (Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner passlet), the radially outer surface of the inner annular wall and the radially inner surface of the outer annular wall together defining a primary passage (Figure 2; 36) therebetween that extends in an aft direction (The right direction in Figure 2) of the diffuser such that air (Figure 2; 30) flows through the primary passage in the aft direction; and
at least one tube (The outer tube formed by Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer forward and aft wall and adjacent 88 or the inner tube formed by Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner forward and aft wall and adjacent 88) extending from one of the outer passlet or the inner passlet, the one of the outer passlet or the inner passlet comprising an embedded passlet opening (The outer and inner passlets are embedded openings), the at least one tube extending from the embedded passlet opening radially away from the primary passage by a predetermined height (The height of the center of the outer or inner tube from the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall or the radially inner surface of the inner annular wall, respectively), the at least one tube being arranged such that a portion (The portion of the air through the at least one tube) of the air within the primary passage flows through the at least one tube at a predetermined angle (The angle of the outer or inner tube) relative to the aft direction, and the at least one tube being arranged at the predetermined height and the predetermined angle causing the portion of the air to flow to components (Annotated Figure 2; labeled dome, Figure 1; 17 and 19) of the combustor.
Regarding claim 2, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the embedded passlet opening extends partially around a circumference (The outer passlet extends partially around a circumference of the outer annular wall) of the inner annular wall defining the outer passlet or the inner annular wall defining the inner passlet.
Regarding claim 3, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein a downstream end (The right end of the outer or inner passlet) of the embedded passlet opening is spaced from a downstream end (The downstream end of the outer annular wall) of the outer annular wall or a downstream end of the inner annular end (The downstream end of the inner annular wall) defining the one of the outer passlet or the inner passlet.
Regarding claim 5, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the at least one tube has a rectangular cross section (The inner and outer tubes have a rectangular cross section).
Regarding claim 6, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the at least one tube includes one or more walls (The outer tube has Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer forward and aft walls as well as the walls defined by adjacent 88. The inner tube has Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner forward and aft walls as well as the walls defined by adjacent 88.) defining the predetermined height of extension, the one or more walls extending radially outward from the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall or radially inward from the radially inner surface of the inner annular wall.
Regarding claim 7, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the one or more walls of the at least one tube include a forward wall (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer and inner forward wall), an aft wall (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer and inner aft wall), and a pair of sidewalls (The portions of adjacent Figure 2; 88 that define the outer and inner tube) extending between the forward wall and the aft wall.
Regarding claim 10, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the outer annular wall defines the outer passlet, the inner annular wall defines the inner passlet, the outer passlet comprises an outer embedded passlet opening (The outer passlet is an outer embedded passlet opening), the inner passlet comprises an inner embedded passlet opening (The inner passlet is an inner embedded passlet opening), and the at least one tube is an outer tube (The outer tube is an outer tube) extending radially outward from the outer passlet opening along the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall, and an inner tube (The inner tube is an inner tube) extending radially inward from the inner embedded passlet opening along the radially inner surface of the inner annular wall.
Regarding claim 11, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein a downstream end (The downstream end of the outer embedded passlet opening) of the outer embedded passlet opening is spaced from a downstream end (The downstream end of the outer annular wall) of the outer annular wall, and a downstream end (The downstream end of the inner embedded passlet opening) of the inner embedded passlet opening is spaced from a downstream end (The downstream end of the inner annular wall) of the inner annular wall.
Regarding claim 13, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein at least one of the outer tube or the inner tube has a rectangular cross section (Both the outer and inner tube have rectangular cross sections).
Regarding claim 14, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the outer tube is arranged such that a first portion (The portion of air from the primary passage that flows through the outer tube) of the air within the primary passage flows through the outer tube in a first direction (The direction of Figure 2; F2 for the outer tube) at a first angle (The angle of Figure 2; F2 for the outer tube with respect to the aft direction) relative to the aft direction, and the inner tube is arranged such that a second portion (The portion of air from the primary passage that flows through the inner tube) of the air within the primary passage flows through the inner tube in a second direction (The direction of Figure 2; F2 for the inner tube) at a second angle (The angle of Figure 2; F2 for the inner tube with respect to the aft direction) relative to the aft direction.
Regarding claim 15, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein an outer passage (Figure 1; 24) of the combustor is partially defined by the radially outer surface of the outer liner, the outer tube being arranged such that the first portion of the air from the primary passage flows through the outer tube towards the outer passage (Functional Language, the first portion of air flows toward the outer passage), and wherein an inner passage (Figure 1; 100) of the combustor is partially defined by the radially inner surface of the inner liner, the inner tube being arranged such that the second portion of the air from the primary passage flows through the inner tube towards the inner passage (Functional Language, the second portion of air flows toward the inner passage).
Regarding claim 16, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein the outer tube includes one or more outer walls (The outer tube has Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer forward and aft walls as well as the walls defined by adjacent 88) defining an outer height (The height of the center of the outer tube from the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall) that extends radially outward from the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall, and the inner tube includes one or more inner walls (The inner tube has Annotated Figure 2; labeled inner forward and aft walls as well as the walls defined by adjacent 88)defining an inner height (The height of the center of the inner tube from the radially inner surface of the outer annular wall), that extends radially inward from the radially inner surface of the inner annular wall.
Regarding claim 17, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more outer walls or the one or more inner walls include a forward wall (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer and inner forward wall), an aft wall (Annotated Figure 2; labeled outer and inner aft wall), and a pair of sidewalls (The portions of adjacent Figure 2; 88 that define the outer and inner tube) extending between the forward wall and the aft wall.
Regarding claim 20, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin further discloses the turbomachine engine comprising:
a compressor (The high pressure compressor of Column 2, lines 8-13 excluding Figure 2; 50) configured to provide compressed air (Functional Language, Figure 1; F);
the diffuser of claim 1, the diffuser being arranged to receive the compressed air from the compressor (Functional Language, the diffuser receives the compressed air), wherein the air flowing through the primary passage comprises the compressed air (Functional Language, the air flowing through the primary passage comprises the compressed air); and
the combustor comprising the dome, the outer liner, and the inner liner that define a chamber (Figure 1; 12) chamber of the combustor, the compressed air from the diffuser being provided to the combustion chamber (Functional Language, the compressed air from the diffuser is provided to the combustion chamber).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reider (US 4232527 as referenced in OA dated 5/21/2026)
Annotated Figure 1 of Reider
Regarding claim 1, Reider discloses a diffuser (Figure 1; 18, 16, 34, 32, and the wall with 28) in flow communication with a combustor (Figure 1; 10) of a turbomachine engine (The gas turbine having the gas turbine combustor of Column 1, lines 10-18), the combustor comprising a dome (Figure 1; 36), an outer liner (Figure 1; 48), and an inner liner (Figure 1; 46), the diffuser comprising:
an outer annular wall (Annotated Figure 1; labeled outer wall) having a radially outer surface and a radially inner surface (The radially inner and outer surfaces of the outer wall), the outer annular wall defining an outer passlet (The inlet of Figure 1; 22);
an inner annular wall (Annotated Figure 1; labeled inner wall) having a radially outer surface and a radially inner surface (The radially inner and outer surfaces of the inner wall), the inner annular wall defining an inner passlet (The inlet of Figure 1; 20), the radially outer surface of the inner annular wall and the radially inner surface of the outer annular wall together defining a primary passage (The primary passage between the outer and inner annular walls) therebetween that extends in an aft direction (The direction to the right in Figure 1) of the diffuser such that air flows through the primary passage in the aft direction; and
at least one tube (The outer tube that defines Figure 1; 22 and the inner tube that defines Figure 1; 20) extending from one of the outer passlet or the inner passlet, the one of the outer passlet or the inner passlet comprising an embedded passlet opening (The outer and inner passlets are embedded between the inner and outer annular walls), the at least one tube extending from the embedded passlet opening radially away from the primary passage by a predetermined height (The height of the outer tube from the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall or the height of the inner tube from the radially inner surface of the inner annular wall), the at least one tube being arranged such that a portion (The portion of the air through the outer or inner tube) of the air within the primary passage flows through the at least one tube at a predetermined angle (The predetermined angle of the outer or inner tube) relative to the aft direction, and the at least one tube being arranged at the predetermined height and the predetermined angle causing the portion of the air to flow to components (Figure 1; 36, 48, 46) of the combustor.
Regarding claim 4, Reider discloses the invention as claimed.
Reider further discloses wherein the primary passage extends from a forward end (The forward end of the diffuser) of the diffuser and through an aft end (The aft end of the diffuser) of the diffuser, the aft end of the diffuser being disposed at an axial distance (The distance from the aft end of the diffuser to Figure 1; 36) from the dome of the combustor, such that the air flows in the aft direction along the primary passage toward the dome (The air flows in the aft direction along the primary passage toward the dome).
Regarding claim 10, Reider discloses the invention as claimed.
Reider further discloses wherein the outer annular wall defines the outer passlet, the inner annular wall defines the inner passlet, the outer passlet comprises an outer embedded passlet opening (The outer passlet is an outer embedded passlet opening), the inner passlet comprises an inner embedded passlet opening (The inner passlet is an inner embedded passlet opening), and the at least one tube is an outer tube (The outer tube is an outer tube) extending radially outward from the outer passlet opening along the radially outer surface of the outer annular wall, and an inner tube (The inner tube is an inner tube) extending radially inward from the inner embedded passlet opening along the radially inner surface of the inner annular wall.
Regarding claim 12, Reider discloses the invention as claimed.
Reider further discloses wherein the primary passage extends from a forward end (The forward end of the diffuser) of the diffuser and through an aft end (The aft end of the diffuser) of the diffuser, the aft end of the diffuser being disposed at an axial distance (The distance between the aft end of the diffuser to the dome) from the dome of the combustor, such that the air flows in the aft direction along the primary passage toward the dome (Functional Language, the air flows in the aft direction along the primary passage toward the dome).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giffin in view of Reider.
Regarding claim 8, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin does not disclose wherein the forward wall extends at an angle relative to the aft direction, the angle being the same as that of the aft wall.
However, Reider teaches wherein a forward wall (The portion of Figure 1; 18 that defines 22 or the portion of 16 that defines 20) extends at an angle (The angle of the forward wall) relative to an aft direction (The right direction), the angle being the same as that of an aft wall (Figure 1; 34 or 32, respectively. The forward and respective aft wall appear to be parallel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Giffin wherein the forward wall extends at an angle relative to the aft direction, the angle being the same as that of the aft wall as taught by and suggested by Reider because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Reider’s forward and aft wall extending at a same angle according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Giffin’s diffuser, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to providing a conduit with a constant height, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the aft ends of the forward and aft walls extending parallel).
Regarding claim 18, Giffin discloses the invention as claimed.
Giffin does not disclose wherein the forward wall extends at an angle relative to the aft direction, the angle being the same as that of the aft wall.
However, Reider teaches wherein a forward wall (The portion of Figure 1; 18 that defines 22 or the portion of 16 that defines 20) extends at an angle (The angle of the forward wall) relative to an aft direction (The right direction), the angle being the same as that of an aft wall (Figure 1; 34 or 32, respectively. The forward and respective aft wall appear to be parallel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Giffin wherein the forward wall extends at an angle relative to the aft direction, the angle being the same as that of the aft wall as taught by and suggested by Reider because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Reider’s forward and aft wall extending at a same angle according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Giffin’s diffuser, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to providing a conduit with a constant height, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the aft ends of the forward and aft walls extending parallel)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Giffin does not disclose an embedded passlet opening, a tube extending from the embedded passlet opening, and the tube extending away from the primary passage. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the new interpretation of Giffin as presented in this OA, Giffin teaches an embedded passlet opening, a tube extending from the embedded passlet opening, and the tube extending away from the primary passage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McCaffrey et al (US 20200318833 as referenced in OA dated 5/21/2026) states in Paragraph 0045 that a diffuser can include outlet guide vanes
McCaffrey et al (US 20200318832 as referenced in OA dated 5/21/2026) states in Paragraph 0046 that a diffuser can include outlet guide vanes
McCaffrey et al (US 20200318652 as referenced in OA dated 5/21/2026) states in Paragraph 0046 that a diffuser can include outlet guide vanes
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741