DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 states “therein load data”. It appears this should read --wherein load data--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ropers (US 20210039804 A1) in view of Smith (US 20060214059 A1).
For claim 1, Ropers discloses a refueling system of a tanker aircraft comprising:
a rigid boom 130/430 configured to extend from the tanker aircraft and comprising a distal end which is distal to the tanker aircraft Fig. 2;
a sensor GNSS 112/cameras 124 configured to be located in the tanker aircraft and obtain data of a situation of the receiver aircraft with respect to the tanker aircraft Fig. 1-2, and
a controller 120 configured to be located into the tanker aircraft and configured to receive data from the sensor and cause the tanker aircraft to control a position of the rigid boom to place the boom hose adaptor within range of positions according to the data obtained from the sensor Fig. 2, Fig. 5.
Ropers fails to disclose a flexible hose portion.
However, Smith teaches a boom hose adaptor comprising a hose portion Fig. 3: 251 in contact with the distal end of the rigid boom, and a coupling end located at a free end of the hose portion, wherein the coupling end 252 is configured to contact with a probe of a receiver aircraft 307.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ropers by including a hose portion with a coupling end as disclosed by Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a flexible section to account for some movement/inaccuracy between the probes.
For claim 2, Ropers discloses the refueling system, according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is configured to determine the relative position and/or attitude between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft, and the data includes information representing the relative position and/or attitude Para 0040: “the tanker controller 120 may receive a positioning solution from the tanker GNSS 112 directly and from the receiver GNSS 152 via the data link 140. Based on the positioning solutions, the tanker controller 120 may then generate a high integrity relative position solution (HIRPS)”, as well as via the camera based vision system.
For claim 3, Ropers discloses the refueling system, according to claim 2, wherein the sensor is a vision system cameras 124.
For claim 4, Ropers discloses the refueling system, according to claim 3, wherein the vision system is based on infrared technology Para 0061.
For claim 6, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 3, wherein the vision system is based on a thermal gradient of the receiver aircraft and an environment surrounding the tanker or receiver aircraft Para 0061: “sensing an IR signature (e.g., engine heat, fuselage temperature differences, lights) of the receiver 150”.
For claim 7, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 2, wherein the sensor is a differential navigation system and the controller is further configured to determine the relative position between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft Para 0041: “real time kinematic (RTK) analysis of a differential carrier phase GNSS measurements”.
For claim 8, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 2, wherein the sensor is a differential global positioning system, and the controller is configured to determine the relative position between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft Para 0030: “the system 100 may function using any type of global satellite system including a global positioning system (GPS)”.
For claim 10, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 1, wherein the rigid boom comprises a rigid fixed section Fig. 4: 430 and a telescopic section 404.
For claim 11, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to control the position of the rigid boom by changing the orientation of the rigid boom in any angular direction with respect to the tanker aircraft and/or generate an elongation of the telescopic section of the rigid boom Para 0034: “a plurality of types of servos, actuators, and airfoils which may act on the boom 130 to three dimensionally manipulate the boom 130”.
For claim 12, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 1, wherein the rigid boom or the boom hose adaptor comprise a sensor configured to indicate that the receiver aircraft is latched to the boom hose adaptor coupling end Para 0027: “Constant camera generated feedback and updated relative positioning alerts the system and disconnects the boom should the receiver aircraft stray outside the proper position”.
For claim 13, Ropers discloses a tanker aircraft comprising the refueling system according to claim 1 Fig. 2.
For claim 14, A refueling method of a tanker aircraft comprising a boom hose adaptor, the tanker aircraft comprising:
a rigid boom 130/430 configured to be extended from the tanker aircraft and comprising a distal end with respect to the tanker aircraft Fig. 4, and
the boom hose adaptor comprising a hose portion in contact with the distal end of the rigid boom, and a coupling end located at a free end of the hose portion, the coupling end configured to contact with a probe of a receiver aircraft Fig. 4,
the method comprising:
extending the rigid boom from the tanker aircraft Fig. 2,
contacting the coupling end of the boom hose adapter with the probe of the receiver aircraft Fig. 2,
obtaining data of a position and/or orientation of the receiver aircraft relative to the tanker aircraft by a sensor Fig. 1: 112/124; Fig. 5: GNSS and camera system on the tanker aircraft,
receiving data from the sensor by a controller Fig. 1: 120 on the tanker aircraft,
controlling by the controller the position of the rigid boom to maneuver the boom hose adaptor within a range of positions according to the data received from the sensor Fig. 5.
For claim 15, Ropers discloses a refueling system of a tanker aircraft comprising:
a rigid boom 130/430 configured to extend from the tanker aircraft Fig. 2, the rigid boom includes a proximal end section attached to the tanker aircraft and a distal end section opposite to the proximal end section along a length of the rigid boom, and the rigid boom is configured to deliver fuel stored in the tanker aircraft to the distal end section Fig. 4: delivers fuel from left to right end;
a differential navigation system or a differential global positioning system tanker positioning system 112 (GNSS) connected to the tanker aircraft and configured to determine a position or orientation of the receiver aircraft relative to the tanker aircraft and generate data within information regarding the position or the orientation of the receiver aircraft Para 0040: “the tanker controller 120 may receive a positioning solution from the tanker GNSS 112 directly and from the receiver GNSS 152 via the data link 140. Based on the positioning solutions, the tanker controller 120 may then generate a high integrity relative position solution (HIRPS)”, and
a controller connected to the tanker aircraft and configured to receive the data and generate commands, using the data, to maneuver the rigid boom to position the flexible hose of the boom hose adaptor within a range of the probe while the coupling end of the boom hose adaptor engages the probe of the receiver aircraft Fig. 5.
Ropers fails to disclose a flexible hose portion.
However, Smith teaches a boom hose adaptor connected to the distal end section of the rigid boom, the boom hose adaptor includes a flexible hose Fig. 3: 251 having a proximal hose end connected to the distal end section of the rigid boom 110 and a coupling hose end section opposite to the proximal hose end, wherein the coupling hose end 252 is configured to engage a probe of a receiver aircraft and the boom hose adaptor is configured to delivery fuel from the rigid boom through the flexible hose into the probe of the receiver aircraft Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ropers by including a hose portion with a coupling end as disclosed by Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a flexible section to account for some movement/inaccuracy between the probes.
For claim 16, Ropers discloses the refueling system of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to determine a relative position and/or an attitude between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft, and the data includes information representing the relative position and/or attitude Para 0040: “the tanker controller 120 may receive a positioning solution from the tanker GNSS 112 directly and from the receiver GNSS 152 via the data link 140. Based on the positioning solutions, the tanker controller 120 may then generate a high integrity relative position solution (HIRPS)”.
For claim 18, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to maneuver the rigid boom by adjusting a flight control surface on the rigid boom and by telescoping a telescoping beam of the rigid boom in and out of a fixed length boom of the rigid boom Fig. 4; Para 0063-0067.
For claim 19, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 15, wherein the rigid boom or the boom hose adaptor comprise a sensor configured to indicate that the receiver aircraft is latched to the coupling house end section Para 0027: “Constant camera generated feedback and updated relative positioning alerts the system and disconnects the boom should the receiver aircraft stray outside the proper position”.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ropers (US 20210039804 A1) in view of Smith (US 20060214059 A1), further in view of Riley et al (US 20150293225 A1).
For claim 5, Ropers discloses the refueling system, according to claim 3, but fails to disclosed that the vision system is based on a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) technology.
However, Riley teaches a LIDAR based vision system for refueling positioning LIDAR 22.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ropers et al by using LIDAR for sensing position as disclosed by Riley. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to use a known, reliable system at least as a backup, and “to ensure that the LPS position information meets RNP accuracy, integrity, continuity, and availability requirements” (Riley Para 0021).
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ropers (US 20210039804 A1) in view of Smith (US 20060214059 A1), further in view of Barsheshet et al (US 20140203147 A1).
For claim 9, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a load sensor located in the rigid boom or in the boom hose adaptor, wherein the load sensor is configured to measure forces between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft when the receiver aircraft is in contact with the refueling system.
However, Barsheshet teaches a refueling boom with a load sensor located in the rigid boom or in the boom hose adaptor, wherein the load sensor is configured to measure forces between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft when the receiver aircraft is in contact with the refueling system Para 0116: “the Sensor measures load components in two orthogonal directions. The measured loads are used by the flight control system for control of the Ruddervator (60 in FIG. 1) to nullify the side loads on the nozzle”.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ropers by including a load sensor in the boom as disclosed by Barsheshet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to automatically alleviate loads at the nozzle.
For claim 17, Ropers discloses the refueling system according to claim 15, but fails disclose a load sensor mounted to the rigid boom or the boom hose adaptor, wherein the load sensor is configured to measure forces applied to the boom hose adaptor due to the coupling of the receiver aircraft with the boom hose adaptor, and
wherein load data including information regarding the forces is generated by the load sensor and received by the controller, and the load data is used by the controller to maneuver the rigid beam.
However, Barsheshet teaches a refueling boom with a load sensor located in the rigid boom or in the boom hose adaptor, wherein the load sensor is configured to measure forces between the tanker aircraft and the receiver aircraft when the receiver aircraft is in contact with the refueling system, and
wherein load data including information regarding the forces is generated by the load sensor and received by the controller, and the load data is used by the controller to maneuver the rigid beam
Para 0116: “the Sensor measures load components in two orthogonal directions. The measured loads are used by the flight control system for control of the Ruddervator (60 in FIG. 1) to nullify the side loads on the nozzle”.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ropers by including a load sensor in the boom as disclosed by Barsheshet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to automatically alleviate loads at the nozzle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642