DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is the first action on the merits
Claims 1-20 are pending
Priority
This Application claims Priority to Continuation Publication No. 17187609 filed 25 February 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (lDS) submitted on 15 January 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has/have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Examiner notes that the rejection will reference the translated documents (attached) corresponding to any foreign documents recited in the rejection.
Claims 1,3-5,8-15,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nag et al (US Publication No. 20190341142) in view of Whiddon et al (US Publication No. 20140297306) in view of AMBATI et al (Foreign Publication WO-2018183473-A1).
Regarding Claim 1
Nag teaches a system, comprising:
at least one data processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one data processor, result in operations comprising [Nag at Para. 0017 teaches the apparatus may include at least one data processor and at least one memory]:
receiving, from one or more data systems, one or more transaction records associated with a first clinician, wherein a transaction record of the one or more transaction records comprises a raw quantity of a medication [Nag at Para. 0033 teaches for instance, each of the one or more data systems 120 may be configured to generate a transaction record in response to an interaction with a clinician. For example, a clinician dispensing a medication from a dispensing cabinet may trigger the generation of a transaction record that includes a timestamp, a clinician identifier of the clinician, a device identifier of the dispensing cabinet, a patient identifier of a patient prescribed the medication, an identifier of the medication retrieved from the dispensing cabinet, a quantity of the medication retrieved from the medication cabinet, a location identifier, and/or the like (quantity of the medication interpreted as raw quantity of a medication)];
normalizing the received one or more transaction records by generating [Nag at Para. 0067 teaches at least a portion of the transaction records generated by the one or more data systems 120 may be sent as input data to the analytics engine 110. In some implementations, the transaction records may be normalized to allow meaningful comparison of attributes], … [ … ]
determining an activity pattern for the clinician based on at least one of the received transaction records and the normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication [Nag at Para. 0071 teaches in some example embodiments, the activity patterns of the clinician may include a series of transaction records, which generated when the clinician interacts with the one or more data systems 120];
applying a first machine learning model trained to detect a peer community for the clinician based at least on the determined activity pattern for the clinician [Nag at Para. 0032 teaches in some example embodiments, the analytics engine may apply a machine learning model such as, for example, a neural network, trained to identify one or more peer communities of clinicians];
[ … ] … to detect an anomaly based at least on the determined activity pattern for the clinician and a norm associated with the detected peer community [Nag at Para. 0043 teaches the anomaly detector 240 may determine that the clinician exhibits anomalous behavior if the activity patterns of the clinician deviate from the activity patterns of other clinicians in the same peer community];
and in response to the second machine learning model detecting an anomaly, triggering an investigative workflow at one or more data systems by controlling operation of a surveillance device and/or a medical device for isolating medications [Nag at Para. 0072 teaches alternatively and/or additionally, the investigative workflow may include the analytics engine 110 configuring the one or more data systems 120 to activate one or more surveillance devices at the medical devices accessed by the clinician and/or isolate medication accessed by the clinician].
Nag does not teach [ … ] … based at least on an equivalent unit comprising a morphine equivalent unit, a normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication to eliminate discrepancies introduced by pharmacological differences in at least one of a potency, a form factor, and a delivery mechanism of the raw quantity of the medication;
applying a second machine learning model trained … [ … ]
Whiddon teaches [ … ] … based at least on an equivalent unit comprising a morphine equivalent unit, a normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication to eliminate discrepancies introduced by pharmacological differences in at least one of a potency, a form factor, and a delivery mechanism of the raw quantity of the medication [Whiddon at Para. 0046 teaches in a system and method in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention, the model 42 may provide a comparison of disparate medications according to a standardized morphine equivalency and, thus, may have particular applicability to narcotics; Whiddon at Para. 0050 teaches the Morphine Equivalency Coefficient of the medication is a coefficient that relates the potency of the medication to that of morphine (e.g., 100 mg of morphine/100 mg of medication prescribed, measured in “units”)];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine model of Nag with the medication quantity of Whiddon with the motivation to improve the identification of abuse and/or diversion.
Nag/Whiddon do not teach applying a second machine learning model trained … [ … ]
AMBATI teaches applying a second machine learning model trained [AMBATI at Para. 0066 teaches a machine learning model may be trained using one or more entries and their corresponding representative features (interpreted to correspond with anomaly detection of Nag)]… [ … ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Nag, Whiddon with the machine learning model of AMBATI with the motivation to improve the accuracy of the machine learning model.
Regarding Claim 3
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI/Grove teach the system of claim 2,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI/Grove further teach wherein the configurable threshold comprises a time since a last training, a number of transactions since a last training, or an average number of transactions per clinician [AMBATI at Para. 00102 teaches in some embodiments, the one or more machine learning models are periodically retrained (e.g., every 10 days, every 20 days, every 30 days, etc.) In the event the satisfaction of a trigger condition occurs, a clock associated with the periodic retraining is reset. For example, the one or more machine learning models may be retrained every 30 days. On day 28 of the 30 day period, it may be determined that the one or more machine learning models are to be retrained. After the one or more machine learning models are retrained, the clock associated with the periodic retraining is reset and the one or more machine learning models are schedule to be retrained 30 days from the retraining day instead of at the end of the previous 30 day period (periodic retraining interpreted to be comprising a time since a last training)].
Regarding Claim 4
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the first machine learning model further comprises: a neural network, a minimum cut, a hierarchical clustering, a Girvan-Newman algorithm, a modularity maximization, and/or a clique detection [Nag at Para. 0011 teaches in some variations, the machine-learning model may include at least one of: a neural network, minimum cut, hierarchical clustering, Girvan-Newman, modularity maximization, or clique detection].
Regarding Claim 5
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the second machine learning model further comprises: a regression model, an instance-based model, a regularization model, a decision tree, a Bayesian model, a clustering model, an associative model, a neural network, a deep learning model, a dimensionality reduction model, and/or an ensemble model [Nag at Para. 0032 (see Claim 1 for explanation; interpreted to be a neural network model)].
Regarding Claim 8
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the peer community shares at least one common attribute [Nag at Para. 0004 teaches the operations may include: identifying a first peer community in a peer network by at least applying a machine-learning model trained to identify one or more peer communities present in the peer network, the peer network including a plurality of clinicians, and the first peer community including a first clinician and a second clinician from the plurality of clinicians based at least on the first clinician and the second clinician sharing at least one common attribute].
Regarding Claim 9
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 8,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the at least one common attribute includes one or more of a patient, a medical device, a prescription order, a clinician role, a shift, a supervisor, an educational background, training, an assigned care area, a medical protocol, and a physical layout of a facility [Nag at Para. 0007 teaches in some variations, the at least one common attribute may include one or more of: a prescription order, a clinician role, a shift, a supervisor, an educational background, training, an assigned care area, a medical protocol, and a physical layout of facility].
Regarding Claim 10
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the one or more transaction records are generated in response to an interaction of the clinician comprising one or more of a prescription, a dispensing, an administration, and/or a wasting of the medication [Nag at Para. 0033 teaches For example, a clinician dispensing a medication from a dispensing cabinet may trigger the generation of a transaction record that includes a timestamp, a clinician identifier of the clinician, a device identifier of the dispensing cabinet, a patient identifier of a patient prescribed the medication, an identifier of the medication retrieved from the dispensing cabinet, a quantity of the medication retrieved from the medication cabinet, a location identifier, and/or the like].
Regarding Claim 11
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the investigative workflow includes sending, to a client, an alert identifying one or more clinicians exhibiting the anomaly [Nag at Para. 0044 teaches the investigative workflow may include the anomaly detector 240 generating an alert identifying the clinician exhibiting anomalous behavior and sending the alert to a client 250 via the network 210].
Regarding Claim 12
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the investigative workflow includes activating one or more surveillance devices in response to one or more clinicians associated with the anomaly accessing the one or more data systems [Nag at Para. 0072 teaches alternatively and/or additionally, the investigative workflow may include the analytics engine 110 configuring the one or more data systems 120 to activate one or more surveillance devices at the medical devices accessed by the clinician and/or isolate medication accessed by the clinician].
Regarding Claim 13
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the anomaly includes a diversion of medication, an overmedication, and/or an undermedication [Nag at Para. 0030 teaches as such, in some example embodiments, an analytics engine may detect diversion as well as identify the clinicians responsible for the diversion by at least identifying clinicians who exhibit anomalous behavior].
Regarding Claim 14
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI further teach wherein the one or more data systems include an access control system, a dispensing system, and/or an electronic medical record (EMR) system Nag at Para. 0041 teaches in the example shown in FIG. 2, the one or more data systems 120 may include an access control system 220a, a dispensing system 220b, and an electronic medical record (EMR) system 220c].
Regarding Claim 15
Nag teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, from one or more data systems, one or more transaction records associated with a first clinician, wherein a transaction record of the one or more transaction records comprises a raw quantity of a medication [Nag at Para. 0033 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
normalizing the received one or more transaction records by generating [Nag at Para. 0067 (see Claim 1 for explanation)], … [ … ]
determining an activity pattern for the clinician based on at least one of the received transaction records and the normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication [Nag at Para. 0071 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
applying a first machine learning model trained to detect a peer community for the clinician based at least on the determined activity pattern for the clinician [Nag at Para. 0032 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
[ … ] … to detect an anomaly based at least on the determined activity pattern for the clinician and a norm associated with the detected peer community [Nag at Para. 0043 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
and in response to the second machine learning model detecting an anomaly, triggering an investigative workflow at one or more data systems by controlling operation of a surveillance device and/or a medical device for isolating medications [Nag at Para. 0072 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Nag does not teach [ … ] … based at least on an equivalent unit comprising a morphine equivalent unit, a normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication to eliminate discrepancies introduced by pharmacological differences in at least one of a potency, a form factor, and a delivery mechanism of the raw quantity of the medication;
applying a second machine learning model trained … [ ... ]
Whiddon teaches [ … ] … based at least on an equivalent unit comprising a morphine equivalent unit, a normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication to eliminate discrepancies introduced by pharmacological differences in at least one of a potency, a form factor, and a delivery mechanism of the raw quantity of the medication [Whiddon at Para. 0046 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine model of Nag with the medication quantity of Whiddon with the motivation to improve the identification of abuse and/or diversion.
Nag/Whiddon do not teach applying a second machine learning model trained … [ ... ]
AMBATI teaches applying a second machine learning model trained [AMBATI at Para. 0066 (see Claim 1 for explanation)] … [ ... ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Nag, Whiddon with the machine learning model of AMBATI with the motivation to improve the accuracy of the machine learning model.
Regarding Claim 17
Claim(s) 17 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 4, thus Claim(s) 17 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 4.
Regarding Claim 18
Claim(s) 18 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 5, thus Claim(s) 18 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 5.
Regarding Claim 19
Nag teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, which when executed by at least one data processor, result in operations comprising:
receiving, from one or more data systems, one or more transaction records associated with a first clinician, wherein a transaction record of the one or more transaction records comprises a raw quantity of a medication [Nag at Para. 0033 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
normalizing the received one or more transaction records by generating [Nag at Para. 0067 (see Claim 1 for explanation)], … [ … ]
determining an activity pattern for the clinician based at least one on the received transaction records and the normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication [Nag at Para. 0071 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
applying a first machine learning model trained to detect a peer community for the clinician based at least on the determined activity pattern for the clinician [Nag at Para. 0032 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
[ … ] … to detect an anomaly based at least on the determined activity pattern for the clinician and a norm associated with the detected peer community [Nag at Para. 0043 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
and in response to the second machine learning model detecting an anomaly, triggering an investigative workflow at one or more data systems by controlling operation of a surveillance device and/or a medical device for isolating medications [Nag at Para. 0072 (see Claim 1 for explanation)].
Nag does not teach [ … ] … based at least on an equivalent unit comprising a morphine equivalent unit, a normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication to eliminate discrepancies introduced by pharmacological differences in at least one of a potency, a form factor, and a delivery mechanism of the raw quantity of the medication;
applying a second machine learning model trained … [ … ]
Whiddon teaches [ … ] … based at least on an equivalent unit comprising a morphine equivalent unit, a normalized quantity of the raw quantity of the medication to eliminate discrepancies introduced by pharmacological differences in at least one of a potency, a form factor, and a delivery mechanism of the raw quantity of the medication [Whiddon at Para. 0046 (see Claim 1 for explanation)];
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine model of Nag with the medication quantity of Whiddon with the motivation to improve the identification of abuse and/or diversion.
Nag/Whiddon do not teach applying a second machine learning model trained … [ ... ]
AMBATI teaches applying a second machine learning model trained [AMBATI at Para. 0066 (see Claim 1 for explanation)] … [ ... ]
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Nag, Whiddon with the machine learning model of AMBATI with the motivation to improve the accuracy of the machine learning model.
Claims 2,16,20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nag, Whiddon, AMBATI as applied to claim 1, 15, 19 above, and further in view of Grove et al (US Publication No. 20160371601).
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI do not teach wherein the operations comprise:
retraining the second machine learning model when a configurable threshold is met.
Grove teaches wherein the operations comprise:
retraining the second machine learning model when a configurable threshold is met [Grove at Para. 0051 teaches for example, it may be determined or judged as to whether the quality of the model is below a quality threshold set for retraining criteria. The processing at 308, 310 and 312 are performed in one embodiment responsive to determining that the model should be retrained, for example, the quality of the model is below the quality threshold, and thus retraining is needed].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Nag, Whiddon, AMBATI with the retraining of Grove with the motivation to improve model performance
Regarding Claim 16
Claim(s) 16 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 2-3, thus Claim(s) 16 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 2-3.
Regarding Claim 20
Claim(s) 20 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 2, thus Claim(s) 20 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 2.
Claims 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nag, Whiddon, AMBATI as applied to claim 1, 15, 19 above, and further in view of Bostic et al (US Publication No. 20210005324).
Regarding Claim 2
Regarding Claim 6
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI teach the system of claim 1,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI do not teach wherein applying the second machine learning model further comprises determining a deviation for the norm.
Bostic teaches wherein applying the second machine learning model further comprises determining a deviation for the norm [Bostic at Para. 102 teaches as most physicians having the same or similar specialties, they will have consistent ordering histories, physicians deviating from the normal patterns may be identified based on the clusters to which they belong (ordering history interpreted to include potency of medication)].
It would have been prima facie obvious skill in the art, at the time of effective filing, to combine the references of Nag, Whiddon, AMBATI with the detection of Bostic with the motivation to reduce improper prescription of medication, improper utilization of prescribed medications, and diversion of prescribed medications to unprescribed uses.
Regarding Claim 7
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI/Bostic teach the system of claim 6,
Nag/Whiddon/AMBATI/Bostic further teach wherein the anomaly is detected based at least on a potency of the medication prescribed by the clinician, or a frequency of interaction by the clinician with the medication [Bostic at Para. 102 (see Claim 6 for explanation)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
D'Amato et al (US Publication No. 20180247703) discloses systems and methods for auditing of medication administration.
KIMMEL et al (Foreign Publication WO-2020163465-A1) discloses method for globally tracking, monitoring, and authorizing the dispensing of valuable and high-risk products.
/JONATHAN C EDOUARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/JASON S TIEDEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683