DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Chinese parent Application No. CN202510421607.5, filed on April 3, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 16, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
As a result of the Response to Restriction Requirement of September 16, 2026, Applicant has elected Species I, without traverse, encompassing claims 2-5 and 11-14 (with independent claims 1, 10 and 19 being generic). As such, claims 1-5, 10-14 and 19 are pending for examination on the merits. Claims 6-9 and 15-18 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0192564 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a display method, performed by an electronic device (Figs. 1-6, generally, Summary), and comprising:
in response to a first preset operation on a first application, displaying key information of
the first application by using a first target component, wherein the first application comprises
at least one of a target application whose application type satisfies a first condition or a target
application whose running state satisfies a second condition (Figs. 3A/3B; Detailed Description, [0095-0100]; See also Figs. 7-8 and Detailed Description, [0134-0140]), and the first target component is located at a first preset position on a display screen of the electronic device (Fig. 6, specified area, #21; Detailed Description, [0131-0132]); and
in response to at least one second preset operation on the first target component, sending
the key information of the first application and information associated with the key information
to a second application, wherein the second application is displayed on a display interface of
the display screen (Figs. 3A/3B; Detailed Description, [0095-0100][0134-0141]; See also Figs. 7-10).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses wherein in response to the at least one second
preset operation on the first target component, sending the key information of the first
application and the information associated with the key information to the second application
comprises:
in response to a first operation on the first target component, displaying a first card in a
floating manner on the display interface, wherein the first card comprises target key
information matching a preset title of the first card, and the target key information is determined
from the key information of the first application and the information associated with the key
information (Figs. 7-10, shortcut button, #23; Detailed Description, [0135-0150], “Alternatively, a shortcut button used for switching an application between the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 200 to display the application may be additionally configured in a multitask window of the first terminal 100. As shown in FIG. 9 (a), the multitask window of the first terminal 100 includes the window of the WeChat application, and a first shortcut button 23 may be configured in the window of the WeChat application. After the first terminal 100 connects to the second terminal 200, the first shortcut button 23 may be prominently displayed (for example, the first shortcut button 23 is highlighted). When detecting that the user taps the first shortcut button 23, the first terminal 100 is triggered to send, to the second terminal 200, a display interface that is currently generated by the WeChat application, so that the second terminal 200 displays the display interface of the WeChat application in the second display interface.”); and
in response to a second operation on the first card, sending the first card to the second
application (Figs. 7-8, Detailed Description, [0135-0150]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses in response to a third operation on the first target component, displaying a second card in a floating manner on the display interface, wherein the second card comprises the key information of the first application and the information associated with the key information; wherein a size of the second card is greater than a size of the first car (Figs. 9A-9B; second shortcut button, #24; Detailed Description, [0135-0150], “In addition, as shown in FIG. 9 (b), after the WeChat application is switched to the second terminal 200 for displaying, a second shortcut button 24 may be displayed in the window of the WeChat application. When detecting that the user taps the second shortcut button 24, the first terminal 100 is triggered to switch the WeChat application displayed in the second display interface back to the first display interface, and stop sending, to the second terminal 200, the display interface that is currently generated by the WeChat application. In this case, the second terminal 200 resumes a display state (for example, a desktop state) that exists before the WeChat application is displayed.”; the second shortcut button is depicted as larger than the first).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses the method further comprising:
in response to a fourth operation on the second card, displaying the first application in a
small window form on the display interface (Figs. 7-12; Detailed Description, [0135-0150], “In this case, when detecting that the user taps the shortcut button 2, the first terminal 100 presents, in a form of a multitask window in the first display interface, one or more applications that run in the second display interface at this time. When detecting that the user taps the shortcut button 1, the first terminal 100 presents, in a form of a multitask window in the first display interface, one or more applications that currently run in the first display interface. This can help the user manage the applications in the two display interfaces.”); and
in response to a fifth operation on the first application in the small window form, sending
the first application in the small window form to the second application (Figs. 7-12; Detailed Description, [0135-0150], “Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 12, after the first terminal 100 connects to the second terminal 200, the first terminal 100 is running a file management application. In other words, the current first display interface is a display interface of the file management application. If the user makes the first gesture, for example, sliding to the right, on a selected Word file “Payroll of Mr. Zhang” (namely, the target shortcut) in the first display interface, the first terminal 100 may be triggered to send the Word file “Payroll of Mr. Zhang” to the second terminal 200, and the second terminal 200 runs and displays the file in the second display interface. In this way, the user may control, on the first terminal 100 by using the first gesture, the target content to switch between the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 200. This improves efficiency in switching the application between a plurality of screens when the terminal performs multi-screen display.”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses the method further comprising one of:
in response to the first card being displayed in the floating manner on the display interface,
maintaining display of the key information of the first application in the first target component (Figs. 7-12, generally; Detailed Description, [0135-0150], the screen of the first terminal is maintained after sending);
or
in response to the second card being displayed in the floating manner on the display
interface, removing the key information of the first application from the first target component (Examiner’s note—disjunctive limitation not treated for now).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-12, generally, particularly Fig. 4, Summary, Abstract), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 4, processor, #101);
a display screen (Fig. 4, display, #104-2); and
a memory storing an instruction (Fig. 4, memory, #103) executable by the processor;
wherein the processor is configured to perform the steps of claim 1.
Thus, claim 10 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, this is met by the rejection to claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, this is met by the rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, this is met by the rejection to claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, Zhu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction (Fig. 4, memory, #103; Detailed Description, [0109] on nonvolatile memory) that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 4, processor, #101) of an electronic device (Fig. 4, generally, #100), causes the electronic device to perform a display method, the display method comprising the steps of claim 1.
Thus, claim 19 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Other References
The following references are also cited as pertinent on the PTO-892 but may not be specifically relied upon with this Action:
Ding et al. (US 2024/0103888 A1)
Reeves et al. (US 2022/0004350 A1)
Zhang et al. (US 2024/0338103 A1)
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626