DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 2—23 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 07/15/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14—16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews (Matthews hereafter).
As per claim 14, Matthews teaches:
A support pillow (10—Fig.1; para [0018]) comprising:
a pillow body (12—Fig.1; para [0016]) comprising:
a substantially straight medial region (14—Fig.1; para [0016]) having a length of 18 to 28 inches; a substantially straight first arm (16—Fig.1; para [0016]) extending 5 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm length to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) and having a first free end (20—Fig.1; para [0016]), wherein a width of the substantially straight medial region combined with the length of the substantially straight first arm is 11 to 20 inches (para [0018]: distance between first and second arms may through medial region 14 may be in the range from about 21 inches to about 42 inches, and more preferably from about 28 inches to about 36 inches and width of arm may be7 to 15 inches);
a substantially straight second arm (18—Fig.1; para [0016]) extending 5 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm length to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) and having a second free end (22—Fig.1; para [0016]); wherein the substantially straight first arm, the substantially straight medial region, and the substantially straight second arm define an outer periphery and an inner periphery (28 & 29—Fig.1 & 2; para [0016] inner periphery 28 outer periphery 29); and wherein the inner periphery defines a curved support cavity (28-Fig.2; para [0018]: radius of curvature that permits it to conform to the shape of a person's torso); and
a fabric shell (40—Fig.3b; para [0020]) enclosing an amount of a fill material (26—Fig.3a; para [0016]); wherein the fabric shell comprises: a U-shaped first piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1); a U-shaped second piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1); and wherein the fill material is in contact with the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1: fill material 40b in contact with U-shaped first and second piece).
As per claim 15, Matthews teaches:
The support pillow of claim 14, wherein a distance between the first free end and the second free end is at least 8 inches (para [0016]; distances between first second end 14 to 28 inches).
As per claim 16, Matthews teaches:
The support pillow of claim 14, wherein the fabric shell further comprises the U-shaped first piece connected to the U-shaped second piece along at least the inner periphery (28 & 29—Fig.1 & 2; para [0016] inner periphery 28 seam connecting first and second piece).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2—4, 6, 7, 12, 13, 17, 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews in view of U.S Patent Application 2023/0172370 A1 to Sauceda (Sauceda hereafter).
As per claim 2, Matthews teaches:
A support pillow (10—Fig.1; para [0018]) comprising:
a pillow body (12—Fig.1; para [0016]) comprising:
a substantially straight medial region (14—Fig.1; para [0016]) having a length of 18 to 28 inches (para [0018]: medial region length in range of 12 to 24 inches); a substantially straight first arm (16—Fig.1; para [0016]) extending 5 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm extending to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) and having a first free end (20—Fig.1; para [0016]), wherein a width of the substantially straight medial region combined with the length of the substantially straight first arm is 11 to 20 inches (para [0018]: distance between first and second arms may through medial region 14 may be in the range from about 21 inches to about 42 inches, and more preferably from about 28 inches to about 36 inches and width of arm may be7 to 15 inches);
a substantially straight second arm (18—Fig.1; para [0016]) extending 5 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm extending to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) and having a second free end (22—Fig.1; para [0016]); wherein the substantially straight first arm, the substantially straight medial region, and the substantially straight second arm define an outer periphery and an inner periphery (28 & 29—Fig.1 & 2; para [0016] inner periphery 28 outer periphery 29); and wherein the inner periphery defines a curved support cavity (28-Fig.2; para [0018]: radius of curvature that permits it to conform to the shape of a person's torso); and a fabric shell (40—Fig.3b; para [0020]) enclosing an amount of a fill material (26—Fig.3a; para [0016]); wherein the fabric shell comprises: a U-shaped first piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1); a U-
shaped second piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1);
Matthews does not teach: a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end, wherein the gusset extends around at least a portion of the inner periphery; and wherein the fill material is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset.
Sauceda teaches: a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece (110 & 108 -Fig.1A; para [0035] gusset connected to U shaped panel 104 & 106), the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end (118 & 122-Fig.1A; para [0038]), wherein the gusset extends around at least a portion of the inner periphery (110-Fig.1A); and wherein the fill material is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset (104, 801 & 106-Fig.14A; para [0048]: inserts filling interior may be in contact with first second piece and gusset of Fig.7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end and fill material that is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end and a fill material that is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pillow with resiliently yieldable in response to a downward force (such as the weight of an infant) placed on the top surface of the body as taught in Sauceda (para [0011]) and to provide an additional rear exterior surface stitched to the outer panel of the pillow as taught in Sauceda (para [0045]).
As per claim 3, Matthews (as modified) teaches:
The support pillow of claim 2, wherein a distance between the first free end and the second free end is at least 8 inches (para [0016]; distances between first second end 14 to 28 inches).
As per claim 4, Matthews teaches: The support pillow of claim 2.
Matthews does not teach, wherein the first gusset end is connected to the first free end and the second gusset end is connected to the second free end.
Sauceda teaches , wherein the first gusset end is connected to the first free end and the second gusset end is connected to the second free end (118 & 122-Fig.1A; para [0038] first and second gusset ends connected to first and second free end of pillow near 116 & 120 Fig.4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide an additional rear exterior surface stitched to the outer panel of the pillow as taught in Sauceda (para [0045]).
As per claim 6, Matthews (as modified) teaches:
The support pillow of claim 2, wherein the U-shaped first piece is connected to the U-shaped second piece at a rear end of the pillow body (29-Fig.1; para [0016]: first and second piece connected at rear end of pillow creating an exterior seam line).
As per claim 7, Matthews (as modified) teaches: The support pillow of claim 2.
Matthews does not teach, wherein the pillow body defines an opening between the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece.
Sauceda teaches, wherein the pillow body defines an opening (204-Fig.3; para [0044]) between the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece (para [0044]: opening 204 between first and second U-shaped piece 104 & 106).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end and an opening between a fist and second U-shaped piece) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit access to the body cavity, so that one or more of the cushionable inserts (described below) may be inserted into or withdrawn from the cavity by the user, as taught in Sauceda (para [0044]).
As per claim 12, Matthews (as modified) teaches:
The support pillow of claim 2, wherein the substantially straight first arm extends 5 to 6 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0018]; arm extending to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) .
As per claim 13, Matthews (as modified) teaches:
The support pillow of claim 2, wherein the U-shaped first piece has a width of 13 to 18 inches (examiner note; para [0018]; arm 16 & 18 may have a width 7 to 15 inches).
Note
The examiner interprets width of the first U-Shaped piece as the length of element 16 because it captures the Applicants defined width from the free end of the U-shaped pillow to the end of the midsection.
As per claim 17, Matthews (as modified) teaches: The support pillow of claim 14.
Matthews does not teach, wherein the pillow body defines an opening between the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece.
Sauceda teaches wherein the pillow body defines an opening (204-Fig.3; para [0044]) between the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece (para [0044]: opening 204 between first and second U-shaped piece 104 & 106).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end and an opening between a fist and second U-shaped piece) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to permit access to the body cavity, so that one or more of the cushionable inserts (described below) may be inserted into or withdrawn from the cavity by the user, as taught in Sauceda (para [0044]).
As per claim 19, Matthews teaches:
A support pillow (10—Fig.1; para [0018])comprising:
a pillow body (12—Fig.1; para [0016]) comprising:
a substantially straight medial region (14—Fig.1; para [0016]) having a length of 18 to 28 inches (para [0018]: medial region length in range of 12 to 24 inches); a substantially straight first arm (16—Fig.1; para [0016]) extending 5 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm length to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) and having a first free end (20—Fig.1; para [0016]), wherein a width of the substantially straight medial region combined with the length of the substantially straight first arm is 11 to 20 inches (para [0018]: distance between first and second arms may through medial region 14 may be in the range from about 21 inches to about 42 inches, and more preferably from about 28 inches to about 36 inches and width of arm may be7 to 15 inches); a substantially straight second arm (18—Fig.1; para [0016]) extending 5 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm length to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches) and having a second free end (22—Fig.1; para [0016]); wherein the substantially straight first arm, the substantially straight medial region, and the substantially straight second arm define an outer periphery and an inner periphery (28 & 29—Fig.1 & 2; para [0016] inner periphery 28 outer periphery 29); and wherein the inner periphery defines a curved support cavity (28-Fig.2; para [0018]: radius of curvature that permits it to conform to the shape of a person's torso); and
a fabric shell (40—Fig.3b; para [0020]) enclosing an amount of a fill material (26—Fig.3a; para [0016]); wherein the fabric shell comprises: a U-shaped first piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1); a U-shaped second piece (40-Fig.3b; annotated 16 & 18—Fig.1);
Matthews does not teach a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end, wherein the gusset extends around the inner periphery and at least part of the outer periphery; and wherein the fill material is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset.
Sauceda teaches a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece (110 & 108 -Fig.1A; para [0035] gusset connected to U shaped panel 104 & 106), the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end (118 & 122-Fig.1A; para [0038]), wherein the gusset extends around the inner periphery (110-Fig.1A) and at least part of the outer periphery (108-Fig.1A); and wherein the fill material is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset (104, 801 & 106-Fig.14A; para [0048]: inserts filling interior may be in contact with first second piece and gusset of Fig.7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end and fill material that is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end and a fill material that is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pillow with resiliently yieldable in response to a downward force (such as the weight of an infant) placed on the top surface of the body as taught in Sauceda (para [0011]) and to provide an additional rear exterior surface stitched to the outer panel of the pillow as taught in Sauceda (para [0045]).
As per claim 22, Matthews (as modified) teaches:
The support pillow of claim 19, wherein the U-shaped first piece has a width of 13 to 18 inches (examiner note above; para [0018]; arm 16 & 18 may have a width 7 to 15 inches); and wherein the substantially straight first arm extends 6 to 9 inches from the substantially straight medial region (para [0016]; arm length to medial region 5 to 11 inches claim 6: arm ends extending 3 to 10 inches).
Claim(s) 5, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews in view of U.S Patent Application 2023/0172370 A1 to Sauceda in further view of U.S Patent Application 2009/0094749 A1 to Littlehorn et al. (Littlehorn hereafter).
As per claim 5, Matthews (as modified) teaches: The support pillow of claim 2.
Matthews does not, wherein the gusset includes a width of between 2 to 3 inches running parallel to the first gusset end and the second gusset end.
Littlehorn teaches, includes a width of between 2 to 3 inches (para [0049]); running parallel to the first gusset end and the second gusset end (164—Fig.10: width run parallel gusset end near at 164).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end) and Littlehorn (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset having ends between 2 and 3 inches and a portion between the gusset having a second height less than the first height) arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end with a gusset having ends between 2 and 3 inches and a portion between the gusset having a second height less than the first height. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a gusset to help shape the pillow thereby providing comfort to the user as taught in Littlehorn (para [0049]).
As per claim 23, Matthews (as modified) teaches: The support pillow of claim 19.
Matthews does not teach, wherein the first gusset end is connected to the first free end and the second gusset end is connected to the second free end; and wherein the gusset includes a width of between two to three inches running parallel to the first gusset end and the second gusset end.
Sauceda teaches: wherein the first gusset end is connected to the first free end and the second gusset end is connected to the second free end (110 & 108 -Fig.1A; para [0035] gusset ends 118 & 122-Fig.1A; connected to U shaped panel free ends 104 & 106).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end and fill material that is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, the gusset having a first gusset end and a second gusset end and a fill material that is in contact with the U-shaped first piece, the U-shaped second piece, and the gusset. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pillow with resiliently yieldable in response to a downward force (such as the weight of an infant) placed on the top surface of the body as taught in Sauceda (para [0011]) and to provide an additional rear exterior surface stitched to the outer panel of the pillow as taught in Sauceda (para [0045]).
Matthews as modified does not teach and wherein the gusset includes a width of between two to three inches running parallel to the first gusset end and the second gusset end.
Littlehorn teaches and wherein the gusset includes a width of between two to three inches (para [0049]); running parallel to the first gusset end and the second gusset end (164—Fig.10: width run parallel gusset end near at 164).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end) and Littlehorn (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset having ends between 2 and 3 inches and a portion between the gusset having a second height less than the first height) arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end with a gusset having ends between 2 and 3 inches and a portion between the gusset having a second height less than the first height. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a gusset to help shape the pillow thereby providing comfort to the user as taught in Littlehorn (para [0049]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews in view of U.S Patent Application 2023/0172370 A1 to Sauceda in further view of U.S Patent Application 2009/0094749 A1 to Littlehorn et al. in further view of U.S Patent Application 2020/0214452 A1 to DuPre (DuPre hereafter).
As per claim 8, Matthews (as modified) teaches: The support pillow of claim 7.
Matthews (as modified), wherein the opening comprises: a first opening end; and a second opening end 4 to 9 inches away from the first opening end.
DuPre teaches, wherein the opening (70—Fig.4; para [0061]) comprises: a first opening end (75-Fig.4: first opening end near 75 in Fig.4); and a second opening end (75-Fig.4: second opening end near 90 in Fig.4) inches away from the first opening end (70—Fig.4; para [0065] zipper opening length may have smaller dimensions).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end and an opening between a fist and second U-shaped piece) and DuPre (directed to a pillow provided with a zipper between the zipper opening ends and configured to close the zipper opening) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided a zipper between the zipper opening ends and configured to close the zipper opening the first opening inches away from the first opening end. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide access into an interior region of the pillow to adjust firmness by inserting or removing material as taught in DuPre (para [0061]).
Mattews as modified by DuPre teaches the claimed invention except wherein a first opening end; and a second opening end 4 to 9 inches away from the first opening end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have produced a zipper opening with a first and second end positioned 4 to 9 inches away from the first opening end, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews in view of U.S Patent Application 2023/0172370 A1 to Sauceda in view of U.S Patent Application 2011/0308002 A1 to Pesta (Pesta hereafter).
As per claim 11, Matthews (as modified) teaches: The support pillow of claim 2.
Matthews does not teach, wherein the gusset is connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece using at least a first seam configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force; and wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a second seam configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force.
Sauceda teaches, wherein the gusset is connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece using at least a first seam (220-Fig.2; para [0044]); and wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a second seam (201-Fig.2; para [0035]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset connected to the first and second piece using a first and second seam) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset connected to the first and second piece using a first and second seam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to ensure the panels top and bottom portions are connected by stitching as taught in Sauceda (para [0034]).
Matthews as modified does not teach, [wherein the gusset is connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece using at least a first seam] configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force; [and wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a second seam] configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force.
Pesta teaches, [wherein the gusset is connected to the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece using at least a first seam] configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force (para [0014]: sewn seam strength 100lbs); [and wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a second seam] configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force (para [0014]: sewn seam strength 100lbs).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Sauceda (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow, a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end and an opening between a fist and second U-shaped piece) and Pesta (directed to a cover provided with a sewn seam with a seam strength of 100lbs) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end using a stream configured to withstand 15 pounds of tension force. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance the life cycle of the fabric to ensure durability as taught in Pesta (para [0014]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews in view of U.S Patent Application 2011/0308002 A1 to Pesta.
As per claim 18, Matthews (as modified) teaches:
The support pillow of claim 14, wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a seam (28-Fig.2; para [0016]).
Matthews as modified does not teach [wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a seam] configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force.
Pesta teaches, [wherein the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece are connected using at least a seam] configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force (para [0014]: sewn seam strength 100lbs).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Matthews (directed to a U shaped nursing pillow provided with first and second pieces) and Pesta (directed to a cover provided with a sewn seam with a seam strength of 100lbs) and arrived at a U shaped nursing pillow provided with a gusset a gusset first and second end connected to the U-shaped first second free end using a stream configured to withstand 15 pounds of tension force. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance the life cycle of the fabric to ensure durability as taught in Pesta (para [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 20 & 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 9, 10 & 21 the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews teaches a support pillow provided with a first and second U shaped piece including a first and second arm and an inner and outer periphery. Matthews fails to teach the limitation of claim 9 & 21 which recites : wherein the pillow body further comprises a zipper sewn to the first opening end using at least a first three back stitches and sewn to the second opening end using at least a second three back stitches.
Matthews as modified by U.S Patent Application 2023/0172370 A1 to Sauceda teaches an opening with a first and second end positioned on the back of the pillow body Matthews is further modified by U.S Patent Application 2020/0214452 A1 to DuPre to teach wherein the second end of the opening 4 to 9 inches away from the first opening end.
U.S Patent Application 2012/0284924 A1 to Pratt teaches a pillow provided with a zipper including ends sewn over a seam joining a first and second piece, however further modifying the opening of DuPre to teach the zipper sewn to the opening ends using at least three back stiches to produce the combined features would not be considered an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding dependent claim 20 the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application Patent Application 2005/0005359 A1 to Matthews teaches a support pillow provided with a first and second U shaped piece including a first and second arm and an inner and outer periphery. Matthews fails to teach the combination structure present in the limitation of claim 20 which recites :
wherein the U-shaped first piece is connected to the U-shaped second piece using at least a first seam configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force; and wherein the pillow body defines an opening between the U-shaped first piece and the U-shaped second piece, wherein the opening comprises :a first opening end; and a second opening end 4 to 9 inches away from the first opening end.
Matthews as modified by U.S Patent Application 2023/0172370 A1 to Sauceda teaches an opening with a first and second end positioned on the back of the pillow body Matthews is further modified by U.S Patent Application 2020/0214452 A1 to DuPre to teach wherein the second end of the opening 4 to 9 inches away from the first opening end.
U.S Patent Application 2011/0308002 A1 to Pesta teaches a seam configured to withstand at least 15 pounds of tension force, however further modifying the seam configured to connect the first and second piece of the pillow of Matthews to produce combined features would not be considered an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefor upon exhausting the art, it is concluded by the examiner for those reasons stated above that inconsideration with deficiencies of the prior art, that applicant’s invention would be considered non-obvious in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent 9,265,357 B2 A nursing and infant support pillow having a cushion fastened to a pillow top. The cushion has a midsection, a first end section and a second end section, and the pillow top having a midsection, a first foldable end and a second foldable end.
U.S Patent Application 2009/0235459 A1 teaches A pillow system comprises a curved pillow body having a top surface, a bottom surface, a midsection and a pair of curved arms that each have an end.
/DEBORAH TALITHA GEDEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
07/23/2026