DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Claim Amendments
The claim amendments made prior to this first office action are acknowledged. Claims 1-51 and 63-298 have been cancelled. Claims 52-62 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 55 and 61 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims include the term “inquires” in lines 4 and 3, respectively. This appears to be a typographical error that was intended to be --inquiries-- (such as in Claim 55, line 7; Claim 56; and Claim 61, line 6) . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 52-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
The claims are directed to a process (method as introduced in Claim 58), and/or system (Claim 52), thus Claims 52-62 fall within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
The claimed invention recites an abstract idea according to MPEP §2106.04. The independent claims which recite the following claim limitations as an abstract idea, are underlined below.
Claim 52 recites:
a freelance worker definition component configured to interpret a freelance work group comprising a plurality of freelance workers, and a plurality of worker properties corresponding to the plurality of freelance workers;
a customer interaction component configured to implement a customer request [service] interface, and to determine a customer inquiry in response to customer interactions with the customer request [service] interface;
a work intake component configured to interpret the customer inquiry;
a worker segmentation component configured to determine a plurality of worker segments in response to the freelance work group, the plurality of worker properties, and the customer inquiry;
a work dispatch component configured to differentially offer a resolution action to the customer inquiry to the plurality of worker segments, and repeating the differentially offering until at least one freelance worker accepts the resolution action; and
wherein the customer interaction component is further configured to communicatively couple the customer with the at least one freelance worker that accepted the resolution action.
Claim 58 recites:
interpreting a freelance work group comprising a plurality of freelance workers, and a plurality of worker properties corresponding to the plurality of freelance workers;
implementing a customer request interface, and determining a customer inquiry in response to customer interactions with the customer request [service] interface;
interpreting the customer inquiry;
determining a plurality of worker segments in response to the freelance work group, the plurality of worker properties, and the customer inquiry;
differentially offering a resolution action to the customer inquiry to the plurality of worker segments, and repeating the differentially offering until at least one freelance worker accepts the resolution action; and
communicatively coupling the customer with the at least one freelance worker that accepted the resolution action.
The underlined claim limitations as emphasized above, as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers the performance of commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and/or business relations) in the form of connecting users in business relationships based on user needs and available worker resources. Other than reciting a computer implementation, nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from encompassing the performance of commercial or legal interactions which represents the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. But for the recitation of generic implementation of computer system components, the claimed invention merely recites a process for connecting users in business relationships based on user needs and available worker resources. For example, connecting workers to employers, connecting service provides to clients, and/or other similar business relationships
Step 2A, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite additional elements such as:
a freelance service management platform, comprising:
a freelance worker definition component;
a customer interaction component implementing a customer request interface;
a work intake component;
a worker segmentation component; and
a work dispatch component.
In particular, the additional elements cited above beyond the abstract idea are recited at a high-level of generality and simply equivalent to a generic recitation and basic functionality that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computer technology components.
Accordingly, since the specification describes the additional elements in general terms, without describing the particulars, the additional elements may be broadly but reasonably construed as generic computing components being used to perform the judicial exception (see specification at [00124]-[00126]). These claimed additional elements merely recite the words “apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Thus, the additional claim elements are not indicative of integration into a practical application, because the claims do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements, individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims:
Claims 53-57 and 59-62 recite further elements related to the steps of the parent claims. These activities fail to differentiate the claims from the related activities in the parent claims and fail to provide any material to render the claimed invention to be significantly more than the identified abstract ideas, as outlined below.
Claims 53 and 59 recite “wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to determine the plurality of worker segments by selecting a predetermined worker segmentation in response to a comparison of properties between a selected customer inquiry and the customer inquiry”, which specifies further steps related to determining a plurality of worker segments, but does not make the claims any less abstract.
Claims 54 and 60 recite “wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to determine the plurality of worker segments by adjusting the predetermined worker segmentation in response to the comparison of properties between the selected customer inquiry and the customer inquiry”, which specifies further steps related to determining a plurality of worker segments, but does not make the claims any less abstract.
Claims 55 and 61 recite “wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to determine a plurality of predetermined worker segmentations in response to properties of a plurality of selected customer [inquiries]; and determine the plurality of worker segments by selecting one of the plurality of predetermined worker segmentations in response to a comparison of properties between the customer inquiry and at least one of the plurality of selected customer inquiries”, which specifies further steps related to determining a plurality of worker segments, but does not make the claims any less abstract.
Claim 56 recites “wherein the properties of the plurality of selected customer inquiries comprise at least one of: a brand value, a worker skill value, or a tool description”, which specifies further steps related to determining a plurality of worker segments, but does not make the claims any less abstract.
Claims 57 and 62 recite “wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to update the selected one of the plurality of predetermined worker segmentations in response to properties of the customer inquiry”, which specifies further steps related to determining a plurality of worker segments, but does not make the claims any less abstract.
The claims do not provide any new additional limitations or meaningful limits beyond abstract idea that are not addressed above in the independent claims therefore, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do they provide significantly more to the abstract idea. Thus, after considering all claim elements, both individually and as a whole, it has been determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Therefore, Claims 53-57 and 59-62 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 52-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blassin et al. (US 2016/0162478 A1).
In regards to Claims 52 and 58, Blassin discloses:
A method and/or system, comprising:
a freelance service management platform, comprising: [0169]; etc.)
a freelance worker definition component configured to interpret a freelance work group comprising a plurality of freelance workers, and a plurality of worker properties corresponding to the plurality of freelance workers; ([0122]-[0124]; etc., the workers (group of freelance workers, crowd sourced workers) are evaluated (interpreted) to determine what tasks they are suitable for, using worker attribute and profile data (plurality of worker properties); [0770], “freelance”, additionally, throughout the reference, “crowd-sourced” or crowd workers are used rather than internal workers, indicating independent/freelance workers that can accept jobs (for example [0064])
a customer interaction component configured to implement a customer request interface, and to determine a customer inquiry in response to customer interactions with the customer request interface; ([0063]; [0064]; Fig. 2A, a dashboard (interface) with which a customer can interact to enter data and make inquiries (inquiries are requests for available/matching workers based on job criteria) 0363
a work intake component configured to interpret the customer inquiry; (inquiries/requests may be interpreted to determine what customer/client requirements/goals should be used to determine best match of workers, [0084], analyses requests, metadata, task data, etc. to determine the resource that best meets the customers’ needs/requirements; [0064]; [0065], interpreting the customer inquiry and included task requirements (specific data that effects what workers are identified and presented) to make matches (“…task delivery date estimation, task cost estimation, task quality estimation, task size information, task complexity information, billing options, and the like…”), requests made through an interface; [0353], requests can be analyzed to determine request-specific metadata related to the request parameters/goals (total cost, translation quality, adherence to certain translation requirements, etc.); [0205], based on the request and worker properties, workers can be identified based on price/cost, quality/specialization, et.)
a worker segmentation component configured to determine a plurality of worker segments in response to the freelance work group, the plurality of worker properties, and the customer inquiry; ([0205], based on the request and worker properties, worker segments can be determined (examples include segmenting workers based on price/cost or quality/specialization))
a work dispatch component configured to differentially offer a resolution action to the customer inquiry to the plurality of worker segments, and repeating the differentially offering until at least one freelance worker accepts the resolution action; ([0122]; [0205], offers are made to different crowd workers and segments of crowd workers until an offer is accepted; [0206], “Should a translator 506 decline the opportunity to translate the assigned CTUs, the assign translator module 208 may select another translator 506 to be offered the task…”; [0064]; [0122]; etc., workers are matched to requests by customers/clients)
wherein the customer interaction component is further configured to communicatively couple the customer with the at least one freelance worker that accepted the resolution action. ([0429], includes an interface for communicating with the translators/workers (also includes additional discussions of identifying workers based on competencies (segments))
In regards to Claims 53 and 59, Blassin discloses:
wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to determine the plurality of worker segments by selecting a predetermined worker segmentation in response to a comparison of properties between a selected customer inquiry and the customer inquiry ([0179], “…The user may be presented with suggested attributes based on attributes provided during previous translation requests by the user or other users.”, attributes taken from previous translation requests (previous inquiries) would represent “selected inquiries”; [0361], this comparison between attributes of previous requests/inquiries and the current requests/inquiries can also be used to determine translators based on previous responses to the client (or other clients) and current needs, can segment the translators/workers between “preferred translators/workers” and other translators/workers)
In regards to Claims 54 and 60, Blassin discloses:
wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to determine the plurality of worker segments by adjusting the predetermined worker segmentation in response to the comparison of properties between the selected customer inquiry and the customer inquiry ([0361], data between the worker and the hiring client can be correlated based on previous translation requests (selected requests), in addition to any requirements (such as requirements that would relate to worker segments (based on quality requirements, location requirements, price requirements, etc.), the correlated data can also result in preferred workers (such as those who worked before), previously accepted or denied requests (selected requests) provide data to adjust the worker segments (such as adjusting them to include non-preferred workers and preferred worker segments))
In regards to Claims 55 and 61, Blassin discloses:
wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to determine a plurality of predetermined worker segmentations in response to properties of a plurality of selected customer inquiries; ([0361], past requests (selected requests) can be used to determine a plurality of worker segments, workers who refused prior requests and workers who completed previous work/requests)
determine the plurality of worker segments by selecting one of the plurality of predetermined worker segmentations in response to a comparison of properties between the customer inquiry and at least one of the plurality of selected customer inquiries ([0361], data between the worker and the hiring client can be correlated based on previous translation requests (selected requests), in addition to any requirements (such as requirements that would relate to worker segments (based on quality requirements, location requirements, price requirements, etc.), the correlated data can also result in preferred workers (such as those who worked before), previously accepted or denied requests (selected requests) provide data to adjust the worker segments (such as adjusting them to include non-preferred workers and preferred worker segments), this correlation data can be used to select a specific group from among the determined plurality of segments (workers who completed previous work/requests))
In regards to Claim 56, Blassin discloses:
wherein the properties of the plurality of selected customer inquiries comprise at least one of: a brand value, a worker skill value, or a tool description ([0361]; [0382], data used for correlations can include quality data of the worker; [0083], auditing of previous work for quality data (which would be associated with previous requests) is performed for workers, preferring users who have previous experience with a client, particular content type experience, and quality work indicates a skill value to that worker)
In regards to Claims 57 and 62, Blassin discloses:
wherein the worker segmentation component is further configured to update the selected one of the plurality of predetermined worker segmentations in response to properties of the customer inquiry (properties of a customer inquiry (request) can be used to further define worker segments (such as location, however, it is noted that this is not the only example in the reference), [0968], “Receiving a request for a task to be performed by a human worker selectable from a predefined pool of human workers, wherein the request includes at least one worker location constraint.”; [0969] “Processing the location constraint with a worker location database that includes worker computer logical address data and worker physical location data, to determine a candidate set of workers from the pool that satisfy at least the worker location constraint based on the worker physical location.)
Additional Prior Art Identified but not Relied Upon
Reshef et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0272045 A1). Provided herein are methods and systems for automatically selecting expert sub-contractors for executing tasks, comprising extracting requirements of a contracted task form a task description, applying an evolving selection algorithm to compute a success score and an enhancement score for each of at least some expert sub-contractors evaluated for executing the contracted task, selecting a subset of expert sub-contractors based on their success and enhancement scores such that the subset includes one or more expert sub-contractors having success scores exceeding a first threshold and one or more expert sub-contractors having enhancement scores exceeding a second threshold, and instructing each expert sub-contractor of the subset to execute the contracted task. Wherein the success score indicates an estimated probability of the respective expert sub-contractor to successfully execute the contracted task and the enhancement score indicates an estimated enhancement of the evolving selection algorithm by the respective expert sub-contractor executing the contracted task (as described in the Abstract).
Conclusion
/S.D.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/LYNDA JASMIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629