DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed October 17, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
No Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed by Applicant with this Application. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Specification
The Specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any grammatical/spelling or any other errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Objection
A method claim 20 depends on claim 10 which is a system claim. Appropriate correction is required.
In claims 2 and 12 recited the limitations of “notification identifies an organization suggestion for the extracted logbook data”. It is unclear what kind of suggestion or what is the suggestion as recited in the claim. The phrases “suggestion” merely describing any types of output or results. As such, the limitations and associated claim language does not have weight and does not distinguish from the prior art of record.
Claim 1, recite the limitations of “A system” should read as “A computer-implemented system”. The electronic processor can read as hardware processor. In claim 11, recite the limitations of “A method for generating unified logbook data” should read as “A computer-implemented method including a hardware processor for generating unified logbook data”.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
35 USC 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, e.g., claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 1. The system of claims 1-10 and method of claims 11-17 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter and therefore satisfy Step 1.
Step 2A. Prong one of the 2019 PEG:
1. In accordance with Step 2A, prong one, the limitations are directed to additional elements include system, electronic processor and device.
2. The limitations are recited in claims 1 and 11 are receiving, a request to register the user device with a logbook processing service based on a registration credential; in response to registering the user device, receiving a user login credential from the user device; in response to verifying the user login credential, receiving an image of logbook data from the user device, wherein logbook data includes data collected using one or more scientific instruments; in response to receiving the image of logbook data, recording a unique identifier of the user device along with an indication of the logbook data included in the image of logbook data etc., is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. That is, other than reciting system, electronic processor and device, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. The steps can be done nominally, insignificantly or user can perform each of the tasks merely manually and can be considered as a data gathering performance. The limitations can interpret as a user login to a device using user ID and password, match those information (credentials) to sign in on a particular website. The information can be collection and management of electronic logbook entries in one centralized system. Taking photographs of paper logbooks, extracting text from images using OCR, Registering a particular device using a device-registration credential. The limitations scientific instruments can be a device which has serial number, the device which associated with OCR code, the device which has installed any apps, the device which can be used for any types data analyzation etc. The limitations record a unique identifier of the user device along with an indication of the logbook data included in the image of the logbook data, can be user credential also (user ID and password), device ID (unique identifier), during login a user can attach their picture, during search a user can look for a data which associated with an image etc. Further, concept of the claim limitation generally used in any healthcare/hospital system, aircraft, employee activities, training or inspections etc. The limitations are routine and conventional. Thus, the limitations are directed to abstract mental process. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls with mental process grouping of abstract ideas.
With respect to Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG: the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The system, electronic processor and device in both steps are recited at a high-level of generality or insignificant extra solution activity such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, Accordingly, these additional element (system, electronic processor and device) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B.
Claims 1 and 11 recited additional limitations, such that generating unified logbook data, extracting textual logbook data from the image using natural language processing; and organizing the extracted textual logbook data into a structured format, using a model, to generate unified logbook data. These limitations are a context which encompasses merely generating or maintaining and storing logbook data in a single source or device, which can be storing data in a server/webserver/cloud computer or database or obtaining information in a multiple website, the information can be same or the similar. The limitations unified logbooks can be maintaining data in multiple websites. The limitations organizing and extracting textual logbook data into a structured format, using a model can be processing logbook data such as maintaining account information; installing app in a device, reading the app and finding/retrieving information from the app and performs action. The limitations model can be how the data can perform action. The additional elements are broadly applied to the abstract idea at a high level of generality, they are directed to extra solution activity or they operate in a well-understood, routine, and conventional manner (MPEP § 2106.05(f); MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)). Storing and retrieving information in memory (e.g. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc..). Courts have held computer-implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amount to nothing more than generic computer function merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by human thinking. Using generic computing components (e.g., system, electronic processor and device) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract and is not enough to transform an abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent-eligible. Further, the subject matter can also interpret as well-understood, routine and conventional functions (e.g., electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document/object, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank….). There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. They are merely collective functions provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent claim 2 recited the limitations of suggestion for the extracted logbook data, an anomaly in the extracted logbook data, notification and action taken based on the notification. The limitations are describing reading the data and generating any type of result or merely workflow. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claims 3 and 4 recited the limitations of sending unified logbook data and the notification, model is a machine learning model and a rule-based model. The limitations are describing storing data in a webserver or database and transmitting those data. The limitations of machine learning are merely using it which is not describing any technical mechanism. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claims 5 and 6 recited the limitations of feedback, retain the model of the feedback, error associated with selected group consisting of sample error, grammatical error, spelling error. The limitations are merely describing any types of users or system generated feedback. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claims 7 recited the limitations of tagging logbook entries with relevant labels, identifying and extracting key information from logbook entries in the extracted logbook data. The limitations are describing categorizing and labeling, giving value/annotate/label for log data. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claim 8 recited the limitations of results deviate from historical data, a predetermined threshold, timing or frequency of experimental procedures, recorded measurements or observations, sudden changes in behavior samples. These limitations are describing data gathering performance or manipulating the data. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claims 9 and 10 recited the limitations of equipment failure or malfunctions, delay or issue in an experimental used, required field is blank or filled with an incorrect data type, notification identified the required field. The limitations merely describing user login to a device, matching entered data, receiving information and re-enter data. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claims 12-20 are same scope as claims 2-10 and are similarly rejected. The claim recited limitations are do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. As such, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2013/0167208 A1) in view of Bitetti (US 2023/0298754 A1).
As for claim 1, Shi teaches a system for generating unified logbook data, the system comprising: at least one electronic processor, the at least one electronic processor configured to: receive, from a user device, a request to register the user device with a logbook processing service based on a registration credential (see [0011], e.g., server locates login credentials linked to the device identification information to enable the user to login to the website. The mobile device also supply identification information of the mobile device to a service provider that stores multiple login credentials of the user for multiple sites, [0022], user requested to register as a new account holder using the provided login credentials);
in response to registering the user device, receive a user login credential from the user device; in response to verifying the user login credential, receive….of logbook data from the user device (see [0012], the server grants the user access to the website based on the linked login credentials and perform further authentication using information received from the mobile device, The user supply the login credentials from the mobile device. The website verify that the received login credentials match login credentials the server has on file for the user and link the mobile device to the login credentials).
wherein logbook data includes data collected using one or more scientific instruments; in response to receiving….of logbook data, record a unique identifier of the user device along with an indication of the logbook data included in the image of logbook data (see [0012], e.g., the login webpage of the website display a randomly generated QR code alongside a login box. the user scans the QR code with the mobile device, [0021], e.g., mobile device transmits an encrypted device ID, the session ID, Merchant ID and other decoded information to the URL of website server through network. The mobile app used to scan the QR code is from the website running on website server. Alternatively, mobile device transmit the encrypted device ID);
extract textual logbook data from….using natural language processing; and organize the extracted textual logbook data into a structured format, using a model, to generate unified logbook data (see [0024], e.g., login open a mobile app of service provider, code reading software on mobile device capture and decode the QR code to yield the URL of the website and other decoded information. If an account for the website is linked with the device ID, service provider then retrieve the login credentials of the account from login credentials database, [0025], e.g., mobile device transmits the login credentials to service provider, which may store the login credentials as account information, link the device ID to the login credentials for the website identified by the UR, transmit the login credentials to the URL of website server for authentication through network. Website server directly or through service provider, present a screen on mobile device confirming that user is logged in and that the device ID has been linked to the login credentials).
Shi teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the limitations of “receive an image of logbook data; receiving the image of logbook data; logbook data from the image”. However, in the same field of endeavor Bitetti teaches the limitations of “receive an image of logbook data; receiving the image of logbook data; logbook data from the image” (see [0160], e.g., log information from uploaded pictures of food, or could even include a photo-gallery of meals with estimated carbs and then post-meal traces for adjustment of algorithm).
Shi and Bitetti both references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are from the same field of endeavor, such as user to log in a device, receive, store and transmit user credential, database or webserver associated with store and transmitting data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bitetti’s teaching to Shi system for recommending manual therapeutic administration. Thus, provide warning messages sent to the patient or caregiver's mobile device, personal computer, or smart watch as well as recommended treatment options to the patient or the caregiver. Recommended treatment options allow the patient or caregiver to delete or correct faulty data stored in the program's databases. Also, allows the device and/or patient or caregiver's smart watch or phone or other devices to vibrate to wake them (see Bitetti, [0007]).
As for claim 11,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 11 is a method claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bitetti’s teaching to Shi system for recommending manual therapeutic administration. Thus, provide warning messages sent to the patient or caregiver's mobile device, personal computer, or smart watch as well as recommended treatment options to the patient or the caregiver. Recommended treatment options allow the patient or caregiver to delete or correct faulty data stored in the program's databases. Also, allows the device and/or patient or caregiver's smart watch or phone or other devices to vibrate to wake them (see Bitetti, [0007]).
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the at least one electronic processor is further configured to: generate a notification regarding the logbook data based at least in part on the extracted textual logbook data, wherein the notification identifies an organization suggestion for the extracted textual logbook data, an anomaly in the extracted textual logbook data, or a potential error associated with the extracted textual logbook data; and record the notification and an action taken based on the notification (see Shi, [0024]; Also see Bitetti, [0012]).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the at least one electronic processor is further configured to: send to a user device at least one selected from the group consisting of the unified logbook data and the notification (see Shi, [0011], [0024]).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the model is one selected from the group consisting of a machine learning model and a rules-based model (see Shi, [0021]; Also see Bitetti. [0012]).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the at least one electronic processor is further configured to: receive feedback, wherein the feedback includes whether an action was taken based on the notification and a type of action taken based on the notification; and retrain the model based on the feedback, wherein the model is a machine learning model (see Shi, [0024], [0176]; Also see Bitetti. [0012]).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the potential error associated with the logbook data is at least one selected from the group consisting of a sample error, a grammatical error, and a spelling error (see Shi, [0048], [0176]; Also see Bitetti. [0012]).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the at least one electronic processor is configured to generate unified logbook data by performing at least one selected from the group consisting of categorizing logbook entries in the extracted textual logbook data, organizing logbook entries included in the extracted textual logbook data, tagging logbook entries with relevant labels, grouping logbook entries in the extracted textual logbook data, and identifying and extracting key information from logbook entries in the extracted textual logbook data (see Shi, [0020]-[0021]; Also see Bitetti. [0008], [0163]-[0164]).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the anomaly in the logbook data is at least one selected from the group consisting of experimental results that deviate from historical data or established norms by a predetermined threshold, outliers in sample characteristics, unusual patterns in timing or frequency of experimental procedures or sample preparation steps, aberrations in recorded measurements or observations, and sudden changes in behavior of samples (see Shi, [0012], [0022]-[0021]; Also see Bitetti. [0071], [0073]).
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the sample error is at least one selected from the group consisting of a potential contamination issue, an equipment failure or malfunction, a sample degradation risk, a quality issue, and a delay or issue in an experimental process used (see Shi, [0022], [0038]; Also see Bitetti, [0273]).
As to claim 10, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Shi and Bitetti teach:
wherein the at least one electronic processor is further configured to: generate a notification identifying a required field in a logbook entry included in the logbook data, wherein the required field is blank or filled with an incorrect data type; and send, to a user device, the notification identifying the required field (see Shi, [0012]-[0013]).
Claims 12-20 are corresponds in scope to claims 2-10 and is similarly rejected.
Prior Arts
13. US 2025/0200268 A1 teaches electronic scanner that scans existing logbooks for aircraft engines into a digital file of a computer system; a computer system that includes a microprocessor that, converts each digital file into an editable format that uses optical character recognition (OCR), segregates each editable digital file according to a document type ([0005]).
US 2002/0103865 A1 teaches an Internet method of doing business that would provide authoritative entities (like the F.A.A.) a national or international unified and searchable database of logbook information (as for pilots) which information could also be associated with security information (like identification information) ([0013]).
EP 1574093B1 teaches mobile electronic device for collecting, recording, storing data include universal information handling system, address book and electronic information loke picture/images/movies, digital audio information and store those data in electronic form ([0002]).
Also see, US 10839376, US 20070106754, US 20080040151, US 8768731, US 9202084, US 20130291060, US 20080040151, US 20070106537, US 20070106751, US 20070168461, US 20070106752, US 20070116036, US 20070106753, US 202303434418, US 11770417
, these references also read the claim recited limitation. These references are state of the art at the time of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
14. The examiner suggests, in response to this Office action, support being shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application because:
a. 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1) requires antecedent basis in the Specification or original disclosure for any new language, including terms and phrases, added to the claims;
and because:
b. 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(a) requires the Drawings to illustrate or show all claimed features.
Applicants must clearly point out the patentable novelty that they think the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made, and must also explain how the amendments avoid the references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c).
The examiner has cited columns and line numbers in references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety
as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the examiner.
15. The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action (see MPEP § 7.96).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Boris Gorney can be reached on (571) 270-5626. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or processing is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from the either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANIEL A KUDDUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
08/08/26