DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
3. Claims 21-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 24-30 of copending Application No. 19/361,770 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21 and 24-30 of copending Application No. 19/361,770 teach or render obvious all the steps and elements as recited in instant claims 21-34. Specifically, claim 21 of copending Application No. 19/361,770 teaches all the steps and elements as required by instant claim 21. In addition, the features as recited in dependent claims 22-34 are also taught or rendered obvious by claims 21 and 24-30 of copending Application No. 19/361,770.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
4. Claims 21-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 19/644,591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 19/644,591 teach or render obvious all the steps and elements as recited in instant claims 21-34. Specifically, claims 21 and 29 of copending Application No. 19/644,591 teach all the steps and elements as required by instant claim 21. In addition, the features as recited in dependent claims 22-34 are also taught or rendered obvious by claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 19/644,591.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
6. Claims 21-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Larsson et al. (Nat. Methods 2010, 7(5):395-397, published online 11 April 2010, with 2 pages of “Online Methods” and 18 pages of “Supplementary Information”).
Regarding claim 21
Larsson et al. teach, throughout the whole document, a method comprising: incubating a plurality of target analytes with a plurality of binding agents (e.g., padlock probes), thereby forming one or more complexes comprising a binding agent bound to a target analyte, wherein the one or more complexes include at least a first complex comprising a first binding agent of the plurality of binding agents bound to a first target analyte of the plurality of target analytes (see Figure 1a for schematic representation, and see page 396, column 1, paragraph 3 – page 397, column 1, paragraph 1 for specific examples); amplifying the first binding agent by rolling circle amplification (RCA) to produce a first concatamer (e.g., rolling circle product (RCP)) comprising multiple copies of a first target identifying sequence (e.g., multiple copies of a target-specific tag sequence for detection through hybridization of fluorescently-labeled detection probe) (see Figure 1a, and also see Supplementary Table 1 for sequences used in each of the specific examples); and detecting the first concatamer comprising the multiple copies of the first target identifying sequence, thereby detecting the first target analyte of the plurality of target analytes (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 22
The method according to Larsson et al., further comprising separating unbound binding agents from the one or more complexes (see Figure 1a; the section under “In situ cDNA detection procedure” in the 2 pages of “Online Methods”).
Regarding claims 23-24
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein a plurality of target identifying sequences are amplified, wherein the plurality of target identifying sequences are amplified by rolling circle amplification (RCA) (see Figure 1a).
Regarding claim 25
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein the plurality of binding agents (e.g., padlock probes) are oligonucleotides (see Figure 1a; Supplementary Table 1).
Regarding claim 26
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein detecting the first concatamer comprises hybridization from a library of probes (see Figure 1a; Supplementary Table 1).
Regarding claims 27-28
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein one or more target analytes are labeled with an optically detectable label, wherein the optically detectable label comprises a fluorescent label (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 29
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein detecting the first concatamer comprises obtaining sequence information of at least a portion of the first target identifying sequence (see Figure 1a).
Regarding claims 30-32
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein the target analytes of the plurality of target analytes comprise nucleic acids, wherein the nucleic acids comprise RNA (e.g., mRNA), and wherein the method further comprises converting the RNA to cDNA (see Figure 1a).
Regarding claims 33-34
The method according to Larsson et al., wherein the plurality of target analytes are target analytes of a sample, wherein the sample is a tissue sample (see Abstract; Figure 1; page 396, column 1, paragraph 4 – page 397, column 1, paragraph 2).
Conclusion
7. No claim is allowed.
/KAIJIANG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684