Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed 10/17/2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a communication module communicating with electronic devices in the vehicle” in claim 10. See Fig. 2 Chars. 130 & 131 disclosing the communication module as a generic module in a generic controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2002/0157883) in view of Park et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0159369).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly with respect to claims 11 and 19
Ogata “An apparatus for controlling a hybrid vehicle, the apparatus comprising: a hybrid powertrain including an engine and a drive motor;” (See Ogata [0047]-[0048] disclosing a hybrid electric vehicle with a main battery, a motor, and an engine.).
Ogata “and a controller determining an operation state of the vehicle according to vehicle state information based on entering a safe boarding and alighting mode,” (See Ogata [0051] disclosing a door switch (door detection means) that detects an open or closed state of doors and Ogata [0086] disclosing when the speed of the vehicle is less than the predetermined value, and an open or closed state of the door is detected, it is decided that the vehicle is standing at a bus stop. A place that passengers get on and off corresponds to the bus stop, see Ogata [0119]. The engine is only stopped, and corresponding determination of vehicle state performed, when an ISS switch is on, see Ogata [0062]. The switch corresponds to the safe mode.).
Ogata “and maintaining the engine in an OFF state and ” (See Ogata [0086] disclosing when the speed of the vehicle is less than the predetermined value, and an open or closed state of the door is detected, it is decided that the vehicle is standing at a bus stop, and operation of the engine is prohibited.).
Ogata discloses all the elements of claim 1 except “limiting a driving force output of the hybrid powertrain”.
Park discloses “limiting a driving force output of the hybrid powertrain” (See Park Abstract disclosing limiting a vehicle drive by changing the gear position to a non-drivable gear position in a state where the passenger door or the rear seat door is open.).
Ogata and Park are analogous art, because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle controls. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogata to incorporate the teachings of Park to include limiting a vehicle drive output when a vehicle door is in an open state, exposing passengers to danger. Doing so provides a known method in the art for safely controlling a vehicle, incorporated with a reasonable expectation of success as it advantageously better secures safety of passengers, see Park [0007]-[0009].
Regarding claim 2 and similarly with respect to claim 12
Ogata “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the boarding and alighting available state is a state in which a stop condition is satisfied with a door of the vehicle opened.” (Ogata [0086] disclosing when the speed of the vehicle is less than the predetermined value, and an open or closed state of the door is detected, it is decided that the vehicle is standing at a bus stop. A place that passengers get on and off corresponds to the bus stop, see Ogata [0119].).
Regarding claim 3 and similarly with respect to claim 13
Ogata “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, based on that the stop condition is satisfied, the controller controls the engine so that the engine is maintained in the OFF state.” (See Ogata [0086] disclosing when the speed of the vehicle is less than the predetermined value, and an open or closed state of the door is detected, it is decided that the vehicle is standing at a bus stop, and operation of the engine is prohibited.).
Regarding claim 4 and similarly with respect to claim 14
Ogata modified in view of Park discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” and Park further discloses “wherein based on that the door of the vehicle is opened, the controller limits the driving force output of the hybrid powertrain.” (See Park Abstract disclosing limiting a vehicle drive by changing the gear position to a non-drivable gear position in a state where the passenger door or the rear seat door is open.).
The rationale for forming the combination is similar to the rationale provided in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5 and similarly with respect to claim 15
Ogata discloses “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, based on entering the safe boarding and alighting mode, the controller controls a battery so that a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery reaches a preset safe boarding and alighting charging target SOC value.” (See Ogata [0062] disclosing when it is decided that the ISS switch is on, the control process advances to step S140, where a target power generation quantity is set to 0 kW. The power generation control is performed based on a target SOC, see Ogata [0053].).
Regarding claim 7
Ogata discloses “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein based on that the operation state of the vehicle is in the stop state, the controller determines a door state of the vehicle based on a door state information,” (See Ogata [0103] disclosing it is first decided whether or not the speed V of the vehicle is V1 or greater. If the speed V is less than V1, the process advances to step S2, in which it is decided whether or not the flag is “Door Open.”.).
Ogata discloses all the limitations of claim 7 except “and based on that the door state of the vehicle is an open state, the controller limits the driving force output of the hybrid powertrain.”
Park further discloses “and based on that the door state of the vehicle is an open state, the controller limits the driving force output of the hybrid powertrain.” (See Park Abstract disclosing limiting a vehicle drive by changing the gear position to a non-drivable gear position in a state where the passenger door or the rear seat door is open.).
The rationale for forming the combination is similar to the rationale provided in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8 and similarly with respect to claim 17
Ogata modified in view of Park discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” and Park further discloses. “wherein based on that the driving force output of the hybrid powertrain is limited, the controller controls a transmission gear of the vehicle so that the transmission gear is maintained in a Neutral (N) position.” (See Park [0038] disclosing the vehicle drive is limited to prevent a safety accident by immediately changing the gear position to the N position or P position, which is non-drivable gear position.).
The rationale for forming the combination is similar to the rationale provided in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20
Ogata discloses “The hybrid vehicle of claim 19, wherein the vehicle control apparatus comprises: a user interface receiving an instruction of entering the safe boarding and alighting mode from a user;” (See Ogata [0062] disclosing the ISS switch is the switch with which the driver can arbitrarily select whether or not an automatic stop of the engine is performed.).
Ogata discloses “and a controller including a processor entering the safe boarding and alighting mode, and performing the preset algorithm for performing the safe boarding and alighting mode.” (See Ogata Fig. 1, Char. 6 and [0049] disclosing a vehicle controller which receives sensor signals and Ogata [0081] disclosing the controller outputs signals.).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2002/0157883) in view of Park et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0159369) in further view of Boesch et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0236459).
Regarding claim 6 and similarly with respect to claim 16
Ogata modified in view of Park discloses “The apparatus of claim 5,” and further discloses all the elements of the claimed invention except “wherein the preset safe boarding and alighting charging target SOC value is preset greater than or equal to electric power consumed by an electric field load of the vehicle based on that the vehicle is in a stop state.”.
Boesch discloses “wherein the preset safe boarding and alighting charging target SOC value is preset greater than or equal to electric power consumed by an electric field load of the vehicle based on that the vehicle is in a stop state.” (See Boesch [0013]-[0014] disclosing setting a SOC of a vehicle to be higher than the power consumed while the vehicle is in a stopped state (parked).).
Ogata, Park, and Boesch are analogous art, because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle controls. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ogata to incorporate the teachings of Boesch to include a SOC value set to a value higher than a power consumption of a vehicle, when the vehicle is in a stopped state. Doing so provides a known method in the art for micro-hybrid or stop/start vehicles and inhibiting activities associated with engine shutdown prior to vehicle stop, incorporated with a reasonable expectation of success as doing so advantageously increases the likelihood of retaining sufficient charge to restart the vehicle from a stopped state, see Boesch [0014].
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2002/0157883) in view of Park et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0159369) in further view of Geissenhoener (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0221564).
Regarding claim 9 and similarly with respect to claim 18
Ogata modified in view of Park discloses “The apparatus of claim 1,” and further discloses all the elements of claim 9 except “wherein based on that the driving force output of the hybrid powertrain is limited, the controller controls an electronic parking brake of the vehicle so that the electronic parking brake is in an engaged state.”.
Geissenhoener discloses “wherein based on that the driving force output of the hybrid powertrain is limited, the controller controls an electronic parking brake of the vehicle so that the electronic parking brake is in an engaged state.” (See Geissenhoener [0009] disclosing if the driver opens the driver's door and if this is detected by a corresponding sensor, it is immediately checked whether the P driving stage is engaged. If this is not the case, the electric parking brake device is in turn immediately actuated.).).
Ogata, Park, and Geissenhoener are analogous art, because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle controls. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Ogata to incorporate the teachings of Geissenhoener to include engaging a barking brake when a vehicle is in a stopped state with an open door. Doing so provides a known method in the art for securing a vehicle in a stopped state, incorporated with a reasonable expectation of success as doing so advantageously automatically adapts a vehicle into a safeguarded state, see Geissenhoener [0007]-[0008].
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogata et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2002/0157883) in view of Park et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0159369) in further view of official notice.
Regarding claim 10
Ogata discloses “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises: a communication module communicating with electronic devices in the vehicle;” (See Ogata Fig. 1, Char. 6 and [0049] disclosing a vehicle controller which receives sensor signals and Ogata [0081] disclosing the controller outputs signals.).
Ogata discloses “and a processor configured for entering the safe boarding and alighting mode, and performing the algorithm of performing the safe boarding and alighting mode.” (See Ogata Fig. 1, Char. 6 and [0049] disclosing a vehicle controller which receives sensor signals and Ogata [0081] disclosing the controller outputs signals.).
Ogata discloses all the elements of claim 10 except “a memory storing at least an algorithm of performing the safe boarding and alighting mode;”
Official notice is taken that providing generic structure such as a memory storing a program or algorithm was notoriously well known in the art at the time of the invention. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ogata to incorporate a memory storing an algorithm for executing the claimed invention, because it merely applies a well known structure to achieve a predictable arrangement, see MPEP 2144.03.
Conclusion
/JERROD IRVIN DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3656