Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “storing usage information in a user information storage unit in association with a user identifier identifying a user, the usage information relating to use of the restaurant by the user and including past usage information relating to consumption behavior by the user in a past usage opportunity; acquiring, based on the usage information acquired from the user information storage unit, prediction information including a prediction result of the consumption behavior by the user who has visited the restaurant; acquiring status information indicating a busyness level of the restaurant based at least on a number of users in the restaurant; acquiring, as support information usable for operation of the restaurant, seat guidance information for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant to a seat in the restaurant based on the prediction information of the user who has visited the restaurant and the status information of the restaurant; and outputting the seat guidance information to a notification device used for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant to the seat.”
The recited limitations above are a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation done by a human but for the recitation of generic computer components under mental steps (human using pen and paper). That is, other than reciting “processors”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human using generic computer component. For example, “store”, “acquire”, “acquire”, “acquire”, “output”, “calculate” and “transmit” in the context of this claim encompasses the user to manually store seating information, acquire seating guidance and transmit information to users.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the following additional elements- a “processor”, “display device”, and a “non-transitory computer readable medium” to perform the above recited steps. The computer elements recited at a high-level of generality (generic computer elements performing a generic computer function of receiving information, identifying solutions and determining what should be presented to a user) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional elements recited do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer elements to perform the steps of claims 1, 2, 8 and 20 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The limitations of the dependent claims 3-7 and 9-19, further describe the identified abstract idea. In addition, the limitations of claims 3-6 define how the seat guidance is determined which further describes the abstract idea. The generic computer component of claims 7 and 9-19 (processing device, notification device) merely serve as the generic computer component and the functions performed by the generic computer components essentially amount to the abstract idea identified above. None of the dependent claims when taken separately in combination with each dependent claims parent claim overcome the above analysis and are therefore similarly rejected as being ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-12, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (JP 2022-56242 A).
As to claims 1, 2, 8, and 20, Sasaki teaches a system, a method, a processing device and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
an information processing device; and a display device displaying an image to a staff of the restaurant, wherein the information processing device is configured to: store, in a user information storage unit in association with a user identifier identifying a user, usage information relating to use of the restaurant by the user, the usage information including past usage information relating to consumption behavior by the user in a past usage opportunity; (para 15)
acquire, based on the usage information acquired from the user information storage unit, prediction information including a prediction result of the consumption behavior by the user who has visited the restaurant; (para 63 and 64)
acquire, based at least on a number of users in the restaurant, status information indicating a busyness level of the restaurant; (para 110)
acquire, as support information usable for operation of the restaurant, seat guidance information for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant to a seat in the restaurant based on the prediction information acquired for the user who has visited the restaurant and the status information of the restaurant; (para 63-64)
output the seat guidance information to the display device, the display device is configured to, upon receiving the seat guidance information, display the seat guidance information to the staff to guide the user who has visited the restaurant to the seat, wherein the restaurant has two or more seat groups each having two or more seats, the seat guidance information is acquired based further on load information relating to a load for operating the restaurant, and the load information is acquired based on at least one of a quantity of orders of food items, an order frequency, a future usage rate of each of the two or more seat groups, and a number of events requiring involvement of a staff of the restaurant, when there are two or more seat groups as candidate destinations for guiding a user who has visited the restaurant, (para 48)
the information processing device is further configured to: calculate scores for the two or more seat groups as the load information, wherein each of the scores indicates a load that is assumed if the user is guided to a corresponding seat group of the two or more seat groups; (para 48 and 63-64)
transmit the scores to the display device, and the display device is further configured to display the scores in association with the two or more seat groups upon receiving the scores. (para 46 and 48)
As to claim 3, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Sasaki further teaches:
wherein the seat guidance information is acquired such that positions of users dining in the restaurant are dispersed when a predetermined time has elapsed. (para 63-64)
As to claim 9, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki further teaches:
a consumption information acquisition unit acquiring consumption information relating to a current consumption behavior by the user who has visited the restaurant, wherein the consumption information acquisition unit is further configured to accumulate the acquired consumption information as the past usage information in the user information storage unit in association with the user identifier identifying the user. (para 63-64)
As to claim 10, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki further teaches:
wherein the usage information includes next usage information that is relating to a planned future use and is input by a user who plans to use the restaurant. (para 75)
As to claim 11, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki further teaches:
wherein the prediction unit is further configured to acquire the prediction information including a prediction result of the next consumption behavior by a group including two or more users based on the usage information of a user in the group and number-of-persons information of the group. (para 109)
As to claim 12, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki further teaches:
wherein the prediction unit is further configured to acquire the prediction information including a prediction result of the next consumption behavior by a group including two or more users based on the usage information of each of the two or more users in the group, and the usage information includes group information relating to the group including the user in a past usage opportunity and past usage information relating to consumption behavior by the group. (para 109)
As to claim 16, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki further teaches:
wherein the restaurant has two or more seat groups each having two or more seats, the support information acquisition unit is further configured to: acquire, based on the prediction information acquired by the prediction unit for the user who has visited the restaurant and the status information of the restaurant, load information relating to a load for operating the restaurant for each of the two or more seat groups; and acquire the support information based on the load information. (para 63-64 and 110)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP 2022-56242 A) in view of Furuki (JP 2021-180044 A).
As to claims 4 and 15, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki does not teach:
wherein the restaurant has two or more seat groups each having two or more seats, and the seat guidance information is acquired such that a particular seat group among the two or more seat groups becomes vacant when a predetermined time has elapsed.
However, Furuki teaches:
wherein the restaurant has two or more seat groups each having two or more seats, and the seat guidance information is acquired such that a particular seat group among the two or more seat groups becomes vacant when a predetermined time has elapsed. (para 27)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to determine vacancy in Sasaki as taught by Furuki. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Furuki that doing so would minimize the need for changes to the seating layout.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP 2022-56242 A) in view of Hama (JP 2011-118653 A)
As to claim 13, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki does not teach:
a seat information acquisition unit acquiring seat information including information identifying a seat assigned for a user who has visited the restaurant, wherein the seat information acquisition unit is further configured to accumulate the acquired seat information in the user information storage unit in association with the user identifier identifying the user.
However, Hama teaches:
a seat information acquisition unit acquiring seat information including information identifying a seat assigned for a user who has visited the restaurant, wherein the seat information acquisition unit is further configured to accumulate the acquired seat information in the user information storage unit in association with the user identifier identifying the user. (para 1 and 82)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to identify the user associated with a seat in Sasaki as taught by Hama. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Hama that doing so would reduce fraud.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP 2022-56242 A) in view of Okuba (JP 2005-338993 A)
As to claim 14, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki does not teach:
a target behavior information acquisition unit acquiring target behavior information relating to a predetermined record target behavior which is a behavior currently conducted by a user who has visited the restaurant and is different from the consumption behavior, wherein the target behavior information acquisition unit is further configured to accumulate the acquired target behavior information as the usage information in the user information storage unit in association with the user identifier identifying the user.
However, Okuba teaches:
a target behavior information acquisition unit acquiring target behavior information relating to a predetermined record target behavior which is a behavior currently conducted by a user who has visited the restaurant and is different from the consumption behavior, wherein the target behavior information acquisition unit is further configured to accumulate the acquired target behavior information as the usage information in the user information storage unit in association with the user identifier identifying the user. (para 112)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to estimate the total stay time for a user at a table in Sasaki as taught by Okuba. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Okuba that doing so would more accurately determine the average time of stay.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP 2022-56242 A) in view of Kawano (JP 2019-169053 A)
As to claim 17, Sasaki teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sasaki does not teach:
wherein the support information acquisition unit acquires, as the support information, seat guidance information relating to a seat for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant.
However, Okuba teaches:
wherein the support information acquisition unit acquires, as the support information, seat guidance information relating to a seat for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant. (para 56 and 94)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to guide the user to a seat in a restaurant in Sasaki as taught by Okuba. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Okuba that doing so would allow store staff to easily determine the available seats.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP 2022-56242 A) in view Kawano (JP 2019-169053 A), further in view of Akata (JP 2021-185481 A)
As to claim 18, Sasaki in view of Kawana teach all the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above.
Sasaki and Kawana do not teach:
wherein the support information output unit is configured to cause an output device corresponding to the seat for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant to output information indicating a number of users in a group including the user.
However, Akata teaches:
wherein the support information output unit is configured to cause an output device corresponding to the seat for guiding the user who has visited the restaurant to output information indicating a number of users in a group including the user. (para 85)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to indicate the number of users in a group in Sasaki in view of Kawana as taught by Akata. Motivation do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that doing so would make the system organized and user friendly.
The prior art of record does not teach the limitations of claims 5-7
Conclusion
/ZEINA ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628