DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,454,126 (hereafter ‘126). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they describe the same inventive subject matter.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches a system comprising: a press having a lower platen and an upper platen, the press movable between a pressing position where the lower and upper platens are horizontally aligned and a loading position where the lower and upper platens are horizontally displaced from each other; and a projection assembly having a projector supported above the lower platen, the projector is configured, when the press is in the loading position, to project an image toward an upper surface of the lower platen, wherein the image is configured to align at least one of a garment to the lower platen or a heat transfer to the garment disposed over the lower platen.
With respect to claim 2, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein when the press is in the pressing position, the press is operable to displace the upper platen to impart a force to the lower platen.
With respect to claim 3, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the lower platen is mounted on a base frame and the upper platen is movable relative to the base frame between the pressing position and the loading position.
With respect to claim 4, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein at least one of the upper platen or the lower platen comprises a heating element.
With respect to claim 5, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the press comprises a controller configured to adjust a temperature of the heating element.
With respect to claim 6, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the projection assembly comprises an adjustment block for adjusting at least a rotational position or a lateral position of the projector with respect to the lower platen.
With respect to claim 7, claim 3 of ‘126 teaches wherein the projection assembly comprises a support arm that supports the projector above the lower platen, and wherein the support arm includes an adjustment mechanism for positioning the projector a desired height above the lower platen.
With respect to claim 8, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the image is selected to match a visual feature of at least one of the garment or the heat transfer to be applied to the garment.
With respect to claim 9, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the image is projected to coincide with a desired location where an operator is to position the garment or the heat transfer.
With respect to claim 10, claim 5 of ‘126 teaches a controller that is communicatively connected with the projector and configured to select the image from a database having a plurality of images.
With respect to claim 11, claims 1 and 6 of ‘126 teach wherein at least one of the upper platen or the lower platen comprises a heating element, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the heating element.
With respect to claim 12, claim 6 of ‘126 teaches wherein the controller comprises a user interface configured to present information on operation of the press and the projector to an operator.
With respect to claim 13, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches a system comprising: a press having a lower platen and an upper platen movable between a pressing position over the lower platen and a loading position horizontally displaced from the lower platen; and a projection assembly having a projector supported above the lower platen, wherein when the upper platen is in the loading position, the projector is configured to project an image toward an upper surface of the lower platen, wherein the image is selected to match a reference characteristic of a garment loaded on the lower platen or a heat transfer to be applied to the garment, and wherein the image is located to coincide with a desired position of at least one of the garment on the lower platen or the heat transfer on the garment.
With respect to claim 14, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the projection assembly comprises an adjustment block for adjusting at least a rotational position or a lateral position of the projector had with respect to the lower platen.
With respect to claim 15, claim 3 of ‘126 teaches wherein the projection assembly comprises a support arm configured to support the projector, wherein the support arm includes an adjustment mechanism for vertically positioning the projector a desired height above the lower platen.
With respect to claim 16, claims 1 and 6 of ‘126 teach wherein at least one of the upper platen or the lower platen of the press comprises a heating element, and wherein the press comprises a controller configured for adjusting temperature of the heating element.
With respect to claim 17, claim 1 of ‘126 teaches wherein the transfer press comprises an actuator configured to move the upper platen vertically to impart a force to the upper surface of the lower platen.
With respect to claim 18, claims 1 and 5-6 of ‘126 teach a system comprising: a press having a lower platen configured to interface with an upper platen; a projection assembly having a projector supported above the lower platen, wherein the projector is configured to project an image toward an upper surface of the lower platen for aligning at least one of a garment to the lower platen or a heat transfer to the garment; and a controller communicatively connected to the projector and configured to access the image from a database having a plurality of images.
With respect to claim 19, claims 1 and 5-6 of ‘126 teach the database is stored on a network.
With respect to claim 20, claim 6 of ‘126 teaches the controller comprises a user interface that is configured for an operator to select the image and a location to project the image that coincides with a desired position of at least one of the garment on the lower platen or the heat transfer on the garment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson et al. (US 2018/0036980, hereafter Robinson)
With respect to claim 1, Robinson teaches a system comprising: a press (500) having a lower platen (502) and an upper platen (508), the press movable between a pressing position where the lower and upper platens are horizontally aligned and a loading position where the lower and upper platens are horizontally displaced from each other; and a projection assembly having a projector (optical device 528, 530) supported above the lower platen, the projector is configured, when the press is in the loading position, to project an image toward an upper surface of the lower platen, wherein the image is configured to align at least one of a garment to the lower platen or a heat transfer to the garment disposed over the lower platen. (par. 86-89, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 2, Robinson teaches when the press is in the pressing position, the press is operable to displace the upper platen to impart a force to the lower platen. (par. 87, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 3, Robinson teaches the lower platen is mounted on a base frame and the upper platen is movable relative to the base frame between the pressing position and the loading position. (par. 86-89, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 4, Robinson teaches at least one of the upper platen or the lower platen comprises a heating element. (par. 86, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 5, Robinson teaches the press comprises a controller configured to adjust a temperature of the heating element. (par. 86, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 8, Robinson teaches the image is selected to match a visual feature of at least one of the garment or the heat transfer to be applied to the garment. (par. 88, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 9, Robinson teaches the image is projected to coincide with a desired location where an operator is to position the garment or the heat transfer. (par. 88, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 13, Robinson teaches a system comprising: a press (500) having a lower platen (502) and an upper platen (508) movable between a pressing position over the lower platen and a loading position horizontally displaced from the lower platen; and a projection assembly having a projector (optical device 528, 530) supported above the lower platen, wherein when the upper platen is in the loading position, the projector is configured to project an image toward an upper surface of the lower platen, wherein the image is selected to match a reference characteristic of a garment loaded on the lower platen or a heat transfer to be applied to the garment, and wherein the image is located to coincide with a desired position of at least one of the garment on the lower platen or the heat transfer on the garment. (par. 86-89, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 16, Robinson teaches at least one of the upper platen or the lower platen of the press comprises a heating element, and wherein the press comprises a controller configured for adjusting temperature of the heating element. (par. 86, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 17, Robinson teaches the transfer press comprises an actuator configured to move the upper platen vertically to impart a force to the upper surface of the lower platen. (par. 87, Fig. 13)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson in view of Hung. (US 8,573,551)
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Robinson teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except wherein the projection assembly comprises an adjustment block for adjusting at least a rotational position or a lateral position of the projector with respect to the lower platen.
Hung teaches a projection assembly (projector 70) attached to an adjustment block for adjusting at least a rotational position or a lateral position of the projector with respect to a lower platen. (col. 2, lines 13-17, Figs. 4-9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Robinson to include a support and an adjustment block for adjusting the position of the projector, as taught by Hung, in order to be able to more readily provide an appropriate output image in a desired location.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson in view of Chmielnik. (US 5,638,154)
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Robinson teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except wherein the projection assembly comprises a support arm that supports the projector above the lower platen, and wherein the support arm includes an adjustment mechanism for positioning the projector a desired height above the lower platen.
Chmielnik teaches a projection assembly having a projector (54) and comprising a support arm (mounting arm 34) to supports the assembly above a lower platen (table 12) and includes an adjustment mechanism (knob 42, etc.) for positioning the projector a desired height above the lower platen. (col. 3, lines 51-65, Figs. 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Robinson to include a support arm with an adjustment mechanism, as taught by Chmeilnik, in order to be able to more readily provide an appropriate output image in a desired location.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson in view of Jones et al. (US 2002/0080332, hereafter Jones)
With respect to claim 10, Robinson teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection. Robinson also teaches a controller that is communicatively connected with the projector. (par. 86-89)
Robinson does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to select the image from a database having a plurality of images.
Jones teaches a projector (projector 12) having a controller which is communicatively connected to the projector and configured to select an image (image 14) to be projected from a database having a plurality of images. (par. 25, 32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Robinson to include the use of a database of images, as taught by Jones, so that the images used are in a proper format for efficient use.
With respect to claim 11, Robinson, as modified by Jones, teaches wherein at least one of the upper platen or the lower platen comprises a heating element, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust a temperature of the heating element. (Robinson, par. 86, Fig. 13)
With respect to claim 12, Robinson, as modified by Jones, teaches wherein the controller comprises a user interface configured to present information on operation of the press and the projector to an operator. (Robinson, par. 62-68)
With respect to claim 18, Robinson teaches a system comprising: a press (500) having a lower platen (502) configured to interface with an upper platen (508); a projection assembly having a projector (optical device 528, 530) supported above the lower platen, wherein the projector is configured to project an image toward an upper surface of the lower platen for aligning at least one of a garment to the lower platen or a heat transfer to the garment; and a controller communicatively connected to the projector. (par. 86-89, Fig. 13)
Robinson does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to access the image from a database having a plurality of images.
Jones teaches a projector (projector 12) having a controller which is communicatively connected to the projector and configured to select an image (image 14) to be projected from a database having a plurality of images. (par. 25, 32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Robinson to include the use of a database of images, as taught by Jones, so that the images used are in a proper format for efficient use.
With respect to claim 19, Robinson, as modified by Jones, teaches the database is stored on a network.
With respect to claim 20, Robinson, as modified by Jones, teaches the controller comprises a user interface that is configured for an operator to select the image and a location to project the image that coincides with a desired position of at least one of the garment on the lower platen or the heat transfer on the garment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,168,294, US 5,245,370, WO 9626838 and US 9,254,640 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853