Double Patenting
Claims 1, 27, 28, and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,4717,14. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21 and 27 of the instant application are fully anticipated by claim 1 of the reference patent and claim 28 is fully anticipated by claim 4 of the reference patent. Additionally, claim 1 of the reference patent also anticipates claim 37 of the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 25, line 2, “air duct house” should read “air duct hose”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ermalovich (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0000242).
Regarding claim 21, Ermalovich (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0000242) a bed system comprising: a foundation 10 having a first foundation side (defined by the top surface of the foundation 10, shown in Figure 1) and a second foundation side (defined by the bottom surface of the foundation 10, shown in Figures 2-3), the foundation 10 configured to support a mattress 78 (Figure 13), the foundation defining a foundation aperture 29 extending between the first foundation side and the second foundation side (Figures 103 and paragraph 0029); an air controller 30 having an outlet 40, the air controller 30 configured to move air into or out of the mattress through the outlet 30 (paragraph 0023 and Figure 3); and a controller retainer 26 configured to detachably couple the air controller 30 to the foundation 10 proximate to the foundation aperture 29 thereby aligning the outlet 40 of the air controller 30 with the foundation aperture 29 (Figure 13), the controller retainer 26 comprising: a first attachment plate 26 configured to be placed at the first foundation side (Figure 11); and a second attachment plate 74 placed at the second foundation side and coupled to the first attachment plate through the foundation aperture 30 (Figure 11 and paragraph 0025), the second attachment plate configured to receive the air controller 30 (paragraph 0025 and Figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 25, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 21. Ermalovich further discloses a plenum 40 coupled to the first attachment plate (Figure 10), the plenum configured to receive an air duct house 42 extending from the mattress 78 positioned on the first foundation side (Figure 13).
Regarding claim 26, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 21 and 25. Ermalovich further discloses wherein the first attachment plate defines a pair of openings, and the plenum comprises a pair of engagement tabs 36 (paragraph 0023, “the cartridge 30 has a case 34 with at least one resilient engagement element”, emphasis added) configured to flex to snap into the pair of openings (defined by the notch shown in adjacent tab 36 in Figure 6), thereby removably coupling the plenum 40 to the first attachment plate (paragraph 0023 and Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ermalovich in view of Ross (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0317787)
Regarding claim 22, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 21. Ermalovich does not disclose wherein the first attachment plate comprises a plurality of engagement connectors and the second attachment plate comprises a plurality of receivers, each engagement connector of the plurality of engagement connectors configured to couple with an associated receiver of the plurality of receivers.
Ross teaches wherein the first attachment plate 120 comprises a plurality of engagement connectors 170 and 172 (Figures 7-9) and the second attachment plate 140 comprises a plurality of receivers 121 and 122 (Figures 3-6), each engagement connector 170 and 172 of the plurality of engagement connectors configured to couple with an associated receiver of the plurality of receivers 121 and 122 (Figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ermalovich (directed to an attachment plate for a bed foundation) with Ross (directed to an attachment plate) such that wherein the first attachment plate comprises a plurality of engagement connectors and the second attachment plate comprises a plurality of receivers, each engagement connector of the plurality of engagement connectors configured to couple with an associated receiver of the plurality of receivers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the engagement connectors of Ross are able to form an interference fit with the aperture, securing the plates to the foundation (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 23, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 21 and 22. Ermalovich further discloses wherein each engagement connector 170 and 172 and associated receiver 121 and 122 define a respective interference fit to couple the first attachment plate to the second attachment plate (see Ross, paragraph 0027 and Figure 2).
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ermalovich in view of Teece (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0200252).
Regarding claim 22, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 21. Ermalovich does not disclose wherein the first attachment plate comprises a plurality of engagement connectors and the second attachment plate comprises a plurality of receivers, each engagement connector of the plurality of engagement connectors configured to couple with an associated receiver of the plurality of receivers.
Teece teaches wherein the first attachment plate 202 comprises a plurality of engagement connectors 222 and 223 and the second attachment plate comprises a plurality of receivers 264 and 265, each engagement connector 222 and 223 of the plurality of engagement connectors 222 and 223 configured to couple with an associated receiver 264 and 265 of the plurality of receivers 264 and 265 (Figures 5A-5C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ermalovich (directed to an attachment plate for a bed foundation) with Teece (directed to an attachment plate) such that wherein the first attachment plate comprises a plurality of engagement connectors and the second attachment plate comprises a plurality of receivers, each engagement connector of the plurality of engagement connectors configured to couple with an associated receiver of the plurality of receivers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the mounting system of Teece allows for the second attachment plate to be securely but removably attached to the first attachment plate, allowing for it to be replaced or fixed when needs (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 24, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 21-23. Ermalovich further discloses wherein the plurality of engagement connectors 222 and 223 comprise one or more of plastic tubelike connectors, protrusions 222 and 223, or fasteners (see TeeceFigures 5A-5C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if written to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, as applicable to claims 21, 27, and 28, or upon the timely filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Regarding claim 27, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 21. Ermalovich does not disclose wherein the second attachment plate comprises a locking tab at a first end of the second attachment plate, the locking tab extending away from the second foundation side and including a snapping end that is configured to engage with an engagement portion of the air controller to couple the air controller to the first end of the second attachment plate.
Trojanowski (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0060878) is cited as being of interest for discloses wherein the second attachment plate 10 comprises a locking tab 40 at a first end of the second attachment plate 10, the locking tab 40 extending toward from the second wall side and including a snapping end that is configured to engage with an engagement portion 33 of the retainer 16 to thereby couple the body portion 32 to the retainer 16 (Figures 1B and 2). Trojanowski differs from the claimed subject matter of the locking tab of claim 27 in that the locking tab and engagement portion 33 of Trojanowski are located on the same attachment plate (Figure 1B) and that the locking tab of Trojanowski extends towards the same side of the wall that the second attachment plate engages with. Claim 4 requires that a locking tab extend away from the same side of the foundation that the second attachment plate engages with. As such, there is no disclosure, teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record such that a rejection of claim 27 may be reasonably rejected. Claims 28-32 are additionally objected to by virtue of their dependence from claim 27.
Regarding claim 33, Ermalovich discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 21. Ermalovich further discloses wherein the second attachment plate comprises (i) a locking tab at a bottom surface and extending from a first end of the second attachment plate, the locking tab configured to engage with an opening of the air controller and (ii) a receiving cup at a second end of the second attachment plate opposite the first end, the receiving cup configured to receive a pivot bar of the air controller.
Trojanowski is cited as being of interest for discloses wherein the second attachment plate 10 comprises (i) a locking tab 40 at a bottom surface and extending from a first end of the second attachment plate 10, the locking tab 40 configured to engage with an opening 33 of the second attachment plate 10 (Figures 1B and 2).
Trojanowski differs from the claimed subject matter of the locking tab of claim 33 in that the locking tab and opening 33 of Trojanowski are located on the same attachment plate (Figure 1B), where the claims require that the opening be located on the air controller. Moreover, neither of Ermalovich nor Trojanowski disclose, teach, or suggest a receiving cup at a second end of the second attachment plate opposite the first end and the locking tabs, the receiving cup configured to receive a pivot bar of the air controller. As such, there is no disclosure, teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record such that a rejection of claim 33 may be reasonably rejected. Claims 34-36 are additionally objected to by virtue of their dependence from claim 33.
Claims 40-41 are allowed and claims 37-39 are allowable if written to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, as applicable to claim 37, or upon the timely filing of a terminal disclaimer. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 37, Ermalovich (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0000242) a bed system comprising: a foundation 10 having a first foundation side (defined by the top surface of the foundation 10, shown in Figure 1) and a second foundation side (defined by the bottom surface of the foundation 10, shown in Figures 2-3), the foundation 10 configured to support a mattress having a support surface that is configured to support a mattress 78 on the first foundation side (Figure 13), and defining a foundation aperture 29 extending between the first foundation side and the second foundation side (Figures 103 and paragraph 0029); an air controller 30 having an outlet 40 and a coupling protrusion 36, the air controller 30 configured to cause air to flow through the outlet 30 (paragraph 0023 and Figure 3); and a controller retainer 26 including: a first attachment plate 72 configured to be placed at the first foundation side (Figure 11); and a second attachment plate 74 placed at the second foundation side, and including a coupling receiver (defined by the notch shown in adjacent tab 36 in Figure 6) at a first portion of the second attachment plate configured to receive the coupling protrusion 36 of the air controller (Figure 6), wherein the controller retainer 26 is configured to, based on the air controller 30 being coupled to the controller retainer 26, align the outlet 40 of the air controller 30 with the foundation aperture 80 to direct air through the mattress 78 (Figure 13).
Additionally, regarding claim 40, Ermalovich additionally discloses a method for assembling a bed, the method comprising: fixing a controller retainer 26 to a foundation by coupling a first attachment plate 72 on a first side of the foundation to a second attachment plate 74 on a second side of the foundation through an aperture 28 in the foundation (Figure 11); and coupling an air controller 30 to the second attachment plate 74.
Both claims 37 and 40 require the structure and method of inserting a locking tab extending from the second attachment plate to engage with the air controller. Claim 40 additionally requires the method step of inserting a pivot bar into a receiving cup of the second attachment plate. For the same reasons noted above in the discussions of claims 27 and 33, claims 37 and 40 would be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong (Patent Publication No. KR 20190018527 A) which discloses a fluid controller for a mattress.
Choi (Patent Publication No. WO 2019017527 A1) which discloses a fluid controller for a mattress.
Arisa Busquets (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0245328) which discloses a connection interface comprising a flange.
Davis (Patent Publication No. GB 2550198 A) which discloses an air controller for a bed and controller retainer.
Aramli (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0196367) which discloses an air controller for a bed and controller retainer.
Sherman (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0027981) which discloses an air controller for a bed positioned within the bed foundation.
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679