Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chantrel (US 2025/0050863).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Chantrel teaches a control unit for managing idle (see standby) time in a battery energy storage system (see two batteries), wherein the battery energy storage system comprises a main high voltage battery pack (see traction battery), an auxiliary battery pack (see aux battery), and a bi-directional DC-DC circuit (see traction battery) connecting the main high voltage battery pack and the auxiliary battery pack to facilitate energy transfer between the two battery packs (see standby. State of Charge, Fig. 1), and wherein the control unit is configured to: monitor idle time and state of charge, SoC, of the main high voltage battery pack, wherein the idle time reflects a period during which the SoC remains unchanged (see PK, Fig. 2); and initiate a charge alternation mode in response to the idle time of the main high voltage battery pack exceeding a predetermined duration, wherein the charge alternation mode involves alternating between energy transfer from the main high voltage battery pack to the auxiliary battery pack, and energy transfer from the auxiliary battery pack (E1, E2) to the main high voltage battery pack (see 0071…the traction battery is charged by means of the auxiliary battery…).
Regarding claim 10, Chantrel teaches a method for managing idle time in a battery energy storage system, wherein the battery energy storage system comprises a main high voltage battery pack, an auxiliary battery pack, and a bi-directional DC-DC circuit connecting the main high voltage battery pack and the auxiliary battery pack to facilitate energy transfer between the two battery packs, and wherein the method comprises: monitoring an idle time of the main high voltage battery pack, wherein the idle time reflects a period during which the state of charge, SoC, remains unchanged; and initiating a charge alternation mode in response to the idle time of the main high voltage battery pack exceeding a predetermined duration, wherein the charge alternation mode involves alternating between energy transfer from the main high voltage battery pack to the auxiliary battery pack, and energy transfer from the auxiliary battery pack to the main high voltage battery pack (please see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8 Chantrel teaches a battery energy storage system (see two batteries), wherein the battery energy storage system comprises a main high voltage battery pack (see traction battery), an auxiliary battery pack (see auxiliary battery), a bi-directional DC-DC circuit connecting the main high voltage battery pack and the auxiliary battery pack and configured to facilitate energy transfer between the two battery packs, and a control unit according to claim 1 (see the traction and auxiliary batteries may be recharged either by the other battery in standby phase, or by the combustion engine in driving phase).
Claims 3-7, 9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chantrel in view of Lee ( US 20240100986).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the control unit of claim 1,
Yet, does not disclose the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a first bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to a DC bus and a second bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to the DC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via the DC bus.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a first bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to a DC bus and a second bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to the DC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via the DC bus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a first bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to a DC bus and a second bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to the DC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via the DC bus in order to improve system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, disclose the control unit of claim 1.
Yet does not disclose wherein the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the control unit is further configured to: monitor AC grid conditions, wherein the AC grid conditions comprises a power demand indicator, switch to a grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the power demand indicator being below a predetermined threshold, wherein the grid-assisted charge alternation mode involves alternating between energy transfer from the AC grid to the main high voltage battery, and energy transfer from the main high voltage battery to the on-site electrical load.
Yet, Lee in the same field teaches the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the control unit is further configured to: monitor AC grid conditions, wherein the AC grid conditions comprises a power demand indicator, switch to a grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the power demand indicator being below a predetermined threshold, wherein the grid-assisted charge alternation mode involves alternating between energy transfer from the AC grid to the main high voltage battery, and energy transfer from the main high voltage battery to the on-site electrical load (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the control unit is further configured to: monitor AC grid conditions, wherein the AC grid conditions comprises a power demand indicator, switch to a grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the power demand indicator being below a predetermined threshold, wherein the grid-assisted charge alternation mode involves alternating between energy transfer from the AC grid to the main high voltage battery, and energy transfer from the main high voltage battery to the on-site electrical load in order to monitors grid demand to trigger a grid-assisted charge alternation mode.
Regarding claim 4, Chantrel teaches the control unit of claim 1.
However, does not disclose wherein the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a first bi-directional inverter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to an AC bus and a second bi-directional inverter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to the AC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via the AC bus.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a first bi-directional inverter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to an AC bus and a second bi-directional inverter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to the AC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via the AC bus (see Fig. 1; Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a first bi-directional inverter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to an AC bus and a second bi-directional inverter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to the AC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via the AC bus in order to maximizing efficiency, reliability, and cost-savings.
Regarding claim 5, Chantrel teaches the control unit of claim 1.
Yet does not disclose wherein the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises: a first bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to a first DC bus, a first bi-directional inverter connecting the first DC bus to an AC bus, and a second bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to a second DC bus, a second bi-directional inverter connecting the second DC bus to an AC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via a first DC bus, an AC bus and a second DC bus.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises: a first bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to a first DC bus, a first bi-directional inverter connecting the first DC bus to an AC bus, and a second bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to a second DC bus, a second bi-directional inverter connecting the second DC bus to an AC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via a first DC bus, an AC bus and a second DC bus (see Fig. 1; Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises: a first bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the main high voltage battery pack to a first DC bus, a first bi-directional inverter connecting the first DC bus to an AC bus, and a second bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the auxiliary battery pack to a second DC bus, a second bi-directional inverter connecting the second DC bus to an AC bus, thereby facilitating energy transfer between the two battery packs via a first DC bus, an AC bus and a second DC bus in order to maximizing efficiency, reliability, and cost-savings.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Chantrel teaches the control unit of claim 1.
Yet does not disclose wherein the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the control unit is further configured to: switch to the grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the SoC dropping below a predetermined SoC threshold.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the control unit is further configured to: switch to the grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the SoC dropping below a predetermined SoC threshold (see Fig. 1; Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the control unit is further configured to: switch to the grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the SoC dropping below a predetermined SoC threshold in order to maximizing efficiency, reliability, and cost-savings.
Regarding claim 9, Chantrel teaches the battery energy storage system of claim 8.
Yet, does not disclose wherein the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, an on-site electrical load, and a control unit.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, an on-site electrical load, and a control unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, an on-site electrical load, and a control unit in order to dynamically manage power flow, optimize energy use, and provide reliable backup support.
Regarding claim 12, Chantrel teaches the method of claim 10.
Yet does not disclose wherein the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a plurality of power converters to facilitate energy transfer between the two battery packs via one or more AC and/or DC buses.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a plurality of power converters to facilitate energy transfer between the two battery packs via one or more AC and/or DC buses (see Fig. 1; Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the bi-directional DC-DC circuit comprises a plurality of power converters to facilitate energy transfer between the two battery packs via one or more AC and/or DC buses in order to maximizing efficiency, reliability, and cost-savings.
Regarding claim 14, Chantrel teaches the method of claim 10.
Yet does not disclose wherein the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the method further comprises: switching to the grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the SoC dropping below a predetermined SoC threshold.
However, Lee in the same field teaches the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the method further comprises: switching to the grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the SoC dropping below a predetermined SoC threshold (see Fig. 1; Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chantrel with the teachings of Lee having the battery energy storage system further comprises a bi-directional inverter configured to facilitate energy transfer between the main high voltage battery pack and an AC grid, and an on-site electrical load, wherein the method further comprises: switching to the grid-assisted charge alternation mode in response to the SoC dropping below a predetermined SoC threshold in order to maximizing efficiency, reliability, and cost-savings.
Regarding claim 15, Chantrel teaches the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 10
Yet does not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by
However, the claim would have been obvious because a particularly well-known technique of automating methods to be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chantrel.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Chantrel teaches the control unit and the method of claim 1 and 10, respectively.
However, Chantrel does not disclose wherein the predetermined duration depends on the SoC of the main high voltage battery pack.
However, the claim would have been obvious because conditional charring depending on the SoC of a battery is a well-known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836