DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-13, 16-17, 20, 22, 24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Podnar discloses:
A system for loading an object comprising:
an object loader positioned on a robotic arm, the object loader including a swiper arm configured to provide lateral movement to the object and a conveyor configured to provide longitudinal movement to the object (at least as in paragraph 0022, “Robot 150 also includes dressing 140 (e.g., cabling), and end effector 160”; at least as in paragraph 0025, “ When rigid members 210 are of equal length, this ensures that when opposed linkages are driven together to pivot outward by the same amount, opposed fingers 290 and 292 remain parallel, which facilitates the grasping of objects having parallel sides (e.g., checked luggage for an aircraft)”; at least as in paragraph 0026, “FIG. 5 illustrates that the exposed portion 433 of each friction belt (432 and 532) is capable of advancing and/or reversing in direction 500”; at least as in paragraph 0033 and Fig. 11, “linkages 250 are pivoted to draw fingers (290, 292, 294) towards each other according to arrows 1110”; at least as in paragraph 0039, “controller 152 may pivot linkages 250 about end effector base 260, causing fingers (290, 292, 294) to move towards each other and apply force to grasp object 710”; at least as in paragraph 0043, “opposed pairs of fingers (290, 292) are aligned such that their tips 440 point slightly towards each other (i.e., inward) before end effector 160 is inserted. Then, during the insertion process as end effector moves forward, tips 440 are angled outward such that the fingers (290, 292) become parallel. If the insertion angle of the fingers (290, 292) creates a perfect parallelism of the exposed portions of frictions belts on those fingers, the fingers (290, 292) may be kept in this configuration throughout the process. Angling of fingers may serve to further push aside adjoining objects 710. This process may help to facilitate the insertion of end effector 160 into the stack”; Examiner notes, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the currently claimed language, the swiper arm configured to provide lateral movement can be construed to include the parallel fingers on the side of the luggage); and
at least one control circuit (at least as in paragraph 0023, “Controller 152 directs the operations of robot 150… Controller 152 may be implemented, for example, as custom circuitry, as a processor executing programmed instructions, or some combination thereof”) configured to execute software instructions for:
obtaining object information of the object to be loaded (at least as in paragraph 0037, “an object 710 is identified for retrieval by end effector 160 (step 1302)… With an object 710 selected for retrieval, the retrieval process initiates, resulting in positioning of end effector 160 for insertion. This may comprise, for example, controller 152 identifying the boundaries of object 710”);
positioning the object on the object loader according to the object information (at least as in paragraph 0037, “With fingers (290, 292, 294) readily positioned, controller 152 operates kinematic chain 156 to reposition end effector 160, advancing end effector 160 forward towards object 710 (step 1304)… controller 152 may move end effector 160 directly towards the object 710, in a manner such that fingers (290, 292, 294) remain aligned with the boundary/edges of object 710 as end effector 160 advances”; at least as in paragraph 0038, “As end effector 160 advances, for each finger, controller 152 drives a first friction belt 532 and a second friction belt 432”)…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
conveying the object toward an object destination;
determining a target location for the object; and
displacing the object to the target location.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
conveying the object toward an object destination (at least as in paragraph 0038, “202, moving the package placement platform to a package storage location”);
determining a target location for the object (at least as in paragraph 0040, “the information of the cargo can be obtained in advance through a scan device and determining the position of the cargo after the cargo has been sorted based on analyzing the information of the cargo”; at least as in paragraph 0059, “2021: obtaining space information of the package storage unit”; at least as in paragraph 0070, “a first collection unit 301, configured to collect location information of the cargo; a second collection unit 302, configured to collect cargo location information and space information of a package storage unit”); and
displacing the object to the target location (at least as in paragraph 0039, “203, exerting a first force to push the cargo into a package storage unit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of a cargo sorting system utilizing a package placement platform, since Liu teaches wherein the system can receive the packages of different types or different sizes so as to sort and transport all kinds of packages.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the above combination, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein obtaining object information further comprises:
obtaining object parameter information (at least as in paragraph 0037, “an object 710 is identified for retrieval by end effector 160 (step 1302). This may comprise controller 152 operating imaging system 760 to identify an object 710 for retrieval, or receiving input from a user for retrieving an object 710. With an object 710 selected for retrieval, the retrieval process initiates, resulting in positioning of end effector 160 for insertion. This may comprise, for example, controller 152 identifying the boundaries of object 710. This aligns fingers (290, 292, 294) with the boundaries of object 710 (e.g., aligning a distance between fingers (290, 292, 294) to match the size of object 710, while holding fingers 290 and 292 parallel spaced wide enough to clear edges of the object to be grasped)”).
Regarding claim 4, in view of the above combination, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 2, wherein obtaining the object parameter information includes determining object parameter information including one or more of:
object weight, object features, and object size (at least as in paragraph 0037, “an object 710 is identified for retrieval by end effector 160 (step 1302). This may comprise controller 152 operating imaging system 760 to identify an object 710 for retrieval, or receiving input from a user for retrieving an object 710. With an object 710 selected for retrieval, the retrieval process initiates, resulting in positioning of end effector 160 for insertion. This may comprise, for example, controller 152 identifying the boundaries of object 710. This aligns fingers (290, 292, 294) with the boundaries of object 710 (e.g., aligning a distance between fingers (290, 292, 294) to match the size of object 710, while holding fingers 290 and 292 parallel spaced wide enough to clear edges of the object to be grasped)”).
Regarding claim 10, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 1…
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein positioning the object on the object loader includes:
determining an initial target location;
determining an initial throw operation;
positioning the swiper arm to accommodate the initial throw operation; and
receiving the object on the object loader.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein positioning the object on the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0037, “201, moving the package placement platform to a package obtaining position and obtaining the cargo to be sorted that enters into the package placement platform”) includes:
determining an initial target location (at least as in paragraph 0043, “2011: exerting a second force to move the cargo into the package placement platform located in the package obtaining position and the package obtaining position is located in the front of a first transmission platform of the package placement platform and not higher than the cargo”; at least as in paragraph 0070, “the device comprises: a first collection unit 301, configured to collect location information of the cargo”; );
determining an initial throw operation (at least as in paragraph 0040, “the information of the cargo can be obtained in advance through a scan device and determining the position of the cargo after the cargo has been sorted based on analyzing the information of the cargo”);
positioning the swiper arm to accommodate the initial throw operation (at least as in paragraph 0047, “when the package placement platform is located at the package obtaining position, a controlling system actives the first transmission platform to receive the cargo into the package placement platform. After the cargo enters into the front side of the first transmission platform, the first sensor can detect the cargo located on the package placement platform and the first sensor feeds back a detection signal to the controlling system so that the controlling system controls the first transmission platform to transport the cargo until the second sensor detects the cargo. Then the controlling system controls the first transmission platform stopping transportation when the second sensor feeds back another detection signal to the controlling system”); and
receiving the object on the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0045, “2012: controlling the first transmission platform to transport the cargo to be sorted until the cargo slides into the package placement platform”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of moving the package placement platform to a package obtaining position and obtaining the cargo, since Liu teaches wherein system allows for sorting of a variety of package categories.
Regarding claim 11, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 10…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein positioning the object on the object loader further includes:
moving the object towards the object loader; and
positioning the object loader to receive the object.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein positioning the object on the object loader further includes:
moving the object towards the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0045, “2012: controlling the first transmission platform to transport the cargo to be sorted until the cargo slides into the package placement platform”); and
positioning the object loader to receive the object (at least as in paragraph 0037, “201, moving the package placement platform to a package obtaining position”; at least as in paragraph 0043, “2011: exerting a second force to move the cargo into the package placement platform located in the package obtaining position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of moving the package placement platform to a package obtaining position and obtaining the cargo, since Liu teaches wherein system allows for sorting of a variety of package categories.
Regarding claim 12, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 1…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
determining a target destination;
determining a motion plan; and
moving the object loader to the target destination.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
determining a target destination (at least as in paragraph 0059, “2021: obtaining space information of the package storage unit”; at least as in paragraph 0062, “the controlling system determines one package storage unit to store the cargo according the information of the cargo. After that, it determines the relative height difference between the package storage location and the height of the package storage unit based on obtaining storage space of the package storage unit and each storage space is divided into an upper layer, a middle layer, and a lower layer”; at least as in paragraph 0063, “the method can determine a storage position of the cargo to be sorted according the information of the cargo and the storage space of the package storage unit”);
determining a motion plan (at least as in paragraph 0069, “a first collection unit 301, configured to collect location information of the cargo; a second collection unit 302, configured to collect cargo location information and space information of a package storage unit; and a processing unit 303, configured to execute the method as above”); and
moving the object loader to the target destination (at least as in paragraph 0038, “202, moving the package placement platform to a package storage location”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of moving the package placement platform to a package obtaining position and obtaining the cargo, since Liu teaches wherein system allows for sorting of a variety of package categories.
Regarding claim 13, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 12…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
repositioning the object on the object loader.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
repositioning the object on the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0050, “20131: controlling the convey mechanism to transport the cargo to be sorted in order to move the cargo from a first position of the package placement platform to a second position of the package placement platform”; at least as in paragraph 0052, “the method can transport the cargo from a first position of the package placement platform to a second position of the package placement platform by the convey mechanism, that is, the method can move the cargo from the front side of the package placement platform to the rear side of the package placement platform, which can avoid the cargo sliding down from the package placement platform”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of moving the package placement platform to a package obtaining position and obtaining the cargo, since Liu teaches wherein system allows for sorting of a variety of package categories.
Regarding claim 16, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 13…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein repositioning the object on the object loader includes:
operating the object loader to position the object at a backwall of the object loader; and
operating the object loader to support the object with the swiper arm of the object loader.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein repositioning the object on the object loader includes:
operating the object loader to position the object at a backwall of the object loader; and
operating the object loader to support the object with the swiper arm of the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0056, “when the cargo to be sorted enters into the package placement platform, the third sensor can detect the cargo and feeds back a detection signal to the controlling system, the controlling system controls the convey mechanism to transport the cargo to the rear side of the package placement platform until the fourth sensor detects the cargo. Then the controlling system controls the convey mechanism stopping transportation when the fourth sensor feeds back another detection signal to the controlling system. That is, the convey mechanism moves the cargo from the first position of the package placement platform to the second position of the package placement platform while the movable baffle is controlled to move up to close”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of a cargo sorting system utilizing a package placement platform, since Liu teaches wherein the system can receive the packages of different types or different sizes so as to sort and transport all kinds of packages.
Regarding claim 17, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 1…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein determining the target location for the object includes:
obtaining load state information of a target container;
determining candidate target locations in the target container according to the load state information and the object information; and
selecting the target location from the candidate target locations.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein determining the target location for the object includes:
obtaining load state information of a target container (at least as in paragraph 0059, “2021: obtaining space information of the package storage unit”);
determining candidate target locations in the target container according to the load state information and the object information (at least as in paragraph 0062, “when the cargo to be sorted is transported at the second position of the package placement platform, the controlling system determines one package storage unit to store the cargo according the information of the cargo. After that, it determines the relative height difference between the package storage location and the height of the package storage unit based on obtaining storage space of the package storage unit and each storage space is divided into an upper layer, a middle layer, and a lower layer. In one implementation, the cargoes are placed on the lower layer first, and when the lower layer is full, the cargoes are placed on the middle layer”); and
selecting the target location from the candidate target locations (at least as in paragraph 0065, “2031: controlling a convey mechanism to transport the cargo to be sorted until the cargo slide into the package storage unit; and the package storage location is located in front of the package storage unit and is not lower than the height of the package storage unit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of a cargo sorting system utilizing a package placement platform, since Liu teaches wherein the system can receive the packages of different types or different sizes so as to sort and transport all kinds of packages.
Regarding claim 20, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 1…
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein displacing the object to the target location includes:
determining a throw operation; and
performing the throw operation.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein displacing the object to the target location includes:
determining a throw operation (at least as in paragraph 0060, “2022: determining a relative height difference between the package storage location and the height of the package storage unit based on the space information of the package storage unit”; at least as in paragraph 0065, “2031: controlling a convey mechanism to transport the cargo to be sorted until the cargo slide into the package storage unit; and the package storage location is located in front of the package storage unit and is not lower than the height of the package storage unit”; at least as in paragraph 0067, “2032: controlling the movable baffle to open so that the cargo can enter into the package storage unit from the package placement platform”); and
performing the throw operation (at least as in paragraph 0039, “203, exerting a first force to push the cargo into a package storage unit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of a cargo sorting system utilizing a package placement platform, since Liu teaches wherein the system can receive the packages of different types or different sizes so as to sort and transport all kinds of packages.
Regarding claim 22, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 20,
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein displacing the object to the target location further includes:
repositioning the object on the object loader; and
repositioning the object loader.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein displacing the object to the target location further includes:
repositioning the object on the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0050, “20131: controlling the convey mechanism to transport the cargo to be sorted in order to move the cargo from a first position of the package placement platform to a second position of the package placement platform”); and
repositioning the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0038, “202, moving the package placement platform to a package storage location”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of a cargo sorting system utilizing a package placement platform, since Liu teaches wherein the system can receive the packages of different types or different sizes so as to sort and transport all kinds of packages.
Regarding claim 24, in view of the above combination, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein
the swiper arm is actuated by a motor and configured to move laterally above the conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0026, “finger base 240 and/or body 470 include one or more motors 424 which drive shafts 420 (each shaft 420 driving a different continuous friction belt)”; at least as in paragraph 0025 & Fig. 2, wherein driving linkages move the parallel fingers above the lower finger).
Regarding claim 26, in view of the above combination, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the robotic arm is configured to tilt the object loader around (at least as in paragraph 0022, “Robot 150 (also referred to as a “robotic arm”) is mounted to mount 110, and includes multiple actuators (112, 114, 116) and rigid bodies (120, 130) which together define a kinematic chain 156”; at least as in paragraph 0030, “maging system 760 is attached via shaft 762 to pivot joint 768 (e.g., an actuated pivot joint). A rotatable coupling 764 is attached to a passive compliance 766 and rotates end effector base 260”).
Podnar does not explicitly teach
a longitudinal axis and around a lateral axis.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
a longitudinal axis and around a lateral axis (at least as in paragraph 0066, “The first and second robotic arms 118 and 120 may include actuators that enable movement of the first and second robotic arms 118 and 120, along a defined number of degrees of freedom, such as six degrees of freedom”; at least as in paragraph 0081, “The flange 324 allows the first end effector 122 to rotate along a defined number of degrees of freedom with respect to the first robotic arm 118. Such movement of the first end effector 122 allows for a desired positioning of the first end effector 122 while orienting with respect to the object being handled. Beneficially, the rotations of the first end effector 122 along the defined number of degrees of freedom allows for scooping (i.e., lifting) of the object with a desired orientation with respect to the object”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of a cargo sorting system utilizing a package placement platform, since Liu teaches wherein the system can receive the packages of different types or different sizes so as to sort and transport all kinds of packages.
Regarding claim 27, in view of the above combination, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the conveyor is a belt conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0026, “FIG. 4 illustrates a finger 290, FIG. 5 illustrates finger 290 with portions removed to highlight continuous friction belts 432 and 532, and FIG. 6 illustrates finger 290 with further portions removed to highlight a single friction belt 432”).
Regarding claim 28, in view of the above combination, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 27, wherein:
the belt conveyor is actuated by a drive motor connected to a rear roller of the belt conveyor via a drive belt (at least as in paragraph 0026, “finger base 240 and/or body 470 include one or more motors 424 which drive shafts 420 (each shaft 420 driving a different continuous friction belt). Thus, one motor 424 may drive each continuous friction belt (432, 532)”), and
the drive motor and rear roller are configured in a vertically stacked arrangement (at least as in paragraph 0026, “As shafts 420 are driven, drive belts 422 advance, which causes exposed portion 433 of friction belt 432 to advance. The exposed portions 433 of friction belts 432 and 532 define the left side (450) and right side (460) of finger 290, respectively. Tip 440 of finger 290 is angled to allow for insertion of finger 290 into narrow regions, while cover 430 protects friction belts 432 from damage. FIG. 5 illustrates that the exposed portion 433 of each friction belt (432 and 532) is capable of advancing and/or reversing in direction 500”).
Claim(s) 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Tiwary et al. (US 20220017316 A1, hereinafter Tiwary).
Regarding claim 3, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 2,
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining the object parameter information includes accessing data storage containing the object parameter information.
However, Tiwary, in the same field of endeavor of a robotic manipulator system for handling an object, specifically teaches:
obtaining the object parameter information includes accessing data storage containing the object parameter information (at least as in paragraph 0089 & 0132, “The control server 108 may further retrieve, from the database 110 of the control server 108, historical data (physical attributes of the objects, such as shape, size, weight, number of folds, or the like) associated with the first through third objects 402a-402c”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Tiwary’s teaching of robot control system utilizing historical data, since Tiwary teaches wherein system improves efficiency by being able to obtain object attributes and control parameters quickly from a database.
Regarding claim 5, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 2.
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining object information further comprises determining either or both of object location and object orientation.
However, Tiwary, in the same field of endeavor of a robotic manipulator system for handling an object, specifically teaches:
obtaining object information further comprises determining either or both of object location and object orientation (at least as in paragraph 0130, “The process proceeds to step 908, where the control server 108 communicates the source and destination locations of the first object 402a to the robotic manipulator 106 (i.e., the movement controller) when the storage unit 114 is transported to the second location”; at least as in paragraph 0132, “The process proceeds to step 916, where the control server 108 determines the orientation of the first object 402a with respect to the stack”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Tiwary’s teaching of robot control system, since Tiwary teaches wherein system provides for an easy and swift handling of objects while maintaining a form factor and contour of the corresponding objects, removes the need for human intervention or manual labor, and ensures other objects not being handled remain unaffected.
Regarding claim 6, in view of the above combination of Podnar and Liu, Liu further discloses:
The system of claim 1, further comprising:
a transfer unit (at least as in paragraph 0022, “Robot 150 also includes dressing 140 (e.g., cabling), and end effector 160, which is capable of performing grasping upon objects stowed in storage area 170”)…
Podnar does not explicitly teach an object repositioner including a repositioning gantry and a repositioning surface;
wherein the at least one control circuit configured to execute software instructions further includes instructions for:
repositioning by the object repositioner prior to receiving the object at the object loader according to the object information.
However, Tiwary, in the same field of endeavor of a robotic manipulator system for handling an object, specifically teaches:
an object repositioner including a repositioning gantry and a repositioning surface (at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein second robotic arm includes second end effector);
wherein the at least one control circuit configured to execute software instructions further includes instructions for:
repositioning by the object repositioner prior to receiving the object at the object loader according to the object information (at least as in paragraph 0063, “the third actuation mechanism is configured to operate the second end effector 124 to orient the second end effector 124 with respect to the object. The orientation of the second end effector 124 allows the vacuum gripper of the second end effector 124 to grip the object at a gripping end of the object”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Tiwary’s teaching of robot control system, since Tiwary teaches wherein system provides for an easy and swift handling of objects while maintaining a form factor and contour of the corresponding objects, removes the need for human intervention or manual labor, and ensures other objects not being handled remain unaffected.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu) and Tiwary et al. (US 20220017316 A1, hereinafter Tiwary), and further in view of Lindee (US 20100101191 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the above combination of Podnar, Liu, and Tiwary discloses:
The system of claim 6,
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein repositioning the object further includes:
identifying a misalignment of one or more of yaw, pitch, and roll;
correcting the misalignment;
identifying a misalignment of location; and
correcting the misalignment.
However, Lindee, in the same field of endeavor of a shuttle system including a conveyor for transporting products and an alignment robot, specifically teaches:
identifying a misalignment of one or more of yaw, pitch, and roll (at least as in paragraph 0056, “the food products of row 151c are misaligned longitudinally and transversely with the conveying direction and they are also misorientated. The camera 210 will have obtained position data about each food product at or upstream of the working diameter 209 of the robot 200”);
correcting the misalignment (at least as in paragraph 0056, “the controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150d along the y axis toward the edge of the conveyor 180, rotating it slightly to be square with a plane defined by the conveyor edge”);
identifying a misalignment of location (at least as in paragraph 0056, “the food products of row 151c are misaligned longitudinally and transversely with the conveying direction and they are also misorientated. The camera 210 will have obtained position data about each food product at or upstream of the working diameter 209 of the robot 200”); and
correcting the misalignment (at least as in paragraph 0056, “Assuming food product 150e fits the predefined proper position and orientation, the controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150d along the y axis toward the edge of the conveyor 180…The controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150f downstream in the X direction relative to the row 151c”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Lindee's teaching of an alignment robot aligning products, since Lindee teaches wherein the alignment system improves efficiency by properly positioning products prior to the next step in the automated system.
Regarding claim 8, the above combination of Podnar, Liu, and Tiwary discloses:
The system of claim 6,
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein repositioning the object further includes:
translating the repositioning surface laterally according to the object information;
reducing a distance between the repositioning surface and the object;
repositioning the object laterally by the repositioning surface;
increasing the distance between the repositioning surface and the object; and
updating the object information according to a repositioned pose of the object.
However, Lindee, in the same field of endeavor of a shuttle system including a conveyor for transporting products and an alignment robot, specifically teaches:
translating the repositioning surface laterally according to the object information (at least as in paragraph 0056, “Assuming food product 150e fits the predefined proper position and orientation, the controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150d along the y axis toward the edge of the conveyor 180…The controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150f downstream in the X direction relative to the row 151c”);
reducing a distance between the repositioning surface and the object (at least as in paragraph 0049, “the robot 200 has the working area or diameter 209 (FIGS. 2, 6, 7) of 1300 mm along the Cartesian x and y axes. The robot 200 has a working height, in the vertical direction or the Cartesian z axis, in the range of 250 mm to 500 mm. The robot has the ability to rotate the movable plate 206 one hundred and eighty degrees in one direction and one hundred and eighty degrees in the opposite direction”);
repositioning the object laterally by the repositioning surface (at least as in paragraph 0055, “When food product 150a reaches the working diameter 209 of the robot 200, the robot carries out the instruction and moves and re-orientates the food product so that is it in proper orientation and alignment as shown by food products 150b and 150c”);
increasing the distance between the repositioning surface and the object (at least as in paragraph 0056, “the controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150d along the y axis toward the edge of the conveyor 180, rotating it slightly to be square with a plane defined by the conveyor edge. The controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150f downstream in the X direction relative to the row 151c”); and
updating the object information according to a repositioned pose of the object (at least as in paragraph 0055, “Food products 150b and 150c represent food product 150a after it is reorientated by the robot and conveyed downstream at various points downstream”; at least as in paragraph 0056, “The robot will carry out these instructions making the appropriate movement of the food products while the food products are within the working diameter 209 so food product row 151c is aligned and orientated as shown by food product row 151h after the robot carries out the instructions from the controller 180”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Lindee's teaching of an alignment robot aligning products, since Lindee teaches wherein the alignment system improves efficiency by properly positioning products prior to the next step in the automated system.
Regarding claim 9, the above combination of Podnar, Liu, and Tiwary discloses:
The system of claim 6,
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein repositioning the object further includes:
translating the repositioning surface rotationally according to the object information;
reducing a distance between the repositioning surface and the object;
repositioning the object rotationally by the repositioning surface;
increasing the distance between the repositioning surface and the object; and
updating the object information according to a repositioned pose of the object.
However, Lindee, in the same field of endeavor of a shuttle system including a conveyor for transporting products and an alignment robot, specifically teaches:
translating the repositioning surface rotationally according to the object information (at least as in paragraph 0056, “Assuming food product 150e fits the predefined proper position and orientation, the controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150d along the y axis toward the edge of the conveyor 180…The controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150f downstream in the X direction relative to the row 151c”);
reducing a distance between the repositioning surface and the object (at least as in paragraph 0049, “the robot 200 has the working area or diameter 209 (FIGS. 2, 6, 7) of 1300 mm along the Cartesian x and y axes. The robot 200 has a working height, in the vertical direction or the Cartesian z axis, in the range of 250 mm to 500 mm. The robot has the ability to rotate the movable plate 206 one hundred and eighty degrees in one direction and one hundred and eighty degrees in the opposite direction”);
repositioning the object rotationally by the repositioning surface (at least as in paragraph 0055, “When food product 150a reaches the working diameter 209 of the robot 200, the robot carries out the instruction and moves and re-orientates the food product so that is it in proper orientation and alignment as shown by food products 150b and 150c”);
increasing the distance between the repositioning surface and the object (at least as in paragraph 0056, “the controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150d along the y axis toward the edge of the conveyor 180, rotating it slightly to be square with a plane defined by the conveyor edge. The controller will instruct the robot 200 to move food product 150f downstream in the X direction relative to the row 151c. The controller will instruct the robot 200 to re-orientate food product 150g to be square with the plane defined by the conveyor 120 edge. The robot will carry out these instructions making the appropriate movement of the food products while the food products are within the working diameter 209 so food product row 151c is aligned and orientated as shown by food product row 151h after the robot carries out the instructions from the controller 180”); and
updating the object information according to a repositioned pose of the object (at least as in paragraph 0055, “Food products 150b and 150c represent food product 150a after it is reorientated by the robot and conveyed downstream at various points downstream”; at least as in paragraph 0056, “The robot will carry out these instructions making the appropriate movement of the food products while the food products are within the working diameter 209 so food product row 151c is aligned and orientated as shown by food product row 151h after the robot carries out the instructions from the controller 180”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Lindee's teaching of an alignment robot aligning products, since Lindee teaches wherein the alignment system improves efficiency by properly positioning products prior to the next step in the automated system.
Regarding claim 30, the above combination of Podnar, Liu, and Tiwary discloses:
The system of claim 6,
Podnar does not explicitly teach wherein:
the transfer unit includes a transfer unit conveyor,
the repositioning gantry is disposed over the transfer unit conveyor,
the repositioning surface is disposed on a repositioning blade, and
the repositioning blade is attached to the repositioning gantry and configured for lateral and/or rotational movement with respect to the transfer unit conveyor.
However, Lindee, in the same field of endeavor of a shuttle system including a conveyor for transporting products and an alignment robot, specifically teaches:
wherein: the transfer unit includes a transfer unit conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0046, wherein the conveyor 30 moves the products),
the repositioning gantry is disposed over the transfer unit conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0047, “the alignment robot 200 is located above the main conveyor 120 and the off weight conveyor 220”),
the repositioning surface is disposed on a repositioning blade(at least as in paragraph 0047, “A gripper 160, such the one shown in FIG. 5, may be attached to the movable plate 206 for gripping and moving a food product”), and
the repositioning blade is attached to the repositioning gantry and configured for lateral and/or rotational movement with respect to the transfer unit conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0047, “The first arms, the connector arms and the movable plate comprise an arm system 208 of the robot”; at least as in paragraph 0048, “the arm system 208 is able to rotate with at least three degrees of freedom in Cartesian X, Y and Z directions”; at least as in paragraph 0049, “The robot has the ability to rotate the movable plate 206 one hundred and eighty degrees in one direction and one hundred and eighty degrees in the opposite direction”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Lindee's teaching of an alignment robot aligning products, since Lindee teaches wherein the alignment system improves efficiency by properly positioning products prior to the next step in the automated system.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Neville et al. (US 20200306964 A1, hereinafter Neville).
Regarding claim 14, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 12,
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
tilting the object loader.
However, Neville, in the same field of endeavor of method for palletizing includes receiving a target box location for a box grasped by the end-effector, specifically teaches:
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
tilting the object loader (at least as in paragraph 0073, “the aligner 220 shifts the grasped box 20.sub.G along a movement vector that has a component of a first direction and a component of a second direction (e.g., the aligner 220 shifts the grasped box 20.sub.G at an angle in the x-y plane)”; at least as in paragraph 0080, “At operation 306, the method 300 tilts the box 20.sub.G at an angle relative to a ground plane 12. Here, the angle is formed between the ground plane 12 and the bottom surface 26.sub.B of the box 20.sub.G”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Neville’s teaching of a robot system angling the grasped box, since Neville teaches wherein the system can result in little to no gap between boxes thus improving palletizing speed efficiency and optimization of space.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Sun et al. (US 20220289502 A1, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 15, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 12,
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
determining an updated motion plan; and
performing the updated motion plan.
However, Sun, in the same field of endeavor of a robotic singulation system using sensor data to determine and implement a plan to autonomously operate a robotic structure to move and place the item singly in a corresponding location in a singulation conveyance structure, specifically teaches:
wherein conveying the object toward the object destination includes:
determining an updated motion plan; and
performing the updated motion plan (at least as in paragraph 0034, “The robotic system dynamically updates the path or trajectory of the item during singulation based on a context of the workspace (e.g., a state or condition of the item, a property of the item, another item within the workspace, etc.). For example, in response to determining that a detected state or condition impedes implementation of a current plan to autonomously operate the robotic structure to pick one or more items from the workspace and place each item singly in a corresponding location in a singulation conveyance structure, the robotic structure performs one or more active measures to improve the likelihood of successful singulation (e.g., the robotic structure can determine an active measure that is expected to improve the likelihood of successful singulation based at least in part on the detected state or condition)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Sun’s teaching of updating the path or trajectory, since Sun teaches wherein updating the path improves the likelihood of successful singulation.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Mizoguchi et al. (US 20210053230 A1, hereinafter Mizoguchi).
Regarding claim 18, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 1,
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein determining the target location for the object includes:
obtaining load state information of a target container;
determining candidate target locations in the target container according to the load state information and the object information; and
determining that the object cannot be loaded to any of the candidate target locations.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein determining the target location for the object includes:
obtaining load state information of a target container (at least as in paragraph 0059, “2021: obtaining space information of the package storage unit”);
determining candidate target locations in the target container according to the load state information and the object information (at least as in paragraph 0062, “when the cargo to be sorted is transported at the second position of the package placement platform, the controlling system determines one package storage unit to store the cargo according the information of the cargo. After that, it determines the relative height difference between the package storage location and the height of the package storage unit based on obtaining storage space of the package storage unit and each storage space is divided into an upper layer, a middle layer, and a lower layer. In one implementation, the cargoes are placed on the lower layer first, and when the lower layer is full, the cargoes are placed on the middle layer”)…
However, Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor of a method for operating a transport robot utilizing image data representative of a group of objects, specifically teaches:
determining that the object cannot be loaded to any of the candidate target locations (at least as in paragraph 0119, “when the robotic system 100 fails to identify available drop areas and/or open spaces (e.g., when the accessible drop areas are full), the robotic system 100 can stop executing the base motion plan”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Mizoguchi’s teaching of failing to identify drop areas, since Mizoguchi teaches wherein the method increases adaptability required for executing more complex tasks thus the overall efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 19, the above combination of Podnar, Liu, and Mizoguchi, discloses:
The system of claim 18,
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein determining the target location for the object further includes:
determining an unload location as the target location.
However, Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor of a method for operating a transport robot utilizing image data representative of a group of objects, specifically teaches:
wherein determining the target location for the object further includes:
determining an unload location as the target location (at least as in paragraph 0119, “when the robotic system 100 fails to identify available drop areas and/or open spaces (e.g., when the accessible drop areas are full), the robotic system 100 can stop executing the base motion plan, as illustrated at block 716, and/or solicit operator input, as illustrated at block 718”; at least as in paragraph 0123, “At a designated time (e.g., when the pallet/bin is full and/or when the incoming pallet/bin is delayed), the corresponding transport unit can go from the drop area to the pickup area. Accordingly, the robotic system 100 can reimplement the method 500, thereby reidentifying the dropped items as the target package 112 and transferring them to the corresponding task location 116”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Mizoguchi’s teaching of failing to identify drop areas, since Mizoguchi teaches wherein the method increases adaptability required for executing more complex tasks thus the overall efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Oshima et al. (US 20250276880 A1, hereinafter Oshima).
Regarding claim 23, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 20,
Podnar does not explicitly teach
wherein displacing the object to the target location further includes:
obtaining updated load state information;
determining to perform an object recovery according to the load state information; and
performing the object recovery.
However, Oshima, in the same field of endeavor of a system for transporting a package utilizing a robot arm, specifically teaches:
wherein displacing the object to the target location further includes:
obtaining updated load state information (at least as in paragraph 0128, “Shipping system 2600 may include drop sensor 2631 that detects dropping of the first product. In such cases, shipping system 2600 may further include drop determination processor 2632 that determines whether the first product lifted by robot arm 2620 has been dropped based on sensing data obtained from drop sensor 2631”);
determining to perform an object recovery according to the load state information (at least as in paragraph 0129, “If drop determination processor 2632 determines that the first product lifted by robot arm 2620 has been dropped, display controller 2612 may control display screen 2611 to display an image on display screen 2611 indicating that the first product has been dropped”; at least as in paragraph 167, “If drop determination processor 2632 determines that the first product lifted by robot arm 2620 has been dropped (YES in S2621), display controller 2612 controls display screen 2611 so as to display an image on display screen 2611 indicating that the first product has been dropped (S2622)”); and
performing the object recovery (at least as in paragraph 0167, “This allows a worker to recognize that a stocked first product has been dropped, and they can have robot arm 2620 grab the stocked first product again”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Oshima’s teaching of a package transporting system with drop determination, since Oshima teaches wherein the system improves the delivery efficiency by recovering from a failure or drop.
Claim(s) 25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podnar (US 20180117775 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20210346914 A1, hereinafter Liu), and further in view of Goldberg et al. (US 20200238534 A1, hereinafter Goldberg).
Regarding claim 25, the above combination of Podnar and Liu discloses:
The system of claim 24,
wherein:
The swiper arm includes a swiper guide, and
the object loader includes a swiper rail configured to interface with the swiper guide to support the swiper arm.
However, Goldberg, in the same field of endeavor of a robot system with an end-of-arm tool to retrieve and deposit items, specifically teaches:
wherein:
The swiper arm includes a swiper guide (at least as in paragraph 0049, “the peel 102a may include a movable push bar 128 that includes a forward face 130 and an opposing backward face 132 separated by a push bar edge 134”), and
the object loader includes a swiper rail configured to interface with the swiper guide to support the swiper arm (at least as in paragraph 0100, “the upper surface 408 of the peel 400 may include one or more grooves 432 that align with corresponding tabs 434 that extend from a bottom edge 436 of the movable push bar 402. Such grooves 432 and corresponding tabs 434 may be used to maintain the alignment of the movable push bar 402 as the movable push bar 402 is moved between the withdrawn position 404 and the push position 406”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Goldberg’s teaching of a movable push bar with grooves and tabs, since Goldberg teaches wherein the system provides alignment of the push bar to provide a consistent force and adaptability to receive and deposit a variety of item shapes and sizes.
Regarding claim 29, in view of the above combination of Podnar and Liu, Podnar further discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the object loader further includes a sensor system (at least as in paragraph 0030, “imaging system 760 (e.g., a stereoscopic camera) is attached to end effector 160”)…
Podnar does not explicitly teach configured to sense one or more of:
a presence of an object on the conveyor,
a location of an object on the conveyor,
a location of the swiper arm.
However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor of a system for sorting cargo including an end effector with a package placement platform, specifically teaches:
wherein the object loader further includes a sensor system configured to sense one or more of:
a presence of an object on the conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0046, “the front side and the rear side of the first transmission platform are respectively equipped with a sensor to detect the position of the cargo on the package placement platform. A first sensor is arranged at the front side of the first transmission platform and a second sensor is arranged at the rear side of the first transmission platform”),
a location of an object on the conveyor (at least as in paragraph 0047, “After the cargo enters into the front side of the first transmission platform, the first sensor can detect the cargo located on the package placement platform and the first sensor feeds back a detection signal to the controlling system so that the controlling system controls the first transmission platform to transport the cargo until the second sensor detects the cargo. Then the controlling system controls the first transmission platform stopping transportation when the second sensor feeds back another detection signal to the controlling system”)…
However, Goldberg, in the same field of endeavor of a robot system with an end-of-arm tool to retrieve and deposit items, specifically teaches:
a location of the swiper arm (at least as in paragraph 0095, “the control system 120 may be communicatively coupled with one or more of the sensors 276, and one or more of the motor, pistons and/or other actuators (e.g., the first actuator 348 and/or the push bar actuator 320). As such, the control system 120 may include one or more instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the one or more motors, pistons, and/or other actuators to function based, at least in part, on signals received from the one or more sensors 276”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Podnar, to include Liu’s teaching of object sensors and Goldberg’s teaching of a movable push bar, since Liu teaches wherein the system ensures the object is stably placed on the placement platform and Goldberg teaches wherein the system provides adaptability to receive and deposit a variety of item shapes and sizes and accurate control of the push bar.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RICARDO I VISCARRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657