DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-16, and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,912. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the claims of the present application are included in the claims of the issued patent.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,912 in view of Mauro et al. (US 2019/0085745).
In Reference to Claim 1
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,912 discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 except:
Wherein the flow resistance is a ratio between the pressure change and the flow rate.
Mauro et al. (Mauro) discloses an exhaust gas particulate filter system. (See Mauro, Abstract). Mauro discloses calculating flow resistance is a ratio between the pressure change and the flow rate. (See Mauro, Paragraph [0032] & Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have calculated flow resistance using a ratio between the pressure change and the flow rate, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that flow resistance could be calculated accurately using conventionally installed sensors, without the need for additional more complex sensors thereby reducing the complexity and overall cost of the system. (See Mauro, Paragraph [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinugawa et al. (US 2002/0196153).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinugawa et al. (Kinu) discloses:
A system, comprising:
a controller (2) (See Kinu, Paragraph [0049]) configured to:
receive a pressure change and a flow rate (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0059]-[0060]);
determine a pressure change value based on the pressure change and the flow rate (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066]);
trigger a first failure warning based on the pressure change value being below a pressure change value threshold, wherein triggering the first failure warning comprises providing a first notification via an operator input/output device (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]); and
trigger a second failure warning based the pressure change value being at or above the pressure change value threshold, wherein triggering the second failure warning comprises providing a second notification via the operator input/output device. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein determining the pressure change value comprises: determining an equation based on the pressure change and the flow rate; and determining a slope of the equation, the slope of the equation corresponding to the pressure change value. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that the pressure change value of Kinu (i.e.-apparent passage area) is a calculation representing a rate of change of pressure over time for determinations which is a slope value.
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the pressure change value is a pressure change slope. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that the pressure change value of Kinu (i.e.-apparent passage area) is a calculation representing a rate of change of pressure over time for determinations which is a slope value.
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein triggering the first failure warning or the second failure warning is responsive to a flow resistance being less than a flow resistance threshold. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the flow resistance is a ratio between the pressure change and the flow rate. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that apparent area calculation is a ratio of flow rate and pressure change representing a flow resistance of the DPF.
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the first failure warning is indicative of a first failure type, the first failure type corresponding to a damaged filter. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the second failure warning is indicative of a second failure type, the second failure type corresponding to a leaking filter. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
A method of diagnosing an aftertreatment system component comprising:
receiving a pressure change and a flow rate associated with a component (21) of the aftertreatment system (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0059]-[0060]);
determining a pressure change value based on the pressure change and the flow rate (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066]);
triggering a first failure warning based on the pressure change value being below a pressure change value threshold, wherein triggering the first failure warning comprises providing a first notification via an operator input/output device (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]); and
triggering a second failure warning based on the pressure change value being at or above the pressure change value threshold, wherein triggering the second failure warning comprises providing a second notification via the operator input/output device. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein determining the pressure change value comprises: determining an equation based on the pressure change and the flow rate; and determining a slope of the equation, the slope of the equation corresponding to the pressure change value. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that the pressure change value of Kinu (i.e.-apparent passage area) is a calculation representing a rate of change of pressure over time for determinations which is a slope value.
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the pressure change value is a pressure change slope. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that the pressure change value of Kinu (i.e.-apparent passage area) is a calculation representing a rate of change of pressure over time for determinations which is a slope value.
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein triggering the first failure warning or the second failure warning is responsive to a flow resistance being less than a flow resistance threshold. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that apparent area calculation is a ratio of flow rate and pressure change representing a flow resistance of the DPF.
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the flow resistance is compared to the flow resistance threshold within a flow rate interval, the flow rate interval bounded by a minimum flow rate and a maximum flow rate. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that the pressure change value is bounded by a minimum (i.e.->10 g/s) and a maximum value (i.e.-maximum operating flow rate of the engine).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the component is a filter, wherein the first failure warning is indicative of a first failure type, and wherein the first failure type corresponds the filter being damaged. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the component is a filter, wherein the second failure warning is indicative of a second failure type, and wherein the second failure type corresponding to the filter leaking. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a controller (2) (See Kinu, Paragraph [0049]), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receive a pressure change and a flow rate (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0059]-[0060]);
determine a pressure change value based on the pressure change and the flow rate (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066]);
trigger a first failure warning based on the pressure change value being below a pressure change value threshold, wherein triggering the first failure warning comprises providing a first notification via an operator input/output device (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]); and
trigger a second failure warning based the pressure change value being at or above the pressure change value threshold, wherein triggering the second failure warning comprises providing a second notification via the operator input/output device. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein determining the pressure change value comprises: determining an equation based on the pressure change and the flow rate; and determining a slope of the equation, the slope of the equation corresponding to the pressure change value. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein triggering the first failure warning or the second failure warning is responsive to a flow resistance being less than a flow resistance threshold.
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the pressure change value is compared to the pressure change value threshold within a flow rate interval, the flow rate interval bounded by a minimum flow rate and a maximum flow rate. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0063]-[0066] & Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
The Examiner notes that the pressure change value is bounded by a minimum (i.e.->10 g/s) and a maximum value (i.e.-maximum operating flow rate of the engine).
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the first failure warning is indicative of a first failure type, the first failure type corresponding to a damaged filter. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Kinugawa, Figures 1-17)
Kinu discloses:
wherein the second failure warning is indicative of a second failure type, the second failure type corresponding to a leaking filter. (See Kinu, Paragraphs [0079]-[0083]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagado, Johnson, Kobayashi, Tsuji, Tandon, Mauro, Hall, and Sato show exhaust particulate filter diagnostic devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746