DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/24/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SACCO et al. (DE 3843522 A1 hereinafter refer as “SACCO”) in view of WEIHING et al. (DE 102004046408 A1 hereinafter refer as “WEIHING”).
Regarding claim 1. SACCO discloses a lighting device (1, see Fig. 1, Abstract, claim 1) for a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one light source (5, see Fig. 1, Abstract) configured to generate light; and a transparent cover (lens 3/15, see Figs. 1 and 3, Abstract) through which the light generated by the at least one light source passes and on which a flat layer having a plurality of discontinuities (metal coatings 4, 16, see Figs. 1 and 3, Abstract) is provided. SACCO further discloses a metal coating (16) which is identical structure to the claimed flat layer.
However, SACCO is silent with respect to the flat layer (4, 16) is configured to receive a portion of the light generated by the at least one light source in a main light emission direction and scatter the light to a greater degree and the transparent cover to ensure increased brightness in the main light-emission direction relative to remaining spatial directions extending at an angle to the main light-emission direction while enabling visibility of the light from the remaining spatial directions.
WEIHING teaches a headlamp assembly (see Figs. 1 and 4) including a cover (8) having a lighting effect changing region (3) and lines (4) that provide a scattering effect for the light emitted by the lamps (5). WEIHING further teaches that the scattering occurs at the foremost possible point of the headlamp, thereby producing a targeted increase in the light power and improving the visibility of the flashing light (10, see Fig. 4). WEIHING also teaches that the scattering effect is provided by the outer surface of the translucent components (cover 8 and lens 7, see Abstract, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, in view of WEIHING, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure SACCO’s metallic coating to scatter light to a greater degree in the main light-emission direction to increase the light power in a desired emission direction. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification based on WEIHING’s teaching that strategically positioning a scattering region at the foremost portion of a headlamp provides a targeted increase in the light power and improves visibility of the emitted light.
Regarding claim 3. SACCO further discloses the transparent cover (15) is an outer cover through which the light generated by the at least one light source (5) exits the lighting device (1, see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 5. SACCO further discloses comprising at least one optical unit (coloring agent 8 is curved to bundle the light, see Fig. 1) configured to define a path of the light generated by the at least one light source within an interior of the lighting device (see Claim 1).
Regarding claim 6. SACCO further discloses the at least one optical unit (i.e., coloring agent 8, which is curved to “bundle the light”, see Fig. 1) is configured to cause at least part of the light generated by the at least one light source to be incident on at least one of the transparent cover and the layer in an at least substantially parallelized manner.
The Applicant is advised that, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In this case, the phrase “bundle the light” can reasonable be understood by one skilled in the art to mean directing the light rays into a substantially parallelized beam (i.e., collimating the light). Accordingly, SACCO’s disclosure of the curved element (8) teaches or at least suggests directing the light in at least substantially parallelized manner.
Regarding claim 7. SACCO further discloses the at least one optical unit (coloring agent 8 is curved to bundle the light, see Fig. 1) is a lens or a light guide.
Regarding claim 11. SACCO further discloses the at least one optical unit (coloring agent 8 is curved to bundle the light, which is attached to the lens 3 by means of a holder 9, see Fig. 1) is configured as a section of the transparent cover opposite the layer.
Regarding claim 12. SACCO further discloses the discontinuities are at least one of a linear discontinuities and a pattern of discontinuities (e.g. in the form of symbols. see claim 5).
Regarding claim 13. SACCO further discloses the layer (16) is a color layer (e.g. copper or silver coating or t is also possible to match the color of the metallic coating to the adjacent body parts).
Regarding claim 14. SACCO further discloses the layer is a metal layer (metal coating, for example from Al, Cu, Ag, An and other metals or Alloys exist, see Abstract).
Regarding claim 15. SACCO further discloses the layer (16) is a roughened surface of the transparent cover (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16. SACCO further discloses the layer (16) is a surface structure comprising projections and depressions (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17. SACCO further discloses the transparent cover comprises a transparent glass or a transparent plastic (e.g., PC, PMMA or Plexiglas).
Regarding claim 18. SACCO further discloses the transparent cover comprises an acrylic glass (e.g., PC, PMMA or Plexiglas).
Regarding claim 19. SACCO discloses a motor vehicle (see claim 1), comprising: at least one lighting device (1, see Fig. 1) provided as an exterior lamp, the at least one lighting device including: at least one light source (5, see Fig. 1) configured to generate light; and a transparent cover (3, 15, see Figs. 1 and 3) through which the light generated by the at least one light source passes and on which a flat layer (4, 16, see Figs. 1 and 3) having a plurality of discontinuities is provided (see Fig. 3). SACCO further discloses a metal coating (16) which is identical structure to the claimed flat layer.
However, SACCO is silent with respect to the flat layer (4, 16) is configured to receive a portion of the light generated by the at least one light source in a main light emission direction and scatter the light to a greater degree and the transparent cover to ensure increased brightness in the main light-emission direction relative to remaining spatial directions extending at an angle to the main light-emission direction while enabling visibility of the light from the remaining spatial directions.
WEIHING teaches a headlamp assembly (see Figs. 1 and 4) including a cover (8) having a lighting effect changing region (3) and lines (4) that provide a scattering effect for the light emitted by the lamps (5). WEIHING further teaches that the scattering occurs at the foremost possible point of the headlamp, thereby producing a targeted increase in the light power and improving the visibility of the flashing light (10, see Fig. 4). WEIHING also teaches that the scattering effect is provided by the outer surface of the translucent components (cover 8 and lens 7, see Abstract, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, in view of WEIHING, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure SACCO’s metallic coating to scatter light to a greater degree in the main light-emission direction to increase the light power in a desired emission direction. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification based on WEIHING’s teaching that strategically positioning a scattering region at the foremost portion of a headlamp provides a targeted increase in the light power and improves visibility of the emitted light.
Regarding claim 20. SACCO further discloses the at least one lighting device is a headlight of the motor vehicle or a taillight of the motor vehicle (rear light, 1).
Regarding claims 21 and 22. SACCO further discloses at least one optical unit (coloring agent 8 is curved to bundle the light, see Fig. 1) positioned between the at least one light source (5) and the transparent cover (lens 3/15, see Figs. 1 and 3, Abstract) the at least one optical unit configured to cause at least part of the light generated by the at least one light source to be output from the optical unit in an at least substantially parallelized manner in a main light-emission direction.
The Applicant is advised that, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In this case, the phrase “bundle the light” can reasonable be understood by one skilled in the art to mean directing the light rays into a substantially parallelized beam (i.e., collimating the light). Accordingly, SACCO’s disclosure of the curved element (8) teaches or at least suggests directing the light in at least substantially parallelized manner in a main light-emission direction.
WEIHING further discloses the at least one lighting device further includes at least one optical unit (lens 7, see Fig. 4) positioned between the at least one light source (5) and the transparent cover (8, see Fig. 5), the at least one optical unit (7) configured to cause at least part of the light generated by the at least one light source to be output from the optical unit in an at least substantially parallelized manner in the main light-emission direction.
Claims 2, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SACCO in view of WEIHING and further in view of HWANG et al. (US 2023/0158946 hereinafter refer as “HWANG”).
Regarding claim 2. The teachings of SACCO have been discussed above.
However, SACCO is silent with respect to including an outer cover through which the light generated by the at least one light source exits the lighting device, wherein the transparent cover is an intermediate light cover arranged between the at least one light source and the outer cover.
HWANG teaches a lighting device (lighting grill assembly for a vehicle) that includes an outer cover (10, see Figs. 1 and 6, Para. 0029) through which the light generated by a light source (56) exits the lighting device, wherein a transparent cover (inner lens 40, see Fig. 1, Para. 0029) is an intermediate light cover arranged between the at least one light source and the outer cover.
Therefore, in view of HWANG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SACCO by including an outer cover in order to provide extra protection for the transparent cover. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to for providing significant portion of the front surface of a lighting device.
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 10. SACCO further discloses the at least one optical unit (coloring agent (8) is curved to bundle the light, see Fig. 1) is arranged between the at least one light source, and the transparent cover; or is configured as a section of the transparent cover, in particular opposite the layer (see Fig. 1).
However, SACCO is silent with respect to comprising at least one carrier plate on which the at least one light source is arranged, as recited in claim 4; the at least one optical unit is arranged between a carrier plate of the at least one light source and the transparent cover, wherein the at least one light source is arranged on the carrier plate, as recited in claim 10.
HWANG further teaches a grill housing (50, see Figs. 1 and 2) provided for the installation of a carrier plate (substrate 54) and the light source (56, see Fig. 2, Para. 0041-0043).
Therefore, in view of HWANG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SACCO by including a carrier plate thereby the light source may be installed thereon, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a carrier plate thereby the light source may be installed thereon.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SACCO in view of WEIHING and further in view of BUERGERS et al. (2024/0125447 hereinafter refer as “BUERGERS”).
Regarding claim 8. The teachings of SACCO have been discussed above.
However, SACCO is silent with respect to the at least one optical unit is an optical fiber.
BUERGERS teaches a headlight that includes a housing (2); optical units (3, 4, and 5, see Fig. 1, Para. 0027) use LEDs as light source; and an optical fiber, which comprises the optical fiber sections (7 and 8, see Fig. 3, Para. 0028).
Therefore, in view of BUERGERS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SACCO by including an optical fiber in order to provide an extended light emission toward the cover pane, as suggested by BUERGERS. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to for providing an improved light emission toward the cover pane.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because a new basis of rejection is being applied in response to the applicant's amendment to the claims.
In response to applicant's arguments that “bundling light does not equate to outputting light in a substantially parallelized manner in a main light-emission direction,” the Applicant is advised that in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968).
In this case, SACCO expressly discloses that the curved coloring agent (8) is configured to “bundle the light” in the context of the disclosed curved optical element, one skilled in the art would reasonably understand “bundle the light” to mean directing or concentrating parallelized beam, i.e., collimating the light. Thus, although SACCO may not use the exact language of the claim limitation, its disclosure of the curved coloring agent (8) teaches or at least suggests redirecting the light so that at least a portion of the light is output in an least substantially parallelized manner. Accordingly, SACCO teaches or at least suggests the additional features recited in claims 21 and 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875