DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8 and 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 19/083,841 in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0200363, cited in IDS dated 02/20/2026).
Below is a comparison between present claim 1 and copending claim 10:
Present claim 1
Copending claim 10
A display apparatus, comprising: a substrate including
a display area and a non-display area, wherein the non-display area includes a pad area and a bending area;
a transistor in the display area, the transistor including a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode;
at least one dam in the non-display area and surrounding the display area;
a light emitting diode in the display area connected to the transistor;
an encapsulation unit on the light emitting diode, the encapsulation unit including a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer on the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer on the organic encapsulation layer;
a first touch buffer layer on the encapsulation unit;
a touch pad electrode in the pad area, the touch pad electrode including a same material as the source electrode and the drain electrode of the transistor;
a touch connection electrode on the first touch buffer layer in the display area;
a second touch buffer layer on the first touch buffer layer and the touch connection electrode;
a touch electrode over the second touch buffer layer in the display area; and
a touch routing line over the first touch buffer layer, the touch routing line being connected to the touch pad electrode and connected to the touch electrode, the touch routing line having an upper routing line and a lower routing line with the second touch buffer layer therebetween,
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, the first touch buffer layer, and the second touch buffer layer extend into the non-display area beyond the dam.
A display apparatus, comprising: a substrate including
a display area and a non-display area, wherein the non-display area includes a pad area and a bending area;
a transistor disposed in the display area, and including a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode; a planarization layer disposed on the transistor;
at least one dam disposed in the non-display area, and surrounding the display area;
a light emitting diode disposed on the planarization layer, and including a first electrode, an emission unit, and a second electrode;
an encapsulation unit disposed on the light emitting diode, and including a first encapsulation layer consisting of an inorganic material, a second encapsulation layer consisting of an organic material on the first encapsulation layer, and a third encapsulation layer consisting of an inorganic material on the second encapsulation layer;
a first touch dielectric layer disposed on the encapsulation unit, crossing the dam, and extending to the pad area;
a plurality of touch connection electrodes disposed on the first touch dielectric layer;
a lower routing line disposed on the first touch dielectric layer;
at least one second touch dielectric layer disposed on the first touch dielectric layer, wherein the second touch dielectric layer crosses the dam, and extends to the pad area; a plurality of touch electrodes disposed on the second touch dielectric layer, connecting to the touch connection electrode; and
an upper routing line disposed on the second touch dielectric layer, connecting to the lower routing line,
wherein one of the lower routing line and the upper routing line crosses the dam, wherein the lower routing line and the upper routing line are connected through at least one contact hole between a side at the display area and the pad area,
The display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a first touch pad electrode and a second touch pad electrode disposed in the pad area, wherein the first touch pad electrode is formed of a same layer and of a same material as the source electrode of the transistor or the drain electrode of the transistor.
As can be seen above, the copending claim 10 fails to disclose “wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer extend into the non-display area beyond the dam”.
However, Lee discloses a display apparatus (Figs 1, 3 and 8; [0032], e.g., a touch display panel 10), comprising:
a substrate including a display area and a non-display area ([0033], [0069], e.g., a substrate 110 includes a display area AA and a non-display area BZ), wherein the non-display area includes a pad area and a bending area ([0051], e.g., a bending area BA and a pad area PDA);
a transistor in the display area, the transistor including a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode ([0072], e.g., a transistor 120 includes a semiconductor layer 122, a gate electrode 124, a source electrode 126 and a drain electrode 128);
at least one dam in the non-display area and surrounding the display area ([0087]-[0088], e.g., a dam unit 150);
a light emitting diode in the display area connected to the transistor ([0080], e.g., a light-emitting element 210 is connected to the transistor);
an encapsulation unit on the light emitting diode, the encapsulation unit including a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer on the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer on the organic encapsulation layer ([0086], e.g., the encapsulation unit 300 includes inorganic encapsulation layers 310 and 330 and an organic encapsulation layer 320);
a first touch buffer layer on the encapsulation unit ([0091]-[0092], e.g., a first touch buffer layer 420 on the encapsulation unit 300);
a touch pad electrode in the pad area ([0052], e.g., touch pad electrode T-PD in the pad area PDA), the touch pad electrode including a same material as the source electrode and the drain electrode of the transistor ([0015], e.g., the lower touch pad may be formed of identical metals on identical layers to a source electrode and a drain electrode of each of the TFTs);
a touch connection electrode on the first touch buffer layer in the display area ([0094]-[0096], e.g., a plurality of bridge electrodes BE1 on the first touch buffer layer 420);
a second touch buffer layer on the first touch buffer layer and the touch connection electrode ([0096], e.g., a second touch buffer layer 430 on the first touch buffer layer 420 and the plurality of bridge electrodes BE1);
a touch electrode over the second touch buffer layer in the display area ([0095]-[0096], e.g., touch electrodes TE1 over the second touch buffer layer 430); and
a touch routing line over the first touch buffer layer ([0094], e.g., the touch routing line RL disposed on the first touch buffer layer 420), the touch routing line being connected to the touch pad electrode and connected to the touch electrode ([0096]-[0097], e.g., the touch routing line RL is connected to the touch pad electrode T-PD and the touch electrode TE1),
the touch routing line having an upper routing line and a lower routing line with the second touch buffer layer therebetween ([0096], e.g., the second touch buffer layer 430 is between the upper routing line 412 and the lower routing line 410),
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, the first touch buffer layer, and the second touch buffer layer extend into the non-display area beyond the dam ([0089]-[0092], e.g., the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310, the second inorganic encapsulation layer 330, the first touch buffer layer 420 and the second touch buffer layer 430 extend to the non-display area BZ beyond the dam 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Lee in the invention of copending claim 1 for extending a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer into a non-display area beyond a dam in order to cover the dam (see [0089] of Lee).
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected over copending claim 10 in view of Lee.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2021/0200363, cited in IDS dated 02/20/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display apparatus (Figs 1, 3 and 8; [0032], e.g., a touch display panel 10), comprising:
a substrate including a display area and a non-display area ([0033], [0069], e.g., a substrate 110 includes a display area AA and a non-display area BZ), wherein the non-display area includes a pad area and a bending area ([0051], e.g., a bending area BA and a pad area PDA);
a transistor in the display area, the transistor including a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode ([0072], e.g., a transistor 120 includes a semiconductor layer 122, a gate electrode 124, a source electrode 126 and a drain electrode 128);
at least one dam in the non-display area and surrounding the display area ([0087]-[0088], e.g., a dam unit 150);
a light emitting diode in the display area connected to the transistor ([0080], e.g., a light-emitting element 210 is connected to the transistor);
an encapsulation unit on the light emitting diode, the encapsulation unit including a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer on the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer on the organic encapsulation layer ([0086], e.g., the encapsulation unit 300 includes inorganic encapsulation layers 310 and 330 and an organic encapsulation layer 320);
a first touch buffer layer on the encapsulation unit ([0091]-[0092], e.g., a first touch buffer layer 420 on the encapsulation unit 300);
a touch pad electrode in the pad area ([0052], e.g., touch pad electrode T-PD in the pad area PDA), the touch pad electrode including a same material as the source electrode and the drain electrode of the transistor ([0015], e.g., the lower touch pad may be formed of identical metals on identical layers to a source electrode and a drain electrode of each of the TFTs);
a touch connection electrode on the first touch buffer layer in the display area ([0094]-[0096], e.g., a plurality of bridge electrodes BE1 on the first touch buffer layer 420);
a second touch buffer layer on the first touch buffer layer and the touch connection electrode ([0096], e.g., a second touch buffer layer 430 on the first touch buffer layer 420 and the plurality of bridge electrodes BE1);
a touch electrode over the second touch buffer layer in the display area ([0095]-[0096], e.g., touch electrodes TE1 over the second touch buffer layer 430); and
a touch routing line over the first touch buffer layer ([0094], e.g., the touch routing line RL disposed on the first touch buffer layer 420), the touch routing line being connected to the touch pad electrode and connected to the touch electrode ([0096]-[0097], e.g., the touch routing line RL is connected to the touch pad electrode T-PD and the touch electrode TE1),
the touch routing line having an upper routing line and a lower routing line with the second touch buffer layer therebetween ([0096], e.g., the second touch buffer layer 430 is between the upper routing line 412 and the lower routing line 410),
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, the first touch buffer layer, and the second touch buffer layer extend into the non-display area beyond the dam ([0089]-[0092], e.g., the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310, the second inorganic encapsulation layer 330, the first touch buffer layer 420 and the second touch buffer layer 430 extend to the non-display area BZ beyond the dam 150).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a planarization layer on the transistor, the light emitting diode being on the planarization layer ([0078], e.g., a planarization layer 118 is on the TFT 120 and the light emitting diode is on the planarization layer 118);
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting diode includes a first electrode, an emission unit, and a second electrode ([0080], e.g., a first electrode 220, a light-emitting stack 230 or 230A, and a second electrode 240).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the upper routing line includes a same material as the touch electrode ([0014], e.g., the upper touch routing line may be formed of an identical metal on an identical layer to one electrode belonging to the touch sensor unit).
Regarding claim 8, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a touch insulating layer on the second touch buffer layer, the touch insulating layer including an organic material ([0092], e.g., the touch passivation layer 440 on the second touch buffer layer 430 includes an organic insulating material).
Regarding claim 11, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the dam is in the non-display area and does not cross the bending area ([0087]-[0088], e.g., the dam unit 150 is in the non-display area BZ and does not cross the bending area BD).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the bending area is disposed in the non-display area between the pad area and the display area (Fig. 8; [0049], e.g., the bending area BD in the non-display area BZ between the pad area PDA and the display area AA).
Regarding claim 13, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the organic encapsulation layer of the encapsulation unit does not cross the dam (Fig. 8; [0087], [0089], e.g., the organic encapsulation layer 320 does not cross the dam 150).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer of the encapsulation unit directly contact each other over the dam (Fig. 8; [0089], e.g., the inorganic encapsulation layers 310 and 330 directly contact each other over the dam 150).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the lower routing line and the upper routing line extending into the non-display area beyond the dam (Fig. 8; the lower routing line 410 and the upper routing line 412 extending into the non-display area BZ beyond the dam 150).
Regarding claim 16, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the lower routing line and the upper routing line cross the dam in a plan view (Figs 3 and 8; e.g., the lower routing line 410 and the upper routing line 412 cross the dam 150 in a plan view).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the lower routing line and the upper routing line are connected to each other through a plurality of contact holes in the non-display area (Fig. 8; [0096], e.g., the lower routing line 410 and the upper routing line 412 are connected to each other through a plurality of contact holes 432 in the non-display area BZ).
Regarding claim 18, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of power supply lines and a plurality of data lines over the substrate, wherein the plurality of power supply lines and the plurality of data lines crosses the dam (Figs 3 and 8; [0045]-[0047], e.g., signal lines SL includes a plurality of power lines PL and a plurality of data lines DL crossing the dam 150).
Regarding claim 19, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the plurality of power supply lines and the plurality of data lines crosses the bending area (see Figs 3 and 8, e.g., the power lines PL and the data lines DL crosses the bending area BD).
Regarding claim 20, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a touch protection layer over the touch electrode and the upper routing line in the display area (Fig. 8; [0091]-[0092], e.g., the touch passivation layer 440 over the touch electrode TE1 and the upper routing line 412 in the display area AA), wherein the touch protection layer is over the upper routing line in a portion of the non-display area, and wherein the touch protection layer is absent over at least a portion of the pad area (Fig. 8; the touch passivation layer 440 is over the upper routing line 412 in a portion of the non-display area and is absent over at least a portion of the pad area PDA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0200363) in view of Kim (US 2018/0182818, cited in IDS dated 02/20/2026).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the touch routing line is connected to the touch electrode and the touch connection electrode ([0096], e.g., the upper routing line 412 is connected to the touch electrode TE1 and the touch connection electrode BE1).
Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the touch routing line is connected to the touch electrode via the touch connection electrode.
However, Kim discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1; [0021]-[0022], e.g., an organic light-emitting diode display device), comprising:
a touch connection electrode on an encapsulation unit (Fig. 4A; [0033], [0048], e.g., a touch connection electrode 154b on an encapsulation unit 140);
a touch buffer layer on the touch connection electrode ([0049], e.g., the touch buffer layer 168 is formed on the touch connection electrode 154b);
a touch electrode over the touch buffer layer ([0048], e.g., touch electrodes 154e); and
an upper touch routing line over the touch buffer layer ([0051], e.g., the routing line 156b),
wherein the upper touch routing line is connected to the touch electrode via the touch connection electrode (Fig. 4A; [0049], [0052], e.g., the upper routing line 156b is electrically connected to the touch electrode 154e via the touch connection electrode 154b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kim in the invention of Lee for connecting an upper routing line to a touch electrode via a touch connection electrode in order to provide a display device manufactured through a simplified process at reduced cost ([0006]-[0008] of Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Kim further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the upper routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode (Fig. 4A of Kim, e.g., the upper routing line 156b is connected to the touch connection electrode 154b).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the upper routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode (Fig. 8; [0096], e.g., the upper routing line 412 is connected to the touch connection electrode BE1).
Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the upper routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode through the second touch buffer layer.
However, Kim discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1; [0021]-[0022], e.g., an organic light-emitting diode display device), comprising:
a touch connection electrode on an encapsulation unit (Fig. 4A; [0033], [0048], e.g., a touch connection electrode 154b on an encapsulation unit 140);
a touch buffer layer on the touch connection electrode ([0049], e.g., the touch buffer layer 168 is formed on the touch connection electrode 154b);
a touch electrode over the touch buffer layer ([0048], e.g., touch electrodes 154e); and
an upper touch routing line over the touch buffer layer ([0051], e.g., the routing line 156b),
wherein the upper touch routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode via the touch buffer layer (Fig. 4A; [0049], [0052], e.g., the upper routing line 156b is electrically connected to the touch connection electrode 154b via the touch buffer layer 168).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kim in the invention of Lee for connecting an upper routing line to a touch electrode via a touch connection electrode in order to provide a display device manufactured through a simplified process at reduced cost ([0006]-[0008] of Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the upper routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode (Fig. 8; [0096], e.g., the upper routing line 412 is connected to the touch connection electrode BE1).
Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the upper routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode through the second touch buffer layer.
However, Kim discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1; [0021]-[0022], e.g., an organic light-emitting diode display device), comprising:
a touch connection electrode on an encapsulation unit (Fig. 4A; [0033], [0048], e.g., a touch connection electrode 154b on an encapsulation unit 140);
a touch buffer layer on the touch connection electrode ([0049], e.g., the touch buffer layer 168 is formed on the touch connection electrode 154b);
a touch electrode over the touch buffer layer ([0048], e.g., touch electrodes 154e); and
an upper touch routing line over the touch buffer layer ([0051], e.g., the routing line 156b),
wherein the upper touch routing line is connected to the touch connection electrode via the touch buffer layer (Fig. 4A; [0049], [0052], e.g., the upper routing line 156b is electrically connected to the touch connection electrode 154b via the touch buffer layer 168).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Kim in the invention of Lee for connecting an upper routing line to a touch electrode via a touch connection electrode in order to provide a display device manufactured through a simplified process at reduced cost ([0006]-[0008] of Kim).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0200363) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0319076, hereinafter referred to as “Lee “076’).
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not specifically disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer includes a multi-layered structure of inorganic layers.
However, Lee “076” discloses a display apparatus wherein an inorganic encapsulation layer includes a multi-layered structure of inorganic layers (Figs 5B and 5C; [0150], [0153]-[0155], e.g., the first inorganic encapsulation layer IOL1 may have a double-layered structure. A first sub-layer Si may be a lithium fluoride layer, and a second sub-layer S2 may be an aluminum oxide layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Lee”076” in the invention of Lee for providing an encapsulation layer including a multi-layered structure of inorganic layers in order to protect a display device layer from moisture or oxygen (see [0147] of Lee”076”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Won et al. (US 2018/0350884) and Han et al. (US 2022/0171499) disclose a display apparatus wherein a first inorganic encapsulation layer, a second inorganic encapsulation layer, a first touch buffer layer and a second touch buffer layer extend into a non-display area beyond a dam, and wherein a touch routing line is connected to a touch electrode via a touch connection electrode (Fig. 11 of Won and Fig. 9 of Han).
/HONG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629