NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 25 be found allowable, claim 26 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0313447 to Nguyen et al. (“Nguyen”).
Nguyen discloses:
21. A method, comprising:
evaluating a mapping, associated with an application hosted within a virtual machine, to identify a topology describing how application data of the application is physically stored by the virtual machine within a first storage location, wherein the virtual machine stores virtual machine metadata within a second storage location (paras. [0024], [0027] and Fig. 1, VM1 metadata 54);
backing up the application data, within the first storage location and described by the topology, as a backup to a third storage location, wherein the backup excludes the virtual machine metadata, of the virtual machine, stored within the second storage location (para. [0024], [0027], and Fig. 1, VM1 backup image 52);
detecting a data corruption event associated with the application hosted within the virtual machine (paras. [0006], [0007], [0048]); and
restoring the application, separate from the virtual machine, using the backup stored within the third storage location to restore the application to a state prior to the data corruption event (paras. [0049], [0051], [0054]).
22. The method of claim 21, comprising:
maintaining the mapping as a virtual to physical mapping between virtual addressing used by the application and an underlying physical storage topology used to store the application data (para. [0022] and Fig. 1, disk file 72); and
utilizing the virtual to physical mapping to identify the application data (paras. [0028], [0046], [0052]).
23. The method of claim 21, comprising:
creating the mapping between virtual addressing used by the application and physical storage addresses used to store the application data (para. [0022] and Fig. 1, disk file 72); and
evaluating the mapping to identify the application data using the physical storage addresses of the mapping (paras. [0028], [0046], [0052]).
24. The method of claim 21, comprising:
separately backing up a plurality of applications using different mappings for each application of the plurality of applications to identify topologies of the plurality of applications (para. [0027] and Fig. 1, Application1 28, App2, VM1 metadata 54, VM2 metadata 58).
Claim 29 is a computing device for performing the identical method as recited in claim 21, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 35 is a non-transitory machine readable medium for performing the identical method as recited in claim 21, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,114,706 to Chougala et al. (“Chougala”).
Nguyen does not disclose expressly:
25. The method of claim 21, comprising:
creating the mapping as a raw device mapping for redirecting virtual disk access to physical storage addresses used to identify the topology.
Chougala teaches creating the mapping as a raw device mapping for redirecting virtual disk access to physical storage addresses used to identify the topology (col. 2, ln. 48-col. 3, ln. 5 and col. 9, lns. 45-67).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nguyen by using raw device mapping, as taught by Chougala. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a virtual disk to span multiple physical disks, as discussed by Chougala (col. 1, lns. 26-28).
Modified Nguyen discloses:
26. The method of claim 21, comprising:
creating the mapping as a raw device mapping for redirecting virtual disk access to physical storage addresses used to identify the topology (Chougala – col. 4, lns. 50-67).
27. The method of claim 21, comprising:
maintaining a virtual machine disk as the mapping used to identify the topology (Nguyen – para. [0024] and Chougala – col. 4, lns. 46-54); and
utilizing the mapping to connect a storage area network logical unit number to the virtual machine (Chougala – col. 4, lns. 58-67).
28. The method of claim 21, comprising:
maintaining a virtual machine disk as the mapping used to identify the topology (Nguyen – para. [0024] and Chougala – col. 4, lns. 46-54).
Claims 30-32 are a computing device for performing the identical method as recited in claims 25 and 27, and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 33, 34, 36, 37, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0188898 to Karinta et al. (“Karinta”).
Nguyen does not disclose expressly:
33. The computing device of claim 29, wherein the machine executable code causes the computing device to:
implement a virtual plugin to a virtual storage manager for the virtual machine; and
utilize the virtual plugin to backup and recover the application data.
Karinta teaches:
implement a virtual plugin to a virtual storage manager for the virtual machine (para. [0093]); and
utilize the virtual plugin to backup and recover the application data (paras. [0226]-[0228], [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nguyen by using a virtual plugin, as taught by Karinta. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to efficiently backup and restore applications from a single management application, as discussed by Karinta (paras. [0170], [0290]).
Modified Nguyen discloses:
34. The computing device of claim 29, wherein the machine executable code causes the computing device to:
implement a virtual plugin to a virtual storage manager for the virtual machine (Karinta - para. [0093]); and
utilize the virtual plugin to provide an interface between a backup manager and the virtual storage manager, wherein the backup manager utilizes the interface to backup and recover the application data (Karinta - paras. [0226]-[0228], [0241]).
36. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 35, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to:
restore, using the backup the application as a cloned application within a different virtual machine (Karinta – para. [0270]); and
restore, using the backup, a database for use by the cloned application (Karinta – paras. [0272], [0284]).
37. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 35, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to:
initiate, by a backup manager, generation of the backup through a filesystem plugin that returns the mapping to the backup manager (Karinta – paras. [0144], [0226]-[0228]).
39. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 37, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to:
in response to the mapping having a physical mapping type, receiving a logical unit number identifier from the filesystem plugin for the mapping to uniquely identify the mapping relatively to other mappings (Nguyen - paras. [0028], [0046], [0052] and Karinta – para. [0144]).
40. The non-transitory machine readable medium of claim 37, wherein the machine executable code causes the machine to:
in response to the mapping having a raw device mapping type, receiving a logical unit number identifier from the filesystem plugin for the mapping to uniquely identify the mapping relatively to other mappings (Nguyen - paras. [0028], [0046], [0052] and Karinta - para. [0144]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHILIP GUYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113