Double Patenting
Claim 34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 48 of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,093. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the parent patent (US12,448,093) discloses: a floating wind turbine platform, comprising: a substantially triangular hull configurable to support a wind turbine tower; the hull comprising a first, second and third column, the first, second and third columns being connected by a first, second and third pontoon member, as well as by a first, second and third connector. The limitation that the connector having at least one planar side between the ends is recited in claim 48 of the parent patent (US12,448,093).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Fig. 2-4, 7, and 8 in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement among groups A-F is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 34-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 34, 36, and 42 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear what geometric shape is considered substantially triangular, because a shape is either triangular or not triangular. A substantially triangular shape is a shape that is not triangular but the claim doesn’t define what shape it is.
Any and all claims rejected herein under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if rejected with art below under sections 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claims 35, 37-41, and 43-46 are rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34-37, 39, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2020/0022341), referred to hereafter as Li.
With regard to claim 34, Li discloses a floating wind turbine platform, comprising: a substantially triangular hull (Fig. 1) configurable to support a wind turbine tower (Fig. 1); the hull comprising a first, second and third column (2, Fig. 1), the first, second and third columns being connected by a first, second and third pontoon member (5), as well as by a first, second and third connector (see the connectors of element 3 in Fig. 1); wherein each connector comprises two outer ends (31) and at least one side (32) extending between the outer ends thereof is planar (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 35, Li further discloses that one of the at least one planar sides is vertically oriented (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 36, Li further discloses that the vertically oriented surface is outward facing, and facing away from the centroid of the substantially triangular hull (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 37, Li further discloses that the at least one planar side of each connector is a single planar surface (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 39, Li further discloses that each of the first, second and third columns comprises a first external side adjoining a first intersecting surface and a second external side adjoining a second intersecting surface (Fig. 1, 2. Note that even a circle can be divided in external sides adjoining intersecting surfaces).
With regard to claim 44, Li further discloses that each connector comprises a narrowed central portion and widened end portions (Fig. 1, 2).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 34-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shivers (US 7,270,071).
With regard to claim 34, Shivers discloses a floating wind turbine platform, comprising: a substantially triangular hull (Fig. 1) configurable to support a wind turbine tower; the hull comprising a first, second and third column (lower columns 19, 21, 23, and upper columns 13, 15, 17, individually or in combination), the first, second and third columns being connected by a first, second and third pontoon member, as well as by a first, second and third connector (in a first interpretation, the pontoon members are 31 or 29, and the connectors are 30a, 30b, 30c, and in a second interpretation, the pontoon members are 31 and the connectors are 29) ; wherein each connector comprises two outer ends and at least one side extending between the outer ends thereof is planar (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
With regard to claim 35, Shivers further discloses that one of the at least one planar sides is vertically oriented (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
With regard to claim 36, Shivers further discloses that the vertically oriented surface is outward facing, and facing away from the centroid of the substantially triangular hull (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
With regard to claim 37, Shivers further discloses that the at least one planar side of each connector is a single planar surface (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
With regard to claim 38, Shivers further discloses that each planar side is coplanar with a surface of one of the first, second and third columns (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
With regard to claim 39, Shivers further discloses that each of the first, second and third columns comprises a first external side adjoining a first intersecting surface and a second external side adjoining a second intersecting surface (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b. Note that even a circle can be divided in external sides adjoining intersecting surfaces).
With regard to claim 40, Shivers further discloses that the first and second external sides each are flush with an outer side of a respective pontoon member (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b, note that in the first interpretation, the pontoon members can be 29).
With regard to claim 41, Shivers further discloses that the first and second external sides are flush with an outer side of a respective connector (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2020/0022341), referred to hereafter as Li in view of Shivers (US 7,270,071).
With regard to claim 38:
Li discloses the floating wind turbine platform of claim 34, as set forth above.
Li does not appear to explicitly disclose that each planar side is coplanar with a surface of one of the first, second and third columns
However, Shivers teaches a floating platform comprising a substantially triangular hull having pontoon members and connectors with planar sides, and further teaches that each planar side is coplanar with a surface of one of the first, second and third columns (Fig. 1, 2, 3a, 3b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique, namely making the planar side to be coplanar with a surface of one of the columns, to improve similar devices in the same way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 42, 43, 45, and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with regard to claims 42, 45, and 46, the prior art does not disclose that on each of the three sides of the substantially triangular hull, a respective external side of the column, an outer side of the pontoon member and the planar surface of the connector are coplanar, or that the widened end portions widen linearly from a horizontal length at an end adjacent the narrowed central portion equal to the width of the narrowed central portion to a horizontal length at an outer end thereof that is equal to the horizontal length of an adjacent intersecting surface, or that the widened end portions have a horizontal cross-section of at least one of an irregular trapezoid or a right-angled trapezoid, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, nor any motivation, to modify the prior arts for these deficiencies, because it would require improper hindsight reconstruction. Claim 43 depends from claim 42.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar floating wind turbine platforms such as US 6,701,861.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745