Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 10/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 6 have been amended. Claims 9-15 stand withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over LEE (US 20170148374 A1) in view of SON (US 20180067353 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LEE (Figs. 1-18) discloses a tiled display device (Figs. 7-8; tiled display), comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix form, and active panels electrically coupled to each other (Figs. 7-8 and [0124], [0069]-[0070], tiled display panel device comprising display panels 1002, 1004, 1006 and 1008 electrically coupled to each other, a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix form), the active panels being respectively bonded to a plurality of first support substrates (Fig. 17 and [0023], [0161]; each display panel is bonded to a support substrate S);
a first driving panel (Figs. 7-8; first driving panel comprising gate drivers 3006 and 3008) electrically coupled to the display panel (display panels 1006 and 1008 of display panel) at a first side surface (e.g., left side) of the display panel by a first connection member ([0100] and [0115]-[0119]; connection wires 800/700) and configured to apply a first gate signal to the display panel ([0085]; gate drivers 3006 and 3008 configured to apply a first gate signal to the display panel); and
a second driving panel (Figs. 7-8; second driving panel comprising date drivers 4004 and 4008) electrically coupled to the display panel (display panels 1006 and 1008 of display panel) at a second side surface (e.g., top side) perpendicular to the first side surface of the display panel by a second connection member ([0093]-[0097] and [0137]; connection wires 600/500) and configured to apply a first data signal to the active panels ([0087]; data drivers 4004 and 4008 configured to apply a first data signal to the display panel).
LEE does not disclose the first driving panel being bonded to a second support substrate laterally spaced apart from the plurality of first support substrates in a plan view; and the second driving panel being bonded to a third support substrate laterally spaced apart from the plurality of first support substrates in the plan view. However, SON (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses a display device, comprising: a first driving panel (Figs. 1-3 and [0068]-[0069]; first driving panel comprising gate drivers GC) electrically coupled to the display panel (display panel DP) at a first side surface of the display panel by a first connection member ([0112]-[0113]; conductive member AF) and configured to apply a first gate signal to the display panel ([0069]; gate drivers GC configured to apply a gate signal to the display panel DP), the first driving panel (first driving panel comprising gate drivers GC) being bonded to a second support substrate ([0068]-[0069]; gate circuit board GCB) laterally spaced apart from the plurality of first support substrates (display substrate 101) in a plan view (Figs. 1A, 2A, 3A and 3B; gate circuit board GCB is spaced apart from display substrate 101); and
a second driving panel (Figs. 1-3 and [0079]; second driving panel comprising date drivers DC) electrically coupled to the display panel (display panel DP) at a second side surface perpendicular to the first side surface of the display panel by a second connection member ([0109]-[0110]; conductive member AF) and configured to apply a first data signal to the active panels ([0079]; data drivers DC configured to apply a data signal to the display panel), the second driving panel (second driving panel comprising date drivers DC) being bonded to a third support substrate ([0079]; data circuit board DCB) laterally spaced apart from the plurality of first support substrates (display substrate 101) in the plan view (Figs. 1A, 2A, 3A and 3B; data circuit board DCB is spaced apart from display substrate 101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SON to the display device of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide an arrangement of gate drivers and data drivers for a multi-screen display device with a reduced a boundary area.
Regarding claim 4, LEE in view of SON of claim 1, LEE (Figs. 1-18) discloses the tiled display device further comprising:
a third driving panel (Figs. 7-8; third driving panel comprising gate drivers 3002 and 3004) electrically coupled to the display panel (display panels 1002 and 1004 of display panel) on a third side surface (right side) opposite the first side surface (left side) of the display panel by a fifth connection member ([0100] and [0115]-[0119]; connection wires 800/700) and configured to apply a second gate signal to the active panels ([0085]; gate drivers 3006 and 3008 configured to apply a first gate signal to the display panel); and
a fourth driving panel (Figs. 7-8; fourth driving panel comprising date drivers 4002 and 4006) electrically coupled to the display panel (display panels 1002 and 1004 of display panel) on a fourth side surface opposite (bottom side) the second side surface (top side) of the display panel by a sixth connection member ([0093]-[0097] and [0137]; connection wires 600/500) and configured to apply a second data signal to the active panels ([0087]; data drivers 4004 and 4008 configured to apply a first data signal to the display panel), and
wherein each of the fifth connection member and the sixth connection member comprises an anisotropic conductive film, a connector, or a solder joint (Figs. 1-11; connection wires 700/800, 500/600, FO2, and FO1 are conductive connectors).
Regarding claim 5, LEE in view of SON discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, LEE (Figs. 1-18) discloses wherein each of the active panels comprises a display area comprising the pixels and a non-display area surrounding the display area (Figs. 1-11; display area AA and non-display area PA, display area AA comprising pixels), and wherein the non-display area comprises an adjacent area adjacent the display area and a bending area spaced from the display area by the adjacent area (Figs. 1-11; non-display area PA comprising an adjacent area corresponding to connectors FO1 and FO2 and a bending area corresponding to connection wires 500 and 700). SON (Fig. 3) discloses the similar features as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, LEE in view of SON discloses the tiled display device of claim 5, SON (Figs. 1-3) discloses wherein the display area of the active panels (Figs. 1-3; display area DA of display panel DP) is bonded to an upper surface of the plurality of first support substrates (support substrate 110), and the bending areas of the active panels are bonded to side surfaces of the plurality of first support substrates (Figs. 1-3; non-display area comprising a bending area bonded to side surfaces of support substrate 110), wherein the first driving panel is bonded to an upper surface of the second support substrate, and the first driving panel is folded to a side surface of the second support substrate and bonded thereto (Figs. 1-3; first driving panel comprising gate driver GC is bonded to an upper surface of the support substrate GCB, connection member AF and PD of the gate driver GC is folded and bonded to a side surface of the support substrate GCB), and wherein the second driving panel is bonded to an upper surface of the third support substrate, and the second driving panel is folded to a side surface of the third support substrate and bonded thereto (Figs. 1-3; second driving panel comprising data driver DC is bonded to an upper surface of the support substrate DCB, connection member AF and PD of the data driver DC is folded and bonded to a side surface of the support substrate DCB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SON to the display device of LEE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a multi-screen display device with a reduced a boundary area.
5. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over LEE (US 20170148374 A1) in view of SON (US 20180067353 A1) and further in view of KAO (US 20210116749 A1).
Regarding claim 2, LEE in view of SON discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the active panels are electrically coupled by a third connection member, respectively, in a row direction, and electrically coupled by a fourth connection member, respectively, in a direction perpendicular to the row direction. However, KAO (Fig. 1) discloses a tiled display device, wherein the active panels are electrically coupled by a third connection member, respectively, in a row direction (Fig. 1A; connection wires 130’ arranged in a row direction), and electrically coupled by a fourth connection member, respectively, in a direction perpendicular to the row direction (Fig. 1A; connection wires 130 arranged in a column direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAO to the display device of LEE in view of SON. The combination/motivation would be to provide an interconnection for a multi-screen display device with a reduced a boundary area.
Regarding claim 3, LEE in view of SON and further in view of KAO discloses the tiled display device of claim 2, wherein each of the first to fourth connection members comprises an anisotropic conductive film, a connector, or a solder joint (connection member AF and connection member 130 are connectors).
7. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over LEE (US 20170148374 A1) in view of SON (US 20180067353 A1) and further in view of JEONG (US 20180188579 A1).
Regarding claim 7, LEE in view of SON discloses the tiled display device of claim 5, but does not disclose wherein a width of the adjacent area is half a distance between adjacent pixels among the pixels. However, JEONG (Figs. 1-2, 4-6, and 16-20) discloses a tiled display device, wherein a width of the adjacent area is half a distance between adjacent pixels among the pixels ([0199], [0207], and [0247]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the display device of LEE in view of SON. The combination/motivation would be to provide a multi-screen display device with a reduced a boundary area.
Regarding claim 8, LEE in view of SON discloses the tiled display device of claim 5, but does not disclose the first driving panel is electrically coupled to the bending areas of the active panels on the first side surface of the display panel, and the second driving panel is electrically coupled to the bending areas of the active panels on the second side surface of the display panel. However, JEONG (Figs. 1-2, 4-6, and 16-20) discloses a tiled display device, wherein the active panels are electrically coupled to each other through the bending areas (Figs. 18-19; coupling between active panels), the first driving panel is electrically coupled to the bending areas of the active panels on the first side surface of the display panel (Figs. 1 and 5-6; connection between the gate driver 70 and the bending area of display panel), and the second driving panel is electrically coupled to the bending areas of the active panels on the second side surface of the display panel (Figs. 1 and 5-6; connection between the data driver 60 and the bending area of display panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the display device of LEE in view of SON. The combination/motivation would be to provide a multi-screen display device with a reduced a boundary area.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of SON (US 20180067353 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623