Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-8 recite a system (machine), Claim 9 recites an apparatus (machine), and Claim 10 recites a method and therefore fall into a statutory category.
Step 2A – Prong 1 (Is a Judicial Exception Recited?):
Referring to claims 1-20, the claims recite concepts for organizing the rental of a device, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers concepts covered under the Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas.
The abstract idea portion of the claims is as follows:
(Claim 1)
[An information processing system comprising: a memory that] stores first information indicating a usage state of each of a plurality of devices in a storage facility based on information transmitted from the storage facility;
[and circuitry configured to]: select a device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information stored [in the memory],
and transmit a selection result to the storage facility.
(Claim 9)
[A management apparatus including circuitry configured to:] store, [in a memory], first information indicating a usage state of each of a plurality of devices in a storage facility based on information transmitted from the storage facility which stores the plurality of devices;
select a device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information stored [in the memory];
and transmit a selection result to the storage facility.
(Claim 10)
A device management method, comprising: storing, [in a memory], first information indicating a usage state of each of a plurality of devices in a storage facility based on information transmitted from the storage facility which stores the plurality of devices;
selecting a device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information stored [in the memory];
and transmitting a selection result to the storage facility.
Where the portions not bracketed recite the abstract idea.
Here the claims recite concepts performed in managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. In the present application concepts reciting a manner organizing the rental of a device (See paragraphs 2-8).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts performed in managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, it falls under the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04.
Step 2A-Prong 2 (Is the Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?):
The Examiner views the following as the additional elements:
An information processing system. (See paragraphs 30 and 50)
A memory. (See paragraph 245)
Circuitry. (See paragraph 244)
A management apparatus. (See paragraphs 30 and 50)
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they act to merely “apply” the abstract idea using generic computing components and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f))
The combination of these additional elements and/or results oriented steps are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f)) Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception?):
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites a generic circuitry (See paragraph 244) and memory (See paragraph 245) for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 2 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 3, 6, and 8 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites a generic circuitry (See paragraphs 41 and 64) for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claims 3, 6, and 8 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 4-5 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Therefore claims 4-5 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 7 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites a generic circuitry (See paragraph 244) and external terminal apparatus (See paragraph 37) for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 7 is considered to be patent ineligible.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiyama et al. (US 20200009990).
Referring to claim 1,
Shiyama, which is directed to management of batteries, discloses
An information processing system comprising: a memory that stores first information indicating a usage state of each of a plurality of devices in a storage facility based on information transmitted from the storage facility; (Shiyama paragraph 31 disclosing in the present embodiment, the battery management system 200 includes, for example, a battery station 210, one or more battery stations 212, one or more battery stations 214, and a management server 220. The battery management system 200 may include a user terminal 230. Individual parts of the battery management system 200 may transmit and receive information to and from each other via the communication network 10. Shiyama paragraphs 38-40 disclosing a relevance to the battery station 210 is determined on the basis of, for example, whether or not the relevance with the battery station 210 satisfies a predetermined condition. The above condition may be a condition regarding a geographical relationship with the battery station 210 or a condition regarding a movement history of the mobile battery 22. The movement history of each mobile battery may be a history of the battery station storing the mobile battery. The movement history of each mobile battery may be (i) identification information (which may be referred to as a station ID) of one or more battery stations storing the mobile battery, (ii) information in which the time when the mobile battery is stored in the one or more battery stations is associated with the station ID of the battery station, or (iii) information in which the station ID of the one or more battery stations storing the mobile battery is associated with a frequency of storing the mobile battery in the battery station in a specific period. In the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. In the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages the battery station 210. The battery station 210 may manage each of the battery station 210, the one or more battery stations 212, and the one or more battery stations 214 (which may also be referred to as battery stations to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a location, a specification, a driving status, an operating state, a chief administrator (e.g., identification ID, name, address, telephone number, and the like), an error history, a renting history, and the like of the battery station to be managed. Shiyama paragraph 42 disclosing examples of the driving state include driving, stopping, abnormality occurring, and the like. Examples of the operating state include (i) the rent status of the mobile battery 22, (ii) a utilization rate, (iii) a priority order of the mobile battery 22 to be rent, and the like of at the battery station to be managed.
Shiyama paragraph 47 disclosing individual parts of the battery management system 200 may be embodied by hardware, software, or hardware and software. The individual parts of the battery management system 200 may be realized by a single server or may be realized by a plurality of servers. Shiyama paragraph 48 disclosing when at least some of the components constituting the battery management system 200 are embodied by software, the components embodied by the software may be implemented by activating software or a program that defines the operations related to the corresponding components in a typically configured information processing apparatus. The information processing apparatus described above includes (i) a data processing device including a processor such as a CPU or GPU, a ROM, a RAM, a communication interface, and the like, (ii) a keyboard, a pointing device, a touch panel, a camera, an audio input device, a gesture input device, various sensors, an input device such as a GPS receiver, and the like, (iii) an output device such as a display unit, a speaker, or a vibration unit, and (iv) a storage device such as a memory, an HDD, or an SSD (including an external storage device)
and circuitry configured to: select a device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information stored in the memory, (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
and transmit a selection result to the storage facility. (Shiyama paragraph 62 disclosing In the present embodiment, the control unit 350 controls the operation of the battery station 210. The control unit 350 executes various information processing methods in the battery station 210. The control unit 350 may receive information or a request from at least one of the management server 220 and the user terminal 230. The control unit 350 may transmit information or a request to at least one of the management server 220 and the user terminal 230. The control unit 350 may read information recorded in the memory of the mobile battery 22. The control unit 350 may write information into the memory of the mobile battery 22.)
Referring to claim 2,
Shiyama further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to: store, in the memory, second information indicating a device state of each of the plurality of devices, the second information being transmitted from each of the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility, (Shiyama paragraph 31 disclosing in the present embodiment, the battery management system 200 includes, for example, a battery station 210, one or more battery stations 212, one or more battery stations 214, and a management server 220. The battery management system 200 may include a user terminal 230. Individual parts of the battery management system 200 may transmit and receive information to and from each other via the communication network 10. Shiyama paragraph 75 disclosing in the present embodiment, the battery information acquisition unit 442 acquires various kinds of information on each of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210. In one embodiment, the battery information acquisition unit 442 accesses the memory of each of the one or more mobile batteries 22 and acquires various kinds of information related to the mobile battery stored in the memory. For example, the battery information acquisition unit 442 acquires the deterioration information of the mobile battery from the memory of each mobile battery. In another embodiment, the battery information acquisition unit 442 acquires various kinds of information on each of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 from the management server 220.
and select the device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information and the second information. (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
Referring to claim 3,
Shiyama further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to: calculate an index serving as a determination criterion for renting the device to a user based on the first information and the second information, (Shiyama paragraphs 140-141 disclosing In the present embodiment, the price setting unit 730 generates information related to at least one of the usage fee, incentive, and penalty of the mobile battery 22. In one embodiment, the price setting unit 730 sets a discount fee or an incentive. For example, the price setting unit 730 acquires information regarding the priority order set for the mobile battery 22 from the station information acquisition unit 718. The estimation unit 720 sets the discount fee or the incentive when the priority order satisfies a predetermined condition. Examples of the predetermined condition include the condition of being ranked higher than a predetermined rank. In another embodiment, the price setting unit 730 sets an extra fee or penalty. For example, the price setting unit 730 acquires information regarding the priority order set for the mobile battery 22 from the station information acquisition unit 718. The estimation unit 720 sets the extra fee or the penalty when the priority order satisfies a predetermined condition. Examples of the predetermined condition include, for example, the condition of being ranked lower than a predetermined rank. The estimation unit 720 may set the extra fee or the penalty corresponding to an additional request from the user.)
and select the device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the calculated index. (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
Referring to claim 4,
Shiyama further discloses wherein the second information includes at least one of information indicating a discharge rate of the device or information of an error that has occurred in the device. (Shiyama paragraph 21 disclosing in the present embodiment, the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 acquires, for example, deterioration information indicating the deterioration state of a plurality of storage batteries. The deterioration information acquisition unit 120 acquires deterioration information according to, for example, the following procedure. For example, the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 first charges a storage battery to be determined according to a predetermined charging pattern, and acquires a charging curve of the storage battery. The deterioration information acquisition unit 120 also discharges the storage battery used as determination object according to a predetermined discharge pattern, and acquires a discharging curve of the storage battery. Next, the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 analyzes the above charging curve and discharging curve, and determines the deterioration state of the storage battery to be determined. Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like)
Referring to claim 6,
Shiyama further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to: calculate a plurality -of the indices including the index based on the first information and the second information, (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 87-89 disclosing in one embodiment, the priority order of at least some of the one or more mobile batteries 22 may be set by an administrator of the battery management system 200 or an administrator of the mobile battery 22. In another embodiment, the priority order of at least some of the one or more mobile batteries 22 may be set on the basis of a predetermined condition. In a further embodiment, the priority order of at least some of the one or more mobile batteries 22 may be set on the basis of the reservation information. For example, when the reservation information includes information indicating a specific mobile battery 22 to be designated and reserved, the priority order of the designated mobile batteries 22 is set according to the scheduled time of rent. The priority order of the mobile batteries 22 may be set according to the presence or absence of designation in the reservation information. If the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
and select the device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility in accordance with a priority set to each of the plurality of indices in selecting the device. (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
Referring to claim 7,
Shiyama further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to set the priority in accordance with an operation on an external terminal apparatus. (Shiyama paragraph 87 disclosing in one embodiment, the priority order of at least some of the one or more mobile batteries 22 may be set by an administrator of the battery management system 200 or an administrator of the mobile battery 22. In another embodiment, the priority order of at least some of the one or more mobile batteries 22 may be set on the basis of a predetermined condition. In a further embodiment, the priority order of at least some of the one or more mobile batteries 22 may be set on the basis of the reservation information. For example, when the reservation information includes information indicating a specific mobile battery 22 to be designated and reserved, the priority order of the designated mobile batteries 22 is set according to the scheduled time of rent. The priority order of the mobile batteries 22 may be set according to the presence or absence of designation in the reservation information.)
Referring to claim 8,
Shiyama further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to select the device from among one or more devices waiting in the storage facility based on the first information and the second information. (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
Referring to claim 9,
Shiyama discloses A management apparatus including circuitry configured to: store, in a memory, first information indicating a usage state of each of a plurality of devices in a storage facility based on information transmitted from the storage facility which stores the plurality of devices; (Shiyama paragraph 31 disclosing in the present embodiment, the battery management system 200 includes, for example, a battery station 210, one or more battery stations 212, one or more battery stations 214, and a management server 220. The battery management system 200 may include a user terminal 230. Individual parts of the battery management system 200 may transmit and receive information to and from each other via the communication network 10. Shiyama paragraphs 38-40 disclosing a relevance to the battery station 210 is determined on the basis of, for example, whether or not the relevance with the battery station 210 satisfies a predetermined condition. The above condition may be a condition regarding a geographical relationship with the battery station 210 or a condition regarding a movement history of the mobile battery 22. The movement history of each mobile battery may be a history of the battery station storing the mobile battery. The movement history of each mobile battery may be (i) identification information (which may be referred to as a station ID) of one or more battery stations storing the mobile battery, (ii) information in which the time when the mobile battery is stored in the one or more battery stations is associated with the station ID of the battery station, or (iii) information in which the station ID of the one or more battery stations storing the mobile battery is associated with a frequency of storing the mobile battery in the battery station in a specific period. In the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. In the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages the battery station 210. The battery station 210 may manage each of the battery station 210, the one or more battery stations 212, and the one or more battery stations 214 (which may also be referred to as battery stations to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a location, a specification, a driving status, an operating state, a chief administrator (e.g., identification ID, name, address, telephone number, and the like), an error history, a renting history, and the like of the battery station to be managed. Shiyama paragraph 42 disclosing examples of the driving state include driving, stopping, abnormality occurring, and the like. Examples of the operating state include (i) the rent status of the mobile battery 22, (ii) a utilization rate, (iii) a priority order of the mobile battery 22 to be rent, and the like of at the battery station to be managed.
Shiyama paragraph 47 disclosing individual parts of the battery management system 200 may be embodied by hardware, software, or hardware and software. The individual parts of the battery management system 200 may be realized by a single server or may be realized by a plurality of servers. Shiyama paragraph 48 disclosing when at least some of the components constituting the battery management system 200 are embodied by software, the components embodied by the software may be implemented by activating software or a program that defines the operations related to the corresponding components in a typically configured information processing apparatus. The information processing apparatus described above includes (i) a data processing device including a processor such as a CPU or GPU, a ROM, a RAM, a communication interface, and the like, (ii) a keyboard, a pointing device, a touch panel, a camera, an audio input device, a gesture input device, various sensors, an input device such as a GPS receiver, and the like, (iii) an output device such as a display unit, a speaker, or a vibration unit, and (iv) a storage device such as a memory, an HDD, or an SSD (including an external storage device)
select a device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information stored in the memory; (Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
and transmit a selection result to the storage facility. (Shiyama paragraph 62 disclosing In the present embodiment, the control unit 350 controls the operation of the battery station 210. The control unit 350 executes various information processing methods in the battery station 210. The control unit 350 may receive information or a request from at least one of the management server 220 and the user terminal 230. The control unit 350 may transmit information or a request to at least one of the management server 220 and the user terminal 230. The control unit 350 may read information recorded in the memory of the mobile battery 22. The control unit 350 may write information into the memory of the mobile battery 22.)
Referring to claim 10,
Shiyama discloses,
A device management method, comprising: storing, in a memory, first information indicating a usage state of each of a plurality of devices in a storage facility based on information transmitted from the storage facility which stores the plurality of devices;
(Shiyama paragraph 31 disclosing in the present embodiment, the battery management system 200 includes, for example, a battery station 210, one or more battery stations 212, one or more battery stations 214, and a management server 220. The battery management system 200 may include a user terminal 230. Individual parts of the battery management system 200 may transmit and receive information to and from each other via the communication network 10. Shiyama paragraphs 38-40 disclosing a relevance to the battery station 210 is determined on the basis of, for example, whether or not the relevance with the battery station 210 satisfies a predetermined condition. The above condition may be a condition regarding a geographical relationship with the battery station 210 or a condition regarding a movement history of the mobile battery 22. The movement history of each mobile battery may be a history of the battery station storing the mobile battery. The movement history of each mobile battery may be (i) identification information (which may be referred to as a station ID) of one or more battery stations storing the mobile battery, (ii) information in which the time when the mobile battery is stored in the one or more battery stations is associated with the station ID of the battery station, or (iii) information in which the station ID of the one or more battery stations storing the mobile battery is associated with a frequency of storing the mobile battery in the battery station in a specific period. In the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. In the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages the battery station 210. The battery station 210 may manage each of the battery station 210, the one or more battery stations 212, and the one or more battery stations 214 (which may also be referred to as battery stations to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a location, a specification, a driving status, an operating state, a chief administrator (e.g., identification ID, name, address, telephone number, and the like), an error history, a renting history, and the like of the battery station to be managed. Shiyama paragraph 42 disclosing examples of the driving state include driving, stopping, abnormality occurring, and the like. Examples of the operating state include (i) the rent status of the mobile battery 22, (ii) a utilization rate, (iii) a priority order of the mobile battery 22 to be rent, and the like of at the battery station to be managed.
Shiyama paragraph 47 disclosing individual parts of the battery management system 200 may be embodied by hardware, software, or hardware and software. The individual parts of the battery management system 200 may be realized by a single server or may be realized by a plurality of servers. Shiyama paragraph 48 disclosing when at least some of the components constituting the battery management system 200 are embodied by software, the components embodied by the software may be implemented by activating software or a program that defines the operations related to the corresponding components in a typically configured information processing apparatus. The information processing apparatus described above includes (i) a data processing device including a processor such as a CPU or GPU, a ROM, a RAM, a communication interface, and the like, (ii) a keyboard, a pointing device, a touch panel, a camera, an audio input device, a gesture input device, various sensors, an input device such as a GPS receiver, and the like, (iii) an output device such as a display unit, a speaker, or a vibration unit, and (iv) a storage device such as a memory, an HDD, or an SSD (including an external storage device)
selecting a device that is rentable from among the plurality of devices stored in the storage facility based on the first information stored in the memory; Shiyama paragraph 39 disclosing in the present embodiment, the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22 (which may be referred to as mobile batteries to be managed). For example, the management server 220 manages a specification, a rent status, an operating state, a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., temperature), a deterioration state, an error history, a renting history, and the like of the mobile battery to be managed. Examples of the operating state include charging, discharging, standby and the like. Shiyama paragraph 50 disclosing the software or program described above may be a program for causing a computer to execute a state information generation step to generate information associated with (i) a charge state at the specific time and (ii) a charge state at the estimated time of arrival of the user at the charging device for at least one of the one or more storage batteries on the basis of (i) the arrangement information acquired in the arrangement information acquisition step and (ii) the user position information acquired in the user position acquisition step. Shiyama paragraph 84 disclosing for example, the schedule determination unit 460 acquires information indicating the target condition of the utilization rate of the battery station 210 from the management server 220 and, on the basis of the target condition, determines the number of mobile batteries 22 that are available for rent to the user (NRENT). Shiyama paragraphs 88-89 disclosing if the mobile battery 22 specified by the reservation information is newly designated to be charged, in addition to one or more mobile batteries 22 that are currently being charged, it may not be possible to satisfy the target condition for the utilization rate. In this case, the schedule determination unit 460 may determine to interrupt or stop the charge operation of at least one of the one or more mobile batteries 22 that is currently being charged. Note that the schedule determination unit 460 compares the demand information acquired by the demand information acquisition unit 446 to the charge states of the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 and, if none of the one or more of the mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information, may extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged. The schedule determination unit 460 may not extract the mobile battery 22 to be charged when the one or more mobile batteries 22 stored in the battery station 210 satisfy the demand indicated by the demand information.)
and transmitting a selection result to the storage facility. (Shiyama paragraph 62 disclosing in the present embodiment, the control unit 350 controls the operation of the battery station 210. The control unit 350 executes various information processing methods in the battery station 210. The control unit 350 may receive information or a request from at least one of the management server 220 and the user terminal 230. The control unit 350 may transmit information or a request to at least one of the management server 220 and the user terminal 230. The control unit 350 may read information recorded in the memory of the mobile battery 22. The control unit 350 may write information into the memory of the mobile battery 22.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiyama et al. (US 20200009990) in view of Nottingham et al. (US 20220004999).
Shiyama does not teach or suggest, wherein the first information includes information regarding installation of a new device.
However, Nottingham, which is directed to a service kiosk that provisions devices, teaches wherein the first information includes information regarding installation of a new device. (Nottingham paragraph 25 teaching method 200 may perform various tasks associated with service kiosk device provisioning. Method 200 includes receiving authentication data, a device specification, and provisioning data at 210. The authentication data, the device specification, and the provisioning data may be received at a service kiosk. The authentication data may be associated with a user. For example, the authentication data may specify a credential associated with the user that may be used to authenticate the user. The device specification may describe attributes of a device that should be delivered to the user. The device specification may describe a specific device (e.g., a specific device stored in the service kiosk), a specific model of a device, attributes of a device that should be delivered to the user (e.g., hard disk size, available ram, accessibility features), and so forth. The provisioning data may describe how to configure the device to be delivered to the user. By way of illustration, the provisioning data may identify data to install on the device, applications to install on the device, specific settings to adjust on the device, and so forth. The provisioning data may also identify, for example, settings to change on the device, updates to install on the device. Nottingham paragraph 27 teaching method 200 also includes configuring the selected device at 230. The selected device may be configured based on the provisioning data. For example, when the provisioning data identifies applications to be installed on the device to be provided by the user, configuring the selected device may include installing the applications on the selected device, and so forth for other provisioning tasks identified in the provisioning data. In another example, configuring the selected device may include encoding the selected device with tracking data that identifies the device as being associated with the user. By way of illustration, this may be achieved by encoding the tracking data onto a radio frequency identification (RFID) chip embedded in the selected device. This may, for example, allow the user to use the device to facilitate multifactor identification of the user.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the management and rental of devices as taught in Shiyama to incorporate wherein the first information includes information regarding installation of a new device with the motivation facilitating install of the device by provisioning necessary instructions or software. (Nottingham paragraphs 25 and 27)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakajima et al. (US 20210004882) -directed to managing battery.
Velderman et al. (US 20160099590) -directed to renting, charging, and discharging battery packs.
Maruyama (US 20220076324) -directed to a terminal rental system.
/Michael J. Monaghan/Examiner, Art Unit 3629