DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4494415 (Elliston hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Elliston teaches a power end of a high pressure pump that discloses a fluid end assembly (Fluid end at 26 in Figure 3); a modular power end assembly (Power end at 10 in Figure 3), comprising: a plurality of first stay rods (Stay rods 60); and a plurality of sections (Sections 150 and 138 in Figures 3 and 6), each section connected to one another via the plurality of first stay rods (Evident from Figures 3 and 6); and a plurality of second stay rods (Rods 44); in which the fluid end assembly is connected to the power end assembly via the plurality of second stay rods (Evident from Figure 3 with 44 connecting 26 to the power end 10).
Regarding claim 2, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Elliston further discloses that the plurality of first stay rods extends parallel to the plurality of second stay rods (Figure 3 shows the relationship between 60 and 44).
Regarding claim 4, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Elliston further discloses that each of the plurality of first stay rods extends parallel to a longitudinal axis of the power end assembly (Evident of Figure 3 with stay rods 60); in which each of the plurality of second stay rods extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the power end assembly (Evident from stay rods 44 in Figure 3); in which each of the plurality of first stay rods is offset relative to a centerline axis of the power end assembly by a distance, D1 (Distance between the center axis along 84 in Figure 3 and the stay rods 60); and in which each of the plurality of second stay rods is offset relative to the centerline axis of the power end assembly by a distance, D2 (Distance between the center axis along 84 in Figure 3 and the stay rods 44).
Regarding claim 6, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Elliston further discloses that the plurality of sections comprises: a crank section comprising a crankshaft (Crank shaft at 138); a crosshead section comprising a plurality of crossheads (Crosshead assembly 150); and a rear support plate attached to the crank section (Rear support plate 112).
Regarding claim 7, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 6 where Elliston further discloses that the plurality of first stay rods traverses both the crank section and the crosshead section (Evident from Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Elliston further discloses that the plurality of second stay rods passes through only a portion of the power end assembly (Evident from Figure 3 with second stay rods 44).
Regarding claim 11, Elliston teaches a power end of a high pressure pump as described above in claim 1 while showing a method of assembly that discloses connecting each section of the plurality of sections of the power end assembly together via the plurality of first stay rods (Connecting sections 150 and 138 via stay rods 60 in Figures 3 and 6); inserting a portion of the plurality of second stay rods into a portion of the power end assembly (Stay rod 44 in Figure 3); and connecting the fluid end assembly to the plurality of second stay rods such that the fluid end assembly is removably attached to the power end assembly (Fluid end connected to 20 via the stay rods 44 in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 1 where Elliston further discloses that each of the plurality of first stay rods traverses only a portion of the power end assembly (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation the stay rod 60 does not traverse the entire casing of the power end as seen in Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 13, Elliston teaches a power end of a high pressure pump that discloses a power end assembly (Power end 10) secured together by a plurality of first stay rods (Stay rods 60 in Figures 3 and 6), each of the plurality of first stay rods traversing at least a portion of the power end assembly (Evident from Figures 3 and 6); wherein the power end assembly comprises an external surface having opposed first and second ends bound by an intermediate outer portion (Surface of 59); and a fluid end assembly coupled to the power end assembly using a plurality of second stay rods (Fluid end 26 with 20 connected to second stay rods 44 in Figure 3), each of the plurality of second stay rods projecting from the first end of the external surface of the power end assembly (Evident from Figure 3); in which each of the plurality of first stay rods is in a spaced relationship with each of the plurality of second stay rods (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the two sets of stay rods 60 and 44 are spaced from each other as seen in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 13 where Elliston further discloses that each of the plurality of first stay rods traverses the entire power end assembly (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the stay rods 60 span the entire power transfer power as seen in Figure 6 by ending at 112)
Regarding claim 15, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 13 where Elliston further discloses that the power end assembly further comprises: a longitudinal axis extending through both the first and second ends (Axis along 84 that travels through the power end in Figure 3); in which each of the plurality of first stay rods extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Evident from Figure 3); and in which each of the plurality of second stay rods extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Evident from Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 13 where Elliston further discloses that the power end assembly further comprises a plurality of bearings (Bearings 114 in Figure 6); in which each of the plurality of first stay rods extends through the power end assembly by a length that is greater than a length by which each of the plurality of bearings extends through the power end assembly (Evident from Figure 6).
Regarding claim 18, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 13 where Elliston further discloses that the power end assembly further comprises: a crank section housing a crankshaft (Crank section 138); a crosshead section housing at least one crosshead (Crosshead 150); and a plate situated adjacent the crank section (Plate 111); in which the first end of the external surface is situated intermediate the second end of the external surface and the fluid end assembly (External surface of 59 in Figure 3); and in which the second end of the external surface is situated adjacent the plate (Evident from Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 19, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 13 where Elliston further discloses a central support plate situated intermediate the crank section and the crosshead section (Plate 57); in which the plurality of first stay rods traverses the central support plate (Seen in Figures 3 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4494415 (Elliston) in view of US 6171070 (Mitake hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 2 but are silent with respect that the plurality of first stay rods is vertically offset from the plurality of second stay rods.
However, Mitake teaches a high pressure reciprocating pump system that discloses a first set of stay rods (Stay rods 12 on the power end side), a second set of stay rods (Stay rods 11 on the fluid end side), and the plurality of first stay rods is vertically offset from the plurality of second stay rods (Figure 2 of Mitake). The resultant combination would separate the first and second stay rods of Elliston.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stay rods of Elliston with the offset stay rods of Mitake to allow for individual replacements of one set of stay rods without interacting with the other set of stay rods.
Regarding claim 5, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 4 but are silent with respect that D1 is greater than D2.
However, Mitake teaches a high pressure reciprocating pump system that discloses a first set of stay rods with a distance D1 from a center axis (Stay rods 12 on the power end side), a second set of stay rods with a distance D2 from the center axis (Stay rods 11 on the fluid end side), and the distance D1 is greater than D2 (Figure 2 of Mitake). The resultant combination would separate the first and second stay rods of Elliston.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stay rods of Elliston with the offset stay rods of Mitake to allow for individual replacements of one set of stay rods without interacting with the other set of stay rods.
Regarding claim 8, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 6 but are silent with respect that the rear support plate comprises a plurality of blind openings; in which each opening of the plurality of blind openings is configured to receive a corresponding one of the plurality of first stay rods in a one-to-one relationship.
However, Mitake teaches a high pressure reciprocating pump system that discloses a first set of stay rods (Stay rods 12 on the power end side), a second set of stay rods (Stay rods 11 on the fluid end side), and a rear support plate comprises a plurality of blind openings; in which each opening of the plurality of blind openings is configured to receive a corresponding one of the plurality of first stay rods in a one-to-one relationship (Figure 2 of Mitake show that 11 inserts into 9a which the Examiner is seeing as having blind openings in a one to one relationship). The resultant combination would separate the first and second stay rods of Elliston.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stay rods of Elliston with the blind openings and stay rod assembly of Mitake to allow for individual replacements of one set of stay rods without interacting with the other set of stay rods.
Claims 9, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4494415 (Elliston) in view of US 2018/0363642 (Salih hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the fluid end assembly is modular.
However, Salih teaches a fluid end of a reciprocating pump that discloses the use of a modular fluid end (Figure 1 with ¶ 32-34 and the Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluid end of Elliston with the modular fluid end of Salih to allow for easy replacement and assembly of a fluid end.
Regarding claim 16, Elliston’s teachings are described above in claim 13 but are silent with respect that the fluid end assembly is modular.
However, Salih teaches a fluid end of a reciprocating pump that discloses the use of a modular fluid end (Figure 1 with ¶ 32-34 and the Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluid end of Elliston with the modular fluid end of Salih to allow for easy replacement and assembly of a fluid end.
Regarding claim 20, Elliston teaches a power end of a high pressure pump that discloses a modular power end assembly secured together by a plurality of first stay rods (Power end 10 with stay rods 60), each of the plurality of first stay rods traversing at least a portion of the modular power end assembly (Evident from Figures 3 and 6); and a fluid end assembly coupled to the modular power end assembly using a plurality of second stay rods (Fluid end 26 with end at 20 attached via stay rods 44), each of the plurality of second stay rods projecting from an end of the modular power end assembly (Evident from Figure 3); in which each of the plurality of first stay rods is in a spaced-relationship with each of the plurality of second stay rods (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the two sets of stay rods 60 and 44 are spaced from each other as seen in Figure 3).
Elliston is silent with respect that the fluid end assembly is modular.
However, Salih teaches a fluid end of a reciprocating pump that discloses the use of a modular fluid end (Figure 1 with ¶ 32-34 and the Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluid end of Elliston with the modular fluid end of Salih to allow for easy replacement and assembly of a fluid end.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762