DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises a first transformer and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the first transformer comprises a primary coil and identical first and second secondary coils all wound around a same core, wherein one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the first secondary coil, and another one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the second secondary coil, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between the two output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters.
However, the bus is a DC bus and it’s unclear how to one would connect an DC power system to an AC bus. Also If the transformer has a primary coil and a secondary coil, how does the AC-DC converter connected to the two secondary coils. Furthermore, the claim does not disclose what primary coil is connected to. Because this is a DC system, a transformer cannot be connected to a DC bus.
The dependent claim does not provide a solution to the 112 raised for claim 8 and are also subjected to the same 112 rejection.
For the purpose of examination, claims 8-12 is read as claim 1.
Claim 14 recites
wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises three single phase power converters, each of the single phase power converters comprises a plurality of converters, each converter comprises a AC to DC converter, a DC to AC converter, a first transformer, and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the first transformer comprises a primary coil and identical first and second secondary coils all wound around a same core, wherein one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the first secondary coil, and another one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the second secondary coil, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between two of the output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters.
However, the claim fails to introduce what is connected to the primary side of the transformer,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Urry et al. (US 2018/0316193)
Re Claim 1; Urry discloses A bipolar-independent DC power delivery system (800), comprising:
a grid-tied power electronic converter (845) configured to connect with a medium-voltage distribution grid to convert a distribution grid voltage of the medium-voltage distribution grid to two independent DC voltages with same magnitude and opposite polarities; (Fig. 8, voltages V+ and V- with same magnitude and opposite polarities)
a bipolar DC power busway (820) connected to the grid-tied power electronic converter (Fig. 8, converters 815a -815d); and
at least one power conversion unit (Fig. 8, converters 815a – 815d) connected to the bipolar DC power busway, wherein the at least one power conversion unit is configured to receive or send electric power from at least one of the independent DC voltages. (Fig. 8 voltage between V+ and N or V- and N)
Re Claim 2; Urry discloses wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter (845) comprises a first protective earth line (840), and the at least one power conversion unit (815a) comprises a second protective earth line (840) (Fig. 8 and also see Par 53).
Re Claim 3; Urry discloses wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line, a middle line, and a negative line. (Fig. 8)
Re Claim 6; Urry discloses wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a third protective earth line connected the grid-tied power electronic converter with the at least one power conversion unit. (Fig. 8)
Re Claim 7; Urry discloses wherein the bipolar DC power busway further comprises a positive line, a middle line, and a negative line. (Fig. 8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urry
Re Claims 4 and 5; Urry discloses the positive line, and a breaker connected to the negative line.
Urry does not disclose further comprising a breaker connected to the positive line, and a breaker or fuse connected to the negative line.
However, Fuse and breakers are known to be used as protection devices for overcurrent and/or over voltage devices and it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added a fuse or breaker to the bus in order to protect the load from overvoltage or current by tripping the fuse or opening the breaker. .
Claim(s) 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urry in view of Wang et al. (US 2014/0307481)
Re Claim 8; Urry discloses the Bipolar bus as discussed above
Urry does not disclose wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises a first transformer and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the first transformer comprises a primary coil and identical first and second secondary coils all wound around a same core, wherein one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the first secondary coil, and another one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the second secondary coil, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between the two output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters.
However, wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises a first transformer and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the first transformer comprises a primary coil and identical first and second secondary coils all wound around a same core, wherein one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the first secondary coil, and another one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the second secondary coil, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between the two output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters. (Fig. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the converters shown by Wang to the bus of Urry in order to be able to couple AC devices to the DC bus to maximum the bus usage by not limiting the bus only to DC sources
Re Claim 9; Wang discloses wherein the output AC to DC converters are both bridge rectifiers. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 10; Wang discloses the at least one power conversion unit comprises a second transformer, and two inverters, wherein the second transformer comprises two primary coils and a secondary coil all wound around a same core, wherein the two primary coils are connected to the two inverters, respectively, and wherein one of the inverters is connected between the positive line and the middle line, and another one of the inverters is connected between the middle line and the negative line. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 11; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit further comprises an AC to DC converter connected to the secondary coil.(Fig. 3)
Re Claim 12; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit comprises two second transformers, and two inverters, wherein the two second transformers are connected to the two inverters, respectively, and wherein one of the inverters is connected between the positive line and the middle line, and another one of the inverters is connected between the middle line and the negative line. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 13; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit further comprises two AC to DC converters connected to secondary coils of the two second transformers, respectively, and outputs of the two AC to DC converters are connected in parallel. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 14; Urry discloses the Bipolar bus as discussed above.
Urry does not disclose wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises three single phase power converters, each of the single phase power converters comprises a plurality of converters, each converter comprises a AC to DC converter, a DC to AC converter, a first transformer, and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the first transformer comprises a primary coil and identical first and second secondary coils all wound around a same core, wherein one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the first secondary coil, and another one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the second secondary coil, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between two of the output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters.
However, Wang discloses grid-tied power electronic converter comprises single phase power converters, the single phase power converters comprises a plurality of converters, each converter comprises a AC to DC converter, (352, 354) a DC to AC converter, (326, 328) a first transformer, (in the middle of the converters) and two output AC to DC converters, (310, 318) wherein the first transformer comprises a primary coil and identical first and second secondary coils all wound around a same core, wherein one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the first secondary coil, and another one of the output AC to DC converters is connected to the second secondary coil, (Fig. 3) wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, (310) a middle line connected between two of the output AC to DC converters, (314) and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters. (318)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the converters shown by Wang to the bus of Urry in order to be able to couple AC devices to the DC bus to maximum the bus usage by not limiting the bus only to DC sources
Re Claim 15; Urry discloses the Bipolar bus as discussed above.
Urry does not disclose
wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises two first transformers and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the two AC to DC converters are connected to the two first transformers, respectively, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between the two output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters.
However, Wang discloses wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises two first transformers and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the two AC to DC converters are connected to the two first transformers, respectively, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between the two output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the converters shown by Wang to the bus of Urry in order to be able to couple AC devices to the DC bus to maximum the bus usage by not limiting the bus only to DC sources
Re Claim 16; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit comprises a second transformer, and two inverters, wherein the second transformer comprises two primary coils and a secondary coil all wound around a same core, wherein the two primary coils are connected to the two inverters, respectively, and wherein one of the inverters is connected between the positive line and the middle line, and another one of the inverters is connected between the middle line and the negative line. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 17; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit further comprises an AC to DC converter connected to the secondary coil. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 18; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit comprises two second transformers, and two inverters, wherein the two second transformers are connected to the two inverters, respectively, and wherein one of the inverters is connected between the positive line and the middle line, and another one of the inverters is connected between the middle line and the negative line. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 19; Wang discloses wherein the at least one power conversion unit further comprises two AC to DC converters connected to secondary coils of the two second transformers, respectively, and outputs of the two AC to DC converters are connected in parallel. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 20; Wang discloses wherein the grid-tied power electronic converter comprises three single phase power converters, each of the single phase power converters comprises a plurality of converters, each converter comprises an AC to DC converter, two DC to AC converters, two first transformers, and two output AC to DC converters, wherein the two output AC to DC converters are connected to the two first transformers, respectively, and wherein the bipolar DC power busway comprises a positive line connected to a positive end of one of the output AC to DC converters, a middle line connected between the two output AC to DC converters, and a negative line connected to a negative end of another one of the output AC to DC converters. (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836