DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
Claims 1, 3-4 14 are amended and field on 3/23/2026.
Claims 28-29 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15, 17-18, 21-24, 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Stern (US. 20170182290A1).
Re Claim 14, Stern discloses a medical tubing (Fig. 1-6b) comprising: a tubular body (12, Fig. 1) having a first region (17c in Fig. 1, lower portion of 30 in Fig. 3a under the A-A line) adjacent to a second region (17b in Fig. 1, upper portion of 30 in Fig. 3a above the A-A line) each extending along an axial length of the tubular body (Fig. 1); and a plurality of material sections (18a, 18b, 20a, 20b, ¶0161, ¶0170) extending spirally along the axial length forming a wall of the first region and the second region of the tubular body (18a, 18b, 20a, 20b, forming a wall 24, 28, ¶0161, ¶0170); wherein in the first region, each of the plurality of material sections in the first region comprises a first polymer (20b) comprises a first hardness (20b polymer include stainless steel, ¶0170 due to the stainless steel); wherein at the second region at least one of the plurality of material sections comprises one or more polymers (18a) having a second hardness less than the first hardness (hardness of the nitinol is less than the hardness of the stainless steel, ¶0170).
Re Claim 15, Stern discloses wherein in the second region at least one of the plurality of material sections comprises the first polymer (20b, Fig. 3a).
Re Claim 17, Stern discloses wherein in the second region at least one of the plurality of material sections comprises the first polymer having a uniform width along at least a portion of the second region (20b, Fig. 3a).
Re Claim 18, Stern discloses further comprising an inner liner that is interior to the tubular body (22, Fig. 2, Fig. 3b).
Re Claim 21, Stern discloses wherein the plurality of material sections extends in in a right-hand wind direction in the first region (¶0156).
Re Claim 22, Stern discloses wherein the plurality of material sections extends in in a left-hand wind direction in the first region ( if viewed from proximal direction, ¶0156).
Re Claim 23, Stern discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of material sections comprises a non-fusable material (Fig. 3a).
Re Claim 24, Stern discloses further comprising a soft distal tip section (12b,¶0164, distal portion is more flexible than the other portion, ¶00192).
Re Claim 27, Stern discloses wherein, in at least the first region, the plurality of material sections includes at least one identifiable material section that is visually distinguishable from a remainder of the plurality of material sections, where the at least one identifiable material section comprises the first hardness (stainless steel can be visualized under the imaging technology, ¶0217).
Re Claim 28, Stern discloses wherein the wall is an exterior wall of both the first region and second region of the tubular body (24, 28 are the exterior wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern in view of Gilmartin (US. 20030191451A1) and further in view of Palmer et al. (US, 20180289925A1) (“Palmer”).
Re Claim 1, Stern discloses a medical tubing ( Fig, 1-6b) comprising: a tubular body having an axis extending lengthwise (12, Fig. 1, 30 in Fig. 3a-b, ¶0170), the tubular body having a first region (17b) and a second region (17c), wherein both the first region and the second region extend along the axis (Fig. 1) and both the first region and the second region a wall (24. 28) formed from a plurality of material sections (18a, 18b, 20a, 20b, 24) that extend spirally along the axis (28 and 24, Fig. 2, Fig, 3a, ¶0170); the plurality of material sections including a reinforcement material section 20b, ¶0170) located between a first plurality of an adjacent material section in the first region and a second plurality of adjacent material section in the second region (Fig. 1, Fig. 3a) wherein the reinforcement material section extends in a continuous spiral over the first region and over the second region (20b, ¶0170), and it further disclose that materials section can be from different material (¶0170) and the tubular body has increasing hardness along the body (¶0167), it fails to disclose that the reinforcement material section comprises a first hardness in the first region and a second hardness in the second region, where the first hardness is different than the second hardness and wherein the first plurality of adjacent material sections is different from the second plurality of adjacent material sections.
However, Gilmartin discloses a medical tube (Fig, 1-2a) comprise a reinforcement material (22, Fig. 1) and plurality of material ( 14, 18, 20) wherein the reinforcement material section comprises a first hardness in the first region (left portion, ¶0020) and a second hardness in the second region (right portion, ¶0020), where the first hardness is different than the second hardness (¶0020, wherein the width of the strap can changes to change the flexibility/stiffness, ¶0034).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the reinforcement material section of Stern so that the reinforcement material section comprises a first hardness in the first region and a second hardness in the second region, where the first hardness is different than the second hardness as taught by Gilmartin for the purpose of having tubular member with a desired of degree stiffness (Gilmartin, ¶0020).
The modified Stern fails to disclose that the first plurality of adjacent material sections is different from the second plurality of adjacent material sections.
However, Palmer discloses a catheter (Fig, 14-18) a tubular body with a first plurality of adjacent material (right to 160, 154, 350, 150 and 130) which different that a second plurality of adjacent material (left to 160, 152, 350, 150 and 130, at least 154 and 152 are different, ¶0208).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the first plurality material section and the second plurality material section of Stern so that the first plurality of adjacent material sections is different from the second plurality of adjacent material sections as taught by Palmer for the purpose of capability of changing the stiffness (Palmer, ¶0198).
Re Claim 2, Stern fails to disclose wherein in the first region the reinforcement material section comprises a first structural dimension and in the second region the reinforcement material section comprises a second structural dimension different than the first structural dimension.
However, Gilmartin discloses a medical tube (Fig, 1-2a) comprise a reinforcement material (22, Fig. 1) and plurality of material ( 14, 18, 20) has in the first region ( left section) the reinforcement material section comprises a first structural dimension (width, ¶0020) and in the second region ( right portion ) the reinforcement material section comprises a second structural dimension different than the first structural dimension (width ¶0020, wherein the width of the strap can changes to change the flexibility/stiffness, ¶0034).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the reinforcement material section of Stern so that in the first region the reinforcement material section comprises a first structural dimension and in the second region the reinforcement material section comprises a second structural dimension different than the first structural dimension. as taught by Gilmartin for the purpose of having tubular member with a desired of degree stiffness (Gilmartin, ¶0020).
Re Claim 3, Stern discloses wherein the first hardness is greater than a respective hardness of each of the first plurality of adjacent material sections (stainless steel is harder than nitinol, ¶0170).
Re Claim 4, Stern discloses wherein the second hardness is greater than a respective hardness of each of the second plurality of adjacent material sections (stainless steel is harder than nitinol, ¶0170, wherein 20b include steel can be made from a material harder than 20a which may include steel , or nitinol).
Re Claim 5, Stern discloses further comprising an inner liner that is interior to the tubular body (22, ¶0152).
Re Claim 6, Stern discloses further comprising a reinforcement structure is exterior to the inner liner (Fig. 3b).
Re Claim 7, Stern discloses wherein the reinforcement structure is embedded within the wall (28, Fig. 3b).
Re Claim 8, Stern discloses wherein the plurality of material sections extends in in a right-hand wind direction in the first region (¶0156).
Re Claim 9, Stern discloses wherein the plurality of material sections extends in in a left-hand wind direction in the first region (¶0156, if the point of view from proximal end).
Re Claim 10, Stern discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of material sections comprises a non-fusable material (¶0170).
Re Claim 11, Stern discloses further comprising a soft distal tip section (12b,¶0164, distal portion is more flexible than the other portion, ¶00192).
Re Claim 29, Stern discloses wherein the wall is an exterior wall of both the first region and second region of the tubular body (24, 28 are the exterior wall).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern in view of Gilmartin and Palmer and further in view of Takagi et al. (US. 20100030165A1) (“Takagi”).
Re Claim 12, Stern fails to disclose wherein the soft distal tip section comprises a single material.
However, Takagi disclose a catheter (Fig.4) and wherein the soft distal tip section comprises a single material (4, Fig. 1, ¶0067-¶0068).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the reinforcement material section of Stern so that the soft distal tip section comprises a single material as taught by Takagi for the purpose of having tubular member with a desired tip with flexibility from an art recognized material (Takagi, ¶0067-¶0068).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern in view of Gilmartin and Palmer and further in view of Wada (US. 20190134348A1).
Re Claim 13, Stern discloses wherein the tubular body comprises a proximal region located (17a) proximally to both the first region and the second region (Fig. 1), but it fails to disclose that the proximal region comprising a single material.
However, Wada disclose a catheter (Fig.1-3) and wherein the tubular body comprises a proximal region (14c, Fig. 3 at line -e-) located proximally to both the first region (region at line -d- )and the second region (region at line -c-) , the proximal region comprising a single material (Fig. 3, ¶0037, ¶0051).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the proximal region of the tubular body of Stern so that the proximal region comprising a single material as taught by Wada for the purpose of having tubular member with a hardest material as an art recognized material (Wada, ¶00637, ¶0051).
Claim(s) 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern in view of Plamer et al. (US. 20180289925A1) (“Plamer”).
Re Claim 16, Stern fails to disclose wherein the first polymer is terminated before or in the second region.
However, Plamer disclose a catheter (Fig.17) and wherein the first polymer (152, ¶0181, Fig. 17) is terminated before or in the second region ( first region left until 160 and second region right start at 160).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the first polymer of Stern so that the first polymer is terminated before or in the second region as taught by Plamer for the purpose of controlling the saltiness of the tubular member (Plamer, ¶0189).
Re Claim 19, Stern fails to disclose further comprising a reinforcement structure exterior to the inner liner.
However, Plamer disclose a catheter (Fig.17) and wherein a reinforcement structure (120, ¶0180) exterior to the inner liner (110, ¶0180).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify tubular body of Stern to include a reinforcement structure so that the tubular body further comprising a reinforcement structure exterior to the inner liner as taught by Plamer for the purpose of controlling the saltiness of the tubular member (Plamer, ¶0180).
Re Claim 20, Stern fails to disclose wherein the reinforcement structure is embedded within the wall.
However, Plamer disclose a catheter (Fig.17) and wherein a reinforcement structure (120, ¶0180) is embedded within the wall (130, ¶0180).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify tubular body of Stern to include a reinforcement structure so that the reinforcement structure is embedded within the wall as taught by Plamer for the purpose of controlling the saltiness of the tubular member (Plamer, ¶0180).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern in view of Takagi et al. (US. 20100030165A1) (“Takagi”).
Re Claim 25, Stern fails to disclose wherein the soft distal tip section comprises a single material.
However, Takagi disclose a catheter (Fig.4) and wherein the soft distal tip section comprises a single material (4, Fig. 1, ¶0067-¶0068).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the reinforcement material section of Stern so that the soft distal tip section comprises a single material as taught by Takagi for the purpose of having tubular member with a desired tip with flexibility from an art recognized material (Takagi, ¶0067-¶0068).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern in view of Wada (US. 20190134348A1).
Re Claim 26, Stern discloses wherein the tubular body comprises a proximal region located (17a) proximally to both the first region and the second region (Fig. 1), but it fails to disclose that the proximal region comprising a single material.
However, Wada disclose a catheter (Fig.1-3) and wherein the tubular body comprises a proximal region (14c, Fig. 3 at line -e-) located proximally to both the first region (region at line -d- )and the second region (region at line -c-) , the proximal region comprising a single material (Fig. 3, ¶0037, ¶0051).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the proximal region of the tubular body of Stern so that the proximal region comprising a single material as taught by Wada for the purpose of having tubular member with a hardest material as an art recognized material (Wada, ¶00637, ¶0051).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 with respect to claims 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Stern fails to discloses a first region has a first polymer that comprises a first hardness and a second region comprises a second polymer comprises a second hardness. This is found not persuasive as Stern discloses 1a-b. 20a-b are polymer and may include nitinol and steel see ¶0160-¶0161 and ¶0170.
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 3/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Stern in view of and Plamer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783