DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gokhale (US 2009/0057381).
1: Gokhale teaches a food container (food container 10) comprising: a base (base 2) comprising: a top surface having a perimeter (top surface generally indicated as areas between 4 and 16, Figure 1, having a perimeter along the edges of 16); and at least one of: a circular groove in the top surface, the circular groove extending around a center of the top surface and positioned between the perimeter and the center of the top surface; a plurality of partial circumferential grooves extending along circles centered on the center of the top surface; or a plurality of protrusions (protrusion 8 with rounded edges, protruding upward forming a dome shape, see Figure 1) extending upward from the top surface, wherein the plurality of protrusions are dome-shaped.
2: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises compostable fiber (made from molded paper pulp, which is a fibrous material, paragraph 0038-0039).
3: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises at least one of molded sugarcane fiber, molded wood fiber, molded bamboo fiber, or molded paper (made from molded paper pulp, which is a fibrous material, paragraph 0038-0039).
5: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the top surface is planar and upwardly facing (the surface at 16 and between 4 is planar, see Figure 2).
6: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the perimeter is circular (see circular perimeter at 16, Figure 1).
7: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises the circular groove (groove formed between 8 and the sidewall of 20).
8: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises a central well at the center of the top surface (a central well formed from portions 8, located centrally at the base of 2, surrounding the well, in the top surface, see Figure 1A below).
10: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises a plurality of radial grooves in the top surface (radially extending, from the center out to the perimeter, grooves between portions 8, see Figure 1A above).
11: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises a central well at the center of the top surface, and wherein the plurality of radial grooves comprise first radial grooves extending from the perimeter to the central well (grooves between 8 extend from the perimeter at 16, to the central well, located at the center of 2, see Figure 1A above).
15: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises the plurality of partial circumferential grooves (see Figure 1A above), and wherein each partial circumferential groove from the plurality of partial circumferential grooves extends from a respective radial groove from the plurality of radial grooves (see Figure 1A above).
17: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises the plurality of protrusions (protrusion 8 with rounded edges, protruding upward forming a dome shape, see Figure 1).
18: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches that the base comprises a sidewall extending upward from the perimeter (sidewall below 28, Figure 1).
19: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Gokhale further teaches a cover (lid 12) sized and shaped to provide an interior chamber with the base (chamber formed by the interior of 2 and 12) when the cover is engaged with the base to close the interior chamber (closed interior chamber when 12 and 2 are bought together).
20: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 19 and Gokhale further teaches the cover comprises: a central planar portion; an outer circumferential portion outside of and raised above the central planar portion; and a side wall depending from the outer circumferential portion (see Markup Figure 1B below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gokhale (US 2009/0057381) in view of Chiang et al. (Chiang US 2017/0275077).
4: Gokhale teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for either interpretation of Claim 1 except for the explicit teaching of the base includes at least one of molded plastic, molded biodegradable plastic, molded thermoplastic, molded bio-based plastic, molded recycled plastic, or molded recyclable plastic.
Chiang teaches that the material of choice for compostable food containers are molded plastic or molded paper, abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gokhale such that the material of choice is of a molded plastic since paper or plastics are known substitute for one another in the art since such materials are known equivalent in the art. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,466,603 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,999,525. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions are directed to a food container comprising: a base comprising: a food-receiving portion comprising a planar surface that is upwardly facing and has a perimeter; a central well extending into the planar surface; first radial grooves extending into the planar surface, the first radial grooves extending from the perimeter to the central well; and at least one of: a circular groove in the planar surface, the circular groove extending around the central well and positioned between the perimeter and the central well, the groove being in fluid communication with the first radial grooves and having a closed shape; a plurality of partial circumferential grooves extending along circles centered on a center of the central well; or a plurality of protrusions extending upward from the planar surface, wherein the plurality of protrusions are dome-shaped
Conclusion
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735