Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (FIG. 7) in the reply filed on 15 July 2026 is acknowledged.
It is noted, no claims is/are withdrawn from further consideration as a result of the reply filed on 31 March 2025.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 15 July 2026.
Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a root portion configured to extend outwardly in a diametrical direction from the hub portion without twisting; and a blade portion disposed between the root portion and a blade end, and configured to be twisted at a twisting angle with respect to the root portion, and to be capable of generating a propeller airflow,” (emphasis added) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 8. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4:
The claim language, "wherein the propeller drive unit is a motor," renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the propeller drive unit is required, since the propeller drive unit in claim 1 is mentioned in the preamble as an intended use, and the claim is directed to a cooling structure, not a propeller drive unit.
Regarding Claim 8:
The claim language, "when viewed from an axial direction of the propeller, the vane portion is disposed more outwardly in the diametrical direction than the propeller," renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the vane portion can be disposed more outwardly than the propeller, since the vane portion itself makes up a part of the propeller.
Regarding Claims 5-6:
Claims 5-6 are rejected by virtue of dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Edens et al (US 12448142), hereafter referred to as Edens.
Regarding Claim 1, Edens discloses the following:
A cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) for cooling a propeller (34) drive unit (20c) configured to rotate and drive an aircraft propeller (34) (see FIG. 1), the cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) comprising:
a fan (42; FIG. 2; Col. 3, lines 50-65) configured to supply a cooling air to an outer peripheral part (45; FIG. 13) of the propeller (34) drive unit (20c); and
an airflow straightening vane (158; FIG. 13-14) configured to straighten the cooling air (see Col. 11, lines 30-40).
Regarding Claim 2, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 1,
further comprising a housing (44; FIG. 13) in which the propeller (34) drive unit (20c) is accommodated, wherein the airflow straightening vane (158; FIG. 13-14) is disposed in an interior of the housing (44; FIG. 13) and faces toward the outer peripheral part (45; FIG. 13) of the propeller (34) drive unit (20c).
Regarding Claim 3, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 1, wherein
the fan (42; FIG. 2; Col. 3, lines 50-65) and the air guide vane (158; FIG. 13-14) are provided respectively in a plurality, and
each of the plurality of fans (42; FIG. 2; Col. 3, lines 50-65) and each of the plurality of airflow guide vanes (158; FIG. 13-14) are disposed alternately in the axial direction of a rotating part provided in the propeller (34) drive unit (20c).
Regarding Claim 4, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 1,
wherein the propeller (34) drive unit (20c) is a motor (70).
Regarding Claim 7, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 1, wherein
the propeller (34) is capable of generating a propeller (34) airflow that flows downwardly with respect to an aircraft body of the aircraft, and
the propeller (34) airflow flows in an opposite direction to the direction in which the cooling air flows.
Regarding Claim 9, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 1,
wherein the airflow straightening vane (158; FIG. 13-14) comprises a coolant (134) flow portion (160; Col. 10, lines 30-35) in an interior thereof through which a coolant (134) flows.
Regarding Claim 10, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 9,
wherein the coolant (134) cools the propeller (34) drive unit (20c).
Regarding Claim 11, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 2,
wherein an outer peripheral surface of the housing (44; FIG. 13) comprises a projecting part (44c; FIG. 13 or alternatively 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edens et al (US 12448142), hereafter referred to as Edens.
Regarding Claim 8, Edens discloses the following:
The cooling structure (83c; FIG. 13-14; Col. 10, line 20 - Col. 11, line 40) according to claim 2, wherein
the propeller (34) comprises:
a hub portion (36); and
a plurality of blades (34) configured to be extended outwardly in a diametrical direction of the hub portion (36),
each of the plurality of blades comprises:
a blade portion disposed between the root portion and a blade end, and configured to be twisted at a twisting angle with respect to the root portion (see Col. 7, lines 5-40), and to be capable of generating a propeller (34) airflow,
when viewed from an axial direction of the propeller (34), the vane (158; FIG. 13-14) portion is disposed more outwardly (in as much as the Instant Application) in the diametrical direction than the propeller (34).
Edens does not explicitly disclose the following:
a root portion configured to extend outwardly in a diametrical direction from the hub portion without twisting;
However Edens teaches the following:
the design of the spanwise twist of the blades is a results effective variable that affects the exit pressure of the fan (see Col. 7, lines 0-40);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the twist of root of the fan blades as disclosed by Edens; with the expected result of affecting the exit pressure of the fan (see Edens, Col. 7, lines 0-40)l Therein it is known that design of the spanwise twist of the blade is a result effective variable effecting the exit pressure of the fan, and thus an optimization of the twist of the blade, such that the root portion is without twisting, could be undertaken following the extension of the same logic, as disclosed by Edens, under the same known conditions, and using the same result effective variable. (See MPEP 2144.05, II, B.)
Edens as modified still does not disclose the following:
a direction in which the propeller airflow flows and a direction in which the cooling air flows are opposite to each other, and
However the Examiner notes the following:
it is well known in the art (Official Notice) that the positioning of the pressure and suction sides of a blade is a results effective variable that affects the direction of the airflow.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure and suction sides of the blades, as taught by Edens, by reversing the pressure and suction sides, with the reasonable expectation of changing the direction of the airflow through the cooling structure, as taught by Official Notice. It is noted, the courts have held that the mere reversal of parts was held to be an obvious modification, in this instance the pressure and suction sides are merely being reversed. (See MPEP 2144.04, VI, A.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6 would appear to be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claims 5 and 6:
a rotor to which the propeller is connected, and further, which is disposed outwardly in a diametrical direction of the stator and is configured to rotate relatively with respect to the stator,
Regarding Claim 12:
each of the plurality of fan side end parts and the plurality of vane side end parts is formed in an inclined manner with respect to the axial direction, and an angle of inclination of the fan side end part with respect to the axial direction is substantially the same as an angle of inclination of the vane side end parts with respect to the axial direction (Examiner Note: [0096] discloses the aforementioned limitation(s) make it possible to effectively suppress the loss of speed (the energy loss) of the cooling air that is discharged by the plurality of fans);
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Edens et al (US 12448142).
The Examiner notes Edens is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar motor cooling arrangements see Pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745