Claims 1-25 are currently under review.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on October 22, 2025 and May 29, 2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Per paragraph 57 of the specification, figure 4 is indicated as a conventional circuit arrangement.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, line 2: “[[the]]a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially”
Claim 9, line 1: “The apparatus of claim 9, further comprising:”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 12-13, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hotelling et al. (Pub. No.: US 2007/0229464 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hotelling.
With respect to Claim 1, Hotelling discloses an apparatus (fig. 1, item 100: touch pad device; ¶20) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 1, items 110, 125, and 135) to: provide first capacitive node measurements for capacitive touch detection responsive to touch at a respective one of multiple touch points within a capacitive touch sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 1; ¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates”), the first capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes of the capacitive touch sensor (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and provide second capacitive node measurements for force detection responsive to touch surface depression at a respective one of one or more force regions of the capacitive touch sensor, the second capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes of the capacitive touch sensor (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Hoteling discloses wherein: the capacitive touch sensor comprises a number of vertically-stacked layers (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶20-21); and respective ones of the one or more force regions comprise vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶20-21).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Hoteling discloses wherein: the respective ones of the one or more force regions comprising the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions comprise vertically-displaceable, flexible (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶21), or compressible portions adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced responsive to the touch surface depression (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶21).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated, Hoteling discloses wherein: the one or more vertically-stacked layers of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions include at least an electrode layer of the capacitive touch sensor (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶21).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated, Hoteling discloses wherein: the number of vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor include: a drive electrode layer including drive electrodes (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135; ¶20-21); a sense electrode layer including sense electrodes (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110; ¶20-21), the drive electrode layer and the sense electrode layer arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes at which changes in capacitance are sensed (¶20-21); and the one or more vertically-stacked layers of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions include at least the sense electrode layer (figs. 2A and 2B, items 110 and 135 are vertically displaced as force is applied).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Hoteling discloses comprising: a touch controller (figs. 3 or 4, item 305; ¶23; ¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410. One function of analysis circuit 410 is to convert the detected analog capacitance values to digital form (e.g., through A-to-D converters). Another function of analysis circuit is to queue up a plurality of digitized capacitance values for transmission to host processor 320 (see FIG. 3). Yet another function of analysis circuit is to control drive circuit 400 and, perhaps, to dynamically adjust operation of sense circuits 405 (e.g., such as by changing the threshold value at which a "change" in capacitance is detected)”) to: receive the first capacitive node measurements; detect, at least partially based on the first capacitive node measurements indicating the reduction in capacitance, a touch event responsive to the touch at the respective one of the multiple touch points within the capacitive touch-sensitive area (¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); receive the second capacitive node measurements; and detect, at least partially based on the second capacitive node measurements indicating the increase in capacitance, a touch surface depression event responsive to the touch surface depression at the respective one of the one or more force regions (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27).
With respect to Claim 9, Hoteling discloses an apparatus (fig. 1, item 100: touch pad device; ¶20) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 1, items 110, 125, and 135) comprising a number of vertically-stacked layers (fig. 1; ¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates” – each of the nodes is a vertically-stacked layer) including: a drive electrode layer including drive electrodes (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135; ¶20-21); a sense electrode layer including sense electrodes (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110; ¶20-21), the drive electrode layer and the sense electrode layer arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes at which changes in capacitance are sensed (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and a number of force regions comprising vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 1; ¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates” – each of the nodes is a force region comprising a vertically-displaceable sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor), the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions including at least the sense electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B), the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions including at least the sense electrode layer adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced towards the drive electrode layer responsive to touch surface depression (figs. 2A and 2B; ¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated, Hotelling discloses wherein: the capacitive touch sensor includes: a protective layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 105; ¶21) over the sense electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110; ¶20); an insulating layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 125: dielectric spring layer, the dielectric spring layer is an insulator) between the sense electrode layer and the drive electrode layer; and the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are of the protective layer, the sense electrode layer, and the insulating layer (fig. 1; ¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates” – each of the nodes is a force region comprising a vertically-displaceable sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor are part of the protective layer since it moves vertically), the insulating layer of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions comprising a flexible, compressible, or air gap layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶39).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 9 is incorporated, Hotelling discloses wherein: the capacitive touch sensor is to: provide capacitive node measurements for capacitive touch detection responsive to touch at a respective one of multiple touch points within a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A), the respective one of the multiple touch points corresponding to one or more first capacitive nodes of the array (¶35, “The manner in which drive traces and cut across or intersect with sense traces, however, generally depends on the coordinate system used. In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates” – the nodes correspond to touch points); and provide capacitive node measurements for force detection responsive to touch surface depression at a respective one of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of the capacitive touch sensor (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27), the respective one of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions corresponding to one or more second capacitive nodes of the array (¶35, “The manner in which drive traces and cut across or intersect with sense traces, however, generally depends on the coordinate system used. In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates” – the nodes correspond to vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions corresponding to one or more second capacitive nodes of the array).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated, Hotelling discloses wherein: the capacitive node measurements for the capacitive touch detection responsive to the touch indicate a reduction in capacitance at the one or more first capacitive nodes of the array (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and the capacitive node measurements for the force detection responsive to the touch surface depression indicate an increase in capacitance at the one or more second capacitive nodes of the array (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27).
With respect to Claim 18, Hotelling teaches a method (¶24, implemented via touch controller) comprising: at a touch controller (fig. 4 item 305; ¶24), receiving capacitive node measurements of a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, received via item 405 of item 305; ¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”); detecting, at least partially based on the capacitive node measurements, a touch event responsive to a touch within a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, detected via item 410 of item 305; ¶24; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and detecting, at least partially based on the capacitive node measurements, a touch surface depression event responsive to a touch surface depression at a force region of the capacitive touch sensor (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶24; ¶27).
With respect to Claim 21, claim 18 is incorporated, Hotelling teaches wherein: detecting the touch event comprises the capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes associated with the capacitive touch-sensitive area (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and detecting the touch surface depression event comprises the capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes associated with the force region (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27).
With respect to Claim 22, claim 18 is incorporated, Hotelling teaches wherein: detecting the touch event comprises, for one or more first capacitive nodes associated with the capacitive touch-sensitive area: receiving one or more first voltage levels associated with first capacitive node measurements from the one or more first capacitive nodes (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and determining that the one or more first voltage levels are outside a first limit set by a first threshold value (¶22, ¶27, the first threshold is steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal (as measured via connectors 120 and 145 in FIG. 1), a first limit is a detected level of decrease); detecting the touch surface depression event comprises, for one or more second capacitive nodes associated with the force region: receiving one or more second voltage levels associated with second capacitive node measurements from the one or more second capacitive nodes (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶24; ¶27); and determining that the one or more second voltage levels are outside a second limit set by a second threshold value (¶21, ¶24, ¶27, the second threshold/second limit is the detected level of increase).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosenberg et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0278967 A1) hereinafter referred to as Rosenberg.
With respect to Claim 18, Rosenberg discloses a method (fig. 4; ¶23) comprising: at a touch controller, receiving capacitive node measurements of a capacitive touch sensor (¶13, “The controller 160 can execute Blocks of the method S100 to: interpret changes in capacitance between drive electrode and sense electrode pairs as local positions of light touches and/or initial contact of heavy touches on the tactile surface, which displace the force-sensitive layer 130 toward the pressure sensor array and thus locally compress the air gap 150); and to interpret changes in resistance between drive electrode and sense electrode pairs as local positions and force magnitudes of touches on the tactile surface”); detecting, at least partially based on the capacitive node measurements, a touch event responsive to a touch within a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, item S140; ¶12, “sampling an output signal at a sense electrode in the first drive electrode and sense electrode pair in Block S130; calculating a capacitance value between the drive electrode and the sense electrode based on an AC component of the output signal in Block S140”); and detecting, at least partially based on the capacitive node measurements, a touch surface depression event responsive to a touch surface depression at a force region of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, item S160; ¶12, “calculating a force magnitude and location of the input on the touch sensor surface 140 based on the resistance value and the capacitance value in Block S160”).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 18 is incorporated, Rosenberg discloses wherein the force region of the capacitive touch sensor comprises a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 2, from time t0 to t3 the airgap distance is reduced, therefore the capacitive touch sensor comprises a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor), the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor comprising a vertically-displaceable, flexible, or compressible portion adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced responsive to the touch surface depression (fig. 2, “compression”).
With respect to Claim 20, claim 18 is incorporated, Rosenberg discloses wherein the capacitive touch sensor includes a drive electrode layer and a sense electrode layer (¶12, “detecting an input on a touch sensor surface 140 comprising a set of drive electrode and sense electrode pairs and a conductive force-sensitive layer 130 in Block S110, driving a drive electrode in a first drive electrode and sense electrode pair to a reference potential in Block S120; sampling an output signal at a sense electrode in the first drive electrode and sense electrode pair in Block S130”), the drive electrode layer and the sense electrode layer arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes at which changes in capacitance are sensed (fig. 2; the drive electrode layer and the sense electrode layer are in a same layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotelling as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Chatterjee et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0162109 A1) hereinafter referred to as Chatterjee.
With respect to Claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated, Hoteling does not explicitly indicate wherein: the capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially rigid, non-perpendicularly-displaceable area; and respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of the one or more vertically stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor are mechanically isolated or separated from the capacitive touch-sensitive area and adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced toward the drive electrode layer, relative to the capacitive touch-sensitive area, responsive to touch surface depression.
Chatterjee teaches an apparatus (fig. 4, item 40; ¶84) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, item 45; ¶85, “The sensing layer 45 can be widely varied. In one example, the sensing layer 45 can be based on capacitance”) to: provide first capacitive node measurements for capacitive touch detection responsive to touch at a respective one of multiple touch points within a capacitive touch sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶85, “In some cases, the sensing layer 45 can even be multipoint sensing, i.e., capable of sensing multiple objects at the same time (simultaneously). In one example, the sensing layer 45 can be associated with touch sensing (or near touch/proximity). The sensing nodes can be configured to cooperate with the shape changeable nodes to change the topography and sensing areas of the user interface”); wherein: the capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially rigid, non-perpendicularly-displaceable area (figs. 1-3; fig. 7, area outside of items 73 and 74; ¶71, “The nodes can include an actuator that can change between physical states, thus causing the nodes to change. For example, the actuator can include a moving member that can move the node from an initial state to a raised or lowered state or that can deform, rather than move, the surface in order to create a shape change”; ¶84, “The nodes can include an actuator that can change between physical states, thus causing the nodes to change. For example, the actuator can include a moving member that can move the node from an initial state to a raised or lowered state or that can deform, rather than move, the surface in order to create a shape change”); and respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of the one or more vertically stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor are mechanically isolated or separated from the capacitive touch-sensitive area and adapted to be flexed (figs. 6-8; ¶105, “each touch screen block can include an individual actuator dedicated thereto. Alternatively, a flexible membrane or the shape changeable membrane with discrete point control can also be used instead of the individual actuators” or fig. 10; ¶113), compressed, or otherwise displaced toward the drive electrode layer, relative to the capacitive touch-sensitive area, responsive to touch surface depression (¶109-111; ¶113).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hotelling, wherein: the capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially rigid, non-perpendicularly-displaceable area; and respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of the one or more vertically stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor are mechanically isolated or separated from the capacitive touch-sensitive area and adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced toward the drive electrode layer, relative to the capacitive touch-sensitive area, responsive to touch surface depression, as taught by Chatterjee so as to provide a user interface that can include a shape changeable surface configured to selectively alter topography of the user interface so as to provide a variable tactile feel of the user interface (¶7).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated, Hoteling teaches wherein: the number of vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor include an insulating layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 125: dielectric spring layer, a dielectric layer is an insulator) between the drive electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135) and the sense electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110); and the one or more vertically-stacked layers of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions include at least the sense electrode layer and the insulating layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B), the insulating layer of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions comprising a flexible, compressible, or air gap layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135).
With respect to Claim 11, claim 9 is incorporated, Hoteling does not explicitly indicate wherein: a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially rigid, non-vertically-displaceable area, and the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are mechanically isolated or separated from the capacitive touch-sensitive area and adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced toward the drive electrode layer, relative to the capacitive touch-sensitive area, responsive to the touch surface depression; or the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions comprise modifications in mechanical, structural, and/or compositional properties of at least the sense electrode layer and a protective layer within the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions.
Chatterjee teaches an apparatus (fig. 4, item 40; ¶84) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, item 45; ¶85, “The sensing layer 45 can be widely varied. In one example, the sensing layer 45 can be based on capacitance”) to: provide first capacitive node measurements for capacitive touch detection responsive to touch at a respective one of multiple touch points within a capacitive touch sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶85, “In some cases, the sensing layer 45 can even be multipoint sensing, i.e., capable of sensing multiple objects at the same time (simultaneously). In one example, the sensing layer 45 can be associated with touch sensing (or near touch/proximity). The sensing nodes can be configured to cooperate with the shape changeable nodes to change the topography and sensing areas of the user interface”); wherein: the capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially rigid, non-perpendicularly-displaceable area (figs. 1-3; fig. 7, area outside of items 73 and 74; ¶71, “The nodes can include an actuator that can change between physical states, thus causing the nodes to change. For example, the actuator can include a moving member that can move the node from an initial state to a raised or lowered state or that can deform, rather than move, the surface in order to create a shape change”; ¶84, “The nodes can include an actuator that can change between physical states, thus causing the nodes to change. For example, the actuator can include a moving member that can move the node from an initial state to a raised or lowered state or that can deform, rather than move, the surface in order to create a shape change”), and the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are mechanically isolated or separated from the capacitive touch-sensitive area and adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced toward the drive electrode layer, relative to the capacitive touch-sensitive area, responsive to the touch surface depression (figs. 6-8; ¶105, “each touch screen block can include an individual actuator dedicated thereto. Alternatively, a flexible membrane or the shape changeable membrane with discrete point control can also be used instead of the individual actuators” or fig. 10; ¶109-111; ¶113).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hotelling, wherein: a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor is a substantially rigid, non-vertically-displaceable area, and the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are mechanically isolated or separated from the capacitive touch-sensitive area and adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced toward the drive electrode layer, relative to the capacitive touch-sensitive area, responsive to the touch surface depression, as taught by Chatterjee so as to provide a user interface that can include a shape changeable surface configured to selectively alter topography of the user interface so as to provide a variable tactile feel of the user interface (¶7).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 9 is incorporated, Hotelling does not explicitly mention wherein: respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are sized to fit a fingertip and are provided with surface textures or haptics for tactile feedback.
Chatterjee teaches an apparatus (fig. 4, item 40; ¶84) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 4, item 45; ¶85, “The sensing layer 45 can be widely varied. In one example, the sensing layer 45 can be based on capacitance”) to: provide first capacitive node measurements for capacitive touch detection responsive to touch at a respective one of multiple touch points within a capacitive touch sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶85, “In some cases, the sensing layer 45 can even be multipoint sensing, i.e., capable of sensing multiple objects at the same time (simultaneously). In one example, the sensing layer 45 can be associated with touch sensing (or near touch/proximity). The sensing nodes can be configured to cooperate with the shape changeable nodes to change the topography and sensing areas of the user interface”); wherein: respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are sized to fit a fingertip and are provided with surface textures or haptics for tactile feedback (fig. 7, items 73 and 74 are sized to fit a fingertip; ¶92, “For example, after detecting a touch event, the shape changeable nodes associated with the touch event can change shape in order to provide feedback to the user as the user interacts with the user interface”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hotelling, wherein: respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are sized to fit a fingertip and are provided with surface textures or haptics for tactile feedback, as taught by Chatterjee so as to provide a user interface that can include a shape changeable surface configured to selectively alter topography of the user interface so as to provide a variable tactile feel of the user interface (¶7).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotelling as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Orita et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0374084 A1) hereinafter referred to as Orita.
With respect to Claim 15, claim 9 is incorporated, Hotelling does not teach comprising: a push button device including: a top surface portion; a bottom surface portion, the bottom surface portion to mount to a touchscreen including the capacitive touch sensor; and a pressure pad member, the pressure pad member to vertically extend from the bottom surface portion, responsive to a depression of the top surface portion, to cause touch surface depression at one of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions.
Orita teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-2; ¶61) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1-2, item 200; ¶62) including: a drive electrode layer including drive electrodes (fig. 2, item 202; ¶65); a sense electrode layer including sense electrodes (fig. 2, item 203; ¶65), the drive electrode layer and the sense electrode layer arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes at which changes in capacitance are sensed (figs. 2 and 8; ¶77); further comprising: a push button device (fig. 1, item 3; fig. 16; fig. 17; ¶61; ¶106) including: a top surface portion (fig. 16, item 12); a bottom surface portion (fig. 16, item 16s attached to fig. 17, item 15), the bottom surface portion to mount to a touchscreen including the capacitive touch sensor (mounted to the touchscreen via an adhesive portion 17 seen in figure 17); and a pressure pad member (figs. 15-16, item 6: conductive elastic portion = pressure pad member; ¶104, “the conductive elastic portion 6 is divided, a width 6b of the conductive elastic portion 6 is preferably larger than the pitch P.sub.E of the tactile electrodes 102”), the pressure pad member to vertically extend from the bottom surface portion, responsive to a depression of the top surface portion, to cause touch surface depression at one of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions (¶144, “a frictional force between the conductive elastic portion 6 and the dielectric layer 106 changes, and minute vibration occurs when the tactile presentation knob 3 is rotated, and the instruction is transmitted to the indicator 2 and felt as an operational feeling when the tactile presentation knob 3 is rotated”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hotelling to further comprise a push button device including: a top surface portion; a bottom surface portion, the bottom surface portion to mount to a touchscreen including the capacitive touch sensor; and a pressure pad member, the pressure pad member to vertically extend from the bottom surface portion, responsive to a depression of the top surface portion, as taught by Orita which due to the frictional forces in combination with vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of Hotelling result in to cause touch surface depression at one of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions so that the user can feel a tactile sense (¶13).
With respect to Claim 16, claim 9 is incorporated, Hotelling does not teach wherein the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are arranged in an annulus of the capacitive touch sensor, the apparatus comprising: a Knob-on-Display (KoD) device comprising a rotary knob including: a top surface portion; a bottom surface portion, the bottom surface portion to mount to a touchscreen including the capacitive touch sensor; and a pressure pad member, the pressure pad member adapted to rotate around the rotary knob, responsive to rotation of the rotary knob, to apply substantially constant touch surface depression at respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions arranged in the annulus for angular position detection of the rotary knob.
Orita teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-2; ¶61) comprising: a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1-2, item 200; ¶62) including: a drive electrode layer including drive electrodes (fig. 2, item 202; ¶65); a sense electrode layer including sense electrodes (fig. 2, item 203; ¶65), the drive electrode layer and the sense electrode layer arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes at which changes in capacitance are sensed (figs. 2 and 8; ¶77); wherein the capacitive nodes are arranged in an annulus of the capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1 and 28, show intersections of capacitive nodes, the groupings of the capacitive nodes may form/be arranged in an annulus), the apparatus comprising: a Knob-on-Display (KoD) device comprising a rotary knob (fig. 1, item 3; fig. 16; fig. 17; ¶61; ¶106) including: a top surface portion (fig. 16, item 12); a bottom surface portion (fig. 16, item 16s attached to fig. 17, item 15), the bottom surface portion to mount to a touchscreen including the capacitive touch sensor (mounted to the touchscreen via an adhesive portion 17 seen in figure 17); and a pressure pad member (figs. 15-16, item 6: conductive elastic portion = pressure pad member; ¶104, “the conductive elastic portion 6 is divided, a width 6b of the conductive elastic portion 6 is preferably larger than the pitch P.sub.E of the tactile electrodes 102”), the pressure pad member adapted to rotate around the rotary knob (¶107), responsive to rotation of the rotary knob, to apply substantially constant touch surface depression (¶108, “to maintain parallelism such that an operation surface of the tactile presentation panel 100 and the conductive elastic portion 6 are in horizontal surface contact with each other”) at respective ones of the capacitive nodes arranged in the annulus for angular position detection of the rotary knob.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hotelling, such that the capacitive nodes of Orita correspond to vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions of Hotelling resulting in wherein the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions are arranged in an annulus of the capacitive touch sensor, the apparatus comprising: a Knob-on-Display (KoD) device comprising a rotary knob including: a top surface portion; a bottom surface portion, the bottom surface portion to mount to a touchscreen including the capacitive touch sensor; and a pressure pad member, the pressure pad member adapted to rotate around the rotary knob, responsive to rotation of the rotary knob, to apply substantially constant touch surface depression at respective ones of the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portions arranged in the annulus for angular position detection of the rotary knob, as taught by Orita so that the user can feel a tactile sense (¶13).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (Pub. No.: US 2024/0411404 A1) in view of Hotelling.
With respect to Claim 23, Hung teaches a touch controller (fig. 1, item 110; ¶37) comprising: one processor (fig. 1, item 114; ¶42); a number of transmit lines for coupling to drive electrodes of a drive electrode layer of a capacitive touch sensor (fig. 1; ¶54, “the driving circuit module 112 may provide driving signals to one of the first electrodes 121 in a time-sharing manner”); a number of receive lines for coupling to sense electrodes of a sense electrode layer of the capacitive touch sensor (fig. 1; ¶54, “the sensing circuit module 113 is commanded to have multiple sensing on all of the second electrodes 122 simultaneously in order to gather multiple one-dimensional arrays of sensing information”), the sense electrode layer and the drive electrode layer of the capacitive touch sensor arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes (fig. 1); a drive circuitry (fig. 1, item 112; ¶39) coupled to the one or more processors and to the number of transmit lines, the drive circuitry to drive modulated signals to the drive electrodes via respective ones of the number of transmit lines (¶39, “The driving signal may be modulated by kinds of analog or digital modulations for carrying some messages”); a sense circuitry (fig. 1, item 113; ¶40) coupled to the one or more processors and the number of receive lines, the sense circuitry to sense capacitive node measurements from the sense electrodes via the respective ones of the number of receive lines (¶40); and the one or more processors to: detect a touch event responsive to the capacitive node measurements (¶54, “the processor module 114 may detect whether there exists an external conductive object approximating or touching the touch screen 120”).
Hung does not teach the one or more processors to: detect a touch event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes associated with a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor; and detect a touch surface depression event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes associated with a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor.
Hotelling teaches a touch controller (fig. 4, item 305) comprising: a number of transmit lines (fig. 4, item 315; ¶24, “during operation drive circuit 400 in touch pad controller 305 sends ("drives" a current through drive signals 315 and connector 145 to each of the plurality of drive layer conductive paths 140”) for coupling to drive electrodes of a drive electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135: drive electrode layer; ¶20) of a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, items 135, 125, and 110: capacitive touch sensor); a number of receive lines (fig. 4, item 310; ¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”) for coupling to sense electrodes of a sense electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110; ¶20) of the capacitive touch sensor, the sense electrode layer and the drive electrode layer of the capacitive touch sensor arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes (¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates”); a drive circuitry (fig. 4, item 400; ¶24) coupled to the number of transmit lines (¶24, “during operation drive circuit 400 in touch pad controller 305 sends ("drives" a current through drive signals 315 and connector 145 to each of the plurality of drive layer conductive paths 140”); a sense circuitry (fig. 4, item 405) coupled to the number of receive lines, the sense circuitry to sense capacitive node measurements from the sense electrodes via the respective ones of the number of receive lines (¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”; and the touch controller configured to: detect a touch event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes associated with a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and detect a touch surface depression event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes associated with a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the touch controller of Hung such that the one or more processors: detect a touch event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes associated with a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor; and detect a touch surface depression event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes associated with a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor, as taught by Hotelling so as to facilitate recognition of an increased array of user input (¶6).
With respect to Claim 24, claim 23 is incorporated, Hung does not teach wherein: the one or more processors are to detect the touch event by, for the one or more first capacitive nodes associated with the capacitive touch-sensitive area: receive one or more first voltage levels associated with first capacitive node measurements from the one or more first capacitive nodes; the one or more processors are to detect the touch surface depression event by, for the one or more second capacitive nodes associated with the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion: receive one or more second voltage levels associated with second capacitive node measurements from the one or more second capacitive nodes; and determine that the one or more second voltage levels are outside a second limit set by a second threshold value, which indicates the increase in the capacitance at the one or more second capacitive nodes.
Hotelling teaches a touch controller (fig. 4, item 305) comprising: a number of transmit lines (fig. 4, item 315; ¶24, “during operation drive circuit 400 in touch pad controller 305 sends ("drives" a current through drive signals 315 and connector 145 to each of the plurality of drive layer conductive paths 140”) for coupling to drive electrodes of a drive electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135: drive electrode layer; ¶20) of a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, items 135, 125, and 110: capacitive touch sensor); a number of receive lines (fig. 4, item 310; ¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”) for coupling to sense electrodes of a sense electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110; ¶20) of the capacitive touch sensor, the sense electrode layer and the drive electrode layer of the capacitive touch sensor arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes (¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates”); a drive circuitry (fig. 4, item 400; ¶24) coupled to the number of transmit lines (¶24, “during operation drive circuit 400 in touch pad controller 305 sends ("drives" a current through drive signals 315 and connector 145 to each of the plurality of drive layer conductive paths 140”); a sense circuitry (fig. 4, item 405) coupled to the number of receive lines, the sense circuitry to sense capacitive node measurements from the sense electrodes via the respective ones of the number of receive lines (¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”; and the touch controller configured to: detect a touch event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes associated with a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and detect a touch surface depression event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes associated with a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27); the touch controller to: detect the touch event by, for the one or more first capacitive nodes associated with the capacitive touch-sensitive area: receive one or more first voltage levels associated with first capacitive node measurements from the one or more first capacitive nodes (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and determine that the one or more first voltage levels are outside a first limit set by a first threshold value (¶22, ¶27, the first threshold is steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal (as measured via connectors 120 and 145 in FIG. 1), a first limit is a detected level of decrease), which indicates the decrease in the capacitance at the one or more first capacitive nodes (¶22; ¶27); the touch controller to: detect the touch surface depression event by, for the one or more second capacitive nodes associated with the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion: receive one or more second voltage levels associated with second capacitive node measurements from the one or more second capacitive nodes (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶24; ¶27); and determine that the one or more second voltage levels are outside a second limit set by a second threshold value (¶21, ¶24, ¶27, the second threshold/second limit is the detected level of increase), which indicates the increase in the capacitance at the one or more second capacitive nodes (¶21; ¶24; ¶27).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the touch controller of Hung wherein: the one or more processors are to detect the touch event by, for the one or more first capacitive nodes associated with the capacitive touch-sensitive area: receive one or more first voltage levels associated with first capacitive node measurements from the one or more first capacitive nodes; the one or more processors are to detect the touch surface depression event by, for the one or more second capacitive nodes associated with the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion: receive one or more second voltage levels associated with second capacitive node measurements from the one or more second capacitive nodes; and determine that the one or more second voltage levels are outside a second limit set by a second threshold value, which indicates the increase in the capacitance at the one or more second capacitive nodes, as taught by Hotelling so as to facilitate recognition of an increased array of user input (¶6).
With respect to Claim 25, claim 23 is incorporated, Hung does not teach wherein the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion is in one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor, the vertically displaceable, sectioned portion adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced responsive to a touch surface depression.
Hotelling teaches a touch controller (fig. 4, item 305) comprising: a number of transmit lines (fig. 4, item 315; ¶24, “during operation drive circuit 400 in touch pad controller 305 sends ("drives" a current through drive signals 315 and connector 145 to each of the plurality of drive layer conductive paths 140”) for coupling to drive electrodes of a drive electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 135: drive electrode layer; ¶20) of a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, items 135, 125, and 110: capacitive touch sensor); a number of receive lines (fig. 4, item 310; ¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”) for coupling to sense electrodes of a sense electrode layer (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B, item 110; ¶20) of the capacitive touch sensor, the sense electrode layer and the drive electrode layer of the capacitive touch sensor arranged to provide an array of interacting electrodes comprising capacitive nodes (¶35, “In a Cartesian coordinate system, for example, sense traces are orthogonal to the driving traces thereby forming nodes with distinct x and y coordinates”); a drive circuitry (fig. 4, item 400; ¶24) coupled to the number of transmit lines (¶24, “during operation drive circuit 400 in touch pad controller 305 sends ("drives" a current through drive signals 315 and connector 145 to each of the plurality of drive layer conductive paths 140”); a sense circuitry (fig. 4, item 405) coupled to the number of receive lines, the sense circuitry to sense capacitive node measurements from the sense electrodes via the respective ones of the number of receive lines (¶24, “Sensing circuits 405 (e.g., charge amplifiers) detect the analog signal from sense signals 310 (via connector 120) and send them to analysis circuit 410”; and the touch controller configured to: detect a touch event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating a reduction in capacitance at one or more first capacitive nodes associated with a capacitive touch-sensitive area of the capacitive touch sensor (¶22, “a cross-sectional view of force detector 100 is shown in its unloaded or "no force" state. In this state, the mutual capacitance between sense layer 110 and drive layer 135 conductive paths (115 and 140) results in a steady-state or quiescent capacitance signal”; ¶27, “In operation touch pad 600 measures the change (e.g., decrease) in capacitance due to cosmetic layer 605 being touched at one or more locations through the mutual capacitance between drive traces 620 and sense traces 625” – the same is true for figures 1 and 2A); and detect a touch surface depression event responsive to the capacitive node measurements indicating an increase in capacitance at one or more second capacitive nodes associated with a vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion of the capacitive touch sensor (¶21, “Dielectric spring layer 125 and raised structures 130 together create a mechanism by which sense layer 110's conductive paths 115 are brought into closer proximity to drive layer 135's conductive paths 140 when a force is applied to cosmetic layer 105. It will be recognized that this change in separation causes the mutual capacitance between sense layer and drive layer conductive paths (115 and 140) to change (increase)--a change indicative of the amount, intensity or strength of the force applied to cosmetic layer 105”; ¶27); wherein the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion is in one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor, the vertically displaceable, sectioned portion adapted to be flexed (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶21), compressed (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶21), or otherwise displaced responsive to a touch surface depression (figs. 1, 2A, and 2B; ¶21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the touch controller of Hung wherein the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion is in one or more vertically-stacked layers of the capacitive touch sensor, the vertically displaceable, sectioned portion adapted to be flexed, compressed, or otherwise displaced responsive to a touch surface depression, as taught by Hotelling so as to facilitate recognition of an increased array of user input (¶6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art teaches an apparatus, wherein capacitive touch sensor includes a vertically displaceable, sectioned portion in a center of the annulus of the capacitive touch sensor, and the pressure pad member comprises a first pressure pad member, the apparatus comprising: the KoD device comprising the rotary knob including: a second pressure pad member, the second pressure pad member to extend from the bottom surface portion responsive to a depression of the top surface portion, to cause touch surface depression at the vertically-displaceable, sectioned portion in the center of the annulus for push button detection including all the base limitations.
Conclusion
/DONNA V Bocar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621