DETAILED ACTION
This action is issued in response to Application filed October 22, 2025.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 22, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claim 4 states “include a constraint the requires”; however the term ‘the’ should be replaced with the term ‘that’. Also a period (.) is needed at the end of the claim.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the distinctions are obvious variations of each other and the claims of the instant application are fully encompassed within claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155.
Please see graph below for mapping:
19/336,425 12,475,155
1. A machine implemented method for content preparation or selection, comprising:
receiving, as part of a content preparation or selection, by a content preparation or selection module operated by a computing system, a representation of a concept; and
determining, for the content preparation or selection, by the content preparation or selection module, topical relevance of a content item (N) of a content hierarchy to the concept; wherein the content hierarchy includes a plurality of content items, including N; and wherein determining the topical relevance of N to the concept includes determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy subject to constraints that bound the number of operations performed by the computing system to determine the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy with a chosen constant.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the constraints include a constraint that limits a number of siblings of a given node in the content hierarchy considered in the determination of the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the constraints include a constraint that limits a maximum number of terminal content item hits recognized.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint include a constraint the requires a minimum term-based score for a terminal content item hit to be recognized.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression, and the constraints include a constraint that limit a number of nodes of the content hierarchy visited to determine the propagation of influence for a content item to m*d*k nodes, where m is a number of terminal content nodes that count as active matches for the search expression, d is a maximum number of ancestors of a node, added to 1, and k is the maximum number of neighbors of a node, including the node as its own neighbor.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein determining the topical relevance of N to the concept includes calculating, initially. term-based scores of terminal content items of the content hierarchy.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein calculating, initially, term-based scores of terminal content items of the content hierarchy, comprises calculating, initially, term-based scores of terminal content items that qualify as active matches.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression, and the method further comprises pruning the search expression according to a function derived from frequencies of documents of the content items of the content hierarchy.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the constraints include a constraint that requires a minimum inverse-document-frequency for a term to remain in a pruned search expression.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression, and to receive further comprises to receive the bound of the number of operations from a user issuing the search expression.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy is performed to realize transitivity of relevance among the content items of the content hierarchy.
1. A machine implemented method for content preparation or selection, comprising:
receiving, as part of a content preparation or selection, by a content preparation or selection module operated by a computing system, a representation of a concept; and
determining, for the content preparation or selection, by the content preparation or selection module, topical relevance of a content item (N) of a content hierarchy to the concept; wherein the content hierarchy includes a plurality of content items, including N; and wherein determining the topical relevance of N to the concept includes determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy by performing rhoh hat and rho sub C traversals that propagate influence through the content hierarchy subject to constraints that bound the number of operations performed by the computing system to determine the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy with a chosen constant, wherein the constraints reduce a quadratic factor in the size of sibling sets to a constant factor by placing a constant bound on the number of siblings from which a content item may receive influence, wherein the siblings from which a content item may receive influence are selected as k neighbors based on greatest affinities to the content item or greatest products of salience and affinity to the content item, thereby enabling real-time computation during search operations.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the constraints include a constraint that limits a number of siblings of a given node in the content hierarchy considered in the determination of the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the constraints include a constraint that limits a maximum number of terminal content item hits recognized.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the constraint includes a constraint that requires a minimum term-based score for a terminal content item hit to be recognized.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression, and the constraints include a constraint that limit a number of nodes of the content hierarchy visited to determine the propagation of influence for a content item to m*d*k nodes, where m is a number of terminal content nodes that count as active matches for the search expression, d is a maximum number of ancestors of a node, added to 1, and k is the maximum number of neighbors of a node, including the node as its own neighbor.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein determining the topical relevance of N to the concept includes calculating, initially, term-based scores of terminal content items of the content hierarchy.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein calculating, initially, term-based scores of terminal content items of the content hierarchy, comprises calculating, initially, term-based scores of terminal content items that qualify as active matches.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression, and the method further comprises pruning the search expression according to a function derived from frequencies of documents of the content items of the content hierarchy.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the constraints include a constraint that requires a minimum inverse-document-frequency for a term to remain in a pruned search expression.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression, and to receive further comprises to receive the bound of the number of operations from a user issuing the search expression.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy is performed to realize transitivity of relevance among the content items of the content hierarchy.
Independent Claims 1 and 12 are method and apparatus claims, respectively, whose limitations are fully encompassed within Independent Claims 1, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 2 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 3 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 4 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 5 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 6 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 7 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 8 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 9 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 10 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155. Dependent claim 11 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,475,155.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the distinctions are obvious variations of each other and the claims of the instant application are encompassed within claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582.
Independent Claims 1 and 12 are method and apparatus claims, respectively, whose limitations are encompassed within Independent Claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 2 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 3 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 4 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 5 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 6 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 7 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 8 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 9 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 10 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582. Dependent claim 11 is a method claim whose limitations are fully encompassed within the method of claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,803,582.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an Abstract Idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-11 are method claims and directed to the process category of patentable subject matter.
Claim 12 is an apparatus claim and directed to the machine category of patentable subject matter.
Although claims 1-12 fall under at least one of the four statutory categories, it should be determined whether the claims recite a judicial exception.
Regarding Step 2A-1, Claims 1-12 recite a judicial exception. Exemplary independent claims 1 and 12 recite the limitations (struck-through limitations have been identified as additional elements and will be discussed in later sections):
receiving, as part of a content preparation or selection,
determining, for the content preparation or selection,
With regard to the “receiving” limitation, a human may mentally view and acquire a concept. This claim limitation has been identified as a recitation of a mental process.
With regard to the “determining” limitation, a human may perform a mental determination of a relevancy of a topic for an item of a hierarchy in one’s mind. This claim limitation has been identified as a recitation of a mental process.
The examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” to be an abstract idea. The limitations of “receiving” and “determining”; fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas because this recites a mentally performable process of preparing and selecting content. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, “methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all”. Specifically, the limitations as discussed above, as claimed, is a process that covers performance of the limitations in the mind, or with pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e., processor, system, etc.) because a user can mentally, or with pen and paper, prepare, process, and select content; which is simply a process of collecting and organizing information. See Digitech (organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations), Electric Power Group (collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) includes additional elements which fall within the mental processing of information. In particular, the limitations of a content preparation or selection module operated by a computing system; have been identified as recitations of generic computing functions. In particular, the claims only recite additional elements (i.e., processor, system, etc.) that are recited at a high-level of generality (e.g., as a generic computer or as a generic processor performing a generic computer function), such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See 2106.05(d) (II). Accordingly, the additional element(s) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims as a whole do not appear to integrate the mental process into a practical application and is thus directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example, the claims recite additional elements of determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy subject to constraints that bound the number of operations to determine the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy with a chosen constant. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, or are merely drawn to insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or insignificant extra-solution is not significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claims, 2-11, depend on a rejected parent claim and do not cure its deficiencies. Similar to the above discussion, each of the dependent claims are drawn to an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. The claims are drawn to subject matter that covers performance of the claimed limitations in the mind, or with pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components as discussed above. The claims are not integrated into a practical application. The claims only recite additional elements that is/are recited at a high-level of generality (e.g., as a generic computer or as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or are merely drawn to insignificant extra-solution activity.
The claim elements considered individually or in combination do not result in a new or improved method for generating responses to queries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epstein (U.S. Patent Application No. 2007/0288438) in view of Goldman (U.S. Patent No. 8,736,612).
Regarding Claim 1, Epstein discloses a machine implemented method for content preparation or selection, comprising:
receiving, as part of a content preparation or selection, by a content preparation or selection module operated by a computing system, a representation of a concept (par [0020-0022], [0038], Epstein – permitting results of searches performed over sets of web pages or other content to correspond more accurately to users’ requests… identifying search expressions to be matched… content search engine and content selection engine are utilized in order to implement the web search service); and
determining, for the content preparation or selection, by the content preparation or selection module, topical relevance of a content item (N) of a content hierarchy to the concept; wherein the content hierarchy includes a plurality of content items, including N (par [0076], [0078], Epstein – tree structure for determining the degree to which a content constituent N matches a search expression); and wherein determining the topical relevance of N to the concept includes determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy (par [0076], Epstein – The assignment of sizes and distances capture what may be called a “geometry of relevance”. The relative sizes of children of N influence the relative degree to which children’s matches for E affect N’s match for E. The relative distances between children of N affect matches for structural proximity, and affect the evenness of match distributions.).
While Epstein discusses determining relevance of a content item; however Epstein is not as detailed with respect to constraints that bound the number of operations performed by the computing system to determine the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy with a chosen constant.
On the other hand, Goldman discloses constraints that bound the number of operations performed by the computing system to determine the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy with a chosen constant (col.11, lines 52-67, Goldman - Using the social graph structure, a user can determine the degrees of separation between the nodes in the graph. A node can have any number of degrees of separation… For example, the user can specify in a search term a number of degrees of separation in which to limit the search (e.g., search for two degrees or less) from a particular person, so that less strong connections can be omitted from the search results… col.12, lines 28-35 - Although there can be any number of degrees of separation in a social graph, the system can allow the user to configure searches, calculations, and other operations to limit the numbers of degree of separate to a certain value m, an integer 1 or greater. By limiting the m, this can increase the speed of the system, since less information or nodes need to be considered. The user may want to leverage stronger relationships first, and such a user-configurable setting allows this… col.17, lines 20-25, Goldman - weighted path algorithms are used to determine influence. For example, person-to-person influence can be determined according to: a particular relationship type (a predefined constant)… col.20, lines 41-47 and cols.25-26, lines 49-67 and 1-11, Goldman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Goldman’s teachings into the Epstein system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine in order to more accurately handle information management based on content organization.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Epstein in view of Goldman, disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the constraints include a constraint that limits a number of siblings of a given node in the content hierarchy considered in the determination of the propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy (col.11, lines 52-67 and col.12, lines 1-9, 22-27, Goldman - Using the social graph structure, a user can determine the degrees of separation between the nodes in the graph. A node can have any number of degrees of separation… For example, the user can specify in a search term a number of degrees of separation in which to limit the search (e.g., search for two degrees or less) from a particular person, so that less strong connections can be omitted from the search results.).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Epstein in view of Goldman, disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the constraints include a constraint that limits a maximum number of terminal content item hits recognized (par [0029], Epstein).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Epstein in view of Goldman, disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the constraint include a constraint the requires a minimum term-based score for a terminal content item hit to be recognized (par [0037], Epstein).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Epstein in view of Goldman, disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the concept is a search expression (par [0020], Epstein – specifying a search expression), and to receive further comprises to receive the bound of the number of operations from a user issuing the search expression (col.11, lines 52-67, Goldman - Using the social graph structure, a user can determine the degrees of separation between the nodes in the graph. A node can have any number of degrees of separation… For example, the user can specify in a search term a number of degrees of separation in which to limit the search (e.g., search for two degrees or less) from a particular person, so that less strong connections can be omitted from the search results… col.12, lines 28-35 - Although there can be any number of degrees of separation in a social graph, the system can allow the user to configure searches, calculations, and other operations to limit the numbers of degree of separate to a certain value m, an integer 1 or greater.).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Epstein in view of Goldman, disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determination of propagation of influence among content items of the content hierarchy is performed to realize transitivity of relevance among the content items of the content hierarchy (col.9, lines 10-25, Goldman - For instance, a person who is very close to three board members (but himself is not a board member) may be (or possibly could be) a key influencer of that organization. Influence is also transitive, for example: (1) CEO X controls Company Y, which in term owns a controlling stake in company Z; (2) X has transitive power over the CEO of company Z; and (3) CEO W controls company X, which in term owns a controlling stake in Company Y. We can determine that CEO of Company Y, CEO Z is very influenced by CEO W… col.17, lines 48-59, Goldman).
Claim 12 contains similar subject matter as claim 1 above; and is rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein the concept is a search expression, and the constraints include a constraint that limit a number of nodes of the content hierarchy visited to determine the propagation of influence for a content item to m*d*k nodes, where m is a number of terminal content nodes that count as active matches for the search expression, d is a maximum number of ancestors of a node, added to 1, and k is the maximum number of neighbors of a node, including the node as its own neighbor.
Points of Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHELCIE L DAYE whose telephone number is (571) 272-3891. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7:30-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Chelcie Daye
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 2100
September 8, 2026
/CHELCIE L DAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161