DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: “an gradient” should be “a gradient”.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “capable of adjust” should be “capable of adjusting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pultorak (US 2013/0094065).
Regarding claim 1, Pultorak discloses a conveyance device comprising: a supply tray 20 on which a plurality of documents 11 are stacked; a supply roller 40 configured to come into contact with an uppermost document among the plurality of documents stacked on the supply tray; a separation roller 41 facing the supply roller and configured to separate, one by one, the plurality of documents stacked on the supply tray; and a control unit 65 configured to acquire imaging data obtained by imaging the uppermost document stacked on the supply tray (par. 13), wherein the control unit analyzes the imaging data to thereby determine whether the uppermost document is a document bound with another document and, when determining that the uppermost document is the document bound with another document, stops the supply roller (see par. 23 – transport is stopped when staples, paper clips, or rubber bands are detected by the device).
Regarding claim 5, Pultorak discloses the convey apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an imaging unit 30 located to face the supply tray 20, wherein the control unit 65 acquires the imaging data from the imaging unit (par. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Pultorak discloses a reading apparatus comprising: the conveyance device according to claim 1; and a reading unit configured to read the plurality of documents (see par. 12 and Fig. 1 – device is a document scanner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pultorak in view of Jin (US 2020/0250840).
Regarding claim 2, Pultorak teaches the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging data is data obtained by imaging a first document, which is the uppermost document, and a second document, which is a document next to the first document among the plurality of documents, and the control unit detects a determination line indicating an edge of the second document lacks by analyzing the imaging data. Pultorak, par. 25 – dual shadows are detected. Pultorak lacks the explicit disclosure of stopping the supply roller when a gradient of the determination line exceeds a threshold. Jin teaches the determination of a shadow when a gradient exceeds a threshold, in order to perform the detection of shadows. Jin, par. 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to determine that there is a shadow when a gradient exceeds a threshold, in the device of Pultorak, as taught by Jin, in order to perform the detection of shadows. Further, Pultorak teaches stoppage of the device when other misfeeding occurs to that the operator may be alerted. Pultorak, par. 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to stop the roller when the shadow is detected, in the device of Pultorak, in order that the operator may be alerted.
Regarding claim 7, Pultorak teaches the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging data is data obtained by imaging a first document, which is the uppermost document, and a second document, which is a document next to the first document among the plurality of documents, and the control unit detects a determination line indicating an edge of the second document by analyzing the imaging data, detects a shadow located between the first document and the second document by analyzing the imaging data. Pultorak, par. 25 – dual shadows are detected. Pultorak lacks the explicit disclosure of, when a gradient of the determination line exceeds a threshold and the shadow is detected, stopping the supply roller. Jin teaches the determination of a shadow when a gradient exceeds a threshold, in order to perform the detection of shadows. Jin, par. 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to determine that there is a shadow when a gradient exceeds a threshold, in the device of Pultorak, as taught by Jin, in order to perform the detection of shadows. Further, Pultorak teaches stoppage of the device when other misfeeding occurs to that the operator may be alerted. Pultorak, par. 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to stop the roller when the shadow is detected, in the device of Pultorak, in order that the operator may be alerted.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pultorak.
Regarding claim 3, Pultorak discloses the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging data is data obtained by imaging a first document, which is the uppermost document, and a second document, which is a document next to the first document among the plurality of documents, and the control unit detects a shadow located between the first document and the second document by analyzing the imaging data (see par. 25 – dual shadows may indicate a multifeed). Pultorak lacks the explicit disclosure of stopping the roller when the shadow is detected. Pultorak teaches stoppage of the device when other misfeeding occurs to that the operator may be alerted. Pultorak, par. 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to stop the roller when the shadow is detected, in the device of Pultorak, in order that the operator may be alerted.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pultorak as modified above, in view of Akaishi (US 12,041,207).
Regarding claim 4, the device of Pultorak as modified above comprises the conveyance device according to claim 3. The device of Pultorak as modified above lacks an irradiation unit configured to emit light toward the supply tray. Akaishi teaches the use of a light source to illuminate an image capture area of a sheet imaging device. Akaishi, col. 5, lines 58-61. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use an irradiation unit configured to emit light toward the supply tray, in the device of Pultorak as modified above, as taught by Akaishi, in order to illuminate the image capture area of the imaging device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pultorak in view of Lee (US 2026/0062245).
Regarding claim 6, Pultorak discloses everything claimed, except wherein the imaging unit is configured to be capable of adjusting a position thereof. Lee teaches the use of an adjustable imaging unit in a sheet feeding device, in order to account for the size of sheets being imaged. Lee, par. 132. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the imaging unit of Pultorak be capable of adjusting a position thereof, as taught by Lee, in order to account for the size of sheets being imaged.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pultorak in view of Fujita (US 11,731,851).
Regarding claim 8, Pultorak comprises the conveyance apparatus according to claim 1. Pultorak lacks the explicit disclosure of a storage unit configured to store a machine-learned model configured to output a determination value indicating, based on the imaging data, whether the uppermost document is a document bound with another document, and the control unit analyzes the imaging data by causing the model to output the determination value based on the imaging data and determines, based on the determination value, whether the uppermost document is a document bound with another document. Lee teaches the use of machine learning in a sheet feeding device to allow for greater accuracy. Lee, col. 14, lines 13-45, and col. 16, lines 53-67. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a storage unit configured to store a machine-learned model configured to output a determination value indicating, based on the imaging data, whether the uppermost document is a document bound with another document, and the control unit analyzes the imaging data by causing the model to output the determination value based on the imaging data and determines, based on the determination value, whether the uppermost document is a document bound with another document, in the device of Pultorak, as taught by Fujita, in order to allow for greater accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Fesquet (US 7,446,278) discloses a method for the detection of postal items in a mail sorting machine.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759