DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of invention I consisting of claims 1-10 without traverse filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/2026.
Priority
The priority claim to provisional application PRO 63/579,061 filed on 8/28/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Stahler (US 6328319 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Stahler teaches a convertible hand truck comprising:
a frame comprising a pair of uprights (12 “primary frame” taught by figures 1-3, and 5-7), each upright comprising an axle bracket (60 “flange” taught by figure 2);
a loop handle (22 “secondary frame” taught by figure 1) comprising a pair of legs (122 “legs” taught by figures 1-3), each leg comprising a caster wheel (18 “second pair of wheels” taught by figures 2-3);
a toe plate connected to the frame (62 “nose piece” taught by figures 1-3);
a pair of wheels (14 “first pair of wheels” taught by figures 1-3) connected by an axle (64 “an axle” taught by figures 2-3), the axle supported by the axle brackets (taught by figures 2-3); and
a latch mechanism for selectively locking and unlocking the loop handle to the frame (52 “cam locking device” taught by figures 2-5), the latch mechanism comprising:
a latch bar (48 “cart axle” taught by figures 3-5);
a pair of latch housings, each housing mounted to a respective frame upright (52 “cam locking device” taught by figures 3-4b), each latch housing comprising a latch flipper arm (56 “cam” taught by figures 3-4b), a latch flipper arm biasing member (58 “elastic member” taught by figures 4a-4b), and a latch housing notch (taught by annotated figure 4a attached below); and
a latch release comprising a latch release bar (48 “cart axle” taught by figures 3-5) and a pair of latch release plates (54 “bar securing rockers” taught in figures 4a-4b), each latch release plate being pivotal to a respective latch housing at a respective latch release plate pivot located in front of the latch release bar and having (taught by figures 4a-4b) a latch release plate indent (taught by figure 4a).
Regarding claim 2, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein the biasing member is a torsion spring (taught by figures 4a-4b and by column 11 lines 52-53 “the elastic member 24 is preferably a torsional spring”).
Regarding claim 3, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 2 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein each latch flipper arm biasing member biases its respective latch flipper arm against the latch bar (taught by figures 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 4, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 2 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein each latch flipper arm biasing member biases the latch bar against its respective latch release plate indent (taught by figure 4a).
Regarding claim 5, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 4 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein the loop handle is unlocked from the frame by lifting the latch release bar (taught by figures 4a-7 and by column 9 lines 33-38 “To release the secondary frame 22, the cam lock release handle 50 is rotated downwardly to cause the first leg 134 to move clockwise out of abutment with cam 56 and thereby rotates the second leg 136 of the bar securing rocker 54 clockwise to allow the cart axle 48 to exit the groove 138 in the cam locking device 52”).
Regarding claim 6, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein at least a portion of the latch bar extends beyond each latch housing notch when the latch mechanism is unlocked (taught by figures 3 and 4b).
Regarding claim 7, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein the latch release plates rest on the latch bar when the latch mechanism is locked (taught by figure 4a).
Regarding claim 8, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein the latch release bar is moveable to a position completely exterior of the pair of latch housings (taught by figure 4b).
Regarding claim 9, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler also teaches wherein each latch flipper arm biasing member is fixed to its respective latch housing (taught by figures 4a-4b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahler (US 6328319 B1) in view of Su (US 9688298 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Stahler teaches the convertible hand truck of claim 1 as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Stahler does not teach wherein the latch flipper arms do not contact the latch release.
Su teaches wherein the latch flipper arms (42 “a pair of pivoting members” taught by figure 6) do not contact the latch release (41 “a pair of fixed members” taught by figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the latch flipper arms and latch release of Stahler to not touch as taught by Su, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because when parts don’t touch they wear out slower.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS R. KANDAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613