CTNF 19/367,019 CTNF 85532 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because the plug tool 214 shown in figure 2-1 is illustrated as a drill bit . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 06-19 AIA The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0096752 A1 ( Burgos et al. ) . As concerns claim 1, Burgos et al. discloses a measuring sub of a tool string ( figure 1 and figure 2 ), comprising: a casing reading system 64 ( see, 0017 ); a processor 50; and a hardware storage device having instructions stored thereon that ( see, 0019 et seq. ), when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations ( Id. ), comprising: receiving spatial data from the casing reading system; and storing the spatial data associated with the casing locally to the measuring sub ( 0021 ). As concerns claim 10, Burgos et al. discloses the measuring sub of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to analyze the spatial data to detect one or more properties associated with a casing of a borehole ( 0017 ). As concerns claim 11, Burgos et al. discloses the measuring sub of claim 10, wherein the one or more properties associated with the casing are stored on the hardware storage device ( 0021 ). As concerns claim 12, Burgos et al. discloses a method of measuring a casing property, the method comprising: providing a downhole sensor 66 incorporated into a tool string ( figure 2 ; positioning the tool string in a downhole environment 36 of a borehole; determining one or more casing properties of a casing using the downhole sensor 66; and recording the one or more casing properties locally in the tool string ( at the processor 50, which functions to store the downhole data ). As concerns claim 13, Burgos et al. discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the tool string further includes a perforation tool 26, and further comprising: perforating the casing with the perforation tool ( 0014 et seq. ); determining one or more perforation properties of a perforation of the casing using the downhole sensor ( 0015-0016 et seq. ); and recording the one or more perforation properties locally in the tool string ( with the processor/controller 50 ). As concerns claim 14, Burgos et al. discloses the method of claim 13, wherein perforating the casing and determining one or more perforation properties are performed in one trip of the tool string into the borehole ( at least 0012, also noted is the perforating operation appears to be in a single trip into the well, as withdrawing the tool between perforating sections of the wellbore is not disclosed ). As concerns claim 15, Burgos et al. discloses the method of claim 13, wherein determining one or more perforation properties of a perforation of the casing using the downhole sensor includes moving the downhole sensor in an uphole direction and measuring one or more perforation values while moving the downhole sensor in the uphole direction ( see, 0014, the operation begins at the section closed to the toe of the wellbore and proceeds in an upward (uphole) direction ). As concerns claim 16, Burgos et al. discloses the method of claim 13, wherein determining one or more perforation properties of a perforation of the casing using the downhole sensor includes moving the downhole sensor in an uphole direction and stopping uphole movement of the downhole sensor while measuring one or more perforation values ( this is implicit, see at least 0014, et seq. ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-9 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgos et al., alone . As concerns claim 17, Burgos et al. discloses a tool string comprising: a perforation tool ( gun sections 30, see figure 2 ); and a casing measuring sub connected to the perforation tool wherein the casing measuring sub includes: a casing reading system 64, a processor 50, and a hardware storage device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations ( 0019 ), comprising: receiving data from the casing reading system, and storing the spatial data associated with the casing locally to the measuring sub ( 0021 ). Burgos et al. does not disclose the sub connected to the perforation tool in a downhole direction from the perforation tool, nevertheless one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered connecting the perforator and the sensor sub as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success, as it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 . See also, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) . Moreover, he mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein , 8 USPQ 167. With respect to claims 2-9 and 18-19, Burgos et al. lacks to specifically characterize the sensor array or the specific types of data that is being collected and recorded, nevertheless the various sensors and measurements are merely obvious variants of the types of data that a skilled worker in the art would be selecting from according to a particular type of wellbore operation or a particular type of downhole environment as a matter of obvious design choice . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgos et al. in view of US 2017/0335678 A1 ( Ciezobka et al. ) . As concerns claim 20, Burgos et al. discloses the tool string of claim 17, but lacks to expressly disclose wherein the tool string further includes a plug tool positioned in the downhole direction relative to the casing measuring sub. Ciezobka et al. discloses a frac plug assembly that includes an instrument plug module with a sensor for collecting data during a hydraulic fracturing process. One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered incorporating the plug tool into the tool string of Burgos et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ciezobka et al. teaches that the plug assembly, when used in conjunction with a wireless or tubing conveyed data logger and other related recording/processing systems, provides direct measurements of pressure, temperature, observed velocity field and/or observed acceleration field in a subsurface . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2013/0048275 A1 ( Huval et al. ) discloses an apparatus and method using a sensor sub in a completion operation that involves operating a device at a surface location to produce an action at the downhole location related to delivery of a material to a formation. A parameter at the downhole location is measured which is affected by the operation of the device at the surface location using a sensor (336) proximate the downhole location. The measured downhole parameter is used to alter operation of the device at the surface location to deliver the material to the formation at the downhole location. US 2023/0135986 A1 ( Wang et al. ) discloses systems and method for an array of multiple different sensors in a single sensor sub body that has a tool body (105) including a longitudinal axis. A first pocket is arranged on the tool body, where the first pocket extends radially inward from an outer surface of the body. A second pocket is formed on the body and extended radially inwards from the outer surface. The first pocket comprises a first sensor e.g. resistivity sensor, sonic sensor and ultrasonic sensor. The second pocket comprises a second sensor e.g. resistivity sensor, sonic sensor, an ultrasonic sensor. The control unit is operably connected to the first sensor and a second sensor, and determines type of the first and second sensors, sends data to the sensors, and receives data from the sensors. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES G. SAYRE whose telephone number is (571)270-7045. The examiner can normally be reached from 9:30-6:00 Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicole Coy can be reached at 571-272-5405. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JAMES G. SAYRE Primary Examiner Art Unit 3672 /JAMES G SAYRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672 Application/Control Number: 19/367,019 Page 2 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 19/367,019 Page 3 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 19/367,019 Page 4 Art Unit: 3672 Application/Control Number: 19/367,019 Page 5 Art Unit: 3672